Image of Stil Los Gigantes Hotel

Stil Los Gigantes Hotel

1 of 5 hotels in Los Gigantes

4 out of 5 from 30 reviews
4 stars
Calle Flor De Pascua, 12, 38683 Acantilado de los Gigantes, Spain

30 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    21
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sam
19 years ago
This was the first time abroad together for my husband and I (A very belated honeymoon) and we were not disapointed. The Los Gigantes Hotel surpassed our expectations.

The Hotel was spotless and the staff brilliant. Lots of choices of food and rooms really spacious and clean - maid service every day.

We originally booked a superior room - but most of these are on garden level and are quite shaded and not very private due to path leading to freshwater pool.

We asked to be moved to a higher floor and were given a room on the 8th floor. We had fantastic view over cliffs and although facing the car park and bar in the grounds we didn't find the noise a problem.

Balcony doors shut out the noise when closed and rooms have air con so if you fancy an early night theres no problem.

Pools area was great and pool very clean. Entertainment left a lot to be desired and after about 2 nights of it we had enough but there are plenty of bars outside which are relaxing but with better entertainment.

As we travelled in June we were by no means the youngest (we are in our 30's) but were lead to believe that in the winter months the age range is a lot older.

We would definately visit this hotel again it was perfect.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Christian Brownless
19 years ago
Me and my wife Kerry have not long come back from our honeymoon at the Los Gigantes Hotel and loved it. The reps do an excellent job in keeping you entertained during the day and night and the resident band Cocktail are brilliant, they make each song their own. A lot of the entertainment was repeated on a week to week basis by the Thomson Gold Production Team, but they do work very hard and should be given a chance.

The food was excellent and the staff are friendly and very good at what they do and that goes for all areas of the hotel. The manager is always around and is always happy to talk to you and listen to what you have to say.

The pools are great and I mainly kept to the salt water pool as it worked wonders for my tan, however, the fresh water one is very cooling.

The views from the hotel are excellent or La gomera and the cliffs and the sun setting in the evening makes for a romatic meal in the diner (ask for window seat) or sit on the balcony and watch it set. We will without a doubt go back to this excellent hotel and
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
D Kelly
19 years 3 months ago
Los Gigantes was recommended to us by the travel agent whilst we were looking for a late booking and we haven't been disappointed with our holiday. The points I am going to raise are not so much grumbles, but hopefully comments that will help you decide whether or not to stay here.

Firstly, the average age of residents is probably in the 40's with no under 16's (I think) permitted to stay. Although there were a few younger couples that seem to be arriving in the last few days that we were there. This gives the hotel a relatively relaxed and peaceful environment, especially the pool area, which was exactly what we were looking for.

The entertainment was good, Blakjack were replaced whilst we were staying (they were awaful) and the new resident band Cocktail are very good. The reps work very hard at providing a quality level of entertainment and the highlight of our stay was the rep caberet act which was outstanding - and great fun.

The food was good with a good selection, but we found that it was better to get to dinner early because the cold buffet got quite - shall we say - tired - towards the end of the sitting. The hotel staff were brilliant, all the plaudits that you read in these reviews are not misplaced, and the rooms clean and airy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Jean Linford
19 years 6 months ago
This was booked as a late deal and we had no idea we would be at this hotel.

We cannot fault this hotel, the management were brilliant when we arrived very late. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. The sea view was fabulous, an ideal location for a quiet relaxing holiday.

Food was very good in particular the gala dinner. The entertainment could be better but plenty of local bars also with entertainment if you wish to venture out. The hotel bar is well stocked and drinks are reasonably priced, unusual for a 4 star hotel.

The weather was brilliant and two lovely pools to sit around, although something should be done about people reserving sun beds, even though it asks you not to in the hotel information. Perhaps a member of staff removing these towels would do the trick.

We had a great holiday and wished we have been there for two weeks. Many of the other guests we spoke to have been to this hotel several times and we would certainly return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsom

Recommended
Janet Williams
19 years 7 months ago
Lovely Hotel, truly excellent staff - nothing is too much trouble.

Rooms very good - very clean - maid service excellent.

Food also excellent with loads of choice including a special table for people who have a dietary need (eg. diabetes).

Entertainment in hotel truly diabolical! 1 star is giving it too much really. We had two very good comedians on, a flamenco show and a tribute band which were all excellent but that was 4 shows in 14 nights! We did have Riverdance - a tribute to Michael Flatley - well he needn't worry - it was really awful - so much in fact we couldn't stop laughing!

Thomson Gold entertainment is a joke here. We stayed in The Yaramar (Thomson Gold) Fuengirola and it was so professional - better than a cruise ship - but here- forget it. 0ne night Bing Crosby records - I ask you. Another a Eurovision Song Contest Quiz and they were the good nights - so out to the bars instead.

That was one blight on the holiday the other was the dreaded sunbeds - every morning with their towels - apparently the pool isn't opened until 8.00 am so they put their towels in a queue by the door early and then go back! Beggars belief. They really have to do something about this!

As mentioned in another review the clientele is of an age - we are in our 50s and felt positively youthful - no bad thing though. Would go back though if we got a good enough deal.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Robert Lawson
19 years 8 months ago
The hotel Los Gigantes and its facilities (including staff) are excellent.

Unfortunately there is a pub on the grounds in front of the hotel which blasts out extremely loud music from 8 o'clock at night to 10 minutes after midnight. Therefore it is advisable to pay the supplement for a sea view at the rear to the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Keith & Theresa
20 years ago
The hotel furniture is in need of a little refurbishment in some of the public areas but is really clean and tidy.

The staff are extremely polite and cant do enough to help. English is spoken by all and even the General Manager will lug your cases around if he is about when you arrive.

The restaurant is fantastic. There is usually 7 choices of main course on the buffet dinner but some of the items are cooked fresh in front of you. Take the free opportunity to dine on the a la carte menu once a week as the standard is superb. Talking about the restaurant I must mention the Head waiter Thomas and the Restaurant Manager Orlando. These blokes ouse customer service and any 5 star restaurant in Britain would be happy to see these guys working there.

The rooms are spotless and maintained by the chambermaids to a high standard. They are in need of a little refurbishment but it wouldnt spoil your holiday in anyway.

The downside. Being a Thomson Gold Hotel means it is aimed at the over 50's and the entertainment reflects that. The current house band is truely appalling. They have one set of music that they play twice a night at 20.30pm to 21.30pm amd 23.00pm to 00.00. You can set your watch by what song they are singing.Neither can hold a note and the bar empties at 2300pm when they play their second set. I know that many people complained to the Thomson reps about them but as they are booked by the Hotel Management they are stuck with them.

Other entertainment provided on some occassions is ok but the Thomson Gold productions are also appalling.

We are fussy about where we stay and the quality of the food we eat, I can recommend it to anyone thinking of going. We might go again along as that appalling band are not still there!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
E & A
20 years 3 months ago
Fantastic hotel in many ways. Rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated. Cleaned & maintained very well.

2 pools, one with entertainment and other for people who want to relax. Could not fault the hotel grounds which were well kept/clean. Beautiful views of the cliffs as well.

Food was excellent! Such an extensive choice which catered for special diets as well. We really looked forward to meal times! No need to eat out of the hotel as it was always supurb.

Staff were lovely; always pleased to see you and made an effort to get to know every guest. Really seemed to enjoy their jobs!

Entertainment wasn't so good, but we weren't bothered. It was always packed out by guests and people from outside, so you needed to get there early!

We went to the beach once and it was miserable looking, so we stayed by the pool everyday which was nice. Although the weather wasn't very good in April, the hotel was such a joy to be at and I am a sun-worshipper so that's saying a lot. We would definately go back to this hotel in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
N Hurl
20 years 4 months ago
A great hotel in a great location, this is Tenerife at its best, stripped back to its core with a low key nightlife and fantastic views the hotel offers a relaxing break.

From our room we had great views of the ocean and the cliffs. The food was fresh and easy to eat, the staff friendly and always happy to help.

A great getaway for anybody looking to relax.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: tomson

Recommended
Fred
20 years 9 months ago
The Hotel Los Gigantes is excellent and situated in one of the most magnificant of locations. Views from the hotel out to sea towards the island of La Gomera provide the perfect contrast with the black rock cliffs that surround the resort. The town of Los Gigantes although relatively intimate does provide quite a good selection of restaurants and entertainment venues so it is possible to have a change of scene from the hotel fare. There is plenty of scope for taking walks in and around the area and for going on boat trips from the beautiful harbour. The town and surrounding area is quite hilly and as a consequence might be unsuitable for the less mobile. Taxis are available from just outside the hotel and both public service and tour buses to many locations stop for passengers about 200 metres from the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Los Gigantes

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.