Bulgaria Discussion Forum

Discussions regarding holidays in Bulgaria
Hi susanh2 you ask about car hire in Bulgaria well take it from me there is no problem about driving there ,we have been going back and forwards to Bulgaria for 16 years now and I have been driving there for about the last 12 years without incident. As to the question about licences you only need to have a current photographic licence. and the paper counterpart (no need for international driving permit) . I always hire through Balkan (hertz) before we go as we found out in the past that hire charges out there could be more expensive, you may get responses from other people who say that the roads are bad they are just not up to what you are used to here but as long as you take care and make sure that you take out collision damage waiver insurance you should have no problem you will find that you are liable for any punctures and will have to pay for repairs to any tyres that get punctured. Any thing else just ask and i will try to give you an honest answer. You can also check on this site a post and the replies to it by Khurst on th 3 march subject(1st time bulgaria nessebar hotels.) :D 8) :idea:
Hi Mondeo

Thanks very much for your prompt reply and the useful information. You must love Bulgaria to have been so many times. We went for the first time last year and fell in love with the place so we will be back year after year ourselves now.

Thanks again
Susan
hi we are off to elenite tomorrow and as it seems to be a bit off the beaten track we were wondering about hiring a car for a few days. does anyone know where the best car hire place is and whether it is expensive!!
Hi ammber,

Your tour operator's rep should be able to advise you and some offer a small discount if you book with their 'recommended' car hire firm(s).

From reading other forums, TS Travel appear to be recommended by several people.