Image of Neptune Hotel

Neptune Hotel

2 of 5 hotels in Beruwala

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
3 stars
Beruwala, Sri Lanka
With its landscaped gardens and undeniably exotic setting it\'s no wonder the Neptune remains a favourite with all its guests. Stroll across the lawns down to one of the finest beaches in the country, or pull up your chair under one of the many palm trees.

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Glen Lockett
9 years 11 months ago
We travelled for the first time with Mercury Direct, who were amazing on price and service delivery. We also travelled for the first time all inclusive.
The Neptune is in need of a total refurbishment, but they keep the hotel to a good clean standard considering the general standard.

I have to say I was presently suprised with the food which was in ample supply and they had a very good selection and standard.

It is ideally situated on the beach and has a better location than all the other hotels in the area.

The staff will make this Hotel for you. They really can't do enough and there is also a great number of staff to cater or your every need.

I believe the refurbishment starts in 2009, I would visit again to see the hotel in its full glory following the refurbishment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Mercury Direct

Recommended
Dunsmuir/Tuck
11 years ago
When arriving at the Neptune and taken to our rooms, we were not happy, there was a distinct smell and it was very damp, my mother and father who are senior citizens wanted to be moved. When we complained to the hotel, they moved us straight away to the upper floors, they were very helpful and couldnt have done more. We were told afterwards that the Tsunami had flooded the ground floors and that was why there was a smell. The staff dealt with the problem quickly and efficiently, the rooms we were given were much better. The location of the hotel is lovely, set on a tranquil beach, the only downside to this setting was the beggers, although no trouble from them, we did feel a little awkward continually telling them no. We are going back to the Neptune next July to get married
The customer service was second to none
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Charlie
12 years 3 months ago
It was amazing I would definately recommend it to anyone. The staff were absolutely incredible! especially Chummi the entertainer and the beach boys are 100% trustworthy, ask for Jimmy he is hilarious!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Stella And Mick
12 years 4 months ago
Holiday overall very good.

Food has gone down in standard, basic and bland not much choice need more variety.

High standard of cleanliness, staff cannot do enough for you.

Entertainment very basic, overall very quiet.

Sammy the beach boy will look after you for any trips, very trustworthy.

Would not return to this hotel unless food standards went up.

Location excellent, just getting back on its feet due to the damage caused by the tsunami on the beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Paul/kath
12 years 10 months ago
The Neptune was a bit of a trot from the aiport, and the journey was a bit of an eye opener,(if only we could drive like that at home).

I could not say a bad thing about the Neptune.If you arrive with an open mind and don't expect the Hilton. you will not be dissapointed.

All the hotel staff were extremely polite, courteous and helpful.

Everywhere was spotless, the food was brilliant and the rooms were great.

Entertainment was a bit sparse but we made our own enterainment. We met some smashing people and had a marvelous holiday. They know who they are, and thanks to you all for making it, certainly, one of the best holidays we've ever had.

As far as excursions go, ask for "Syd" one of lads on the beach. He will organise everything for you, slightly less expensive than the tour operators, but will pack much more in. We had a great overnight trip to Kandy. A lot of driving but well worth it.

Beer and local spirits was fine(we should know, we drunk enough of the stuff.)

God bless to all the lovely people at the Neptune,and the friends we met, who knows we may meet again some day.

Finally Sri Lanka is an absolutly beautiful country with people to match, see you all again soon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: kuoni

Recommended
Charlotte & Dianne
12 years 10 months ago
We arrived to the Neptune after a very hair raising transfer. We arrived early morning so check in was slightly slow.

Our room was lovely - although we were hoping for a fridge or something cool to keep drinks in. To get a cold drink you either had to go to water cooler at end of corridor or wait for a bar to open. You are meant to have a kettle in your room but we didn't realise until our 10th day, but were soon provided with one. You find that if you tip all the boys that clean the room you will get a much higher standard of service. As 2 women alone we found it a bit intimidating having people coming in and out of our room trying to get money from us. You have to be firm and just say no. They also know when you're leaving and will come and see you a couple of days before in the hope that you'll give some more money to them.

The pool area was lovely and clean, but there is no-one supervising. There are people who are meant to but never there. This is bad especially when there were children in the pool. The outside areas were lovely and clean, although repair work was being completed from tsunami damage.

The location is right on the beach but it is an effort to get there. You have to get through all the people who want to sell you stuff first. Beware of the strong undercurrents in the sea.

I wasn't impressed with the food. There was a very limited choice and sometimes the food wasn't even cooked or hot. The chef will cook you something if you ask.

There isn't really any entertainment at the hotel, there's a disco but it's in a shack. The best entertainment was the daily games of Boccia led by the star animator Chami. He gave us the best night when we all sat by the beach bar singing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Ms Diane Martin
14 years 5 months ago
My daughter organised the holiday as part of her a wedding package at the hotel Neptune in Beruwala.

After a long flight and a difficult journey from the airport to the resort we really didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Hilary& Eric
16 years 3 months ago
A beautiful hotel that we would love to return to. The ground floor rooms are a lot more spacious and traditional.

The food was excellent and very varied. The staff were very helpful and friendly. YOU JUST STEPPED OUT ONTO A DESSERTED BEACH, WHICH WAS SWEPT CLEAN EVERY MORNING. The sea was very warm and the waves were massive but great fun.

The hotel was very quiet at night with occasional entertainment.

A beautiful contry with lots to see.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Beruwala