General Holiday Enquiries, Hints and Tips

General Holiday Enquiries? Got General Hints & Tips? Post Them Here.
I meant to say i think this year has been a record.
funds permitting i might be booking 4 nights in either barcelona or rome in december its my 40th in january, so want to do something prior to that, had my summer hols in spain back on august 5th for 2 wks, but as a rule only one holiday a year,with money being tighter than usual defo one holiday next year, spain again in july, not booked it yet, the hotel isnt even in the brochure, so Il wait til end of xmas to book it..
I used to be more than happy with one 2 week holiday abroad in the summer but since the children have grown up and it's just the two of us, we found ourselves being able to afford a week away at Easter too. This has developed now into at least an extra weekend in this country with Tesco vouchers and a few days away over New Year- again not too far away. I'd love more but as I work in a school I have to pay top prices but I'm happy enough if I can get my 2 foreign hols in each year.
Like shirley we always used to be more than happy and appreciative of 2 weeks in the sun each year but now the children are getting older we have found ourselves (well me in particular :D ) obsessed with making the most out of the holiday time we have left with them to the point where I spend far more than we can really afford on them . A typical year now seems to be

1 week over easter somewhere Hot . Usually Egypt.
2 weeks in the sun over the summer
1 week , usually a cottage in this country in the Autumn

+ my new obsession city breaks for just my husband and me . He thinks I book far too many of these but I enjoy the challenge and thrill of a budget airline bargain (it keeps me amused) and typically we tend to do 1 or 2 weekends somewhere in this country and 2 sometimes 3 city breaks over Europe .

lyn