Image of Riu Palace Algarve Hotel

Riu Palace Algarve Hotel

2 of 7 hotels in Olhos de Agua

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Quinta do Milharó, 8200 Olhos D'Agua, Portugal

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Very relaxing
6 years 1 month ago
We had a wonderful holiday here, the hotel was spotless, our room was very nice overlooking the gardens, the food was great and we had no problems with our table. We went on two trips zoomarine - ok, and the guadiana river cruise booked through the Thomson rep - this was fantastic, great views of Spain and Portugal and we got a bit tipsy.

The only problem was getting to the beach, if you have mobility problems.

Sad to leave and will definitely be back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 8 months ago
Arrived to a very warm welcome from reception staff,the glass of cava was very welcome.Hotel was spotless and absolutely beautiful lots of chandeliers and very spacious rooms were a good size,plenty of wardrobe space and again spotless. Food was good,help yourself to cava or bucks fizz at breakfast and a choice of buffet or waiter service at dinner,the beach is near by but theres a lot of steps down to it,didn't make it down there but it looked really nice and clean.Staff were always cheerful and made us feel welcome,did not watch much of the entertainment from what i saw it seemed ok. enjoyed the spa sauna facilities and paid extra for a few pamper treatments,manicure and hot stone massage pure bliss! I would love to go back to this hotel one day it is wonderful one of the nicest I have stayed at.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Sue
9 years 8 months ago
Absolutely loved this hotel. We had booked a short trip via the internet and were delighted when we arrived. Our flight had been delayed slightly and we had missed the evening meal so were amazed when the receptionist told us we should go to the restaurant where they had prepared us a cold buffet. It was lovely, and so welcome! The rooms were beautiful and the whole hotel was spotless. The food was fantastic, so much choice it was unbelieveable. We had champagne breakfasts every day. Our trip was in November and the weather was lovely. We particulary enjoyed taking a bucks fizz onto the terrace every morning and enjoying the sunshine, after breakfast. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Made own way

Recommended
Sue And Paul
10 years 10 months ago
Returned 8th Sept from this lovely hotel. We were very impressed from the minute we entered the main door. Don't you just love it when you get to your hotel and think 'yeah, we have chosen perfectly' The rooms are spotless and remained so throughout our stay. The cleaners always left your room each day like you were just walking in on the first day. We really can't fault the rooms at all. Not that we watch tv when we are abroad, but we were pleasantly surprised to find BBC1 (great when you are getting ready to go out as background noise or later at night if you don't want to go bed early). The hotel is also extremely clean and has a luxurious feel to it without being stuffy. The staff are wonderful and there was only one member of staff who we encountered who we thought was a bit rude (she may have been having a bad day, hey! we all have them) We didn't let this spoil our holiday. What can I say about the food? Fantastic! Probably the best selection I have ever seen. The only thing we were not so keen on was the sittings. There is one at 6:30pm and then 8:30pm. We like to go when we are ready and not when we are told but it didn't cause any major problems and to be honest it was lovely that if you went to the second sitting the tables, food etc. was set out as if nobody had been there before you. Maybe if everyone went as they pleased the staff may not have had the same control of order, I don't know. Entertainment - not our cup of tea, usual stuff. We didn't bother with it really.
The location of the hotel was not the best we have been to but still ok. The beach is lovely reached by many steps but not as bad as you think and well worth the effort. The town - a bit boring in our opinion. Needs updating. Just an opinion, doesn't mean that it is yours. We would definitely visit this hotel again as it suited our needs of sitting in the glorious sunshine for 7 days and relaxing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons taylor made

Recommended
Stu & Jeni Barnes
10 years 10 months ago
The hotel is fantastic. This is our fifth stay in a Riu hotel in four years and you can never fault them. The only drawback for some people might the lack of daytime activities. Basically there aren't any but this didn't bother us as we just wanted to chill in any case. If you have young children then I suppose this could be a problem. The quality and choice of the food is unbelievable. There is something for every pallette. Champagne breakfast every morning! From the minute you walk through the door until the minute you leave nothing is too much trouble for them.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Walker
10 years 11 months ago
Very nice hotel, th ewhole hotel and ground were spotless. Lovely rooms. Found dinning room rather confusing on 1st night as you could have your main course served rather than buffet style but staff took about 15 mins too let us know the set up. Plenty of sunloungers with padded matress plus plenty parasols at hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Jill
11 years ago
This hotel is the best we have ever stayed in. From the minute you walk in everything is wonderful. Champagne on arrival and cases took to your room. The Hotel foyer is superb. The rooms are just as in the brochure and room service exceptional the maid even made my beach towel into a swan. The food was presented well and was filled so regulary that you wouldnt have known it had been touched. The lovely location on a cliff edge overlooking the sea. Our room was on the side but we still had a great view. Lots of steps to the beach but it was worth it for knocking off a few calories. The staff were great and very helpful. Entertainment was enough for us and the piano bar - great. All in all a perfect holiday and we are returning again in May this year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
White
11 years 1 month ago
The hotel is fantistic everybody friendly, nothing is too much trouble for any one, champagne on arrival, champagne at breakfast,the food is the best ever, everthing you could thing off.

Smoothies for breakfast freshly made. The entertainment or lack of it is the only bad thing about it.

I would go back to this hotel any time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Les And Wendy
11 years 1 month ago
The hotel was lovely, clean and airy. All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, when the parasols were running low the pool attendant soon arrived with new ones.
food was excellent and very varied,with a very good salad selection and a wonderful dessert section.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
HILTON
12 years 10 months ago
We have just returned from this fantastic hotel.Everything about the hotel was great.We were greeted at reception with a glass of champagne before being shown to our room.The hotel is new(opened April) and is immaculate.

The bedroom was of a decent size with minibar,balcony,TV(which even gets BBC1 as opposed to world service).Rooms were mantained to a high standard as indeed is the whole hotel.

All the staff are friendly and helpful and are only too happy to help.
There is a large outdoor pool and a good sized kids pool,which our toddler loved as well as a lovely indoor pool.

Food...what can I say.We have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels over recent years and the food here was probably the best we have ever had.There is a fantastic choice even for the most fussy of eaters all cooked to a high standard.

Food was so good I put 10lbs in weight on!!!

Location is on a cliff making it unsuitable for less mobile people,but it kept us fit walking to the beach which ia about a 10 minute walk.

There is some building work being carried out at the moment opposite the hotel but it caused no disruption at all.

All in all a superb hotel which I have booked again for next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: SELF

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Olhos de Agua