Image of Doubletree Hotel

Doubletree Hotel

3 of 4 hotels in Memphis

3 out of 5 from 7 reviews
3 stars
185 Union Avenue, Memphis, TN, United States

7 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Rosemary Mortimer
8 years 10 months ago
we had stayed in this hotel before 6 years ago when it was called the raddison it was great then ,we were both shocked to see how much it had changed.hotel staff didnt seem to know much about the area,basically not much information of any trips leaflets, no public call phones, on our floor no water in machine no ice available either. the carpets throughout the hotel were ripped in several places and very dirty with several bleach staines on them. we wanted on a few occasions to find out how to get to certain places no bus information known by staff behind the desk in fact the girls serving our breakfast were much more helpful but they got it wrong once and we ended up in the middle of nowhere in midtown nightmare. the food in tfi fridays was good and so was the location to beale street but thats about all really disappointed so if we come again will stay elsewhere rose mortimer
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: hayes and jarvis

Pam
12 years 10 months ago
Had booked to stay at the Raddison hotel Memphis. When we arrived it had changed it's name to the Double-Tree and it took us a while to find it. Not a good start!

Once in, we found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful.

Our room was large with a very comfortable bed.

The swimming pool on the roof was not easy to find and when we did find it the chairs were few and far between.

Did not enjoy breakfast at TGI but Denny's across the road do a very good one. However the nachos we had one night at TGI had to be the best I have ever tasted!

Fantastic location don't miss Beale street or the live groups in WC handy park.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: virgin

Recommended
Mrs Gardner
13 years 2 months ago
We were not told when we booked that the hotel was under major renovation. It was a special family holiday that was completely ruined.

The hotel was in a terrible state, rooms were filthy with dust and building work went on until well after 9pm. There was virtually no reception area, no restaurant and no entertainment.

We had to ask to have the bedding changed as it had cigarette burns in the sheets - in a non smoking room! Definitely not worth the cost.

On arrival home, we contacted Radisson Hotels twice, but never had the courtesy of a reply.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct

Jim & Caroline
13 years 3 months ago
We stayed in the Radisson in Memphis.

There is major building work being undertaken. The work takes place every day from 6.00 am to 9.00 pm.
It is extremely noisy and intrusive. There is no lobby space, no bar or swimming pool.

The bedrooms are a good size but 25 years out of date.

Location is good, just a short walk from Beale Street.

The building work will probably go on for many months, so check before you book.

Also staff are most unhelpful.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook Select

13 years 6 months ago
We went for Elvis' 70th birthday and the location of this hotel in downtown Memphis is excellent esp' for Beale street.

We only ate 1 breakfast at this hotel (TGI's) and although there was a great choice the hot food was barely warm.(Denny is across the road and excellent for any meals) tgi's were good tho for evening meal.

Our room was spacious but dirty and after repeated requests we actually got it hoovered on our last day ( we were there 6 nights!)

Level 2 is currently being renovated and hence part of our ceiling coating fell off due to vibrations. I am not sure if this is being extended to all floors- certainly needs to be!

Drinks machines were on all floors but never was there any water available, which ment a trip to the peabody shop across the road, it was a pain tho' the first night at 2 in the morning on the first night when I ventured to find some water and couldnt get any.

Certainly would not stay at this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: arena

13 years 9 months ago
We only stayed 2 nights in Memphis and quite frankly, if I had been there longer I would really have been disappointed with my room. But I felt it wasn't worth worrying over and made the most of it.

Initially the impression was good. The lobby area was bright, large, comfortable seating, adjoining TGI Friday restaurant. Then we saw our room! Very outdated, stinking of smoke, and no curtains! We refused this room and were given another one- the same as the first minus the smoke and with curtains.

Radisson need to refurbish immediately. It is not a good advert for them. Furniture was at least 20 years old, if not nearer 30! It had a/c but did not have a safe or minibar (which I found strange- surely the minibar would have helped with revenue?) Bathroom was ok. The room was quite big though. The maid obviously had an aversion to corners as I don't think they were hoovered very often. However, no other complaints about the cleaning.

Reception staff were efficient and helpful.

We did not eat at the hotel. Also, as it is 2 minutes from Beale Street there was no entertainment in the hotel- no need!!

The location really made up for the other disappointments.

Beale Street is fabulous and the music amazing!

Would I go back to the hotel- no, not unless it is refurbished.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travelbag

Kitchen
14 years 1 month ago
We have stayed at the Radisson on Union Avenue in Memphis twice, in 2002 and in 2004.

The best thing about this hotel is its location. A five minute walk to Beale Street, a ten minute walk to Sun Studio, central for downtown and exactly opposite the Memphis Redbird's Baseball Stadium.

The hotel itself is very ordinary but the staff in 2004 were friendly and reasonably helpful, a big improvement on 2002 when they were downright unfriendly.

I don't recommend the in-hotel TGI Fridays. For breakfast the Denny's across the road is much better and for an evening meal try Buckley's Steak House just past the Peabody Hotel, it is excellent and inexpensive.
Safety deposit boxes are available behind the desk in the Lobby.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: United Vacations

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum