Image of Anantara Resort & Spa

Anantara Resort & Spa

9 of 10 hotels in Hua Hin

4 out of 5 from 5 reviews
5 stars
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan 77110, Thailand
Located on the Gulf of Siam, Anantara Hua hin feels reminiscent of an ancient Thai village. Exotic interiors, attentive service, and the surrounding tropical gardens make this resort one of the most romantic and luxurious hideaways in Southeast Asia.

5 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
14 years 1 month ago
Just back from Anantara for my daughters wedding.

Hotel is beautiful and the grounds picturesque and its well worth upgrading to lagoon rooms. These overlook the lagoons with fountains and flowers.

Breakfast brought to your balcony.

Staff were wonderful and gave so much attention to my daughters wedding. Nothing could be faulted.

Wedding in the gardens with beautiful flower arrangements and meal overlooking the sandy beach.

It is a pity after paying TC Signature, their rep was not seen, not even to acknowledge the wedding was taking place and the arrangements were ok, all this was done by the hotel management.

Hotel right on beach which was deserted most of the time, and although there was a shortage of loungers as they were reserved early in the morning, the staff would always find some for us.

The lagoon pool was beautiful and fruit and free massages were supplied throughout the day. You did not even have to take your own beach towels as these are all provided,

This holiday was sheer luxury.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook Signature

Recommended
Mr & Mrs Robertson
14 years 5 months ago
Hotel fantastic. Beautiful romantic setting. Food excellent with waiter service second to none.
Hotel very clean.
Staff very friendly and pleasant.
Meant to get automatic upgrade but no rooms available but after a couple of days was offered a superior room with huge balcony - excellent!

We are returning to this hotel in October 2007 where our daughter is to be married and have no worries whatsoever that things will not be as arranged.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
14 years 11 months ago
Stayed here for 13 nights from April 19th 2006 with the intention of just relaxing, this is what we did. Booked into a garden room but with the option to upgrade to a sea view room, but no sea view rooms available. After two days they gave us the option to move to a sea view room but the garden room we were given was better than the sea view so stayed in that room.

The views from most of the rooms are obscured by vegetation, particularly the ones on the ground floor which only have a patio area. No beach facilities (the beach is clean and stretches either side of the hotel for a long way) so sun lounges are laid out adjacent to one another on the sea wall, so not a lot of privacy as the next persons are only a yard or two away, however the lounges are comfortable.

Here you get the sun in the morning but shade in the afternoon. We decided to upgrade for the last 7 nights to a Lagoon Room as they have use of their own pool which catch the sun all day long. These rooms are more spacious with better balconies and the pool is much quieter than the hotel main pool.

However we found that some people who were not in lagoon rooms still used this pool so our advice is stay in a garden room but use the lagoon pool and save yourself the extra cash, after all you are not in your room that much.

We stayed B & B, lovely breakfast which set you up for the day. Didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Recommended
PeterB
15 years 1 month ago
This is an update on our review in 2004.

The hotel has changed very little with the quality of the accommodation and food remaining extremely high. From check-in through housekeeping, the quality of service is high.

Food remains excellent, though fairly high priced. This is partly mitigated by a rotating programme of various offers in the restaurants - which reduce the cost somewhat.

Breakfast is taken, buffet style, in the Issara Cafe, which at times is full to capacity and uses the tables of the Baan Thalia restaurant.

There are three main restaurants - Baan Thalia (Italian Style - more formal dining); Rim Nam (Thai cuisine, poolside) and Sai Thong (predominately Grill / BBQ / style). Food can also be obtained at the Sala Siam, which is the main bar and is where the house singer performs on most evenings. There are further bars operating - poolside at the Rim Nam until about 7:00 pm, and also at the Sai Thong until about 10:30 pm. Both these bars offer lunch time snacks and meals.

The grounds are well kept, although the area of the lagoon rooms seems now to get more attention than the main gardens surrounding the 'cluster' rooms.

Unfortunately this lack of attention results in rubbish not necessarily being cleared overnight and the main sun lounger area, in the gardens, sometimes appearing very messy and unkempt. We had the distinct impression that there are now fewer staff than on our last visit.

There is little in the way of evening entertainment (except 'themed' nights, particularly in the Rim Nam Thai restaurant). This, coupled with high food prices may explain why the hotel is very quiet in the evenings.

The hotel is located about 10 minutes North of Hua Hin town (by taxi or tuk-tuk). A courtesy shuttle service (which should be pre-booked) is provided, but this stops operating quite early in the evening.

Spa facilities are available and the spa area (at the lagoon end of the resort) is first class, if rather expensive. A range of treatments is on offer and we have no reason to doubt that all would be of very high standard. Tennis courts and a fitness centre (untried) are provided as, apparently, are various water sports - although we found no-one who had actually used the water sport facilities.

The pool is quite large and a very pleasant feature of the hotel, being and irregular shape and surrounded by gardens. There is a swim up bar, with approximately 8 or 10 seats. Being surrounded by vegetation this area can get very warm - as it is protected from the sea breeze.

A very pleasant resort / hotel, great staff, good food, clean - well kept rooms, beautiful gardens - very relaxing.

Please note that this is a personal opinion only - based upon our stay during February / March 2006.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Premier

Recommended
16 years 7 months ago
An absolutely beautiful hotel, very grand and most importantly for me very thai in style.

Upon arrival we were amazed by the beautiful sala style hotel lobby, we were greeted with refreshing towels and a lovely welcome drink.

Our room was the standard garden room and it was just gorgeous.

The hotel gardens were so lush and almost jungle like.
Definately the nicest hotel pool I have ever come across, the sunbeds are lovely with thick mattresses and good quality towels.

Breakfast was absolutely georgeous - we were spoilt for choice.

Only thing was the setting is not that great , although only 5 mins in a taxi to Hua Hin town.

The hotel restaurants are expensive for Thailand but not expensive by european standards.

A beautiful hotel which I would recommend.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kuoni

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.