Image of Oasis Islantilla Hotel

Oasis Islantilla Hotel

1 of 3 hotels in Islantilla

4 out of 5 from 14 reviews
4 stars
Av de Islantilla, 0, 21410 Isla Cristina, Spain
Offering a wide range of sporting and health facilities to suit all the family, this superb complex overlooks a long stretch of sandy beach and scenic promenade. Local amenities are nearby in the adjoining town of La Antilla.

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Alison Logan
10 years 3 months ago
This is one of the best hotels/apartments we have stayed in. We were on self-catering basis so did not try the hotel restaurant (ate in pool side bar which was good). The self catering equipment is a bit sparce, but I took a travel kettle with us (having read this complaint before on this website) and when we return next year, I intend to take a very small two slice toaster with me. However there was enough cutlery for the five of us and plates etc. Only one saucepan and a small frying pan which could make life difficult if you intend to do complicated meals, but you can buy saucepans in the local supermarket for a reasonable price. The cleanliness of the apartment and hotel as a whole was fantastic. Apartment cleaned every day and shampoos etc replenished. All rubbish taken (including lots of large empty water bottles). The pool area was spotless. Plenty of bins to put rubbish in. No excuse for litter. The staff were very friendly to us. My husband speaks some spanish and they responded very well to his efforts. They were always really helpful. We needed a doctor for a non-emergency situation and that was dealt with immediately. We ordered a taxi to the local water park which was done as per as exact orders. We did not go to the entertainment very much. Mostly it was 'in-house'. We have booked again for next year, same time etc.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jill & Phil
11 years 1 month ago
Hotel is in a great location, interior lovely, though beginning to look a little tired. Pool is fantastic, promenade and beach are immediately accessible. We had one evening meal in hotel which was truly awful.

Hotel staff were verging on rude to us, apart from house maid who actioned shower being fixed without us asking.She also kept our room lovely.

Reception staff, and bar staff were rude to the point of walking away from us without providing service. We are not loud, antagonistic people and have never experienced this before. We saw a difference in the way we were welcomed to the Spanish guests. We felt our (British) presence was not wanted at this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Julie, Darren, Rachel & Dani
11 years 2 months ago
We stayed in Oasis in August for a week . First impressions were excellent, with a spacious reception/lobby and friendly, helpful reception staff. We were greeted by a receptionist and a porter who spoke a little bit of english. Once we checked in the porter took our bags to the room. We had a two bedroomed apartment which overlooked the smaller of the two pools. The apartment was more than adequate, with two bathrooms and airconditioning. The facilities in the hotel were excellent and we were all pleased that we had chosen the Oasis.

I would say that 85% of the guests were spanish, and whilst they kept themselves to themselves, I felt that we were definately outsiders. The staff in the hotel and the commerical centre were polite but that is were it ended. They don't make an effort to be friendly and we all felt that they really don't want the Brits there!! However, saying that, we would return to the Oasis for a relaxing break.

It helps if you can speak a little bit of spanish, but don't worry a phrase book and you will be fine.

We met some lovely british people at the pool side, which is beautiful and very quiet until 4 pm then it becomes very busy. The pools are so cold it takes your breath away. You don't have to get up at 6 am to reserve a sunbed, I used to go down at about 8.30 and there was plenty to choose from. You can get towels for the sunbeds, you have to leave 20 euros deposit per towel, but you can change the towels once a day and at the end of the holidays as long as you haven't lost a towel you get your deposit back.

The animation team work very hard to organise activities and entertainment, but the latter left a lot to be desired!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Dave,Lucy,Sophie & Archie
11 years 2 months ago
Our first impressions were good, and we were very pleased with the two bedroom apartment that we were allocated, which also had an en-suite.
Not too many self catering 'tools' but we took our own travel kettle so all was well.
Rooms were cleaned daily, and shampoo's, soaps etc replenished when required.
View and air con were super.
Extremely friendly reception staff who nearly all spoke enough English to get by but also made it fun with our bit of 'pigeon' Spanish.
Pools were lovely,clean and safe and 'fresh' to say the least.
The "entertainment" was passable and I'm sure that it was louder in our room than at pool bar where it took place, but it mostly finished at midnight.
Overall, would revisit for another 'wind down'.
Lastly, thanks First Choice for taxi to resort and for not having a 'pushy' rep (Sandra).
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jenny
11 years 3 months ago
Beautiful hotel, wonderfully located for a really relaxing holiday. Self catering facilities VERY basic, with no kettle, toaster or grill! HOWEVER,local supermarket has great choice of wines, beers, bread, fruit, etc, restaurants are great value and Titanic Bar provides lovely location to enjoy a beer or a glass of wine.
Entertainment team were all Spanish, worked really hard and created a great atmosphere for adults and children alike.
First Aid facilities, hairdressers, gym, jacuzzi, laundry and internet access!
Yup, we really enjoyed our stay a lot!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Wherry
12 years 1 month ago
We were self catering and had our own rooms which were first class. Room service every day, with clean towels every other day, were given pool towels free of charge and could change these when we wanted also these could be taken to the beach.

Went through a back gate which brought you onto a promenade and then onto a fantastic beach that went on for miles.

We found the hotel shop dear but if you take a stroll to the Commercial Centre there you will find a big supermarket which is much cheaper.

We ate in most of the resturants there but couldn't beat the Chinese for value for money.

Made could friends at the Titanic bar situated 50yds from hotel.

Hotel staff were friendly and could speak abit of english but then we practised our spanish on them. Beware when you order a meal, bread is served and you have to pay for it, even if you don't eat it, charges are from 4 euros to 6.

We will definately be going back
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Lou
12 years 3 months ago
We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was a good size, clean and modern. The beds were made every day and fresh towels (both bath and pool) were changed every day, so no need to bring your own.

We were self catering because we had read in previous reports that the hotel food was poor quality. On arrival had to ask for plates, cups, cutlery, pans etc because the cupboards were bare! These were brought but only enough for the number of people in our family. There was no kettle, just a small saucepan so if you like hot drinks then bring a travel kettle!
It would be very difficult to self cater for your entire holiday with the very basic kitchen utensils provided. We did eat breakfast at the hotel (Galaria restaurant) because it was good quality and plentiful!!

The staff spoke a little English ( this is a very Spanish resort) but did their best to help at all times, the animation team were especially helpful and spoke good English, they also work very hard to provide suitable activities for all age groups, aerobics, vollyball, water polo etc, without being pushy.

The pool area was beautiful, clean, tidy and lots of sun beds but be warned you really have to get up early and put your beach towel down to bag well placed ones!!
The only disappointment for me regarding the pool was that it was very cold even in July/August, however it didn't stop the children enjoying it!

If you like reading then there is a small bookshelf where you can exchange your finished English books with other holiday makers, there was plenty to choose from.
The indoor pool was open but you were required to wear a swim hat for this and a basic gym. There was a nightly entertainment programme which started at 10.30pm for about an hour, run by the animation team who don't seem to stop all day!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Emma
12 years 4 months ago
Oasis is very aptly named this resort is heaven !

A very very relaxing resort ideal for couples .
Theres not much in the way of nightlife very limited choice of bars but staff were very welcoming.

Two very large clean outdoor pools which we had to ourselves most of the time .

There weren't many English/Irish tourists the majority of guests seemed to be Spanish therefore pool area was very quiet in the morning and also at siesta time it got busier in the evening and at weekends.


The beach was very clean and again not very busy.

The supermarket attached to the hotel had limited opening hours we had to use the bigger market about 5 mins walk away from hotel.

The room was small but very clean , TV had sky news and some sport channels.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: friend

Recommended
Skinner
12 years 5 months ago
Beautiful hotel, nothing to do.
Don'nt go there if you like having a lively holiday
you certainly won't have it here.

No shops to speak of, nothing much of anything
if you play golf you've got it made
won't be back................ever!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

13 years 5 months ago
Our holiday was based on 4 adults and 2 children. Hotel room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels/shampoo and soap and beds made, unless you requested not to have the room cleaned.

We had a one bedroom apartment, with sofa bed in the main room, which pulled out to make two beds. Crockery and cutlery were brought in a plastic tub on arrival, only enough for the amount of people in your room. Only one pan, one frying pan. No kettle if you are a tea drinker. Room had a TV, with CNN and Sky news, no other English channels. Rest of hotel areas always spotless. You could also hire towels at 10 euros each for the duration of your holiday.

There were two main outdoor pools, both very good and safe, with a lifeguard. Pool bar was open all afternoon. There was also a toddlers play pool and an indoor pool with jacuzzi, but you had to purchase a bathing cap at 2 euros each.

Hotel food - although self catering you can purchase meals in the hotel restaurants. Albatros where breakfast cost 9 euros adults, 5 euros child and dinner cost 20 euros and 10 euros respectively and La Galera which was only open at lunch and this was a la carte.

Buffet breakfast consisted of bacon, eggs, sausage, potatoes, ham, cheese, pastries, cereal, fruit.
Dinner consisted of pastas, chips, meat fish, ice cream, cakes. All very fresh and edible.

Location - I think depends on your taste. There is a mini market attached to the hotel and a small restaurant. Directly situated on the beach and surrounded by residential/private apartments. So hotel located in a very quiet area. Pedestrian beach promenade.

Hotel staff were very helpful, although most of them could not speak English. Hotel seems very Spanish and caters for Spanish tourists, but we just tried to speak a few Spanish words to get by and with help from the staff we communicated quite well - We shouldn't really expect everyone to speak English. In the reception area are two computers with internet access, a charge of 4 euros for an hours use.

Entertainment again depends on your taste, but there was something for everyone. Aerobics, football, darts, volleyball, table tennis, tennis, archery (for children).

Childrens clubs were for 4-7 years and 7-12 years. The children were even given something to eat and drink in the club on a number of occasions. The children were well looked after and enjoyed themselves.

Evening entertainment was quite repetitive. Same mini disco every night, but the children enjoyed themselves. There were a couple of themed shows, Flameco, African dancers and the resident animation team had quiz games and adult participation games.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum