Image of Marismas Club Resort Hotel

Marismas Club Resort Hotel

4 out of 5 from 15 reviews
UrbanizaciĆ³n del Rompido II, 0, 21459 El Rompido, Spain
This brand new hotel offers high quality accommodation right by El Rompido Golf Club. Sports enthusiasts will find plenty to keep them busy at this resort, which is close to the pretty village of El Rompido with its small selection of amenities.

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Bowring /dalton
9 years 11 months ago
we stayed at this hotel on a all inclusive basis we only managed breakfast on the first day but there seemed to be plenty of choice lunch and dinner had a good selection we didin't struggle to find a nice dinner the 5* resteraunt next door is also well worth a visit although i didn't rate the service any higher than what we got where we were

the rooms were lovely plenty of room nice big beds very clean maids did a top job especially as my 2 teenage sons were in a seperate room next door an i refused to pick up after them all week we did leave her a good tip for all her effort !!!!towels were changed as long as you leave them on the floor or in the bath

there aren't a lot of english at this hotel mainly spanish an french the kids did have a bit of a grumble the first couple of days but made firm friends and were having 'dance offs' with the reps they had a ball & didn't want to come home

on a final note we loved this hotel and area,very nice,pretty location from our room you looked out saw first the pool then the golf course the the sea beautiful
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Louise
9 years 11 months ago
We stayed at Marisimas Club Hotel, El Rompido. We stayed All Inclusive and booked via First Choice and booked via the internet. The flight was from East Midlands Airport and we travelled without any delay. The transfer to the hotel was fantastic and we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The First Coice rep, in particular, was very good (Richard) and did his best to make sure we had a lovely holiday. The hotel food was a bit "Spanish", but this was to be expected in Spain. Entertainment was mostly provided by the French reps but there was some English entertainment. Enjoyed our holiday but would have liked a bit more for my children, 9 and 11 to do there. Pools lovely and staff very pleasant.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mcgilley
10 years ago
We have just returned from a week at this hotel.
The room was a good size with all amenities.

We had a kitchenette with all we needed except a kettle which was extra 3 euros a day.We coped using a saucepan which was fine.

Bathroom was a good size and kept immaculate ,with fresh towels daily.

Bedroom was again a good size with large wardrobe and door to balcony.

The lounge area had a comfortable settee in it and large patio doors onto the balcony. We had a lovely view overlooking the pool area, the river and the sea beyond,as well as the golf course.

The only downside was we didn't have much sun on our balcony,but that didn't matter too much as it was nice to sit in the shade sometimes.

Although there were quite a few children on site,they were entertained most of the time and were not too noisy.
The food was good, although they like their fish !

There was always something nice to eat at every meal.There was never a problem finding somewhere to sit and even outside on the decking there was usually spaces to sit.

Staff were excellent.They were cheerful and always said "hola" as they passed.

The entertainment for adults was not too good,but they tried ! Plenty of bars to get a drink.

This season there is a French company in residence.They out number the British by about 11 to 1,but it wasn't a problem at all.

They had there own entertainment team and were happy for anyone to join in any of the activities they organised,even if it was all in French you got the jist of it.

We would definately visit the hotel again.
The hotel is a short,but easy walk to the village of El Rompido( about 20 minutes) and on your way you cross a small bridge over an inlet.

Look out for the hundreds of "fiddler crabs" at low tide .They were fun to watch.

We didn't go to the beach,but did get the little train down to the village(when we were lazy)and there is also a free bus to Cartaya and Portils( 2 nearby small towns)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Paul
10 years ago
Just got back off a family holiday from this hotel, All in all a good holiday, just a couple of things that are off putting. The main thing really for our family was the food, which is just so repetitive. Granted, you will get the odd good night, but nothing changed and there was very little for children. I reckon if they did a kids buffet, things would be lot easier. The 5* hotel food is excellent, and would of loved to gone there every night. The residents do look down at you for wearing a blue band, but if you look past that, it's very enjoyable.

The French. Yes, there entertainment are plesant, friendly and don't mind getting you involved but they are way to loud and in your face (even early in the morning). It's hardly relaxing when there bouncing around the hotel. I definitley wouldn't of booked this hotel if I knew it would of been a higher majority of French people. You will know who the French are as they wear the red bands.

Hotel is immaculate, with room cleaned daily and beds made. Fresh towels provide everyday 1st week, 2nd week they never left any. I had to keep calling reception for towels. All the hotel staff are friendly, and all say hello with a smile.

I would say 2 weeks is too long at this hotel. We ended up getting a car and went to Gibralta (4 hour drive) and Seville which is an amazing city. I would definitley recommend Seville for a day. It's about an hour in the car.

The kids club is good and my little girl loved going. Its run by the hotel entertainment team, and they have loads of time for the kids. With regards to the entertainment, this was ok (a bit hit and miss). The compare or the Entertainment leader is funny, and he livens up the shows. You'll now what I mean, when he gets him self in a ballon (hilarious).

A ok holiday, very relaxing but wouldn't go back due to the majority of French people and quality of the food. It's worth a weeks holiday, if you've just booked.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Bambridge Family
10 years 1 month ago
The Marismas Club is certainly a friendly hotel, and a little off the beaten track-that said, if you like a hotel in a non commercial area then this is the right place to go. The all inclusive side is fine, the free drinks end promptly at 11pm though, so be warned that although the measures are generous, it does get expensive if you stay up late! The pools at the Marismas are lovely and clean and you can use the outdoor pool at the Rompido Golf next door, but not the indoor spa and pool-this is extra. The rooms are a good size with a bedroom of twin beds and a lounge/diner with two ring cooker, fridge and cutlery etc. If going as a family you wil get a sofa bed and a seperate bed which is a very good point as you can have some privacy. Be warned-if on the all inclusive, no kettle unless you want to pay 3 euro's a day. The maid service is probably the best we have experienced-clean towels daily, linen 3 or 4 times a week and a thorough clean every day-fantastic! The food was a little disappointing, it was hit and miss, but they do grill some lovely fresh fish at lunch and dinner several times a week. You can have one meal per weekly stay on the all inclusive package at the sister hotel which is an utterly brilliant meal-but be warned the guests here are in a five star golf hotel and some look down their noses at the 'guests' with the blue wristbands.Book as soon as you arrive as the places are limited to 12 daily and once gone, you can't get in unless you pay a supplement.
The hotel is well maintained but needs a bit of TLC-Oh and be warned every week there is an influx of French Guests-who bring their own entertainment team and are very loud, although very pleasant and you can join in with them if you wish. Although we did not use it the kids club seemed to be very popular and well organised, but the evening entertainment was poor unless fronted by the entertainments manager and then it was fine. If you want to practice your French and Spanish-you will be on good ground-but there is a good number of British families too most of whom had the odd grumble but overall enjoyed the stay.
In our terms 6.5 out of 10 and probably a three star plus as opposed to four star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Emma
10 years 9 months ago
We were very impressed with this hotel. I had read some reviews before going and was a little concerned but they did not apply to our holiday.
The hotel was lovely and clean and the maids were doing a fantastic job of constant cleanliness.

The food was ok. I would call it foreign cooked food -nothing all that wrong with it just foreign. Breakfast was fantastic lots of choice - even cook fresh eggs and omlette. Lunch and dinner plenty of choice from salads to fish to pasta to meat. On several days they served fresh cooked prawns which you peeled yourself, my husband was in his element. From the all inclusive side - you could never go hungry or thirsty. Drinks measures were very large and you could eat ice creams and snacks all day.

The location was as we expected it to be. My husband played the golf course and said it was fantastic. We took the 'Noddy' train into El Rompido which our little one loved and was free. The ferry across to the beach was also free. The council has recently set up a free bus service to Cartaya and Neuvo Portil which runs from 6.30am til 8pm ish. This was a great idea and got us venturing outside resort. If I went again, I would hire a car.

Staff were good especially int he kids club. They were all very good with the kids, spoke good english and were always happy.

Entertaiment was good. Regular activities through the day and kids disco and face painting at night followed by some arranged entertainment.

The swimming pool is cold as it is fresh water but soon warms up through the day by the sun. Just jump straight in and it feels warmer! There is 2 massive pools and a kids pool with plenty of loungers so no fitting for space!

Overall, the holiday was very good and stress free which was the main thing! The food would not be what you expect in a 4* here, but was still ok. I would visit again for a relaxing week.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
James
10 years 11 months ago
We stayed in this hotel for 1 week and just loved it. We do not play golf but went to see properties in the area. The place is very clean, the pool is excellent and the pool side food is quite nice. The village (2KM away) is very pretty and quite Spanish. El Rompido on the whole is extremely peaceful and has some lovely restaurants, Other village(7km away) is beautiful, has a good restaurants "Consolacion".

You do indeed need a car if you want to explore the area as it is not ideal to rely on the train service to get you to the village.

We really had a great time at this hotel, and will be staying here next time as well.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: destinia

Recommended
Simon
11 years ago
What a great find this was,if you have booked to go here then you will love it.

Absolutley deserves its 4 stars.

All inclusive option was great, food and drink available from the moment you wake to the time you sleep.Great selection in the restuarant, all self service,and presented nice.

3 Pools in total, 1 kids pool, then 2 big pools with sunloungers all around. Never get crowded and can get a lounger anytime of day,all have lovely umbrellas too to keep in the shade when it gets hot.

Location great, very relaxed, golf course sorrounds the hotel and great views of the sea.

A hire car is a must as quite remote from any villages although El Rompido is in walking distance.

Have a great stay if you are going!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Kathryn Rees
11 years ago
Have stayed in a number of all inclusives but first time for some of the party and I was concerned as they can be fussy eaters. However there was always something for everyone to eat (even if it was chips) and everyone enjoyed the snacks in the bars during the day too. The drinks were great (and some well known brands) and the measures were not small!

The rooms were lovely. Nice to have the facilities of a small kitchen (even tho we were AI). Nice to have a seperate room from the children too!

All the rooms and public areas are clean and towels and bed linen is changed regularly.

The location of the hotel is not central (but then it doesn't pretend that it is). 2 of our party took the bus into Huelva one day which they said was straightforward and we took the land train into El Rompido a number of times. We also hired a taxi to take us to the small aqua park which is 10 minutes up the road (ask the rep Dawn for his details). Really nice English bloke who will come and pick you up when you are ready to come home so no need to pre-book him.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Firstchoice

Recommended
Skelton
11 years 1 month ago
Despite being called 'beach club' it is not close to the beach. It is at least a 15 min 'noddy train' (free) from the hotel, and then this beach is a fishing village so lots of dead fish around and not exactly pretty!.

You would then need to go on a little boat (another 15 mins) across to the nature reserve beach which is more appealing, but has no facilities on it whatsoever (not even a toilet) so not ideal with young children.
With 2 children, and a fussy eater of a husband, All Inclusive is definitley worth it.

We have gone AI many times before, and I think this wasn't as good as most of the others. The first week we took our meals in the hotel next door - the 5* Golf Hotel. This was lovely (especially fresh cream desserts!), although not a lot of choice.

Then the 2nd week we ate in our own restaurant - what a shock to the system that was! Food very repetitive, not replenished very often, and therefore often cold.

We travelled last week of May, and therefore early season and very quiet, which meant pool sunbeds were always available, no queues for food/drinks etc.

On arrival, we discovered that all of our rooms (we had booked 3 x 1 bed appartments) had been upgraded to 2 bed appartments (My mother-in-law rattled around her palacial apt on her own!).

This was the hotels doing, not First Choice, as 2 bed apt is not even offered through them which is a shame as we would have paid for it had it been.

Fantastic kids indoor club from 4 years upwards. Regina was childrens entertainer and did a fantastic job. As low leason, only other entertainer was Raphael who also did a fab job considering his limited resources. Evening entertainment consisted mainly of the kids disco, then sometimes a quiz, and one night a one man show by Raphael. If you don't have kids, not sure this would appeal, and very poor compared to other hotels.

Pools were freezing (19 degrees!) although weather was very good (27 degrees) for the time of year. Restaurant staff were not very happy, didn't even interact with kids which is unusual for Spain. English speaking staff on Reception were fantastic and helped us sort out hire car and local attractions to visit (and Isla Magica just outside Seville). This was just as well as our First Choice rep (Carole) was useless. She went AWOL 5 days into our holiday!

All in all - lovely appartment, not the best food but bearable, not much entertainment, and not the best location. We wouldn't visit this hotel or resort again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum