Image of El Rompido

El Rompido Holidays

3 out of 5 from 10 reviews
Once a fishing village El Rompido has found a new lease of life as a tourist centre with a number of different attractions. The resort is surrounded by a number of fine white sandy beaches and national parks which are home to some rare wildlife, including the endangered Iberian lynx, mongoose, wild boar and a host of bird life. The area is home to a number of pine forests and sand dunes too and those really wanting to get back to nature can stay in a nearby camp site. The resort also offers a variety of golf courses while the beach is the perfect place to try various water sports.

Hotels in El Rompido, Spain

Image of Marismas Club Resort Hotel
1 of 1 hotel in El Rompido
15 Reviews

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Bowring /dalton
10 years 5 months ago
we only went to el rompido once it,s a lovely place if your looking for shopping hols probably not ideal it is as i was told an untouched fishing village not a crane in sight !!!! a handful of shops resteraunts and bars we were told by our rep this is where the spanish go for there hols the equivelent to us going to cornwall and devon !!!! the hotel run a free noddy train every half hour or you can walk which takes half hour
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Mcgilley
10 years 6 months ago
This is a typical Spanish fishing village.They are devout Siesta followers and the village shuts down from 2-5.30 pm.
There are plenty of small bars and restaurants and best of all only 1 British bar!
The people in the local shops speak no English,but are happy to try to communicate by sign,or pictures or especially any attempt of Spanish.They were all very friendly and it is still a busy fishing community.
We would definately visit El Rompido again.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Bambridge Family
10 years 7 months ago
El Rompido is a typically Spanish holiday resort-very quiet but a bit livelier later at night and at the peak July/August times (apparently). The most disappointing part was that all over the area they seem vey lax in cleaning up litter-obviously it gets thrown onto the road from passing motorists-this really annoyed us. The food at the resort restaurants is very good and there is an English owned bar, The Orange Sports Bar, the family who run this are a very engaging but don't put too much of the UK into the resort-so its both typically Spanish in terms of clientele but caters for a little home comfort as well which was very nice-I recommend a visit. The best idea is to hire a car-not cheap by the day, probably best for a week and travel along the coast both easterly into Spain and west into Portugal. Seville is a must-very easy to drive to via the main route that runs between Portugal and Spain via Huelva. If you venture off the main roads there are some lovely hillside towns and villages to explore and some fantastic wildlife in the National Park to the South-East of Huelva. Huelva itself is not a tourist location, but if you want to visit a typical everyday Spanish Town and watch the Andalucians go by it is easy to get to. In this part of Spain the Siesta is a well kept tradition and between 1.30pm and 5pm it is very quiet, although a good number of bars and restaurants stay open throughout.
There is mile after mile of sandy Atlantic beaches to roam, but again in places there is too much litter-the best we found though were off the National Park area where you walk about 1km over boardwalks and sandunes onto windswept beaches east of Maranza.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Eric Ogden
11 years 2 months ago
There is no beach, so I can't report on that, it was end of season so we had to make our own entertainment.
The hotel is clean, and given that I could come home with everything I went with, I would go again.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Kathryn Rees
11 years 6 months ago
The resort of El Rompido is a small fihing village and does feel likt the real Spain. Very little English spoken, but no problem being understood and to be honest it was nice to feel like we had seen the real Spain. We didn't eat out in El Rompido as we were AI but we had a few drinks and they seemed to be reasonably cheap (2 euro for 2 beers. Visit it before it becomes too commercialised.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Skelton
11 years 7 months ago
El Rompido is a small fishing village, and we travelled very early season, so more shops/bars were opening daily, but not much there to be honest. The beach is a fishing beach, so dead fish/birds lying around, although there was a small kids climbing area with swings and slides which was nice. Think my parents went to the sports bar which is run by english couple which was very nice, and they even offered to run them back up to the hotel if the noddy train had finshed running.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Gibsons
12 years 5 months ago
Resort was clean and new, however extremely quiet - all depends on the type of holiday you are looking for!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Waude
13 years 3 months ago
The hotel is very much out of the way of everything, but there is a small train that takes you into the nearest town about 1km away where you can visit cafes and bars.

There is limited shopping and the last train back at night is quite early so you you have to walk back if you go for a meal.

If you went for 2 weeks it would be advisable to hire a car, this is very cheap to do so.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Wade
13 years 5 months ago
Nothing much to do outside of the hotel if you are with children. The beach was a bit of a trek, on a land train and boat. Lovely beach but no facilities and only a handful of umbrellas. Quite rough and lots of seaweed but lovely golden sand. Not ideal for small children. The nearest decent town for shopping etc was about 30 mins away in taxi but beware of expensive taxi fares. El Rompido village, a small ride away on the land trains, had 1 supermarket and a couple of boutiques. Nothing for the children.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Jones Family
14 years 2 months ago
Mostly building work will change in the near future.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of Marismas Club Resort Hotel
Marismas Club Resort Hotel
El Rompido, Spain
We stayed at Marisimas Club Hotel, El Rompido. We…
Other popular destinations
Image of Benidorm
Benidorm
Costa Blanca
Image of Salou
Salou
Costa Dorada
Image of Alcudia
Alcudia
Mallorca
Image of Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico
Gran Canaria
Image of Puerto Del Carmen
Puerto Del Carmen
Lanzarote
Image of Corralejo
Corralejo
Fuerteventura
Image of Palma Nova
Palma Nova
Mallorca
Image of Caleta De Fuste
Caleta De Fuste
Fuerteventura
Image of Fuengirola
Fuengirola
Costa Del Sol