Image of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Tivoli Lagos Hotel

8 of 18 hotels in Lagos

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Rua António Crisógono dos Santos, 8600-678 Lagos, Portugal
A friendly hotel close to the centre of Lagos. Suits families and couples.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Geoff
10 years 8 months ago
This was probably our sixth or seventh visit to the Tivoli (or Hotel de Lagos as it was originally called ).As we have come to expect, the hotel, which is a big, sprawling complex, is kept spotlessly clean by a small army of cleaning staff.
The buffet breakfast is served between 7:30 am and 10:00 am(an early cold buffet can be provided for guests who are leaving before this time) and consists of a good choice of hot and cold food;bacon,eggs(boiled, fried or scrambled),sausages,baked beans and mushrooms were regularly available and various cold meats, cereals,yoghurts and fresh fruit were on offer.
The hotel is in a fairly quiet location about a ten minute walk from the town centre, but there is a selection of bars/restaurants at the end of the hotel's driveway (Christian's Kitchen is a superb restaurant and really not to be missed!!)
The staff at the hotel are efficient but, on this visit, there did not seem to be as many smiling faces amongst the staff as we are used to seeing - may be that a long hard season has taken it's toll !
There is an animation team at the Tivoli and,apart from sports - related activities, cookery demonstrations and wine-tasting form occasional entertainment;live entertainment is provided in the lobby bar at least three times a week and normally consists of vocalists.'Happy hour' in the bar is from 6:30pm to 9:00pm, which is just as well because, outside of happy hour, a caneca,or pint, of Sagres lager is a ridiculous
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
11 years 7 months ago
Recently returned from a week at the Tivoli Lagos after taking advantage of the cheap out of season rates.

Could not fault the hotel in any way. Had a lovely room which overlooked the gardens and ponds. Standards of cleanliness were very good with excellent maid service.

Maids will come back later if you don't want to be disturbed. Breakfast was buffet style with hot and cold foods, lots of variety very nice. There are three restaurants in the hotel but we didn't try these as there are lots of lovely restaurants in the town.

The location of the hotel is excellent - a few minutes walk to the town centre and walking distances to beaches.

Found all staff to be very pleasant and helpful.

Didn't stay in the hotel of a evening but there was usually a musician playing in the bar area. There was a daily programme of events on offer for those who wanted this for example wine tasting and cookery demonstrations.

The hotel has its own beach club on Meia Praia with regular mini bus transport as well as outdoor indoor pools and health club at the hotel.

I would not hesitate to reccommend this hotel and would definately visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent-Freedom Direct

Recommended
Sue & Russ
12 years 2 months ago
A well run hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Lovely pool area and gardens. Make sure you remember which block your room is in - we kept getting lost for the first few days! Ask for pool or garden view - some rooms overlook road which may be noisy. From our garden room it was very quiet

Not suitable for people with mobility difficulties - lots of different levels and steps.

Excellent choice of food at breakfast. Ate in once at night in Italian restaurant - pricey but very good.
Entertainment middle of raod, but about the best of anywhere we've been.

Ideal location close to marina, sea front and old town.

Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Ron Qua
13 years 2 months ago
Tivoli hotel in Lagos was a very good centre to stay in. My wife and I usually stay in self catering apartments but branched out his year. We were not disappointed.

The hotel is well located and the cleanliness was excellent. A few times the glasses in the room where missed for cleaning but no real problem.

The entertainment was OK but not brilliant. Monday night Jazz Band were excellent.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
Claire
13 years 4 months ago
The cleanliness of this hotel is excellent, we have visited this hotel a number of times over the past 10 years and it has always impressed.

The breakfast buffet is always amazing, such a varied choice.

The location is ideal, so close to both the marina and the beautiful town.

The entertainment is not up to the same standard as the rest of the hotel, but there is so much to do and see in the town, that it is not essential. The traditional cookery classes were a new edition!

Would definatley recommend this hotel to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Expedia

Recommended
Archie & Marion
14 years 2 months ago
In one word 'Great'. AC, fridge, tea making facilities, balcony, daily room cleaning service. Breakfast Buffet cooked or continental breakfast. Choice of 2 hotel restaurants, which we never used due to the choice in the town. Polite & friendly staff. No fighting for sunbeds @ the pool. Indoor pool and health club. Entertaiment was poor unless you like dou singing with an organ. For the infirm: a gentle 100ft slope to the road from the hotel not a problem. A 10 minute Courtesy bus ride to the hotel beach, which has a pool, bar, snack bar etc. I would go back and it is recommended to all. (PS don't expect the hotel to change currency some staff do some don't.) 5 minute walk to the Marina and another 5 minutes to the Slave market at the town centre.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Marje And Tony
14 years 5 months ago
Excellent buffet breakfasts. We didn't eat a main meal at the hotel, as we were close to more interesting restaurants in town (10 mins walk). We didn't bother with the entertainment but don't think it amounted to much. Rooms are varied - ask for a pool or garden view, as some of the "town views" are a bit dismal.
Hotel is in a great location, just a few minutes from the waterfront and ten mins from centre with shops and restaurants.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent

Recommended
Harry
14 years 5 months ago
Spotless and comfortable although when we were there found our rooms to have a little dampness
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
GG
14 years 5 months ago
We visited this charming hotel in March 04. We loved it there. Our room was stylish as was the hotel itself. We overlooked the inner garden. The food was excellent. We were B&Breakfast but booked flexi-dine (3 evening meals). The restaurants in Lagos were also excellent with so many nice ones to choose from.
We found the hotel very clean and had no complaints. It is in an excellent location for the resort with the added advantage of a coutesy bus to the beach, where it has its own beach club. All the staff were friendly and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Hendo
16 years ago
Excellent 4 star Hotel with all expected facilities.

In town of Lagos with indoor and outdoor pools. Own bus to its beach club. No problem in recommending to anyone looking for top of the range 4 star hotel with more to offer in immediate vicinity than simple beach.

Travel operator: Unknown

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum