Image of Mogan Princess & Beach Club Hotel

Mogan Princess & Beach Club Hotel

5 of 6 hotels in Playa Taurito

3 out of 5 from 21 reviews
4 stars
C/ Albaicín, 17 (Urb. de Taurito), 35138 Mogán (Gran Canaria), Spain

21 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ali Rose
No entertainment - Boring!
7 years ago
The road to hotel is no more than a dirt track. No railings or pavements that are safe.

Hotel is boring with no facilities at all for the over 45's. Night entertainment is for under 10's with a boring cabaret at 10.15 for adults.

Food was quite good and staff helpful. My husband wanted to watch a football match but there was no TV or screen available.

It rained for 2 days whilst we were there so the pool area closed meaning that there was nowhere else to go except back to our chairless room.

We were All Inclusive and found that the Taurito Princess Hotel opposite used the same wrist bands and sunbed towels as the Mogan - guess where we spent all our time! Taurito Princess and Mogan Princess are part of the same group so if you want to book one of these, go to Taurito, a good 4* than Mogan more like a 3*.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Richard Leonard
8 years 1 month ago
The Hotel Mogan Princess at Playa taurito exceeded our expectations.

WE thought the food was excellent varied and we ate far too much of it for our own good.

Very clean spacious room and hotel with wonderful views. Friendly staff.Plenty of loungers. Nice pools.

Nice little car hire man in the reception area offering a very good deal.

One or two little things that could be improved but thei does not detract in any way from our satisfaction.

A bottle of water in the room on arrival would be nice for all-inclusive customers.

Not suitable for people with mobility problems. Plenty of lifts but flights of stairs in between. We had a top floor and loved it but it took a few minutes to get there. Also nowhere really to walk out at night and a good walk to the beach.

Drink. The local beer was excellent, the wine and local gin and whisky as you might expect of poor quality. The genuine local drink is Honey Rum and this was really quite nice. We would certainly go again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Jill
8 years 9 months ago
The all-inclusive package was good value for money. The food was good, plenty of choice, something for everyone. The drinks were plentiful (not just standard spirits and beers)ie: (similar) baileys, tia maria, martini etc. The weather was lovely.

The rooms were cleaned daily and pool towels were provided. 259 steps from the bottom floor to our room on the 4th level but there were plenty of lifts.

The entertainment was ok, all finished by 11.00 pm.
I would recommend this hotel for a winter break if all you want to do is "chill out" as we did!!!

This holiday ticked all our boxes.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Mr&Mrs Gastall
9 years 1 month ago
Just returned from this lovely hotel,hotel was very clean rooms made up every day. the food was ok plenty of choice and well presented.only downfall was that is wasnt very hot. The toaster at breakfast time was a nightmare only one available and unless you like your toast still white and warm you need to be prepared to put it though 3/4 times to get proper looking toast.If you have difficulty walking or suffer from heights ask for a low floor. our room was nearly at the top and it took 5 lifts to reach the pool area. Most of the staff were very good, reception staff were excellant very helpful.The bar staff were a bit hit and miss sometimes very efficent, other time couldnt careless.Entertainment every night was ok. Even though i wouldnt visit this hotel again we wouldgo back to gran canaria weather fantastic but resort a bit on the quite side. all in all had a really good time. there is a free bus service down to beach and in to Taurito it self USE IT because it is long way down.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Watson
9 years 4 months ago
Arrived at the hotel early hours of the morning and the check in was efficient although we had to find our own way to our room which involved 2 lifts but this was not apparant.

We only stayed for 7 days and the week we were there, the hotel was relatively quiet so sunbeds were plentiful and getting drinks from the bar was not a problem either. However the week before was extremely busy and waiting was a problem.

The food was good, breakfast was repetitive but this is the same in every all inc I have been on. The lunches and dinners were varied and we found that we could eat something different every day.

The drinks available in the restaurant were excellent, you could order a bottle of wine with your meal and the quality of it was not like vinegar..the only problem we did have was when you ordered a beer in the bar or round the pool, you were only ever given a half pint glass and they do say only one drink per visit, this is not true, near the end of the holiday we were actually ordering bottles of wine as it took less trips to the bar.

Rooms were lovely and made up every day. View was excellent from the balcony and there is a courtesy bus to the beach, Mogan and Peurto Rico which saved alot of taxi fares.

There is a local spar shop which doesn't sell an awful lot but has essentials (litres of wine 89c) ideal for those late nights on the balconies. All in all I would definately go back to this hotel.

As for the waiters (they are not that friendly even when you tip) they are there to do a job and do not really interact with the customer which is a shame....
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
G Dawson
10 years 3 months ago
Reception staff excellent arriving at 3.30am after a 12hr journey from the UK. Delighted with rooms and views but being built into the side of a cliff it would be hard not to get a decent view. The road to the hotel is a disgrace. The hotel should never have been built or opened until this had been completed. Very limited bus service to beach and other resorts.

Reception, rooms and pool areas kept clean with exception of the glass especially at the infinity pool which totally ruined the effect it was designed for, and also the balcony glass. When this was mentioned at reception he joked about it and said it was all dirty and only got cleaned every 3/4 mths.

The dining experience was a disaster area as far as we were concerned. Salad only diners would cope although it was very repetitive. It was impossible to get a completely hot meal with some of the vegetables looking and tasting as though they had been reheated from several days before. We frequently had our table cleared while we were away choosing our next course. Take your own teaspoons as they seem to have a shortage. Severe attitude problems in the dining and bar areas especially from senior waitresses in the dining area who seemed to think the guests were an inconvenience. Avoid sitting near one of the food clearing stations as the noise is more reminiscent of a school canteen, in fact school canteens are probably quiter.

Avoid the entertainment which is noisy and amaturish.

We met a couple who had been here two years earlier and could not believe the drop in standards since there previous visit.

Overall this could be an excellent hotel in an excellent location I am just grateful we didn't visit in the high season. The management of this group of hotels need an urgent look at this place before it slides any further.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Woodward
10 years 6 months ago
Lovely hotel, very clean & very friendly & helpful staff. Location was not very good as it was on the top of a steep hill, there is a small beach at the bottom & there you could use their sister hotel princess Taurito.

I would advise you to go to the market at Mogan(about 8 euros in a taxi) or you could get a taxi to Puerto Rico for 15 euros(each way).

My husband & my self would go back again.

Entertainment is a bit on then weak side and the bar a bit slow (get 2 at a time )but its not to bad on the all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Claudine & Andy
10 years 10 months ago
We visited this hotel during the half term holidays, with our son aged 12 years, and our daughter of 5 months.

Overall, the hotel was average, clean, but not very well organised. the most disappointing part must be the waiting staff, thouroughly unhappy in their work, rolling eyes and sheer ignorance if you ask them for anything.

Only one pool bar serving drinks until 6pm, thank goodness it wasnt peak season!

The animation team are young girls from holland who are more interested in themselves and their visiting families than the guests.

We have been on countless all inclusive holidays, and this was most definately the worst for timings of snacks etc.

All that said, the weather was lovely and we enjoyed some quality time out as a family.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

11 years 1 month ago
Was disappointed with this hotel. Had booked a studio.

Normally studios have sofa beds which can be made into seating during the day.

In this room there were two twin beds which really made the room feel small and there was only one armchair for seating. The room had a fridge and two cooking rings but only a small frying pan for heating up water for drinks.

We were situated in a room on the top block of the hotel which entailed taking three lifts and walking up three walkways and two lots of stairs(with cases) to get to our room.

We were given rather vague instructions on how to find the room on arrival and wandered around in the dark before finally finding it.If we went to the lower swimming pool we had to get four lifts plus walkways and stairs down.

The food was average for a four star, often tepid and repetative and on one occasion the only vegetable was tinned carrots. The hotel was quite a uphill hike from the small resort. The large lounge seemed only to be open at night when first there was entertainment for children, then loud music and an entertainment act, nowhere to sit and have a quiet conversation with fellow holidaymakers apart from a few chairs in reception.

The positives were that the hotel was kept very clean, the staff were friendly and the view from the hotel across to Puerto Mogan and the sea was lovely, though somewhat spoiled by the ongoing construction of two hotels directly across from the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Janice Fulton
11 years 2 months ago
Hotel and rooms are nice and clean.

Towels changed daily if required.Beach towels provided.

Food in restaurant not very good have had better at 3* hotels in the past. Food only lukewarm and either over or under cooked. Meal times chaotic as there is no organisation at all. Don't bother with the packed lunch as you only get an apple ,yogurt,jam and butter. No meat or bread is provided yet they put in a knife fork spoon and toothpick.

Staff all miserable and not very helpful. Smokers are pushed out onto a small balcony as the hotel lounge is non smoking and that is the only bar open at night.

All inclusive guests seem to get treated as second class as the staff are only interested in paying guests,but they forget we have already paid up front. All inclusive guests only get the cheapest drinks.IE:If you are on half board and are paying for your drinks you get the good spirits and bottled mixers. All inclusive guests get cheaper spirits and mixers from a dispenser. Only choice of 3 cocktails and these were pre mixed. All tailored for German guests.

Entertainment. What entertainment. If you like kids clubs up till 10pm then you will be in your element.No courtesy rooms available for when your due to fly home as you have to be out of your room by 12 and we were not getting picked up till 8pm. No chance in keeping your room on either. Only 3 rooms available with 30 min slots to have a shower. Once these are all taken you have had it so get there early.

Would definately not visit this hotel again as it is very badly managed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Popular hotels in Playa Taurito