Image of Stil Los Gigantes Hotel

Stil Los Gigantes Hotel

1 of 5 hotels in Los Gigantes

4 out of 5 from 30 reviews
4 stars
Calle Flor De Pascua, 12, 38683 Acantilado de los Gigantes, Spain

30 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    21
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Greg/maureen Aged 50&47
17 years ago
just got back from this hotel.Found the hotel to be very clean and tidy.Bedrooms are in need of refurbishment,very drab and old fashioned.

Ate in the restaurant only once,found food to be very bland and not of very good quality considering this to be a 4 star hotel, also buffet service, ate out the rest of the time.

hotel staff on the whole very curteous and helpful except for two waiters,one from the restaurant and one from the bar,both of them need to go on a people management course, both very rude.

entertainment during the day was good with a series of games and quizzes, the rep,s done a good job keeping guests entertained. The evening entertainment was quite good with some professional acts brought in but i must admit some of them were quite naff.

No i would not visit this hotel again mainly because of the food. Also, even though my partner and myself are 50 & 47 years old we felt quite young among the golden oldies and felt this was more of an old timers hotel, also beware, the towels start appearing on the sunbeds at 7.30am sharp by very selfish people who then go to breakfast and then dont occupy them until about 9.30am and in one instance a reserved bed was not used for the whole day, come on hotel management enforce your rules.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompsons

Betty Samuels
17 years ago
Had a wonderful time at Los Gigantes Hotel. Reports about this hotel can be worrying to read but we found no problems at all. The hotel was clean, the food was varied and enjoyable and anything you asked for they tried to provide. The staff were almost the best hotel staff we have met. So polite and courteous. Always taking the time to stop and chat and be as helpful as possible. The manager was a wonderful man who treats his guests as though they are family, such a lovely man. The entertainment (contrary to other reports) was fine. Granted it isnt top class, but this is a holiday resort where the entertainment is geared to the majority not individuals so not everyone is going to be happy all the time, and we felt the Thomson reps did a great job, working hard and with enthusiasm and dedication.
We won't visit this hotel again; not because we didn't like it but because of its location.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Dave And Jill Richardson 51 And 48
17 years 6 months ago
Well, what can I say? The hotel is wonderful, we asked for and got a top floor ,quiet room, 8th floor actually, views overlooking the sea one way and cos it was a corner room, stunning views of the mountains with the waves crashing onto the rocks below !!

The staff are very attentive, too much so to be honest, in the restaurant the staff shake hands with the men and kiss the women EVERY time. Its OK the first time when you arrive but believe me by the end of the week we were trying to avoid all this contact. I personally couldn't help thinking about all the germs that were being passed from one person to another. There was a lot of "oh its SO good to be back " and which point Tomas himself would rush over and yet more kissing and hand shaking would take place !! Did they really think he remembered them ? That's why the hotel only employs male staff in the restaurant, The older ones lap it up but it does get on your nerves!!

The pool area is fine, plenty of sun beds but yes you guessed it a steady or not so steady stream of people putting out their towels long before breakfast and then going out for the day on the bus !! The last day there it rained and they were STILL claiming their beds !!

Beware of the glass of champagne round the pool in the morning its not " a nice touch " but a whopping 2.20 euros a glass ! The drinks in the hotel were expensive, we have already paid over the odds for a Thomson Gold hotel without being ripped off when get a drink !!

The hotels charges 2euros for a tiny bottle of beer that costs 75cents in its OWN supermarket, many people who sat by the pool " nipped " out for a drink to TJ's next to the hotel where its only 1euros a pint between 11am and 3 pm. Later on in the day 3pm til 8 pm its only one euro down by the harbour at Churchill's bar.

WE only went back to hotel twice for the entertainment but wished we hadn't bothered, to say it was poor is being kind, very kind.

Would we go back? Possibly in a couple of years, as long as we can avoid the waiters !!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson Gold

Recommended
17 years 7 months ago
This hotel is basically very good.

Everything about it is very good. The management obviously want to please, just go along to the cocktail party with the managers. They have all been their donkeys years. If you fancy this hotel then go.

However there are some points that you may want to consider-

1-The food is excellent BUT bland ! It is aimed at some archetyple Brit who dosen't like flavour. ( no garlic, herbs, onions or salt).

2-The Canary theme night is the exception.

3-The night with waiter service is a nice touch & well worth doing for free.

4-If you want a sea view you must book it in the UK.This is the only change the manager said he could
not do.

5-If you are over 6feet tall watch your head in the lounge on floor E.

6-The entertainments are poor.

7-Best value bar outside is Luis in the square.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independantly

Recommended
Stuart
17 years 7 months ago
The Hotel is in a lovely location, and is very clean, all the public area are well kept and decorated.

Sadly the room cleanliness needs a little tightrening up, look behind your sliding bathroom door and in the bowel of the toilet brush!

The food is excellent, some have said there aren't any sweets but that is not true - it's just that there is only one sweet display - near the main door for both sides of the buffet. There is also always a typical English hot sweet. The food is hidden all around the dining room, as done to make life interesting for the monkeys at the zoo!

Sadly some "Golden Years" Person was not honest enough to hand in our brand new with a half finished scrabble game that we inadvertantly left behind.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Barrie Dawes
18 years ago
Stayed on the 5th floor with sea view, weather was excellent, food was very good with good choices as I am a diabetic.

Entertainment was poor but this was no fault with the Thomson reps as they were very enthusiastic but the house band cocktail were the worst duo I have ever seen.

Both pools were very clean.

The staff could not be faulted nothing was too much trouble for them, and we will definitely be returning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Nikki/ Ken
18 years 6 months ago
First impressions of the hotel were very good, largely due to it's size and grand entrance.

The staff were very polite and helpful. The welcome meeting on arrival with the complimentary glass of wine was a nice touch.

The hotel was extremely clean, the room was a good size although not very fancy. We had booked for a sea view room which was worth it but we found out later that the views from the other side of the hotel are just as good.

We had booked a late check out room due to our late flight home but were very disappointed to have to change rooms on the last day.

The food was disappointing, we ate out quite a lot. The food was hot but the choices not very inspiring. We found the dining room too big and noisy, not a nice atmosphere and many of the guests were in too much of a rush, after all there was plenty for everyone. Breakfast time was like a stampede.

The early morning rush for sun beds was also incredible, those guests who return there year after year worked the system perfectly, strangers were not popular if they got one first, you would think these people owned the place. The annoying thing was that they put their towels out at 7.30 am then did not use the beds till later on in the day. The hotel should really in-force the rules that they state in their guidelines.

The location of the hotel was pleasant and the resort quiet. The people who go there are, to put it politely, very reserved.

I cannot recommend the hotel entertainment unless you are over 80 but there are some quite entertaining acts on in other venues nearby.

All in all we had a relaxing break but we found the hotel to big and impersonal with an unwelcoming atmosphere, although this was not the fault of the hotel staff.

The idea to not allow children is an excellent one and there were adults of all ages there but most activities are aimed at pensioners.

We would not go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Mr Simpson
18 years 7 months ago
Just returned from Los Gigantes hotel very clean our maid was very friendly but found the staff a little false. It appeared that hotel manager was always watching over them so they are on edge.

A lot of repeat guests feel the same when speaking to peolple during our stay. Thomson staff very helpfull put in a lot of hard work trying to plse us all.

Their Reps show was a good nights entertainment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Sue/Phil
18 years 7 months ago
The hotel cleanliness was excellent, however the bedrooms were somewhat dated but very spacious.

The food in general I felt was not deserving of a 4 star establishment, many of the dishes were tepid and breakfast was a free for all, very regimental run with alot of clanging of crockery during mealtimes.

One small piece of advice for anybody contemplating the complimentary waiting service given by Thomson for one evening meal only (do not go!)Butlins during the 70s comes to mind, please Thomson's drop this option!

The location of the hotel was faultless despite being over the foyer of the hotel and 7 storeys up.

Hotel staff were rather sombre and appeared to be on edge(under the watchful eye of the hotel manager)

Entertainment for a 4 star hotel was very poor especially the duo Cocktail.

Thomson solely caters for the 65+ in this establishment my partner and I are mid 40s and appeared to be the youngest there at the time!

Please please re format your ideas regarding the Los Gigantes hotel, we totally love the couples only idea but less Saga please.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Crissy/ Mark
18 years 7 months ago
My wife and I stayed at Los Gigantes Hotel on December 2005.It was a very relaxing holiday for the two of us.

An excellent hotel, very clean , very helpfull staff, very good food, and very good entertaiment although the evening shows could be improved a little.

The resident duo "Cocktail"where just amaizing, We like to enjoy good music, relaxing with a drink, and They made our nights magic!
They had a style and personality of their own.

Tomas in the restaurant ( WHAT A CHARACTER ) he was funny, charming and helpfull.

In a few words, Wonderfull Hotel for people who like a touch of class.

If you're the yahoo!!! tipe, go somewhere else.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Los Gigantes

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.