Image of SBH Costa Calma Beach Hotel

SBH Costa Calma Beach Hotel

8 of 12 hotels in Costa Calma

4 out of 5 from 14 reviews
4 stars
C/ Agustin Millares 2-6, 35627, Spain

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ang
Pools and beach fantastic
6 years 8 months ago
Been to this hotel 3 times hotel. Getting in need of some repairs but still a fantastic hotel - everyone so friendly and helpful.

Entertainment at night was ok but got a bit boring after the first few nights.

Pools and beach fantastic and it was nice to go down to the pool any time in the day and be able to find some where to sit.

Food was amazing, lots of choice. Best food we have had in any hotel.

Would go back to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Elaine Simpson
8 years 1 month ago
As nothing has been reported on this hotel for years, I thought I would give an update. We would go back to this hotel anytime, we have stayed in many 4 and 5 start Canarian hotels and this is as good as any, the location is superb if you want a get away from it all holiday, right on the beach, with its own supply of sunbeds, plus plenty of sunbeds round the pool areas, no need to reserve, plenty of beds whatever the time of day. Food we found to be very good, it was replaced after about 15 mins, so it never went luke warm, the entertainment was no different than any other hotel, the rooms were clean - no complaints at all about anything - there are plenty of Germans in the hotel, but no problems - can't wait to go back to this hotel again, if there were previous "moans" they have certainly pulled their socks up and sorted them out.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Christine
10 years ago
The hotel was quite clean but not worthy of 4 star. 3 years ago maybe, but now you see signs of lack of maintenance. The bedding and towels had holes in and should have been thrown out not presented in the room.

We had stayed here 4 years ago food then was very good, now it is dire repetitive, cheap cuts of meat, and cold. We ended up eating pizza and bread I would only rate this at 2 stars so disappointing. The pool side meals are even worse.

The staff work very hard but not enough to cope with running the hotel, most times only 1 person on reception who struggled to cope.

We did not watch the entertainment so can not comment.

We would never visit this hotel again it shows all the signs of penny pinching at the customers expense only the fact that the sun shone every day kept me there and I was glad to come home.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Mrs Lisa Smith
11 years ago
The hotel was really lovely , it was clean with good facilities.

The problem was that there was approx only 3% of British families staying in the hotel. This proved to be a problem as our children ( 14 , 13 ,9 ) didnt have anyone to talk to.

We stayed at the hotel for New Year and the entertainment(if you could call it that) wasn't in English. We spent the whole night bored out of our heads !!!

If you can speak a lot of languages especially German you will love it here.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Gary Lea
11 years 1 month ago
Previous reports gave this hotel good reveiws...

How wrong they where, this is definately not a 4 star
hotel. The worst supposed 4 star hotel I have stayed in (all be it 4 one night as i got moved to a good 4 star hotel. I will list the problems I found.

Cockroaches (3) in our room.

Tiles missing in bathroom, grouting missing, sealant dirty or missing. Shower broke off in hand. Only warm water at 08.30. Old worn towells and bed linen.

Building works being carried out around the pool, cement mixers etc.

All inclsive snacks consisted of just slices of french stick with a slice of german type of ham and a blamanche style cake.... Nothing hot or inviting...

All guests German

I wont mention the dog dirt in the corridor that was still there the following morning... We complained to our rep who duly moved us to a premium quality hotel.

To summarise this is not a 4 star hotel, it is 3 star poss 2 star plus. Rooms and hotel needs refurbishing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Elena
11 years 1 month ago
Hotel lovely and clean, any requests to reception were dealt with quickly and efficiently.

Not much going on around the hotel as it is in a really quiet place, if you are looking for a chilled out holiday this is the place for you.

Majority of guests were German but everyone seemed to want the same thing, just a quiet relaxing time.

Always plenty of room on sunbeds either on the beach or round the pool although a lot seemed to be reserved and no one there. Beach is lovely.

Food was really good, plenty of choice - you could always find something you liked and we had a 9 year old with us and I am really fussy. Restaurant staff super efficient, tables cleared really quickly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Joanne
11 years 4 months ago
Trouble getting into our room on arrival, given two different key cards which didn't work eventually hotel staff had to use master key.

Given a map to show location of room, reception staff too busy to show the way, bar staff didn't have much of a clue, eventually found room with the help of another guest. first impressions disappointing!

Variety and quality of food excellent.

Beach location of hotel ideal, but if we had not been on an all inclusive holiday, would have struggled to find places to eat and drink. Very quiet resort, a handful of shops and one bar/cafe within walking distance.

Bar staff and dining room staff very hard working and polite. Rooms were very clean.

Entertainment was aimed at young children. Most of the entertainment was based on the staff miming to songs. This part of the holiday we felt was very poor.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Sarah+michael
11 years 5 months ago
Hotel was spotless and rooms cleaned daily.

food great loads of selection. drinks on tap all day. range of there make alcohol (not bad), fizzy drinks and water.
only problem was that you can't go and ask for food at anytime. (if my kids were asleep between 12-3 there was nothing till dinner time.) the food was plentiful on breakfast, lunch and dinner plus a couple of snack times. ice cream until all eaten.

location was quite good. you are right on to the beach out the back of hotel you walk onto sand. shops close by and market on two days a week. not many pubs close by but taxi can get you there. water park quite a drive but great visit. zoo close by.

Hotel staff quite good.

Entertainment a laugh. all german in hotel so more for them but most of it in english.

Would visit again. But if in a small group it would be quite lonely because there were only 3 groups of english. 95% German. Then the odd Dutch, Italian and Spanish. Overall. 8/10
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Debbie
11 years 10 months ago
The hotel was very clean and the food was excellent. The staff were friendly but the hotel entertainment could have been better organised with more varity.

The hotel is mainly occupied by Germans (90%) and other nationalities including Britsh making up the rest.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Roisin
11 years 11 months ago
This is a well worth place to visit if you like all inclusive holidays. The hotel was very clean and the food was excellent. The hotel was right on the beach which was nice for a walk in the morning.

The hotel staff were extremley friendly and always kept you topped up with a drink. I didn't see much of the entertainmant just sat in the main bar most of the time.

But the entertainment was mainly for young children.
I would go to this hotel again once the area around has been built up a bit more.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: