95 independent reviews of Varadero, Caribbean
Varadero Location

4/5
Varadero is rated 4 out of 5 from 95 Reviews

Varadero Hotels

Varadero Reviews

4/5


Pablo visited here on April 2008
Beach super, but there are a lot of cigarette ends, (spanish comunities rake the beach)

not a lot in Varadero, some markets all selling the same tat

Bargain for the taxis say not on meter and you will get 1/2 price drives!!

go to Havana.......
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


sandy visited here on February 2008
We didn\'t go into Varadero town by night, by day it is a pleasant walk along the main street, beautiful park with boating lake, camel rides & well maintained. Varadero has stalls and shops (v good prices), market, some cafes, restaurants, bars (we didnt use).

Varadero is Marketed as probably the Caribbean\'s most beautiful beach, this I can believe, white sand & clear blue sea.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


seabie visited here on November 2007
The resort is a peninsular and great to stay here if you are wanting a trip to Havana, as it is the closest. The hotels are all large all inclusive hotels. There is a tourist open top bus which is run every half an hour (can be abit hit and miss) into the centre of Varadero. The centre itself is very safe to walk around. There is a small shopping centre (I can\'t comment on as I didn\'t visit) Then the town itself there are bars, cigar shops a park (that has camels a snake and a crocodile!!!!) and other shops selling mainly t shirts and carvings. One tip is to take all the ...
medication you need as a strip of paracetamol cost nearly £10!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Marc visited here on October 2007
Resort was very clean but didnt have the usual bars and clubs like we are used to in Spain, so it was very quiet and hotel orientated at night. The beaches that we seen were fantastic with white sand and palm trees.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


dave and nicky visited here on October 2007
Varadero is a quiet, but interesting town, with wonderful and welcoming people. Try and visit Bennys Bar, good service, food and drinks, excellent local enterainment is provided from 9pm, well worth a visit. The market was an enjoyable experience with some wonderful local arts and crafts, its covered over, so well worth a visit if you get rainy day.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


david visited here on May 2007
Never saw any litter at all but we only walked to the next hotel. The entertainment was what was on in the hotel. The beach is cleaned some days but its not smooth sand more like shingle very painful to walk on.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

5/5


jerry noble visited here on May 2007
the resort was lovely and clean . the staff work hard to maintain it .especially the gardeners who seem to get no tips or thanks. the entertainment was good as well. the beach was out of this world white like flour.the sea very clear blue not very deep and warm .
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


jerry noble visited here on May 2007
the resort was lovely and clean . the staff work hard to maintain it .especially the gardeners who seem to get no tips or thanks. the entertainment was good as well. the beach was out of this world white like flour.the sea very clear blue not very deep and warm .
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Brian and Sue visited here on March 2007
Varadero is obviously created for the tourist and does not provide you with a real look at Cuba, there is nothing much to do or see in downtown Varadero, save a couple of souvenir markets which all sell the same goods, one fascinating sight are the classic American cars that are running round Varadero, the likes of which I have never seen before.

A one afternoon visit left us with no reason to return.
The town of Varadero is very safe and is fine for you to wander around with no hassle at all from the very friendly Cuban people.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Lesley Peter visited here on February 2007
We found the resort very quiet at night,not alot to do,but we went to town and that was great. The cuban ppl are very friendly, so dont be worried about going out of the resort, (and no mosquito bites)
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Matthewb visited here on November 2006
Varadero is a souless strip of hotels and tacky markets aimed purely at the holiday trade.

It could be any Costa in the world with little of the Cuban flavour penetrating the area.

That said the beach is superb. But you can\'t call it proper Cuba.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Thelma Clements visited here on November 2006
Being right out on a penninsular there was nowhere to wander at night time. It was very much out on a limb which was a pity as the beach had a lot going for it. The shows that the local team put on at night were really good with a good variation. The singers and dancers were excellent. We have been on many cruise ships and the shows were liken to the ones on board ship.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Stefan visited here on October 2006
The resort of Varadero was amazing - idillic beaches, calm seas and amazing sunshine! We pulled out all the stops with regards to trips and outings including 2 parachute jumps each!!! You can either sit and relax or party on in Varadero - We had a wicked time and will definately return!!
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Kerry visited here on August 2006
Only went into resort once during our weeks stay as was so hot to trail kids around. It was not at all touristy but was nice to see something different. There is a nice park there and plenty of tourist buses. Did not see any \"bars\", just one or two cafes. Not a right lot to buy, mainly wooden goods including \"bongos\", \"guitars\" and \"shakers\" which my kids really liked. Nice beaded necklaces too.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Darren visited here on August 2006
The beach was just as you would expect for a caribbean beach! White sand and clear crystal warm waters were lovely and refreshing! The resort itself was very clear and clean! would highly recomment for couples and or families.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Jackie Mitchell visited here on July 2006
Varadero is a tourist area and there are only certain sections that the locals can enter into. There are road sweepers constantly cleaning up the streets - so no litter at all.

The beach is to be seen to be believed. It really does look like the pictures in the brochure but better!!! Sea is so clean and the sand so soft - bliss.

We only went to the entertainment on one evening and it was of an average content but obviously this is not something I feel I can comment on.

We would all certainly return to Varadero. If you are going, enjoy yourself. Oh and the weather was good too. Only had three lots of ...
rain in the 2 weeks we were there - on the day we arrived, one night and on the day we came home!!!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


malcolm clarke visited here on July 2006
Nothing much to do but enough bars and eating houses with a good standard of food most have open kitchens so nothing hidden.

Some good wooden products to be had but not much else,also be aware if you hire a car or ped there are very few road signs and no lighting on the roads but people will give you directions
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


a davies visited here on June 2006
Well where do I start.

We are quite well travelled and I would easily say that Varadero beach is definately one of the best if not the best I have ever been on.

It is like a postcard with white sand clear turquoise water which by the hotel sol sirenis coral gently shelved into the water which is ideal for families with young children like myself.

I was told however that other sections of Varadero beach the water got deep very quickly. there were quite a few nightclubs in the resort unfortunatly as we had travelling with children we didnt get to see them but lots of people were laving our hotel around 11pm to go into Varadero centre.

If you are into shopping ...
then this resort is not for you. There is only a handful of small souveniour shops which all sell the same stuff.

We did manage to pick up a couple of things in the flea markets in the resort be careful of pickpockets there are a few dodgy characters walking around.

A good way to see the resort is on the Varadero beach tour bus. It is an open top bus and you pay 5 pesos which is about £3 per person when you board and it goes around the resort all day. I think there are 3 buses in total and you keep your ticket for the day and just hop on and off the buses when and where you want to it operates between 9am to 9pm and stops outside most of the main hotels in Varadero.

One last thing if you do go out to eat and drink make sure you get a menu cos if you dont when you get the bill it will be alot more then you expect as the cubans very often add a few pesos on for themselves.we were caught twice this way as did other people we spoke to at our hotel.

I dont mind paying a tip but the second time they almost doubled our bill so be very careful.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


frank cumming visited here on June 2006
The position of the hotel is about 30 mins from downtown Varadero. Taxi.open top bus{5pesats} and train depart just outside front of hotel.

The beach is about perfect as it gets and the temp and clarity of the sea is magnificent.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

2/5


Lisa/Jamie visited here on June 2006
Cuba is supposed to be a luxurious carribean experience, not at all we wont be visiting cuba or the Barcelo Solymar ever again and we would advise against anybody else going, although we couldnt fault the beach, other places have beaches with just the same white sands and clear seas so we will stick to those i think.

i hope this has helped!!!!!!!!!!!
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
4 stars
Quick hotel find:
3/5
Barcelo Marina Palace Hotel  stars Barcelo Marina Palace Hotel
Address: Varadero, Cuba

Latest Review: Apr 2010

Ranked #17 of 25 hotels in Varadero

3/5
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Hotel  stars Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Hotel
Blue skies and turquoise waters surround this spacious hotel. Choose to relax or try any of the water activities on offer, scuba dive, sail, or just lounge in the jacuzzi.

Latest Review: May 2010

Ranked #16 of 25 hotels in Varadero

2/5
Beaches Varadero Hotel  stars Beaches Varadero Hotel
In a beautiful location on Varadero beach, surrounded by lush landscaped gardens and a large freeform swimming pool, this relaxing and spacious, adult-only complex is part of the established Sandals hotel group and has a superb variety of facilities.

Latest Review: May 2006

Ranked #25 of 25 hotels in Varadero

4/5
Blau Hotel  stars Blau Hotel
Address: Varadero, Cuba

Latest Review: Apr 2012

Ranked #7 of 25 hotels in Varadero

3/5
Brisas del Caribe Hotel  stars Brisas del Caribe Hotel
Located on one of Varadero’s finest beaches, relax and enjoy a comprehensive selection of sports, activities and all inclusive facilities. By night, spoil yourself even more with a variety of international cuisine and entertainment.

Latest Review: Dec 2008

Ranked #18 of 25 hotels in Varadero

2/5
Club Amigo Varadero  stars Club Amigo Varadero
Address: Carretera Las Morlas Km 14 Matanzas, Cuba

Latest Review: Dec 2008

Ranked #23 of 25 hotels in Varadero

3/5
Club Puntarena Hotel  stars Club Puntarena Hotel
Address: Varadero. Avenida Kawama Y Final-varaderomatanzas, Cuba

Latest Review: May 2007

Ranked #22 of 25 hotels in Varadero

4/5
Coralia Club Playa De Oro Hotel  stars Coralia Club Playa De Oro Hotel
Address: Varadero, Cuba

Latest Review: Apr 2008

Ranked #9 of 25 hotels in Varadero

4/5
Iberostar Bella Costa Hotel  stars Iberostar Bella Costa Hotel
Superbly located beside Varadero beach, relax by the pool, sample a famous cocktail or play a round of golf on Varadero\'s course nearby. This popular and refurbished hotel caters for all your needs

Latest Review: Jul 2004

Ranked #14 of 25 hotels in Varadero

5/5
Iberostar Laguna Azul  stars Iberostar Laguna Azul
The Iberostar Laguna Azul hotel offers all its guests 5* all inclusive service. Located on the amazing beach, stretching 13 miles, this luxury resort offers 6 pools, nightclub, bars, restaurants, and sports facilities.

Latest Review: Aug 2010

Ranked #1 of 25 hotels in Varadero

4/5
Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel  stars Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel
Address: Varadero, Cuba

Latest Review: May 2009

Ranked #9 of 25 hotels in Varadero

4/5
Iberostar Tainos Hotel  stars Iberostar Tainos Hotel
Address: Varadero, Cuba

Latest Review: Mar 2009

Ranked #6 of 25 hotels in Varadero

5/5
Iberostar Varadero Hotel  stars Iberostar Varadero Hotel
Address: Varadero, Cuba

Latest Review: Jun 2010

Ranked #3 of 25 hotels in Varadero

3/5
Palma Real Hotel  stars Palma Real Hotel
Address: Parque Natural Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba

Latest Review: Jun 2010

Ranked #21 of 25 hotels in Varadero

4/5
Paradisus Varadero Resort  stars Paradisus Varadero Resort
Address: Rincón Francés, Varadero, Cuba

Latest Review: Nov 2006

Ranked #8 of 25 hotels in Varadero

4/5
Riu Turquesa Hotel  stars Riu Turquesa Hotel
Address: Varadero, Cuba

Latest Review: Jan 2008

Ranked #13 of 25 hotels in Varadero

5/5
Riu Varadero  stars Riu Varadero
The Riu Varadero combines a beachfront location with a great pool area. The hotel is famous for its breathtaking views of the beach, and the luxurious comfort that the rooms offer guests.

Latest Review: Jun 2012

Ranked #1 of 25 hotels in Varadero

4/5
Sandals Royal Hicacos Resort & Spa  stars Sandals Royal Hicacos Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Las Morlas Km. 15 Varadero, Cuba,, Cuba

Latest Review: Nov 2009

Ranked #12 of 25 hotels in Varadero

4/5
Sirenis La Salina Varadero Beach Resort  stars Sirenis La Salina Varadero Beach Resort
Address: Autopista Sur Km 19½, Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Mtzas, Cuba, Varadero 42200, Cuba

Latest Review: Jun 2011

Ranked #15 of 25 hotels in Varadero

3/5
Sol Palmeras Hotel  stars Sol Palmeras Hotel
Address: Varadero, Cuba

Latest Review: May 2011

Ranked #20 of 25 hotels in Varadero

3/5
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort  stars Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
Address: Av. Las Américas y Calle K, Varadero, Cuba

Latest Review: Jun 2006

Ranked #19 of 25 hotels in Varadero

4/5
Superclub Breezes Hotel  stars Superclub Breezes Hotel
When you arrive at SuperClubs Breezes Varadero, previously Club Varadero, a lush tropical setting surrounds you. Built in 1992, it was the first Super-Inclusive® resort in Cuba, designed for couples and adults 16 years and older.

Latest Review: Apr 2006

Ranked #9 of 25 hotels in Varadero

5/5
Tryp Peninsula Varadero  stars Tryp Peninsula Varadero
Address: Autopista del Sur, Parque Natural Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba

Latest Review: May 2014

Ranked #4 of 25 hotels in Varadero

5/5
Varadero Beach Resort  stars Varadero Beach Resort
A luxury hotel in Cuba’s premier beach resort. Elegantly furnished with breathtaking sea views, this is a great destination for those wanting the most from their Caribbean experience.

Latest Review: Sep 2004

Ranked #4 of 25 hotels in Varadero

2/5
Villa Cuba Hotel  stars Villa Cuba Hotel
Address: E, Varadero, Cuba

Latest Review: Jul 2009

Ranked #23 of 25 hotels in Varadero
Share