Image of Kerme Ottoman Palace Hotel

Kerme Ottoman Palace Hotel

1 of 3 hotels in Akyaka

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
4 stars
Koyici Mevkii Koyuncu Sokak, Akyaka, Turkey
There are fully furnished rooms and duplex units. All rooms overlook a central courtyard with a water features. Kerme Ottoman Palace is built in the Mugla style and features Ottoman details and motifs throughout the property. The nearby Akyaka Beach is long, sandy, in a sheltered bay area and has shallow waters

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
H Basyigit
A delightful hotel.
7 years 4 months ago
Professional than the previous operators. Relevant and friendly staff akyaka kerma from hotels I've stayed in the hotel ottoman mansion. ottoman that hotel operators taken over by residence wanted to stay in palace hotels. We had a great time in this hotel as a result. I would definitely recommend. A delightful hotel. professional than the previous operators. relevant and friendly staff akyaka kerma from hotels I've stayed in the hotel ottoman mansion. ottoman that hotel operators taken over by residence wanted to stay in palace hotels. We had a great time in this hotel as a result. I would definitely recommend.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: online

Hotel tip: I would definitely recommend.

Recommended
Andrew Robins
12 years 2 months ago
We have just returned from our 2 week holiday in the Ottoman Residence in Akyaka, Turkey.

This hotel has a beautiful setting, right by the river, and offers some exquisitely relaxing days. The staff are friendly and generally helpful, especially the slightly eccentric Ashkin and the other bar staff. These guys made the stay really enjoyable. The manager though is rarely at the hotel and only ever seen at meal times and appeared adverse to speaking to guests unless they were Turkish.

We went for a duplex room which was lovely, and duplex rooms like we had at the front of the hotel offered 2 bathrooms, including one en suite upstairs. Very decadent. However the air conditioning in the duplex room was not effective. This is because of an obvious design flaw- whilst the bedroom was situated on the upper level, the Air Conditioning unit was on the lower level, and therefore was pretty much useless whilst sleeping, and resulted in some uncomfortable nights.

Breakfasts at the Ottoman, although offering alot, and generally good, was repetitive and lacked variation day to day. We ate at the hotel restaurant twice in the evening in the 2 weeks we were there and again the food was good, although we would have preferred to select off a menu as opposed to a buffet service (this is the same format every evening). If you have a big appetite however you can
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Anatolian Sky

Stella Grice
14 years 2 months ago
We stayed in the Ottoman residence for 14 nights in July and had such a great time that we are going back there in October.

I cannot fault the hotel it is exactly what it sets out to be, a boutique hotel offering peace and quiet among the citrus groves, with beautiful views of the river.

It is a short walk to the beach and if you don't like walking back late in the evening the taxi fare is only
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Last Minute

Recommended
Otooman Residence
14 years 4 months ago
I can't believe that the first reviewer chose to write such a bad report that could be damaging to the lovely hotel that we have just returned from.

If we had a problem, it was dealt with instantly by staff who are so happy to please the customer. Nothing was too much trouble at all.

The food was a variety of salads and three main courses with one dessert and fresh fruit. However, after a few days of having 'similar' meals we decided to choose from the a-la-carte and everything we chose was excellent food at not the high prices that were being asked in some fish restaurants in the village. It may have been nicer to see the fresh fruit prepared as a fruit salad with possibly ice-cream as a change to the Turkish sweet choice they offered. We did eat out one evening at a local riverside restaurant and both of us felt very ill the next day. I felt more confident to eat at the Ottoman as I imagined their kitchen to be as immaculate as the rest of the hotel and less chance of another upset stomach.

OK, there wasn't any entertainment provided but this is a boutique hotel! Alex the barman provided entertainment by way of baffling you with his magic tricks (make sure you have learned one before you go to get your own back!). He was also very funny thinking that he could do all the tricks flipping cocktails around - thank god that he does his practising using plastic bottles and not glass.

Umut, the representative was around the hotel every day and spoke to every guest asking how their day had been. There was certainly no problem with his English.

Ok, I agree that the rooms do seem a little on the 'thin wall' side. I certainly could hear items being put down but I suppose having marble tops on every table in the room didn't help with the soundproofing. After the first night, it didn't bother us. We opted for the duplex room and you have a lot more space provided as well as a balcony to sit on.

There was a separate shower (and what a powerful one!) and toilet. All toiletries were provided as well as an hairdryer. If you have room in your case to take a few coathangers then I suggest that you do. We only had a few but this problem was remedied immediately for us.

Guests who were celebrating a birthday were usually presented with a special 'Alex Cocktail' and a group of waiters would bring out a birthday cake. My only gripe here was that no-one seemed to want to share their cake!

This is a very quiet hotel with no children running around, screaching in the pool to spoil you peace and quiet. This is a place to go and rest from the stresses of everyday living and to 'recharge your batteries'. There are a few good walks around the village and forest. We wished that we had taken some small binoculars for the scenery and wildlife that you could see. I agree also that a torch would have been useful too for the dark lanes.

We chose this hotel because we wanted somewhere, quiet with no children and be able to just lie next to the pool or river reading good books and chilling out. This is exactly what we got, with top class service from every member of staff.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Anatolian Sky

Recommended
Sara Killingback
14 years 11 months ago
Hotel also had a la cart restaurant which we rate as 0.

Hotel was clean at eye level only. Knives and forks dirty, juice machine had black mould growing on the top.

Location wasn't bad but not central to resort.

Hotel manager very rude and doesn't care about customers comments. Reception staff very good and helpful. Rep helpful but needs to learn better command of English.

Entertainment consisted of listening to neighbouring rooms every evening as the hotel room walls are so thin it was unavoidable. Locals drunk and screaming running around the grounds at 3am.

Not for couples as only hard single beds available. We checked out honeymoon suite lovely room but smelt really bad. No smoking in rooms.

Sauna is charged for.

We returned home 9 days early, paying for our own flights.

This hotel looks the part but it's all front, we rate it at about 2 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Anatolian sky

Kelly Sibley
14 years 11 months ago
I think myself and the other reviewer were staying at completely different hotels! We stayed for 2 weeks B&B at the Ottoman and had a wonderful time.

The staff were so friendly and helpful, a fantastic array of artwork made from the bedding was found on our beds each day (they beds were singles, but we found them extremely comfortable).

The balconies in the standard rooms were small and not useable which was a shame. However, an upgrade to the duplex room (with bedroom upstairs and bathroom/sitting room downstairs) was reasonable.

There were people cleaning and tidying everywhere you looked, and nothing was too much trouble. The barman Alex was a lovely guy, as were Jack and Charlie, the waiters. Lifelong friends!

Umut, the Anatolian Sky representative spoke great English and was available everyday. A very nice man. I agree that the rooms weren't soundproofed very well, and as the bar is within the building there is some element of noise heard.

However, I didn't find this a huge problem as we were down there ourselves taking advantage of the lovely cocktails!

The guests were mainly older as children under 12 were not allowed which made it very quiet and relaxing beside the pool.

A couple celebrated their wedding anniversary while we were there and the staff did a wonderful job of arranging the table, and involving the rest of the guests with the celebrations!

The food was traditionally Turkish which is not to everybody's tastes, but I very much enjoyed the bbq by the river once a week.

Other restaurants were cheaper, but we were more than happy eating in too. The hotel wasn't as well linked with the surrounding town as I would have liked, a torch is advisable as the roads are quite dark!

Overall, this is a holiday never to be forgotten. I would return, but perhaps not until I was older as there was little to do in the evenings after dinner.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Anatolian Sky

Recommended
Sue Lassen
15 years 4 months ago
Enjoyed this holiday as it was a special offer-so much so that another son and his girlfriend went in early May,this year.

On my visit in May 2005, the breakfast included bowls of strawberries every day. Our half board food was excellent.

My son found the pool very cold.

No strawberries and poor buffet style,veal stews.

The hotel was new and very clean. Things change in a year. There was a too quiet atmosphere in the evenings as most people ate out. Some soft taped music would have helped as I suggested on feedback forms.

We both agreed it was a pleasant holiday. Anatolian Sky were excellent.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Anatolian

Recommended
Chris Adams
18 years 4 months ago
The Ottoman Residence, Akyaka, Turkey.

Can`t believe that I stayed in the same hotel as the Killingbacks. My wife and I, together with my 87 years old mom stayed at the Ottoman for one week from 1.5.2006.

What a great chilled out holiday it was.Hotel was spotless. Staff fantastic. If you want kiss me quick hats and screaming kids then this is not the place for you. (no children under 12).

But if you want to chill and watch the world go by, as well as tortoises, fish, eagles, river snakes, noisy frogs, river turtles, geese, ducks then I could not recommend a better place.

Akyaka is where the Turks go on holiday.Can`t wait to return and this was our first trip to Turkey. We feel as though we have left some good friends behind. A Gem of a place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Anatolian Sky Holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.