Image of Stil Los Gigantes Hotel

Stil Los Gigantes Hotel

1 of 5 hotels in Los Gigantes

4 out of 5 from 30 reviews
4 stars
Calle Flor De Pascua, 12, 38683 Acantilado de los Gigantes, Spain

30 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    21
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
S
Food was good.
7 years 3 months ago
When we arrived in our room we found we had twin beds not a double. The bedspreads were very old with pulled threads also the room and corridor smelt like an old peoples home. The fridge stayed on all night and sounded like an aircraft taking off which kept us awake all night. We complained the next day the manager was a very nice man who immediately got our room re-cleaned, the bedding changed and a different fridge put in. The rooms do need new bedding colours as they are very drab.

The view from the window was over the town but we could see a bit of the sea and the harbour and it was cool as in shade all day. I did think I was getting a seaview but make sure you have written proof of this from Thomson or you will not get one. Although the room was not of the standard of previous gold hotels the excellent staff and views when at the pool made up my score. The staff are wonderful, one day we could not find a sunbed and reception sent staff around the pools and got two sunbeds which they then asked which pool would we like them to be placed. Any problem just tell the reception and they will try to put it right.

Food was good, plenty of choice. Entertainment - we did not stay in the hotel but went outside a few steps and there are plenty of choices for the evening. TJ's we especially liked as the atmosphere is so good and cooler as it is an outdoors bar. We did not see any rowdiness in this resort and it is very relaxing. We will be visiting this hotel again but we will make sure we get a better room by taking proof of our booking.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Suited us perfectly
8 years ago
Visited 11/12 to 18/12 though from Leeds flew from Luton and saved £490 on cost of holiday from Manchester. Booked a Superior room which means tea/coffee making facilities/bathrobes/wine/fruit on arrival. However whilst certain I booked a sea view was give a garden view room, did get it changed and would not recommend garden view rooms.

Seen reports about bar next to hotel but if you don't want to hear the music nad no real problem, book a sea view.

Hotel is a bit dated but as a Gold Hotel (no bookings for under 16) suited us perfectly. Yes clientele does have a average age of 50 to 60 I reckon but fine by me.

There were plenty of sun loungers even allowing for the crack of dawn brigade. Pool towels can be hired for 5 euro refundable.

There is a new Spa but hardly anyone seemed to use it basic use was 10 euro and treatment varied in price. Think it would be better to allow one spa circuit per paying guess, may encourage some then to go for more expensive treatments.

Cannot understand comments on food, choice was fantastic, best I have come across. Only drawback is drinks expensive due to poor exchange rate 3.40 euros for two small bottles of water.

Cabaret not brilliant considering Gold and because it is indoors, in Winter season, many seats have restricted views.

The gold entertainment team of Dawn and Michael were excellent and if you like joining in passes the time during the day.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked Independently

Recommended
Rob & Lorna Athey
9 years 4 months ago
This was the third time we had been to this hotel. Nothing much has changed. Room was nice and clean and plenty big enough. Food i am afraid to say had gone down in standard(alright if you like chicken) as there was chicken on the menu every night.
Staff were friendly and help full except for one waiter at the pool bar (think he needed a humor transplant as we did not see him smile once the whole two weeks).
Entertainment was OK. The Thompson entertainment crew were brilliant got as many people involved as they could and chatted to as many people as they could.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
T.hinchliff
9 years 4 months ago
Found the hotel clean but very much in need of bringing into the 21st century.

The rooms were a good size but no coffee or tea making facilities.

The air conditioning was of little or no use whatsoever, trying to take a shower meant having to stop the shower curtain wrapping itself around you the whole time.

The kissing and shaking of hands every time you entered the dining room was a little over the top, the meals seemed a little exotic for my liking.

The waiters seemed to favor the regulars, the service in the entertainment area in the evening was very poor and glasses and bottles were left on the table for long periods due mainly to lack of staff.

Did not use the hotel entertainment due to most of it being provided by Thompson reps who were just not up to the task.

Found a little bar right next door called tgs which had entertainment on every evening not a very big place but created a very good atmosphere every evening.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

John & Marie
9 years 8 months ago
First visit to this hotel and was very pleased with our choice. No complaints at all, food was good, rooms very comfortable and clean, staff were polite and helpful, plenty of sunbeds all day long, location is to die for. Best of all NO KIDS! Hotel entertainment is OK and there are several bars nearby that provide entertainment. Excellent 2 weeks holiday, we will return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Bob And Jackie Jackson
10 years 2 months ago
Returned from a cruise and stay holiday two days ago. We chose this hotel on recommendation, and found that for the most part everything was fine. If all the staff were as courteous as the Manager, it would have been wonderful.. It bacame apparent that many people came back year on year, and for these people they got the 'treatment', for us newcomers we were made to feel like outsiders. The waiters were the most miserable that we had ever come across, we ended up 'every time' clearing our own tables away so there was room for our next course, shouldn't happen in 4* hotel. Entertainment was dire, we went to the local bars in the village which was much better, and the lads and girls in Paddy's 3, were great and chatted to us oldies (63,60,59 and 58), Jo ran a bar in the marina, and she was lovely too.
Food was great as far as we were concerned, the room overlooking the marina and village was large and clean, beware of the camera shops to the right of the hotel, you could well pay over the odds for cameras and accessories, as we found to our cost after going into Las Americas, where we found the same for one third of what we paid, and that was just for a memory card!!! The quietness of the pool was great and that was something we had never experienced before, getting a sunbed was difficult, although they were all empty, and had been for about three hours, but all had towels on them, thought it was only the Germans who did this !! obviously not, management really do need to inforce this, after all they do stipulate that this does not happen. the queue to get the sunbeds at the crack of dawn was amazing, so the staff know it happens. Sounds awful, but I think we were really spoiled on our Thomson Destiny cruise, but we would go back again, we did not see one lager lout and that was really refreshing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
David And Pamela
10 years 3 months ago
Having previously holidayed in Thomson Gold accommodation and having heard we booked a ten day holiday in this hotel.
The hotel looks decidedly tired despite a reecent refit. Our room E20 was spacious and reosonably furnished and the bathroom had toothbrushes, toothpaste, shampoos and soaps.
The pool area was a veritable sun trap however there was a lack of availiable loungers due to the morning towel reservation run.
The food was plentiful and well presented however there was a lack of variety and apart from the presence of a "cockroach" among the champagne glasses at breakfast time then I would not have had any cause for comment, the manager also informed me that another guest had report a cockroach among the bread. A bottle of cheap "Cava" Brut delivered to the room does not buy any favours.
The waiters were all mature males and seem to be well acquainted with the majority of the quests, some of whom from overheard conversations, have returned year on year for up to 12 years, my wife and I found them somewhat aloof.
The evening entertainment was indifferent and most quests including those on return visits migrated to the bars adjacent to the hotel entrance that provided a variety of local singers and the drinks were cheaper. This is the only hotel were I have ever had to pay, it cost 2 euros, to play a game of table tennis. Daytime entertainment consisted mostly of boules, skittles and golf, not very inspiring.
Would I recommend the hotel to others, probably not , the experince with the cockroaches says it all, would I return definitly not.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Sue And Dave
10 years 4 months ago
51 53 year olds

we must say after reading some of the reviews was a bit worried about this hotel.
no need to though hotel and rooms were fab had a good sea view food was excellent so much choice you must be a picky eater if you dont like the food offered. as far as we are concered it was to die for the sweet selection the sea food every thing was fab. we have come back pounds heavier thats how good it was

there was a good variety for breakfasts cereals porridge bacon eggs you name it was there. There were not just pensioners there there were young couples families with children over 16 of course it was great

must admit the location was quiet but thats what we went for entertainment was ok the entertainment team tried there best to get every one involved i think they did an excellent job. staff in hotel brilliant well done they go that extra mile for you why not go and see for yourself. would go back again and will recomend it to my friends
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland direct

Recommended
Palmer
10 years 4 months ago
Hotel very clean, Staff polite. Food good.

We booked this holiday well in advance, January '07 to be told by our travel agency that this hotel was fully booked except for a suite and one superior room. Our friends had the suite and we had the superior, which we have always know to be very good rooms.Our friends had a fab room (510 ), which had the full works. Two balconies, two huge bedrooms and lovely lounge, spa bath and a shower with jets. Didn't have tea and coffee, or bathrobes but s great view and quite room.Very slightly more than what we had paid for.
We were taked to our room by the General Manager, who told us that as this room was low down we would not need to use the air conditioning, as the sun did not get to it. (G07) was the opposite to our friends' room. This 'Garden Room is through the sitting and lobby rooms and then down the stairs,on the corner, under the restaurant with all the noise, people coming by all the time to get to the pool, no privacy, no net type curtains, on full veiw to all and sundry. Air conditioning unit very old and near the patio doors and very noisy.Cockroche on the patio because the gardens were so close I suppose. We were advised to put a towel across the door at night time by the next door neighbour to stop the bugs coming in.The bathroom fairly grotty and definately old.
I complained to the managers and was told to see the hotel Thomson Gold rep in the morning.As we were tired from the journey and a long day I couldn't be bothered to argue. The room was clean at least.
The next morning, before the Thomson rep started the one hour long talk, I collared her and told her the problem. We went to the desk and eventually I was given a set of keys to a room on the 8th (top) floor. I was told that the room might have a bit of noise from the clubs and the streets as it overlooked the town. However, I do believe that this was a standard room and the only difference is the fact that tea, coffee, safe and bathrobes are provided to then state it is a 'superior room'. I suggested to the Thomson rep that she came and had a look but she said that ther hotel management frown upon it so they are not allowed to look. That must therefore be because they can then see that there is very little difference between the standard and supirior rooms...rest asure thougth that there is with a suite...they are lovely.
Yes, the room was not what we are used to, but once we had settled into it the veiws over the town, marina and swimming pools were fine. There was noise from the clubs but with doors shut it was only a drone.It became quite interesting watching all the comings and goings of the holiday makers and the locals.
The food was good, as expected for a four star Thomson Gold. We liked everything we ate and there was a brilliant choice. King Prawns to die for!
A demonstration of how to make Paella and sangria very interesting and we got to eat that too for 4 euros.
The greed of the English Holiday makers with the sunbeds and towels made me cross and I told the managers that they should put a stop to it as it is in the hotel rules. They need to do stick to their rules as lots of people went from one pool to the other using towels to reserve sunbeds at both pools. Some had the towels on at 7am. Lots were left for three or four hours at a time.
The entertainment was very much for the fify's plus, but o.k.The resident two chaps were very camp, but were good at singing and playing a electronic keyboard. There was a brilliant band taking off the Beetles and the Thomson reps were very hard working all the time, singing and quizzes all the time.
The hotel is spotlessly clean but built in 1968, I think,so don't expect it to be modern looking.The gardens are extremely well kept and the staff are very polite.
Mt.Teide is a must. Go with Thomson from the hotel. The reason is that although it is a very early start...7am, it is worth it. You will get to the mountain and cable cars before all the millions of cars and other coaches. We got to the top at 9am and it was bliss. Take a jumper and sensible shoes as it does get chilly. Plus it was 41 degrees when we were at Los Gigantes and only 3 degrees at Teide.Then you are back at the hotel by 1pm.
The Whales and Dolphin trip is brilliant too. We saw families of the mamuals and Barry had done 17,000 trips and knows his stuff. Champange and salmon amongst lots of other food provided on the three hour boat trip. Make sure you go on the smaller catermeran with Barry. It is more informative and not crowded like the other cats.
The market at Los Christianos is like most markets abroad. Selling the normal rubbish, plus other bits that attract holiday makers. It is a market geared to the holiday makers, not the locals. We bought proper Panama hats from the market and they are fantastic value. Cheaper than the shops out there too.
Be aware of the camera shop near the cafe area of Los Christanos. It has a show of cameras in a display that sticks out of the shop at the front. It is ran by two Indian chaps, along with other gifts. DONT BUY A CAMERA OR SHOW INTEREST. We looked at a Sony digital 10mp one and were quite happy to have it and a reasonable price. We handed over our card to pay for it and then he said if we paid cash he could do a good deal with the extras we needed for it, such as a hard case and higher memory stick. We thought it was a good idea. Then we were passed on to another chap while the card was going through who was supposed to show us all the working of the camera. He then proceeded to get out another camera from a display unit and tried to tell us that this other model was better than what were were going to buy. Without going into the full details, we wanted to get the police involved but were short on time with having come on a paid for bus trip.We ended up with this more expensive camera that we didnt want.It is not as good as the Sony one and on Ebay they are half the price we paids for it.My husband has not been well and he was getting very adgerated at the time and I didnt want him having another funny turn away from home.So the warning is don't buy a Fujian 12mp camera and only go to a Sony camera shop...as we were told at a later date.

We had a very hair raising experience with a white merc taxi from Los Christanos to Los Gigantes on one day. He was doing 120km most of the time and falling asleep going along.That is 100% true! I was in the front and the three others in the back..one in tears.We couldn't get out as there was no villages in between and only motorways. He was more on the wrong side than the right. He was breaking and excellerating,very jerky and rubbing his head all the time. I tried to tell him to go and have a sleep when he dropped us off...our friends went and had a brandy!
Remember to take taxi numbers to report any problem...which we didn't get the number as we were all in shock.

Apart from that, we did have quite a good holiday with our friends, but I cannot say that I would go back to this hotel, mainly due to its location.
Hope I haven't bored you, but these things you need to know...it will make good conversation with our family and friends once we have climatised to all this rain.41 degrees in the day and 25 at night is quite different to all this rain. Happy Holidays!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: CAS. Sheringham.NFK

Recommended
Angie & Steve Parrish
10 years 4 months ago
The hotel staff are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are a good size and are clean, and the beds are changed regularly.
We found the entertainment very weak, since the majority of it was the Thomson rep entertainment team who did brilliantly in the daytime activities, but the evenings left a lot to be desired. We found excellent entertainment, however, at Route 66 in Puerto Santiago, a 3 euro taxi ride away, in the form of a rock duo called Old Dogs New Tricks. They made our holiday.
The food in the hotel is generally very good, although we did find the need to visit a Chinese Restaurant round the corner on one occasion for a change, and the food there was absolutely delicious. The sandwiches in the snack bar were extremely nice and very reasonably priced.
There was always a sunbed rush early in the morning, although if you went down to breakfast and took your towels, there were always some beds left. The salt water pool is lovely and warm and swimming is a pleasure.
Generally this is an excellent hotel, but its downfall in my opinion was the lack of variety in entertainment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Popular hotels in Los Gigantes