America/Canada Discussion Forum

Discussions regarding holidays in America and Canada
Hi Karen,

Sanford is not the only airport in Orlando, there is another much more major airport Orlando International or MCO for short. In my numerous trips to Florida I have never flown into Sanford so I am unable to offer specific advice. I think the general rule is to allow 45mins-1 hour from Sanford, but I have no actual experience of this, and I am just going from what I have read on forums such as this one. On the other hand, MCO to International Drive takes about 15-20mins depending on traffic and is far easier, but Thomson and the like don't fly into MCO...might be worth a look at Virgin Holidays just to compare prices?

I would always opt for a car in Florida. Apart from an initial panic when driving on the opposite side of the road, automatic gears and trying to suss directions etc, it really is a breeze, especially to get around Orlando and WDW. It will enable you to plan your days a lot easier, and not having to stick to a rigid timetable with shuttles etc. In saying that, there are plenty of people who don't drive in Orlando and they seem to get around ok. On many forums you will often see quite heated debates about the fors and againsts for driving in Florida, so it is a very common question which only you can probably decide on. I find having a car in the evenings help. You can get away from theme parks when you want, and more importantly you can use the car to get to restaurants also. Very useful. Although International Drive does have pavements, and a trolley bus that runs up and down all day, car really is king, as it is for so much of the USA.

I hope this helps for starters. When I have some more time, I will come back and add some bits and pieces as I am sure others will also. Best of luck, happy planning.