Image of Livas Hotel Apartments

Livas Hotel Apartments

2 of 10 hotels in Pernera

4 out of 5 from 16 reviews
Paralimni, 5296, Cyprus

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Nice basic hotel in good location
3 years 10 months ago
We stayed at the Livas in October 2012. It was our first visit and overall we were very happy with our stay and it was what we were expecting from reading other reviews before we went. The staff were very friendly especially Andreas and the older lady receptionist and the older gentleman who I think was the owner. I really don't know when Andreas got any sleep as he was on the bar until the last person left at night, and was there again cooking breakfast first thing in the morning!

We had a sea/pool facing room on the 2nd floor, which was fine and spacious with a full size fridge and cooker. It was clean and well furnished. The lighting in the rooms was a bit strange, and some of the bulbs would not completely go off, which was a bit annoying on the first night, but we didn't really notice it after that.

The main thing that I think could be improved is more regular/thorough maid service. We stayed 10 days and by the 8th day had only had 1 towel change, so I had to go down and request some more. Also we did go 3 days without any maid service at all, which means the bathroom bins weren't emptied. On the days that we did get maid service it was really just emptying bins and making the beds, rather than sweeping/mopping/wiping surfaces. So this would be the area where improvements would make it a more pleasant stay.

The other slight issue was that we could never get a sunbed around the pool as people seemed to put their towels out early in a morning so all the beds were taken by 8.30 ish. For this reason we usually went to the beach or one of the bigger hotels (which had nicer pools anyway).

There were lots of regulars and repeat bookers, and they were all really friendly and said hello every morning and would have a chat at night over a drink at the pool bar.

The food that we had at the hotel was always of a very good standard and the drinks were reasonably priced. The hotel is in a great location for getting around, with loads of places to eat/drink. Catching a bus into Protaras was easy and very cheap at only 1 euro!
I wouldn’t particularly want to return to the Livas, as I like to stay in different places. But I would recommend it as a nice, friendly, conveniently located, fairly basic, base for a holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Warm friendly hotel
4 years ago
We have visited this hotel several times and are never disappointed.

Its location in Pernera makes it ideal for exploring on foot, by bus, by taxi, hire car or bike as all are within walking distance.

The hotel is basic in what it offers, one main pool and a small children's pool, lounge area, internal and external dining area (most people eat outside near the bar/pool), a bar which stocks most drinks and does happy hours and reasonable prices. I could go on about the large rooms with full sized ovens, but the main thing about the hotel is the staff.

Its family run with a few old friends who ALL work together to make your stay as easy as possible. I've not seen people work this hard to make things easy for you in any other hotel or line of business for a long long time!

The bar will stay open late if people want to sit and drink, people have even ordered food at 11pm or even later to take back to the room. The menu has a good choice but they will help and adjust things if you ask.

If you are after 4/5 star type service with people carrying bags, saunas, spas and a choice of gyms you are looking at the wrong price range. This hotel is more basic but having been to several 4 star hotels in the past we'd choose this one over them every time!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
We have already booked to return
4 years 3 months ago
We have been to this hotel on several occasions and love it. On previous occasions it's just been the two of us, but this time we brought two of our granddaughters. We wondered how much of a difference this might make, if anything it made the holiday even better!
Andreas who looks after the bar and food looked after us all with a big smile, and all the staff bent over backwards to get them the food they wanted, along with more normal meals.

It was a little quiet around the hotel with being start of the season so the children had the pool to themselves most of the time, really couldn't have asked for more.

The hotel is a small family run hotel and you get what you pay for, for example, there aren't porters to take bags to rooms, but we would go to this hotel given a choice every single time!

We have already booked to return later this year and can't wait.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
We return time and time again
5 years ago
I haven’t written a report about this hotel since our first visit in 2009 where I said I think I'd be going back, well we did twice in 2010 and we have just returned from our second visit of 2011 which tells you something.

We like many people love the friendly and help way the staff look after you which keeps us returning time after time.
The hotel is pretty much as it was the first time we visited, being well cleaned, well run and the same sort of special meal deals, happy 'hours' for drinks, staff willing to bend over backwards to help you and Andreas keeping the bar running.

We visited with our daughter and her family in May and they enjoyed it as much as us (in case you are wondering what it’s like for younger families).

Again can't wait to get back there soon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Maxine
First time and won't be our last here
5 years ago
First time to Penera after staying in Protaras for 15 years. These apartments are excellent! Booked after reading very good reviews and they more than lived up to our expectations. Spacious apartment which was kept really clean.

A lovely relaxed pool area with no need to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve sunbeds. The pool bar was fab and Andreas was an excellent host, he remembers everybody’s name and what you like to drink. Lovely food too.

Apartments are situated in a quiet area about 2 minutes from the beach – perfect. Everyone was very friendly. We have already booked to go back next year and can't wait!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Right in the middle of resort, great!
5 years 11 months ago
Staff great and fabulous with our 2 boys (4yrs and 3 months old) they were always checking everything was ok and we have just received a Christmas card off all the staff too!

Maids brilliant and rooms always cleaned and bins emptied. I found there wasn’t enough storage space for all four of us so we all slept in the main 2 beds pushed together and used the cot and spare bed for all the kids clothes.
Full cooker which is great if you want to save money and have romantic nights in we never used the oven as we found it easier to eat out. Air conditioning as always is very pricey but we got a good deal on the holiday so we used what we saved to pay for this!!

The pool was lovely but could do with a good clean as the drainage grills were quite green. Had a few breakfast and dinners which were ok. Beautiful area and location bang in the middle of everything in Pernera.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
6 years 11 months ago
We have been to Cyprus several times before (including once already in April this year) and always stop in the Pernera area. This was our first visit to the Livas and really only wanted a base to sleep in and rest our heads, however we got a whole lot more than we expected! The hotel doesn't have a massive star rating and we were thinking its going to be very basic but as long as it was clean it would be ok. Well first impressions and the reception area is sharing an open space with part of the bar and seating areas (which works well). We were greated by the most friendly staff we have ever met on any of our holidays including varying other countries. We paid our extras for air conditioning (which is included if you book directly with them) and were taken to our room.
The room was a large lounge/kitchen area with another bedroom and a bathroom. All was clean and tidy with plenty of the basics (some that we hadn't even had in higher rated hotels). The Kitchen had a full oven (4 gas hobs, grill in oven),extractor hood,large fridge with freezer compartment, all the pans, knives, boards you might need for reasonable self catering (we made lots of cooked breakfasts, halloumi in pittas and even Stifado with potatoes and green beans without any trouble).
In the Lounge area (other half of same room as kitchen) there was a table with four chairs, 2 large sofas that convert to beds, a coffee table and a small TV set on the wall (several local channels that often play English films and shows - also plenty of Greek/Cypriot cooking programmes in the mornings which you don't really need to be able to speak the language for)
Bedroom had two single beds, dressing table, another small table and one of the air conditioning units
Bathroom had a bath with shower, sink, toilet, mirror power for shavers etc.
On the whole the room/s were well stocked, well laid out and comfortable but they aren't brand new and it would be wrong to say there weren't the odd knocks on the edges of doors and bits that could do with a lick of paint (but they are far from being a mess or tatty)

It was late when we arrived (well after 1am) but we called down to the bar for a look around and a quick drink. We were again greated by happy smiling faces from Andreos (the main man on the bar)and other staff members and sat for a while picking his brain about what went on there. A nice place to sit and drink either inside or outside both served by the same bar.

The pool area was cleaned every day and the water checked and sorted every night (we were there for 3 weeks and never noticed it not being done as we overlooked the pool from our room). Lots of loungers, showering etc

The hotel has plenty of things in and around it to make your stay as easy as possible. Its own well stocked mini-market selling plenty for self catering (but you might need to travel further away to get a big chunk of meat to do a roast). It has at least one computer that I noticed for you to use, a pool table that could really do with a new cover, tv's showing news/sport/programmes, music is played gently during the day (not thumping tannoy stuff like other places do), reception can change travellers checks and many other things, washing machine/dryer... all the basics you need in a hotel and a lot more.
Its also worth noticing there is ramp access to the front of the building and very little in the way of steps up or down anywhere, with lifts to the upper/lower floors.

Food is available most of the day to very late and several times a week special offers on themes are done (not your usual themese either - things like "lovers" where a full chicken is roasted along with potatoes, a drink and a pudding for 2 people to share at !)but the best by far is the BBQ night, lots and lots of dishes, meats etc and great fun with the Karaoke. We ate several meals and although they were all very good(good snacks, well cooked main dishes) the village salad was worth note as its one of the better ones I've had in Cyprus (made correctly with lots of olives and the feta dressed with oregano etc, which many places often over look).

To be honest there were odd bits I could say weren't as good as they could have been (the laundary area is very basic and a bit like being in the hotel cellar) but overall its a very nice place, well run, well cleaned and by far the best staff we have come across !

Would we go back ? absolutely in a breath !

Leaving this time was harder than normal as it felt like leaving our family behind !

(I think I know where we will be booking next year !)

Steve
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 1 month ago
The previous review sums up everything that is good about these apartments. I
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Kath Desborough
8 years 9 months ago
Our eighth stay at The Livas - what can you say - so many returnees year after year which always adds to a wonderful holiday. The friendliness of the staff and the family who own these apartments is second to none - really one of the best run hotel/apartments in Pernera. From the minute you walk through the door the family & staff cannot do enough to make sure you have a wonderful stay. Unfortunately the apartments have been affected this year by nearby building works which created a fair amount of dust and noise and affected the pool area and whilst it was hoped the works would have been completed this year looks like they will now be finished by the start of the holiday season next year. Good bar area run by Andreas which serves lovely snacks - excellent location only minutes from the beach and restaurants. Rooms cleaned daily by the lovely Flora and Maria (excluding Sunday) with fresh towels daily and linen change every two days. Would have no hesitation in recommending these apartments.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Kath Desborough
9 years 2 months ago
This was our seventh stay at The Livas and going back yet again in October. These apartments have to be the friendliest apartments in Pernera - so many people go back time and time again which says it all.

The owners and staff really cannot do enough to make sure you have a good holiday and remember everyone's name. The rooms are basic but so are most apartments - you only really need a good place to sleep.

The rooms and communal areas are kept very clean by daily cleaning ladies, clean towels every day and linen change twice a week.

The pool area is excellent with very good breakfasts and snacks and evening meals are provided if you want although there are lots of different restaurants in the area if like me you don't want to be tied to the apartments.

There is also a weekly BBQ and karaoke which, even if you don't like karaoke, the guy who runs this is absolutely fantastic and the BBQ first class. There has been some building work in the front of the apartments but the main infrastructure is now complete and it appears to be merely cosmetic work now - this did not interfere with our holiday at all.

The apartments are only 5 minutes from the beach and main restaurants but far enough away from noise (unless you discount the road sweepers who have a habit of starting work at 2.30 am onwards!)

Teenagers may find there is not enough to do in the evening but taxis and buses are easy to obtain to take you into Protaras or Ayia Napa.

All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending these apartments for couples, families and retirees.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: