Image of El Sombrero Apartments

El Sombrero Apartments

2 of 5 hotels in Los Gigantes

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
1 star
Av MarĂ­tima Puerto de Santiago, 28, 38683 Los Gigantes, Spain
Suitable for couples seeking a relaxed spot in a picturesque resort.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
David
Great place for a relaxing holiday.
6 years 7 months ago
I thought the apartments were brilliant and would recommend to others. You are about five minutes to shops, cafes, night life but it is very quiet and peaceful. Lots of other English, Scottish and Welsh people but also French and other European people.

You have a lot of space in the rooms and can get a great sea view from the top floor which is only one floor up as the apartment blocks are only two levels.
It is also a nice little resort with a good selection of places to eat and a black sandy beach and a harbour offering trips.

Lots of boat trips on offer but the glass bottom boat is a waste of time if you want to see anything through it, otherwise it is a boat trip like the others have to offer.

The sea can be rough so be warned as I felt quite sick as did my son.

Best advice would be to rent a car when you first arrive and go to the larger shops and stock up on food and water.

Great place for a relaxing holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Michele
8 years 5 months ago
These appartments are officially only 1 star ( or key) but they are far superior to that. Location is fab, right in the centre of the resort, although the whole resort is on a very steep hill and is not suitable for older people.
Towells changed 4 times a week but sheets only once.

Huge safe in room costs 15 euros per week
TV hire ( with Sky news) 25 euros per week

Only British and Spanish go there.

Large balconies which are not over-looked.

We went for 2 weeks and this is just about the maximum time you could spend in the resort as it is very limited. Only 4/5 decent bars and restaurants plus a chinese and indian take-away.
Everything shuts before midnight and the owner of the appartments said that the trade is really down this year with fewer holiday makers than ever.

Excellent supermarket just up the hill past the tennis club from the appartments.

For
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Jim Finney
10 years 3 months ago
The studio apartments are bigger than we expected, with a separate kitchen and bathroom. Although the equipment is basic it is more than adequate with modern electric hob and cooker (no grill) but toasters are available on request. Maid service is very good, providing clean towels every three days and bed linen change each week. The pool is a good size, clean and well maintained but more comfortable sun beds would be a wise investment. The pool bar serves good cheap food and the service is excellent. We note previous comments on security buth the apartments have the best safety deposit boxes we have seen, they are small floor standing safes with insurance against forced entry. All in all we felt the appartments offer excellent value for money.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Aspro/Going Places

Recommended
Robinson
11 years 1 month ago
The apartment was fairly basic but clean, a nice size and had everything we needed.

We liked the location of El Sombrero because it was within short (but steep!) walking distance of the resort centre and harbour but still quiet at night. From our experience the hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

We found there were always sunbeds available and the free table tennis pretty good.

If we had to be critical it would have been nice to have a TV in the apartment (available for hire)and the apartments are not the most pretty from the outside. Hot water was a bit limited - it was heated in an electric boiler so once you had used that you had to wait for it to re-heat. Our bathroom window was on it's last legs too but that said, none of this would put us off going back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Mr R Hardy
11 years 9 months ago
These apartments are very good indeed, they are very clean, very well managed, and in a good location for surrounding amenities.

We have stayed previously in apartments in the resort, but these are far better than most.

The pool Cafe serves good food at good prices. The bus stop is conveniently situated just across the road for trips to most places on the island.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Aspro/My Travel

Recommended
Tracy
12 years 4 months ago
We stayed in apartments . They were very clean right next to local amenities. I would recommend this holiday to everyone with or without children.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
Mary Suter
13 years 4 months ago
Apartments were clean, large and well equipped. The view from the balcony was of scenic mountains and village.

Beware of leaving valuables in room though, safety box recommended as our rooms were broke into and travellers cheques and cash taken whilst down at the pool.

Must be able bodied as the surrounding area is very hilly.

The Chinese restaurant across the road had very friendly and welcoming staff.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Paul Chilcott
13 years 6 months ago
The apartment was large, clean and well equipped. A nice outlook over the pool and part of the village below. The apartment was spotlessly clean, and regularly cleaned throughout the holiday. The pool bar served good quality food and drink at reasonable prices. 5 - 10 minutes to any other part of the (hilly) resort. All, like-minded people at the apartments, friendly and thoughtful guests and staff.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Shirley Taylor
13 years 7 months ago
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Accomodation to a very good standard - very clean, well maintained and serviced.
Little bit away from the centre (5-10 mins), but this does have the resulting advantage of not being too noisy at night.
Smallish pool, with bar and limited food (reasonably priced).
Apart from some local bars, there is limited entertainment in the immediate vicinity, so not really suitable for those seeking all-night clubbing on their doorstep. It's much more suited for those seeking something a little quieter, but still within reasonable distance of the main centre, with its associated bars and restaurants.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours/My Travel

Recommended
Peter Hill
13 years 8 months ago
The apartment was very clean and very well maintained, the grounds and the exterior are beautiful, we were both very pleased with the staff who were friendly and helpful. The pool is smallish but again in immaculate condition with a nice bar that does snacks and drinks. It is a little bit of a walk to the resort centre but only 5-10 mins, and a little longer for the walk back as the resort is hilly. There are tennis courts opposite and a chinese restaurant and a wine bar But both are very quiet at night. There is no entertainment but i wouldn't expect it from a self catering appartments. One of the main reasons we'd go again was that there is enough to do if you want a nice quiet break, but at night you can get a good nights sleep after a nice meal or walk.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Air tours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Popular hotels in Los Gigantes