Image of Valentin Hotel & Apartments

Valentin Hotel & Apartments

5 of 7 hotels in Son Bou

4 out of 5 from 47 reviews
4 stars
Son Bou, Carretera Alaior-cala'n Porter, KM 0,700, 07730 Son Bou, Spain
Great for everyone, but families will particularly enjoy their time here. The large and spacious Valentin Son Bou Hotel and Apartments has fantastic facilities, with plenty of sports, activities and entertainment to suit all.

47 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    13
  • Very Good
    18
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mel Reeve
5 years 8 months ago
Ideal for families.

Entertainers in the night for the kids were fab (only half hr disco)but they loved it.

Food ok, you would find something, pizzas were the best I've tasted.

Pool and sea very cold, but early in the year.

Hotel and grounds spotless, but rooms a bit tired and in need of update, smelt a bit musty, think we were first ones for the season.

Indoor pool a blessing, as we had one rainy day.

Nice walk down to beach but free bus back. Sunbeds on beach are 9 euros per item so 2 sunbeds and umbrella 27 euros, an expensive island.

Would go back again in a couple of years but would not like it if we never had our granddaughter, too quiet in resort, not a lot to do, and too expensive.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sharon And Richard
7 years 4 months ago
Really nice hotel, we stayed self-catering, apartments large with everything you need kettle toaster microwave, we did have a problem with smelly wardrobes and draws all smelt musty so lived out of suitcases which wasn’t that much of a problem, the hotel and grounds are spotless, cleaners and gardeners around all the time all very friendly, shop on site expensive and not very well stocked though this was possibly due to it being near the end of the season, free bus to the beach 5 mins away runs every half hour, stops at 7.o.clock,we walked down to the beach which was fine even with a buggy though wouldn’t attempt the walk back up. The island had a power cut while we were there no power for about 5 hours (resulting in milk etc. Going off) went to reception and was told to go to the restaurant for free breakfast, food excellent, i would say 95%where all inclusive so was very busy, in hind sight we should have booked all inclusive which was only £200 more for the 3 of us. Beach lovely ideal for kids, son bou small and quite but nice and relaxing. When people leave the cleaners leave buckets spades balls etc. Near bins for you to use which is great, lower apartments have patio so keep tabs on little ones as they can walk off.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Patrick
9 years 6 months ago
Just returned after a week at this hotel. The food was truly awful, me and my wife were both struck down with a stomach bug for 4 days of our holiday. We can only put this down to the food.

The hotel itself is lovely, probably one of the best we have stayed in, but unfortunately the hill is a bit of a killer on the way back. There is a courtesy bus but the last one back to the hotel is at 1910. The little train was a godsend, but a bit hit and miss, the last one back is about 2300.

I really wanted to love this hotel, but would not return there again. It is simply too far away from the town of Son Bou. We like to be able to walk from our hotel to the local bars, but it's really not an option here.

The reception staff were excellent, so helpful. Pity the same can't be said for the restaurant staff who were mostly surly. You had to wait to be seated in the dining area, despite there being loads of tables available. Mind you we only visited the restaurant about 3 times, that was enough. Even the smell wafting to our balcony was enough to send us hurrying to the loo.

To be fair we had a lovely room with stunning views out to sea, if you can rent a fridge it's about 5 euro per day but well worth it for an ice cold drink on the balcony in the evening. Try to avoid feeding the birds, as they never forget and come back time after time leaving some nice presents on the balcony.

We went half board so bought our drinks. It's about 3.50 euro for a beer and 4.60 euro for a vodka and tonic not a cheap night out. If you can try to avoid the hotel supermarket, it's a big rip off. A large bottle of San Miguel was 2.50 euro, in the town supermarket it was 1.45 euro and so on with other stuff.

We paid for a hire car, so despite not feeling well we decided to get out and about and we really enjoyed it.

Menorca is a beautiful place and a pleasure to drive in. We were quoted 88 euro for 3 days hire, but after the insurance sting we actually paid 145 euro. Still worth it we think.

We wil visit Son Bou again, but not this hotel.

PS we woke up some nights to find ants crawling over us, not many but still unnerving.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

The C Family
10 years 3 months ago
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. We have been on similar holidays before but this outshone the others. We flew from Stansted which was very easy for us, straightforward check in, 2 hour flight, easy short transfer time from the airport (all key factors with a young child and grandparents travelling together!) We stayed all inclusive and the food was plentiful, fresh and well cooked. Some things such as the salad did not change much in variety, but the fresh grill area, soups, desserts and carvery all made up for the salad!! We found the rooms and resort clean, friendly and safe. The evening entertainment was excellent and a good time was had by all. You needed to get there early if you wanted a seat near the front - but the Chinese Acrobat Act was stunning - easily as good as something you would pay a fair bit to see separately, the Freddie Mercury tribute was hilarious, the Four Tops tribute band were brilliant and so were The Beatles - if you closed your eyes! Our only little downside was that the girl running the kids club was bored (she told us she was!) as we went just out of school holidays so there were only a handful of kids there - most too young to go in the club so I think the most I saw there at any time were 6 children - all young. I was told that last month there had been 20 or 30 children in the kids club and it was great - but as our child is still little she was happy with the odd face paint or painting session as she was happier playing in the pool or on the lovely sandy beach anyway. We had a fantastic time and are looking at booking again for next summer holidays.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Robert Thomas
10 years 3 months ago
the hotel is located at the top of a steep hill. but dont let thatout you of, as there is a free mini bus which runs to and fro to the beach every half hour. no setting the clock here to save sun beds as there are plenty in a spacious pool area. the dining area is spotless with a fantastic choice to suit all. we choose all inclusive, and im glad we did as drinks w ere expensive. other guests told us they spent plenty on half board basis.the staff were very polite., and the rooms agood size and clean. enterainment was hit or miss, with a couple of good tribute bands. this hotel was one of the best we have stopped at. if you want discos and night life,dont go.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Roy
10 years 3 months ago
This was once a fine hotel and apartment complex. I returned this year following my first visit which was back in 2002 and was a little disapointed.

The place now has that worn out feel about it and could do with a much needed refit. Everywhere is clean but well used as little seems to have been replaced in the last 5 years. In summary, its scruffy and does not deserve its rating or the price I paid. I won't be back unless I read here that things have changed.

On the plus side, its quiet, great pool with beds made and clean towels etc each day. I see the apartments now have air-con.

I love Menorca, this resort and had a great time but did come home feeling this hotel is not worth its rating any more or the price I paid to stay there.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Maria
10 years 3 months ago
Ok, so its a bit out of the way, but the mini train runs all the day while you want to be on the beach

Happy with hotel, clean enough, nice room, staff friendly

would go again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Selfbooked

Recommended
Mrs Jacobson
11 years 3 months ago
We stayed on all inclusive basis but was very dissapointed to find out that there were only certain items could be purchased on the all inclusive - crisps, slush puppies etc were not included. The apartment was swarmed with ants and not safe for young children. My two year old got out several times by himself. The food was not up to the required standard of a 4 star - not much variation. The hotel staff were unfriendly and never smiled much.

Entertainment was okay but have seen better.

I will definately not be returning to this hotel in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel republic

Mrs S O'Neill
11 years 3 months ago
This hotel is fantastic especially if you are travelling with children. We travelled with our 16month old son and there was so much for him to do, both swimming pools were beautifully clean, there are 2 parks for them to play in and the hotel even had a playroom inside full of kids toys for them to play with.
The staff were so friendly and kind and could not do enough for you.
We were fully inclusive and we did not have to worry about a thing there was so much choice and the food was of an excellant standard. There was a hugh choice of drinks avaialble and they even filled our little boy's bottle with warm milk every evening.

We had a room in the hotel part which was very spaciuos and spotlessly clean.

The hotel is at the top of a very steep hill so it is a bit if a trek with a puschair but the free shuttle bus runs very frequently although it does get very busy. There is also the Son Bou Express which runs from the resort to the hotel.

If you are all inclusive and you are planning to go out for the day the hotel will provide you with a pinic bag. You get one bag per person and there is so much food inside, bread rolls, cheese , ham , tomoto's fruit and drinks, so if you have gone all inclusive you could still go outside the hotel without having to spend any money!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Grannell
11 years 3 months ago
Went half board with Direct holidays but upgraded to all inclusive when we got there, wish we never bothered.

The food is very repetitive both lunch times and evening meal. A lot of the time it was cold and uncooked especially at the carvery, we were both very ill with sickness and dioarreah the second week of our holiday and it could only have been the food from this hotel as we didn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: