Image of Varadero

Varadero Holidays

4 out of 5 from 95 reviews

Hotels in Varadero, Caribbean

Image of Barcelo Marina Palace Hotel
17 of 25 hotels in Varadero
7 Reviews
Image of Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Hotel
16 of 25 hotels in Varadero
22 Reviews
Image of Beaches Varadero Hotel
25 of 25 hotels in Varadero
7 Reviews
Image of Blau Hotel
7 of 25 hotels in Varadero
13 Reviews
Image of Brisas del Caribe Hotel
18 of 25 hotels in Varadero
10 Reviews
Image of Club Amigo Varadero
23 of 25 hotels in Varadero
2 Reviews
Image of Club Puntarena Hotel
22 of 25 hotels in Varadero
6 Reviews
Image of Coralia Club Playa De Oro Hotel
9 of 25 hotels in Varadero
7 Reviews
Image of Iberostar Bella Costa Hotel
14 of 25 hotels in Varadero
3 Reviews
Image of Iberostar Laguna Azul
1 of 25 hotels in Varadero
1 Review
Image of Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel
10 of 25 hotels in Varadero
4 Reviews
Image of Iberostar Tainos Hotel
6 of 25 hotels in Varadero
8 Reviews
Image of Iberostar Varadero Hotel
3 of 25 hotels in Varadero
8 Reviews
Image of Palma Real Hotel
21 of 25 hotels in Varadero
10 Reviews
Image of Paradisus Varadero Resort
8 of 25 hotels in Varadero
5 Reviews
Image of Riu Turquesa Hotel
13 of 25 hotels in Varadero
6 Reviews
Image of Riu Varadero
1 of 25 hotels in Varadero
1 Review
Image of Sandals Royal Hicacos Resort & Spa
12 of 25 hotels in Varadero
8 Reviews
Image of Sirenis La Salina Varadero Beach Resort
15 of 25 hotels in Varadero
2 Reviews
Image of Sol Palmeras Hotel
20 of 25 hotels in Varadero
8 Reviews
Image of Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
19 of 25 hotels in Varadero
3 Reviews
Image of Superclub Breezes Hotel
11 of 25 hotels in Varadero
2 Reviews
Image of Tryp Peninsula Varadero
4 of 25 hotels in Varadero
French and Japanese restaurants are the best.
4 Reviews
Image of Varadero Beach Resort
5 of 25 hotels in Varadero
2 Reviews
Image of Villa Cuba Hotel
24 of 25 hotels in Varadero
1 Review

95 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    13
  • Very Good
    49
  • Good
    24
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Jenny
5 years 6 months ago
Varadero was not as good as reviews have given it
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Mike
5 years 7 months ago
There isn't a lot on the Varadero strip other than hotels and beaches. There was a small shopping centre about a 15 minute walk from the Sol Palmeras hotel. There are buses that go up and down the strip though if you want to explore.
We went on excursions to a sugar cane plantation and Havana and we went swimming with dolphins further down the strip which was absolutely amazing. The dolphin show was incredible, as was the interaction with the dolphins.
Varadero is a short journey from the airport, but far enough away that you don't hear the planes. The airport is extremely basic though.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Paula
6 years 3 months ago
entertainment was always in spanish never english there was never anyone cleaning round the hotel and there was never any gardeners beach was nice but nothing to do on it i would never go back
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Alan Billingham
6 years 4 months ago
Do go to Havana when you are there, it really is a fascinating City. Our tour guide was a resident of Cuba and gave a commentary the whole way there, speaking impeccable English ! This tour is very worthwhile and we would go again if we returned.

The open top double decker bus leaves at the bottom of the hotel entrance every half hour from 9.00am and costs five Pesos per person. You can hop on and off these buses all day for your five Pesos. Catch the bus and head into Varadero. Get off, explore, hop on and go on a wee bit further, explore, hop on again, etc.

.

If you want better, pay more and get better, or if your too busy whinging about stuff, then you need to lighten up. Its Cuba and it aint as advanced as other countries, so do a little research before you go, its not rocket science ! For what we paid, we were very happy with what we got, and would even consider returning again next year, something we have never ever done before !!
Go and enjoy the Cuban hospitality, its second to none, and ignore all the whingers ! A holiday is only what you make it ! Dont let life get in the way of living !
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Marc Miller
6 years 6 months ago
VARADERO

Resort Cleanliness:
Pretty good all-in-all. Most areas kept very clean, but there was a recurring smell of gas around the resort, which really took the sheen of the whole experience.

Resort Entertainment:
Appeared to be almost as lacklustre as our hotel. Bars and restaurants close early (10/11pm ave.) so do NOT go there expecting to dance the night away! We went for a week just to unwind so weren't too fussed about this, but the option would have been nice!

Beach Standard:
The beach was lovely - very soft white sand and it was kept clean throughout the day, but again the gas smell extended to the beach on several occasions, which really dented any major enjoyment that you could get from walks along the beach.

Conclusion:
Varadero is easily one of the most obvious tourist choices of Cuba and as such has many of the best benefits and worst downsides that come from this fact. If you can find a decent, highly-rated hotel and intend on staying put, then Varadero is for you.
Do NOT stay there if you what to the 'real' Cuba and/or want to experience it's nightlife, as you will be left sorely disappointed.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Ksw
6 years 6 months ago
The private beach at the hotel is quiet, narrow and clean with the sea shallow for a long way out. Canoes and pedaloes are available but just a very small number so this did not dominate the beach.

We didn't go into Varadero at night but through the day it was fairly quiet. There is not a wide range of shops of things to buy, mostly some local crafts.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Nicola
6 years 8 months ago
Unfortunatly we have been put off Cuba because of our experiance at Cayo Libertad.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Normski
6 years 9 months ago
it is mainly all hotels but there is a commercial centre about a mile from the hotel which has a good selection of tourist shops and is very clean area.you can reach the town of varadero by the red double decker bus which stops on the main road and costs 5 cuc's (peso)and is hop on hop off all day long or there is the train taxi which visits hotels and cost 2 peso one way.the beach at our hotel was quite narrow in places and we noticed some blue jellyfish but it is nice to walk along.the sea was quite rough whilst we were there and the red flags were out.the sea is a lovely turquoise colour.the entertainment is mostly hotel based but you can swim with dolphins which is about two hundred yards from the blau hotel
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Merseygull
7 years 1 month ago
Absolutely fantastic beach, you can walk out for ages!!
Crystal clear water...and warm!!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Kenneth McKeown
7 years 3 months ago
Roads leading from the Hotels were clean, with nicely grassed areas however, once you reached the town of Varadero its self it was untidy with discarded drink cans but appeard to be the locals more than the tourist who were doing this.

The Beach at the hotel has to be seen to be belived - pure white sand with a warm sea, but when the temperatures raised during the afternoon you definately need ths shade - with a good bar.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of Tryp Peninsula Varadero
Tryp Peninsula Varadero
Varadero, Caribbean
Families and couples
Image of Riu Varadero
Riu Varadero
Varadero, Caribbean
Fantastic Hotel
Image of Blau Hotel
Blau Hotel
Varadero, Caribbean
Hard to fault!
Image of Sirenis La Salina Varadero Beach Resort
Sirenis La Salina Varadero Beach Resort
Varadero, Caribbean
Very dirty poolside area
Image of Sol Palmeras Hotel
Sol Palmeras Hotel
Varadero, Caribbean
Lovely hotel
Image of Iberostar Laguna Azul
Iberostar Laguna Azul
Varadero, Caribbean
Great
Image of Iberostar Varadero Hotel
Iberostar Varadero Hotel
Varadero, Caribbean
From the moment you check in to the moment you che…
Image of Palma Real Hotel
Palma Real Hotel
Varadero, Caribbean
Hotel Cleanliness: Rooms and toilets were kept cl…
Image of Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Hotel
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Hotel
Varadero, Caribbean
The official rating for this hotel is 5*. When we…
Image of Barcelo Marina Palace Hotel
Barcelo Marina Palace Hotel
Varadero, Caribbean
The day we arrived we thought we had landed in par…
Image of Sandals Royal Hicacos Resort & Spa
Sandals Royal Hicacos Resort & Spa
Varadero, Caribbean
Having recently returned from Hicacos a few days a…
Image of Villa Cuba Hotel
Villa Cuba Hotel
Varadero, Caribbean
Best to come clean right off - this was the first …
Image of Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel
Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel
Varadero, Caribbean
We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks the beaches ar…
Other popular destinations
Image of Playa Dorada
Playa Dorada
Dominican Republic
Image of Puerto Plata
Puerto Plata
Dominican Republic
Image of Punta Cana
Punta Cana
Dominican Republic
Image of Cayo Coco
Cayo Coco
Cuba
Image of Rio San Juan
Rio San Juan
Dominican Republic
Image of Costa Dorada
Costa Dorada
Dominican Republic
Image of Margarita Island
Margarita Island
Caribbean
Image of Montego Bay
Montego Bay
Jamaica