16 independent reviews of the Livas Hotel Apartments
Address: Paralimni, 5296, Cyprus
Livas Hotel Apartments
Livas Hotel Apartments Location
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Pernera


4/5
Livas Hotel Apartments Livas Hotel Apartments is rated 4.25 out of 5 from 16 Reviews
88% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (16 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 5 stars
Location 5 stars

Livas Hotel Apartments Reviews

4/5
4
"Nice basic hotel in good location"
Judith France had a holiday at Livas Hotel Apartments, Pernera in September 2012
We stayed at the Livas in October 2012. It was our first visit and overall we were very happy with our stay and it was what we were expecting from reading other reviews before we went. The staff were very friendly especially Andreas and the older lady receptionist and the older gentleman who I think was the owner. I really don't know when Andreas got any sleep as he was on the bar until the last person left at night, and was there again cooking breakfast first thing in the morning!

We had a sea/pool facing room on the 2nd floor, which was fine and spacious with a full size fridge and cooker. It was clean and well furnished. The lighting in the rooms was a bit strange, and some of the bulbs would not completely go ...
off, which was a bit annoying on the first night, but we didn't really notice it after that.

The main thing that I think could be improved is more regular/thorough maid service. We stayed 10 days and by the 8th day had only had 1 towel change, so I had to go down and request some more. Also we did go 3 days without any maid service at all, which means the bathroom bins weren't emptied. On the days that we did get maid service it was really just emptying bins and making the beds, rather than sweeping/mopping/wiping surfaces. So this would be the area where improvements would make it a more pleasant stay.

The other slight issue was that we could never get a sunbed around the pool as people seemed to put their towels out early in a morning so all the beds were taken by 8.30 ish. For this reason we usually went to the beach or one of the bigger hotels (which had nicer pools anyway).

There were lots of regulars and repeat bookers, and they were all really friendly and said hello every morning and would have a chat at night over a drink at the pool bar.

The food that we had at the hotel was always of a very good standard and the drinks were reasonably priced. The hotel is in a great location for getting around, with loads of places to eat/drink. Catching a bus into Protaras was easy and very cheap at only 1 euro!
I wouldn’t particularly want to return to the Livas, as I like to stay in different places. But I would recommend it as a nice, friendly, conveniently located, fairly basic, base for a holiday.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5
"Warm friendly hotel"
Steve had a holiday at Livas Hotel Apartments, Pernera in July 2012
We have visited this hotel several times and are never disappointed.

Its location in Pernera makes it ideal for exploring on foot, by bus, by taxi, hire car or bike as all are within walking distance.

The hotel is basic in what it offers, one main pool and a small children's pool, lounge area, internal and external dining area (most people eat outside near the bar/pool), a bar which stocks most drinks and does happy hours and reasonable prices. I could go on about the large rooms with full sized ovens, but the main thing about the hotel is the staff.

Its family run with a few old friends who ALL work together to make your stay as easy as possible. I've not seen people work this hard to make things easy for you in any other hotel or line ...
of business for a long long time!

The bar will stay open late if people want to sit and drink, people have even ordered food at 11pm or even later to take back to the room. The menu has a good choice but they will help and adjust things if you ask.

If you are after 4/5 star type service with people carrying bags, saunas, spas and a choice of gyms you are looking at the wrong price range. This hotel is more basic but having been to several 4 star hotels in the past we'd choose this one over them every time!

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5
"We have already booked to return"
Steve and Jackie visited the Livas Hotel Apartments in April 2012
We have been to this hotel on several occasions and love it. On previous occasions it's just been the two of us, but this time we brought two of our granddaughters. We wondered how much of a difference this might make, if anything it made the holiday even better!
Andreas who looks after the bar and food looked after us all with a big smile, and all the staff bent over backwards to get them the food they wanted, along with more normal meals.

It was a little quiet around the hotel with being start of the season so the children had the pool to themselves most of the time, really couldn't have asked for more.

The hotel is a small family run hotel and you get what you pay for, for example, there aren't porters to take bags to ...
rooms, but we would go to this hotel given a choice every single time!

We have already booked to return later this year and can't wait.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4
"We return time and time again"
Steve and Jackie stayed at Livas Hotel Apartments, Pernera in July 2011
I haven’t written a report about this hotel since our first visit in 2009 where I said I think I'd be going back, well we did twice in 2010 and we have just returned from our second visit of 2011 which tells you something.

We like many people love the friendly and help way the staff look after you which keeps us returning time after time.
The hotel is pretty much as it was the first time we visited, being well cleaned, well run and the same sort of special meal deals, happy 'hours' for drinks, staff willing to bend over backwards to help you and Andreas keeping the bar running.

We visited with our daughter and her family in May and they enjoyed it as much as us (in case you are wondering what it’s like for younger families).

Again can't wait to get back there soon.


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5
"First time and won't be our last here "
Maxine stayed at Livas Hotel Apartments, Pernera in July 2011
First time to Penera after staying in Protaras for 15 years. These apartments are excellent! Booked after reading very good reviews and they more than lived up to our expectations. Spacious apartment which was kept really clean.

A lovely relaxed pool area with no need to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve sunbeds. The pool bar was fab and Andreas was an excellent host, he remembers everybody’s name and what you like to drink. Lovely food too.

Apartments are situated in a quiet area about 2 minutes from the beach – perfect. Everyone was very friendly. We have already booked to go back next year and can't wait!


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4
"Right in the middle of resort, great!"
lindsay had a holiday at Livas Hotel Apartments in August 2010
Staff great and fabulous with our 2 boys (4yrs and 3 months old) they were always checking everything was ok and we have just received a Christmas card off all the staff too!

Maids brilliant and rooms always cleaned and bins emptied. I found there wasn’t enough storage space for all four of us so we all slept in the main 2 beds pushed together and used the cot and spare bed for all the kids clothes.
Full cooker which is great if you want to save money and have romantic nights in we never used the oven as we found it easier to eat out. Air conditioning as always is very pricey but we got a good deal on the holiday so we used what we saved to pay for this!!

The pool was lovely but could do with ...
a good clean as the drainage grills were quite green. Had a few breakfast and dinners which were ok. Beautiful area and location bang in the middle of everything in Pernera.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Steve and Jackie stayed at Livas Hotel Apartments, Pernera, Cyprus in July 2009
We have been to Cyprus several times before (including once already in April this year) and always stop in the Pernera area. This was our first visit to the Livas and really only wanted a base to sleep in and rest our heads, however we got a whole lot more than we expected! The hotel doesn\'t have a massive star rating and we were thinking its going to be very basic but as long as it was clean it would be ok. Well first impressions and the reception area is sharing an open space with part of the bar and seating areas (which works well). We were greated by the most friendly staff we have ever met on any of our holidays including varying other countries. We paid our extras for air conditioning (which is included if you book directly ...
with them) and were taken to our room.
The room was a large lounge/kitchen area with another bedroom and a bathroom. All was clean and tidy with plenty of the basics (some that we hadn\'t even had in higher rated hotels). The Kitchen had a full oven (4 gas hobs, grill in oven),extractor hood,large fridge with freezer compartment, all the pans, knives, boards you might need for reasonable self catering (we made lots of cooked breakfasts, halloumi in pittas and even Stifado with potatoes and green beans without any trouble).
In the Lounge area (other half of same room as kitchen) there was a table with four chairs, 2 large sofas that convert to beds, a coffee table and a small TV set on the wall (several local channels that often play English films and shows - also plenty of Greek/Cypriot cooking programmes in the mornings which you don\'t really need to be able to speak the language for)
Bedroom had two single beds, dressing table, another small table and one of the air conditioning units
Bathroom had a bath with shower, sink, toilet, mirror power for shavers etc.
On the whole the room/s were well stocked, well laid out and comfortable but they aren\'t brand new and it would be wrong to say there weren\'t the odd knocks on the edges of doors and bits that could do with a lick of paint (but they are far from being a mess or tatty)

It was late when we arrived (well after 1am) but we called down to the bar for a look around and a quick drink. We were again greated by happy smiling faces from Andreos (the main man on the bar)and other staff members and sat for a while picking his brain about what went on there. A nice place to sit and drink either inside or outside both served by the same bar.

The pool area was cleaned every day and the water checked and sorted every night (we were there for 3 weeks and never noticed it not being done as we overlooked the pool from our room). Lots of loungers, showering etc

The hotel has plenty of things in and around it to make your stay as easy as possible. Its own well stocked mini-market selling plenty for self catering (but you might need to travel further away to get a big chunk of meat to do a roast). It has at least one computer that I noticed for you to use, a pool table that could really do with a new cover, tv\'s showing news/sport/programmes, music is played gently during the day (not thumping tannoy stuff like other places do), reception can change travellers checks and many other things, washing machine/dryer... all the basics you need in a hotel and a lot more.
Its also worth noticing there is ramp access to the front of the building and very little in the way of steps up or down anywhere, with lifts to the upper/lower floors.

Food is available most of the day to very late and several times a week special offers on themes are done (not your usual themese either - things like \"lovers\" where a full chicken is roasted along with potatoes, a drink and a pudding for 2 people to share at !)but the best by far is the BBQ night, lots and lots of dishes, meats etc and great fun with the Karaoke. We ate several meals and although they were all very good(good snacks, well cooked main dishes) the village salad was worth note as its one of the better ones I\'ve had in Cyprus (made correctly with lots of olives and the feta dressed with oregano etc, which many places often over look).

To be honest there were odd bits I could say weren\'t as good as they could have been (the laundary area is very basic and a bit like being in the hotel cellar) but overall its a very nice place, well run, well cleaned and by far the best staff we have come across !

Would we go back ? absolutely in a breath !

Leaving this time was harder than normal as it felt like leaving our family behind !

(I think I know where we will be booking next year !)

Steve

Read More

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Kath & Paul stayed at Livas Hotel Apartments in May 2009
The previous review sums up everything that is good about these apartments. I

Tour Operator: Independently

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Kath Desborough stayed at Livas Hotel Apartments in September 2007
Our eighth stay at The Livas - what can you say - so many returnees year after year which always adds to a wonderful holiday. The friendliness of the staff and the family who own these apartments is second to none - really one of the best run hotel/apartments in Pernera. From the minute you walk through the door the family & staff cannot do enough to make sure you have a wonderful stay. Unfortunately the apartments have been affected this year by nearby building works which created a fair amount of dust and noise and affected the pool area and whilst it was hoped the works would have been completed this year looks like they will now be finished by the start of the holiday season next year. Good bar area run by Andreas which serves lovely ...
snacks - excellent location only minutes from the beach and restaurants. Rooms cleaned daily by the lovely Flora and Maria (excluding Sunday) with fresh towels daily and linen change every two days. Would have no hesitation in recommending these apartments.

Read More

Tour Operator: Independently

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Kath Desborough stayed at Livas Hotel Apartments in April 2007
This was our seventh stay at The Livas and going back yet again in October. These apartments have to be the friendliest apartments in Pernera - so many people go back time and time again which says it all.

The owners and staff really cannot do enough to make sure you have a good holiday and remember everyone\'s name. The rooms are basic but so are most apartments - you only really need a good place to sleep.

The rooms and communal areas are kept very clean by daily cleaning ladies, clean towels every day and linen change twice a week.

The pool area is excellent with very good breakfasts and snacks and evening meals are provided if you want although there are lots of different restaurants in the area if like me you don\'t want to be ...
tied to the apartments.

There is also a weekly BBQ and karaoke which, even if you don\'t like karaoke, the guy who runs this is absolutely fantastic and the BBQ first class. There has been some building work in the front of the apartments but the main infrastructure is now complete and it appears to be merely cosmetic work now - this did not interfere with our holiday at all.

The apartments are only 5 minutes from the beach and main restaurants but far enough away from noise (unless you discount the road sweepers who have a habit of starting work at 2.30 am onwards!)

Teenagers may find there is not enough to do in the evening but taxis and buses are easy to obtain to take you into Protaras or Ayia Napa.

All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending these apartments for couples, families and retirees.

Read More

Tour Operator: Independently

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Barry stayed at Livas Hotel Apartments, Pernera in August 2005
We had stayed at the Livas twice before and I agree with other reviews that it is starting to look a bit tired and could do with a \"spruce up\". Having said that I cannot fault the staff, cleanliness or the location.

The staff are always friendly and helpful and the accommodation and public areas are always clean.

The Pernera area has lots to offer in the way of bars and places to eat. The bay and beach are also very nice.

One of the reasons that we have gone back so many times was the bar and restaurant staff (Tasos and Paula). They have now moved to the Andreotis Hotel Apts in Protaras and the facility has been taken on by Alex and Andreas who provide a high standard of service.

Tour Operator: Libra
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Mark visited the Livas Hotel Apartments, Pernera, Cyprus in August 2005
We had 30 people in the wedding party at times and they all said how good the accommodation was.

Alex and Amdreas, who run the bar, were absolute stars in every respect.

The location is only 100m from the beach and within walking distance of some great bars and restaurants.

As anybody who stayed here in September will tell you it can get a bit noisy on Karaoke evening but if you can\'t beat them join them!

For a friendly, clean, self-catering apartments, i think you\'d be hard pushed to find any better for the price. We will be booking for next year, although on our own so that should keep the noise down.

Tour Operator: own

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

derwentrocker had a holiday at Livas Hotel Apartments, Pernera in July 2005
I had very high expectations when reading the reviews on this particular hotel/apartments. So really excited we jetted off to the LIVAS and arrived late into the night.

The living room was very spacious and we stayed on the first floor at the end of the row, near the tennis courts. There was a small balcony, but unfortunately didn\'t dry towels very well as the wind went across them. My daughter slept in the living room which had the usual S/C equipment etc which was very clean.

The bathroom had seen better days in this apartment mainly because of the problem with stench urine smell from the toilet. We had to buy bleach the very next morning. Also we had company with a load of ants present between the wardrobe, bedroom door and the bathroom. They were everywhere, all over the toilet ...
seat and bowl. Ant spray had to be bought. It worked because they disappeared, also killing two roaches that also decided to join us one evening.

The one bedroom we slept in had single beds pushed together with matching furniture that i tended to think had been painted green. The beds were the most uncomfortable that we had ever slept in, and my daughters bed in the living room made her very upset, she had a bad back for two weeks. We didnt complain because all the beds i assumed would be the same. Our beds were very hard, but the sun mostly knocked us out at night, so we slept well most nights.

We did have one breakfast meal and it was nice, but ventured up to our favourite place \'The Fresh House Restaurant\' and had huge portions and fresh yogurt for less of a price, we knew the owner very well. In my opinion no other restaurant in Pernera nor protaras beats this place for freshness and huge portions.

The maids did come in mostly every other day, but the sheets seemed to be changed x 2 a week, bins were emptied daily, and the floor was mopped and bathroom descaled of all the sand. I left them tips most days but they never took them, so saved them up and hopefully someone had a nice time on it. Air-conditioning is a right rip off costing

Read More

Tour Operator: DIY
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

K Desborough visited the Livas Hotel Apartments, Pernera in June 2005
Booked our holiday direct with the Livas apartments and so didn\'t really know what to expect other than the fact we knew the area well. It couldn\'t have worked out better. Not only did we save a lot of money by doing it ourselves the organisation was fantastic.

Taxi at the airport to collect us on arrival, wonderful flight with Cyprus Airlines (cannot praise this airline enough).

The management and staff at the Livas could not be more helpful. Although perhaps the apartments are looking a bit tired the rooms are very spacious and comfortable and kept extremely clean. Fresh linen and plenty of clean towels. Arrived very late at night and the management were only too pleased to provide a meal and drinks.

The pool area is very spacious and plenty ...
of sunbeds.

Beach is only 2 minutes away and plenty of small coves in the surrounding area.

The apartments cater wonderfully for small children but if you have got to the stage in your life, as we have, where our children have now grown up and you want a lot of peace and quiet maybe July and August is not the best time to go and June and September would be better.

There is a very well equipped supermarket attached to the apartments if you do want to cater for yourself but there are many restaurants in the surrounding area although not all of these are good. Avoid the Island Oasis which is directly opposite the apartments. All of the food is frozen and very poor quality. The Polyexenia restaurant directly on the sea front is very good and has lovely views. The Italian restaurant only two minutes from apartments is also excellent. The apartments offer a very good cooked breakfast but for something really special go to the seafront, turn right and walk along the coast in the direction of Fig Tree Bay. Approximately 15 minutes you will come to a small kiosk called Sofiras. Possibly the best breakfast on the island with a wonderful views and only costs two pounds with freshly squeezed orange juice. Generally though the food is a bit of a disappointment and not really as authentic as I would like mainly because they have to cater for the British tourists who seem to want chips with everything!

Hire a car if possible. Reasonably priced and you can then get round the island. We did a trip to Polis and all the way down the west coast of the island. Although it was very tiring it was lovely to see the banana plantations and orange and lemon groves. Stop and buy oranges at the side of the road - they are delicious. A good trip is the safari trip to the Troodos mountains. You go off road and see sights you wouldn\'t generally be able to see if driving yourself. Twenty nine pounds including a wonderful meze at lunch time. Some lovely little villages to see. If you are lucky enough to get a driver called Hannibel you will have a wonderful time.

Plenty of sea sports for the active, helmet diving and scuba diving but if your choice of holiday is a good book and sunshine head for Sirena Bay. It is a good 30 minutes walk or a 5 minute drive but you will find paradise when you do get there. Directions - by foot - go up the main street of Pernera until you reach the Chinese restaurant on the corner - turn right down the road and continue walking until you come to the Golden Coast hotel near the newly built harbour. Continue to the top of the road, turn right and keep walking (do it early in the morning and it doesn't seem too long!) Approximately 10 minutes Sirena Bay is on the right hand side. You really have to look for it. By car - turn right out of the apartments, continue as if going to Paralmini - turn right at the Kama apartments and continue on the road until you see Sirena Bay on the right hand side. There is a lovely taverna there which does very good food and it is very peaceful. However avoid Sundays. That is the day the Cypriot people themselves use the bay and it can be a bit noisy.

We found prices have increased in Cyprus considerably but it still represents good value for money particularly if you book your holiday direct. If you do book direct at the Livas you don\'t have to pay until arrival - they are extremely trusting.

Weather is fantastic - not a hint of a cloud in the sky. Sea lovely and warm.

All in all a very good holiday. Would highly recommend these apartments and will certainly be returning.

I cannot praise the Cypriot people highly enough - very welcoming genuine people and I can\'t wait to return yet again.

Cypriot Airlines put the rest of the airline industry to shame - they really are very efficient (how many airlines do you get a choice of food!)

Read More

Tour Operator: Independently

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Louise Mackley stayed at Livas Hotel Apartments in May 2005
We had a great time at the Livas, all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was immaculately clean. There is a supermarket in the hotel and the prices were very good compared to other shops.We went in late June and the hotel was not full so the only entertainment was a bbq night, it might be more lively in July and August. Its only a couple of minutes walk to get to the beach and all the restaurants are just a few minutes walk away. We would love to go back again next June

Tour Operator: Libra

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

maddison had a holiday at Livas Hotel Apartments in August 2004
We stayed in the Livas hotel apartments in Pernera Protaras it was fantastic. The staff couldn't do enough for you everybody was so frendly. The bar staff Tasos and Paula were lovley the food was great we found it much cheaper than eating out.

The location was great we had wonderfull sea views from our balconey. The entertainment was quiz nights, bbqs and sometimes a disco there was 7 of us all in all it was fantastic would go back again.

Tour Operator: we booked direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share