Image of Triton Hotel

Triton Hotel

2 of 2 hotels in Ahungalla

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
4 stars
Ahungalla - Uragaha Rd, Ahungalla 80562, Sri Lanka
The well-established Triton Hotel was designed by a famous Sri Lankan architect and is impressively laid out in order to take full advantage of its wonderful location. Situated on one of the best sandy beaches in Sri Lanka, it offers breathtaking views.

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Dan
13 years 10 months ago
Not quite as elegant as Virgin or any of the other brochures described, this applies to the resort and the hotel. Most Brochures have given the Triton a 4 star rating, but as most people are becoming aware now, this often relates to the facilities available, not the cleanliness, location or other aspects that we may have traditionally thought of when considering which hotel you choose for your holiday. The gym equipment is sparse and antiquated, and with the frequent power cuts i wouldn't recommend the running machine! All in all I would only rate this as a 3 star hotel.

Housekeeping is above average but didn't always do a complete job. The food was generally good and well priced but a wider menu range wouldn't have gone amiss.

Sadly you dare not go on the very nice looking beach that the hotel was situated upon. There are many people trying to sell you things, ranging from polite older people who DO take no thank you for an answer to the younger, persistant and often rude people trying to sell you taxi rides, tours etc. As with any country of this kind, most conversations with the locals eventually turn into their wanting your money, it's just a shame that the hotel doesn't have a no beach hawkers policy. This would VASTLY improve the hotels overall appeal. Don't expect any romantic strolls on the beach, unless your idea of romance is having an extra hanger on or two accompany you...you will NOT be left alone!

The view from most rooms is obscured by huge trees, so no sunsets from the balcony. The brochures do warn of this though, but take it into serious consideration.

The Triton is definitley one of the nicer hotels we saw when we were out there, but none really had a feeling of home from home or astounding cleanliness. We were also warned not to venture out of the hotel grounds unless with a guide or taxi (who will each privately negotiate their % with any shops you may buy from leading to higher prices...so a catch 22). We walked down the road from the Triton and within 5 minutes we had to turn back, the constant harrassment was just too much, and not always polite as some reviews led us to believe.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin

Gary Powell
13 years 10 months ago
The Triton hotel is billed as a 5 star/4T hotel. Our concerns started on route to the hotel when the Thompson rep left us on the coach so he could go home.

We arrived at hotel at 5.30am we very little greeting, just given the key. The room was so grubby and smelly [dampness] that my wife almost cried. In the cold light of day the room was in fact worse than our initial thoughts. The carpet and curtains were dirty; the bathroom was mould and the furnishings well past there best.

We complained but had to wait for the to appear the next day. We were then given another room which we only took as it did not smell damp as it had tiled floors. The bathroom was as bad as the first with paint peeling off of the bath mould on grouting etcetera was only hanging space for clothes i.e. no drawers.

The room echoed the rest of the hotel which is very tired and run down. It may well have warranted its rating once upon a time but not now.

The resort itself is not what it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: tompson

Anthony Rowling
13 years 10 months ago
We arrived at this hotel, having stayed at the best hotels in Sri Lanka, for the beach part of our honeymoon. We were shown a room which was extremely dirty. Stained bed covers, pillows. Cups saucers spoons of an equally low standard. The windows appeared not to have been cleaned for a considerable time. Dust everywhere. Bath dirty and chipped, lots of mould and this was an upgrade for our honeymoon.

Second room was damp and odourous. The third room was a similar standard, the outside lamp hung on its wiring, paint flaking off the walls.

The food however was good, entertainment poor.

Bar service very slow.

We demanded to be moved and had to endure a short stay and went to the Taj Exotica 5 star plus.

Overall the Triton is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: kuoni

Libby
13 years 11 months ago
My family and I visited the Triton in August 2004 having previously visited in 2003 . The hotel is highly appealing with a very warm welcoming atmosphere, the furnishings are attractive and tasteful, and the staff very friendly and eager to help. The facilities are plentiful with two large swimming pools and a jacuzzi, there are numerous bars and plenty of day and night time activities . The food is of a very high quality, with plenty of choice.
The reception are willing to help you organise any trips you may want to go on whether locally or futher afield, and give you much neccessary advice on health and safety and general points of awareness.
The hotel makes you feel totally welcome, and your whole experience a complete pleasure.
I definitely intend to stay there again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kuoni

Recommended
Emma Foot
13 years 11 months ago
We got an up grade of our room as we were honeymooners and the room was fantastic, brilliant views of the sea and the dark blue pool.

The staff were so so friendly, they were excellent and will do anything anything to help.

The food is amazing, I'm vegetarian and I've never ever been anywhere with such beautiful food and the deserts are to die for.

The pools are wonderful and warm when we went and never over crowded which was wonderful, it was very chilled but never dull.

I could go on and on about how wonderful this place is, I didnt want to leave and would love to go back some day for sure.

Oh and if you ever go there and meet a lovely man on the beach who wants to take you on trips called Chandra I would highly recommend him.

This hotel is a must go to.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: co op

Recommended
Kev Jones
14 years 9 months ago
The Triton is a very large, well spaced out hotel, situated on the beach. The staff and service are first class, and nothing seems too much trouble. The rooms are spacious and air conditioned, with television, phone, bathroom etc etc.
What will blow you away is the mind-boggling choice of foods, that are beautifully presented, and oh so addictive. Gastronaughts will not be disappointed with the Triton. In addition to the main restaurant, there is the coffee shop, the beach seafood bar - where your food is cooked within feet of your table, and the `Supper Club` which is the more exclusive restaurant offering a la carte quisine.
Entertainment is laid on most evenings in the `mirror lounge` i.e. local dancers, artists.Karaoke is also available - thankfully away from the main bar area !
We have been to the Triton previously, and it is well worth a look.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kuoni

Recommended
Jayne
15 years 3 months ago
We stayed in the hotel Triton. We were on our honeymoon and decided to get blessed at the hotel, the staff were fantastic in helping us arrange this event and it was a lovely day!!

The hotel was fantastic and you couldn't ask for more helpfully and nicer staff!

When we stayed there it was the Tamil new year so we got to meet many Sri-Lankans we joined in with their celebrations and had the best time ever.

We hope to return to the hotel next year once it has re-opened.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: jmc

Recommended
Aisling
16 years 2 months ago
We got married in Sri Lanka in May 2002 and booked a two week holiday including a tour for the 1st week (during which we got married at the fantastic Kandalama Hotel) and went on tour for one week, finishing with one week at the Triton.

The rooms at the Triton were the worst on the tour and were musty, damp and dirty and the reception staff did absolutely nothing to assist in changing the rooms. Our room was nice as we had been upgraded but I felt terrible as the rest of my family and friends had terrible rooms.

The hotel facilities are great and the lower grade staff work very hard and are very friendly. The management is the problem with this hotel - very demotivated staff and the management do nothing!

Would never stay here again unless I managed to get a ridiculous price!

Nowadays I centre my holidays around Negombo where my husband is from and return visits to the Kandalama.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kuoni

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum