Image of Club Humbria Hotel

Club Humbria Hotel

4 of 7 hotels in Olhos de Agua

4 out of 5 from 16 reviews
4 stars
Estrada De Albufeira, 8200-609 Olhos De Água, Albufeira, Portugal
This new complex is set in the quiet surroundings of Olhos d’Agua, with its apartments stylishly decorated, with bright furnishings and a comfortable lounge area. The large pool, varied entertainment and kids’ club provide amusement for the whole family.

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Paul
Clean pool and in a good location.
7 years 3 months ago
The food was OK, however the kids choice was very limited. We found the hotel to be clean and the apartment had separate rooms for us and the kids. This was much better than all being crammed into one room.

The pool was clean with plenty of beds. You expect the entertainment to be bad but this was terrible made worse by the poor English of the staff. The hotel is within walking distance to a few bars and a lovely little beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Steve
7 years 3 months ago
We stayed here at the end of July for 11 nights. Even though it was the start of the school holidays and very busy you weren't waiting long to be served at the snack bar or seated in the restaurant. The staff worked very hard and were polite if you were polite to them but didn't smile a lot. The food was the usual all inclusive fare well cooked and hot. You would have to be very fussy not to find something to eat. The rooms were clean and spacious with the maids in everyday, however clean towels were not delivered until at least 6.00 in the evening when everybody was waiting for showers(hotel rule never seen this before).Around the pool area there were lots of sunbeds, but as usual you had to get up at silly o'clock to get one, but there was plenty of room to sit on the grass banking’s surrounding the pools without sitting on top of each other. The beach was only a 5 minute walk away only small but very pleasant with a nice sea breeze which was much needed as it was in the late 30's when we were there. In the other direction was a handful of shops and restaurants and Albufeira was a 40 minute walk away. We booked a taxi from reception which cost 6 euros and walked back. From the strip you could catch the little road train which took you to the old town this cost 4 euros each but was unlimited for the day. We have been to lots of all inclusive hotels and it’s fair to say the entertainment is usually the same with the reps and entertainment team putting on shows. But this was the worst we have ever seen. English was spoken about fourth in line if they were trying to tell you something, so during the shows it took at least 10mins to tell you one thing. So we gave up and left, the entertainment room was not big enough for the amount of people here and was extremely hot in the evening even with the doors open. Nothing going on for teenagers only for children under 10.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Southall
8 years 3 months ago
we stayed all inclusive hotel rooms were clean cant fault the maids.
hotel food was awful great if you like chips.
location to far to walk into any town its taxi fine if you like it very quiet.
some hotel staff were nice and friendly but others acted and looked as if they would rather be else where and were quite rude.
entertainment non existent for adults fine if yore achild and like mini discos every night
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Martyn
8 years 7 months ago
We visited in February so the weather was not great but that is not the hotels fault. This is a hotel that is changing, the apartments are equipped for self catering but it is now all inclusive. Furnishings are basic but clean and comfortable, housekeepers came in every day. It did seem strange the we had a toaster but no kettle, we asked the rep and he checked his list and told us that was correct but later that day when talking to another guest who told us if we asked at reception they would provide one, which they did. Maintenance is good the age of the resort is disguised by the fact that everything is well painted one clue is the locks on the apartment doors are keys. All apartments have safes which again key locked unlike the modern combination ones, are a bit small, we could not get the laptop in. The restaurant is excellent, it is self service with something for everybody. Breakfast and lunch are in 2 hour sessions and evening meal is 3 hours, snacks are also available during the afternoon, you can turn up and sit down at any time so you don't need to worry that you might miss a meal. Staff are very friendly and willing to help. Because we had an early flight they provided a packed breakfast.
We did have a slight problem when we arrived because some rooms were not ready till 3pm. We were able to have lunch and drinks while waiting and Thomas Cook gave us a free trip to compensate for it.
Although the address is Albufeira it is a 30 minute walk. There is a beach and cafes only a short walk away. Taxis are reasonably priced.
Entertainment is provided for children but those that did have small children did not seam too impressed, and in the evening they put on a small show on a couple of nights in the bar some nights, bingo was on most nights (this maybe better in season). We had karoke one night but they had a limited selection of songs to sing The quiz night was interesting as they tried to have questions for all nationalities. Unfortunately it is not well laid out for viewing as the stage is lower than the seating area, which does make it difficult to see if you are not at the front.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Hannah
9 years 5 months ago
I am only writing to give this hotel some positive feedback on it's entertainment after reading the other reviews here.
The staff who made up the evening entertainment at the hotel also ran the kids club and other general entertainment during the day. I have no idea when they managed to rehearse for the evenings as they seemed to be constantly busy from about 10am until at least 11pm every day.
This is not professional entertainment, these are young people working very hard in a hotel trying to entertain with the basic props and experience that they have.
Every night had a different theme. Following the kids mini disco (which was always very well run) and a short break where music played & kids ran about, each evening the staff would put on a 'show'.
These varied from audience participation shows, staff only, or on one night a professional act was brought in.
Every night was entertaining, if a little amateur, buit it was generally slapstick humour that everyone could understand, no matter what language they spoke.
Our holiday was very enjoyable and we may even return next year (something we have never done before).
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Douglas
10 years ago
we arrived at club humbria for the 4th year running. we arrived at 2pm,the receptionist kept asking for a token,which we didn't no what token she meant.the rooms have always had a very high standard of cleanliness,which ahs been kept up over last 4years. pool bar has excellant cheese burgers,choice or folls,endless supply pf chips and ice cream or fruit.we were very dissapointed in the main meals especially the evening meals,with little choice or not very hot. breakfasts were the best.there seemed to be two sets of rules this year,1rule for english and 1for europeans.we werent allowed to put towels on sunbeds or use pool before 10am europeans were
1!grat location,handy for beach,english pubs and great restaurant 2mins away tavertino's.wouild go back portugal but club humbria seams too had gone backward instead of forewards entertainment isn't very entertaining at all,entertainment staff weren't speaking in english so we never knew what was going on.it is a shame as most of the staff are great,lovely hotel and good location.you have to try it as everyone has different tastes.note if going in september it the portugese holidays hotel overrun with children out of control.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Dougie And Yvonne
10 years ago
hotel been open 4years and this is our 4th visit,the apartments are very big and spotless they cannot be faulted.the food in my opinion is not very nice, but there is plenty to choose from.plenty of sun loungers and a nice pool.most of the staff are friendly but not all.portugese,german and spanish seem to get preferential treatment english like second class citizens.tavertinos resterant just outside the complex is fantastic.nice beach just down the road.cannot decide if i will go next year or try somewhere else in portugal,was a bit dissapointed this year.almost forgot night-time entertainment is terrible but allways is
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Chris
10 years ago
My wife and our 20 month old baby daughter stayed here 4th-18th September 2008.

The Hotel;

Rooms, were big and very clean and had A/C, we had requested a low floor, which we got, but still had to go up/down six steps, not the end of the world.

Pool, the pool was quite big, access was via some steps or a bit of a grass ramp with paving stones, not ideal but we managed the ramp with a pushchair many many times without any problems. The baby pool was a very basic but it done its job.

Food: breakfast, choice of English (well almost) or continental breakfast, a new toaster machine wouldn't go a miss though !.

Lunch & Dinner, soups, a fish and meat dish, veg & rice, pasta & large salad and desert selection. The food was OK, we are not seafood people. Some of the meat dishes could be better, but we didn't go hungry and you'll never please everybody.

Snack Bar, available 10am til 6pm. "Sandwiches" (ham, ham & cheese, chicken or tuna) Burger, cheese burger, fries, icecream and fruit. Sometimes the fries were stone cold but just sent them back for some more.

Staff; well some were very nice, helpfull & cheerfull, while others were miserable and moody, probably 50/50 split, which is shame for the ones that did make an effort.

Other guests, well the first week was compeletly different to the second. The 1st was very busy and the majority (70% ?)of guests were Portuguese or maybe Spanish, which is fine, after all we were the foriegners, but tell me if you were holding doors open to let you wife or husband with pushchair through would you expect people to barge in front of you, or close the door in your face,or push in at the bar(constantly). The 2nd week was much quieter and the place was more relaxed (or i was at least). The gusets were young families or older couples, not really for young couples.

Location, the hotel was about 15 minute walk to the beach at Olhos d'agua, the beach was small but clean, there is another much bigger beach to the east of this one, about a 15 minute walk (or 5 minutes if you climb over some cliffs/rocks). There were a dozen or so bars and restaraunts within 10 minutes of the hotel (with lots of sport if you want it) but we only ate out twice. The bus stop & taxi rank was 5 minutes away and was told it was 2 euros, bus or 15 euros, taxi into Albuferia (although we didn't go)

Entertainment: with our daughter only being 20 months old we didn't use the kids club but were told it was poor and the 1st week the entertainment staff made NO effort for the English guests, it was only the 2nd week when they had no other option. We didn't see much of the adult entertainment so unfair to comment, but told by other English guests it was poor and much worse than previous years.


Summary: would I visit again, no but I'd prefer to try different places anyway. Would I reccomend it to a friend...no, would i reccomend it at all... yes but it was better for our second week perhaps this is when the 'other' guests have gone back to school/work.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Liz-anne
10 years 2 months ago
Our family had a two week holiday at this hotel.It was an excellent choice. The apartment was spacious and very clean. The food was excellent, our kids were quite adventurous trying different dishes and it was a nice change not to see chicken nuggets etc on the menu. Very healthy choice and something for everyone. The hotel complex was very picturesque and looked just like it did in the photograph. The staff were very helpful and worked very hard. We met lots of people of different nationalities and we have a few e-mail addresses to keep in touch with the people we met. I could not fasult this hotel a grat place to take the family. I'm sure we will visit this place again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Liz-anne
10 years 2 months ago
Our family had a two week holiday at this hotel.It was an excellent choice. The apartment was spacious and very clean. The food was excellent, our kids were quite adventurous trying different dishes and it was a nice change not to see chicken nuggets etc on the menu. Very healthy choice and something for everyone. The hotel complex was very picturesque and looked just like it did in the photograph. The staff were very helpful and worked very hard.It was great fun trying out our Portuguese and it seemed to have made a difference with the staff. Even though our pronunciation may not have been spot on ,it was good to get a smile from the staff when we tried and they helped with our efforts. We met lots of people of different nationalities and we have a few e-mail addresses to keep in touch with the people we met. I could not fasult this hotel a great place to take the family. I'm sure we will visit this place again.Obrigada
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum