Image of Nabeul Beach Hotel

Nabeul Beach Hotel

3 out of 5 from 10 reviews
3 stars

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Miss C Barnett
12 years 1 month ago
We travelled to this hotel in Oct 05 as a family group of 8..the transfer took nearly 3 hours on a run down stuffy coach that was leaking water all over the place.

On arrival everything seemed fine until we were shown to our rooms, mould around the taps, rusty bath, patio door falling off its hinges, ashtray still full and dirty towels lying around, mould flaking off the walls etc etc, not sure where the flowers or fruit on arrival were.

We were moved to a cleaner room where we asked for a cot for our little one, tried to give us a little wooden shack, with rotting wooden splinters and a stained mattress, we decided not to use this.

After settling in we looked around the hotel to see all its amenities as stated.

1.crazy golf covered in paint dirty water and broken glass.

2. childrens zoo was actually 2 birds and a little pig thing which looked very poorly.

3. basketball had no hoop

4. gym - there wasn't one

5. childrens park which was derelict, rungs of the slide rusty and snapped, covered in debris and glass at the bottom so unusable, swing was made from rotten wood and tipped out of the ground when used.

The dining room had broken windows which our 2 year old was very interested in.

There are flies all over the place including the food, which was also cold and unedible and cats sat around and licked the plates which were left around.

Not many staff speak English and most signs are in German or French, no lighting on the 2nd floor so you could not see your door number, complained but no use until an elderly man fell down the stairs because of this, we only spent one night in this hotel and I needed antibiotics for around 15 infected bites that I woke up with.

We paid nearly 3,000 pound for 8 of us for 1 weeks holiday so it was not that cheap, it is no way a 3 * more like a 1*.

The rep told us that they have had problems all year and had to move people all the time.
We had to pay to be moved to a better hotel the very next day.


oh by the way the pool and beach are ok
Its up to you but I am sure you will be dissapointed if you visit this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel bargains

Lisa Kissane
12 years 2 months ago
All Inclusive - drinks were served warm in chipped glasses, food was covered in flies and flies were in abundance in the restaurant.

Ice cream which in fact was sorbet served for 1 hour only a day. No sign of biscuits and crepes as we were led to believe were available every day.

Sports & Entertainment - only watersports consisted of 1 pedaloe which I thought looked like it would sink, no gym, no windsufing, basketball, football etc. Mini golf course was in a state of overgrown grass and weeds covering most and in need of paint, archery court - nets half down and had big holes and the area generally not kept tidy.

Animation team did the same thing every night. I was lead to believe there were various restaurants and bars - 1 main restaurant and a snack bar/cafe, 1 indoor bar and pool bar for all inclusive guests another bar for paying guests only.

The zoo consisted of a wild boar, 2 pigeons, 1 turkey and 1 chicken.

Hotel staff were not very helpful towards British guests. The hotel was dirty and the rooms have seen better days again not cleaned very well. There was a half eaten biscuit just under my bed which remained there for 5 days. The toilet stank of urine.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: bookatrip.com

Boothroyd/collins
12 years 2 months ago
Terrible, terrible, terrible. Would not go back if it was free! The rooms are in an awful state with unsafe patio doors, our bathroom did not work, it was dirty all over.
food was not for human consumption.

3 hours away from airport on what can only be described as the journey to hell.

Staff very limited with English.

Entertainment, same every day.

Would not go back if it were free with 10 camels thrown in.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: med

Joanne
12 years 4 months ago
We just got back from the Nabeul Beach Hotel yesterday after having a wonderful time. The hotel itself is kept clean. Really laid back, there doesn't seem to be rules about much really. The rooms are very basic and kept clean daily by the very friendly maids.

We personally thought the food was great. Earlier comments about meat portions were not in our experience at all. Definitely geared more to the French and Germans. Very easy to eat healthily.

The location was a little out on a limb, but if you want to do nothing but relax in the hotel all week you will be fine. Taxis easily found. The hotel has it's own bit of the beach which is just across the road. As we didn't venture out much. not the best people to say.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: good holiday company

Recommended
Debbie
12 years 5 months ago
We arrived at the hotel very late after flying into Monastir (about 2 hours away by coach). We were not expecting a room with a view but were shown to a room with a fantastic view over the pool and straight to the Mediterranean Sea. The room was basic (two beds plus bunk beds for our small child) but clean and functional. Surprisingly, there was always hot water during the peak shower time before dinner. Admittedly we did little other than stay by the pool or go on the beach but it was just perfect for our toddler as this was all she wanted to do. I did use the health spa facilities and had a seaweed wrap and a massage which cost 35D (approx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Anon
12 years 5 months ago
Agree with previous report. This was a cheap holiday and most people had seemed to have spent a similar amount, so with that in mind I felt it was a reasonable holiday for the money.

Food was not the best, breakfast ok, lunch ok, dinner terrible, mainly overcooked veg, chips, some salad and tiny bits of meat.

Pool was wonderful kept nice and clean, lots of sunbeds but you need to get there early. Animation team were great, not in your face but friendly to everyone especially kids.

The hotel was a fair distance from anywhere but taxis are frequently driving past and a trip to Hammamett was only 20 mins away cost about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Lisa Haines
13 years 2 months ago
Just got back from tunisia yesterday after two weeks and felt i had to write a guide for everything you could want to know about nabeul beach (had i been fully informed then i would not have gone, but this will help you make up your own mind as i will be completely honest).
The hotel is an hour from tunis airport and you will not get a taxi for less than 80 dinars (about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: expedia

Anna
13 years 4 months ago
We were greeted by a swarm of heat of 35 degrees. A non english speaking man picked us up from the airport and drove us all the way to the hotel. As i was in the van i noticed that there were no seat belts, and our driver seemed to be speeding. I feared for my life,naturally, but i couldn't deny that i didnt enjoy the forbidden speed in England.

When we got to the hotel it was about 8, thats when it startd cooling down and all the locals came to sit out on the beach. We took a walk up down the street that night, and found that we were some sort of amazement. It was like they had never seen such modern dressed oriental girls before.

The food was a bit to soft for my liking, but being that the majority of the tourists were french, they liked there food that way. The sheffs were really funny and were always smiling, some times too much that the meat was thrown off the grill to early. I did not like the drinks there they were not like in England. There fizzy drinks seem to be more sugary and have less fizz. We brought drinks from a bar in the hotel each time we ate.

The nightlife entertainment was abit too common for us, karioke and sing along. The french seemed to enjoy it thou.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Expedia

Recommended
Emma
13 years 5 months ago
After our mammoth journey (left Telford at 6am to arrive at hotel at 8pm!) and the confusion of not being picked up at the airport by our confirmed transport, we were extremely pleased with the hotel. The room was spotless and there was even a bottle of wine waiting for us!

The food was pleasant even if it did become "the same old thing" as the week went on. However the meal was accompanied by the sound of the Hokey Cokey and the Birdie song and we soon realised to our horror that we were in the Tunisian equivalent of Butlins!

We discovered that there was a bar that you had to pay for drinks at (even though we were all incluisive) and there was a bar where the drinks were free. I opted for a vodka and coke and let me tell you what I was drinking was not what I ordered! The coke was flat and it was not vodka - it was some local drink made with figs!

We sat bemused watching the entertainment, which consisted of lots of people miming to the Backstreet Boys! Thinking what on earth have we come to!

The next day was better even though we were accosted by a rep in the hotel who had written out tickets for Quad Biking, camel rides and boat trip before we knew what was going on - we soon came to when he demanded
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Expedia

Recommended
Eddie
13 years 8 months ago
I think that this hotel has just started to take A/I guests as at the time of writing this (April 2004), there are, regrettably, a few problems for A/I guests not least of which is the very limited choice of just 5 alcoholic drinks (beer, red & white wine, & 2 spirits) and 5 non alcoholic (orange & lemon squash, Fanta, Sprite & Coke) there are no juices, no ice creams (unless you buy them) and no waiter service for A/I guests (even if you wish to buy a drink you can't get a waiter to serve you).

Furthemore A/I guests have to use their own bar for alcoholic drinks and a second bar for non alcoholic drinks, this means that in the evening you have to leave the entertainment lounge, visit 1 or 2 bars and then carry your glasses back to your seat in entertainment lounge, but there is a bar in the entertainment lounge for the use of half and full board guests and A/I guests who wish to buy a drink.

The A/I guests were Germans and English (the English had all booked through Expedia) and we all had on wrist bands denoting we were A/I guests.

The above was my main criticism of the hotel, and indeed I have written to Expedia outlining the problem and whilst it is a genuine issue it is one that is not insurmountable, once that problem is rectified the hotel would then become a very good value for money venue, the pool is very good (regrettably cold in April as it is an outside one and gets it heat from the sun).

The entertainment staff are very good (especially with kids) they work so hard all day long and they always have a smile. For some reason though they only mime whilst on stage doing their very individual sketches and acts in the evening, they can dance however and the highlight has to be watching 4 Tunisian men doing (very well I have to add) Irish dancing to "Lord Of The Dance". The Arabic party dances every is encouraged to do are good fun, especially poolside midday when the entertainment staff lead the dancing from the roof of their hut.

The food, which is buffet style, is excellent with lots of choice for each of the 3 meals, don't expect English breakfasts though, no egg & bacon here I'm afarid.

All the hotel staff, with just one or two exceptions, are very nice, most can speak English but French is the language in use the most in the hotel.

All in all I have no problem in reccomending the hotel once and if the drinks problem for A/I guests is sorted out.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Expedia

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: