Image of Windmills Hotel & Apartments

Windmills Hotel & Apartments

8 of 10 hotels in Pernera

3 out of 5 from 27 reviews
Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus

27 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Craig
very disappointed
3 years 7 months ago
Very disappointed with this hotel we stayed in. We arrived to no help just given directions to our room. Got into the room and it was dirty the cot for our baby was black, the furniture was well worn and had stains all over it. There were ants in the kitchen and bathroom. Two lizards were on the wall in the living room area. The bathroom had no plug to bath our 6 month old baby. Front door was broken and repaired with sellotape. Dishes were dirty and stained and had hardly any facilities to use. Nasty smell in the kitchen area like bad drains. Maids left are patio door open twice on the ground floor were we had no safe in. Staff were no help at all, bar staff were rude. Air conditioning was 18euros a day and 50 euros to keep the room on as we were told by one member of staff and 30 euros by another. We didn't feel safe. Bedding and towels were changed once throughout the week. Never again would we stay there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Rod Punter
Not good
5 years 3 months ago
We arrived at the Windmill Hotel around midnight, the night porter was an Englishman who didn't really seemed all that pleased to see us. We were directed to our rooms and had to drag our luggage up three flights of stairs, there are no elevators and there was not even a suggestion of any assistance, OK for us though no good for the less abled bodied or elderly.

When we entered the rooms I had the immediate impression the hotel was well passed its sell by date, the rooms were fairly clean although all the furniture and fittings were well worn and sometimes broken, for example the rim of the toilet was cracked and temporarily repaired with sticky tape, a hinge in the wardrobe was damaged so it obstructed the bottom drawer.

There was very little kitchen equipment, and what was there was very old, cheap and scruffy, there was no microwave and no toaster, something I had never experienced before in any self-catering apartment. To make a cup of tea involved putting a cheap rusty old kettle on an old gas burner which stood loosely on the cracked work surface.

The cleaners came in fairly regularly and did a good enough job and they even managed a grunt when I said good morning to them, which is more than you can say for the reception staff. Despite my negativity about this place, the holiday was a cheap and very cheerful one, the hotel room only being used to shower and sleep in and for these purposes were more than adequate.

The hotel incorporated a very clean looking restaurant which was for guests and passers-by, we never ate there because directly opposite were a couple of establishments named Kokos and Knights, both these places served excellent food and were cheaper than the hotel.

The swimming pool area was fairly good, as was the bar area, although the bar was very noisy so an early night is more or less out of the question.

The real shock was the reception wanted 50 euros for us to keep a room on for a few extra hours on the day of departure; we declined this and opted to use the manky shower by the pool before departing.

The hotel is not in Protaras, it is in Pernara, which is 1 euro on the bus or 8 euros in a taxi distant. The taxi drivers were very unfriendly, once in the car they spend the whole journey moaning about tourists and the cost of living.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Anita + Jamie
7 years 6 months ago
the towels and bedding were changed frequently. Anything you wanted was within walking distance. the hotel staff especially Honza Emily and Emma were great they went the extra mile for eveyone. Entertainment was daily at no extra cost where else would you see Robbie Williams Elvis Freddie Mercury Abba The blues Brothers and Gorge Michael in 2 weeks for free. the bar prices were resonable not like some bars which put the prices up when acts were on
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Marie
8 years 3 months ago
Me and my fiance have stayed at windmills before and this was our 3rd time. I can honestly say i absolutely love it and would go back year after year. The apartments are immaculate,the staff are bar staff are superb,especially fish who goes out of his way to help you and make you feel welcome. A lot of people have complained that they can hear the entertainment from their rooms but personally i don't go on holiday to spend evenings in my apartment,i go to have a good time and enjoy myself and windmills helps me do just that. Me and my fiance are going to book up again for next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 3 months ago
just returned on 22nd sept from windmills apts.i had been a little worried after reading some reviews but i can honestly say we had a great time.apts were a bit dated to say the least but were really clean. bedding and towels changed every other day and apt cleaned every day. noise wasnt a problem as we were in block 8 opposite the pool bedroom at the rear so no problem. didnt have to pay for air-conditioning which surprised us! staff were great especially fish steve and the lovely josie! entertainment wasnt too bad ive seen worse! all in all we had a great time and would go back to pernera/protaras but maybe not to the windmills as we like to vary our hotels but would use bar etc
again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 3 months ago
My friend and I booked this as a late deal, a week before we travelled. After reading some of the reviews here, I was a little nervous, particularly as it was my first trip to Cyprus.

We had a one bedroom apartment and whilst the furniture could do with updating, it was perfectly usable and spotlessly clean which is the most important thing. Whenever I go self catering, the only equipment I ever use is the fridge so the kitchen area was more than enough for me.

We tried to do without air conditioning had to go to reception at 1am on the first night because it was unbearably hot. My bed was extremely comfortable and with the air conditioning, managed to sleep soundly each night (unusual for me!).

My only negative would be the noise from the bar. We were in block 1 behind reception and there was nightly entertainment starting at 10pm. The noise was far too loud from where we were (we struggled to have a conversation on our balcony) so who knows what it was like actually in the bar. At the end of the day, it didn't really affect our holiday as we learned to ignore the noise but I'm sure the staff would have moved us if we'd complained.

All in all, the accomodation is very basic but I don't go on holiday to spend all my time indoors. It was perfect for somewhere to shower and sleep and is near enough to the beach and local bars and restaurants. I'd stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Rick Bywater
10 years 3 months ago
A group of 4 of us went on holiday and returned home yesterday (2 couples). I am writing this whilst it is fresh in my mind, and I don't forget any of the brilliant time that we had at Windmills.

A couple of months before we went away, we all read various reviews about Windmills, Protaras and Cyprus on the internet, and frankly the 2 females of the group were worried about what had been written. Well I can assure you all here and now that our experience at Windmills was nothing like the majority of the reviews - it was brilliant! We are all in our 20's (some of us late 20's) and the apartment, complex, entertainment, resort and whole holiday was excellent.

Some people seem to bang on about how the rooms aren't good enough to self cater in (very true - only 3 plates, cups, and a gas hob (and nothing to light it with!)) but that didn't matter because we went away to relax and not to cook. If you want to self cater, than don't go here, but if you want to enjoy every minute, have a laugh with the staff and remember the experience for the rest of your life then do.

Take my word for it, you won't regret it. I have even taken the time to write this, when usually people only write them when they hated the experience. So it must be good!

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 5 months ago
If you like self-catering apartments full of ants, no means of cooking as there were hardly any utensils, like to get to sleep after 2am when DJ finally shuts up, drab furniture then the Windmills is definitely for you.

The staff very unfriendly, the cleaner was the nicest and she couldn't speak English, although she smiled at least.

We booked with our children and my parents and aunties to stay in Windmills apartments.

Upon arriving we were told which block to go to, unfortunately no-one was willing to help find the apartments so spend ages looking for our apartment.

The apartments are in dire need of up-dating. It was ok, but if you need to cook, which we did, then you've no chance. There are two gas rings and that is it. There is hardly any cutlery at all and there are ants running all over the surfaces. The fridges don't work very well and the freezer did not work at all.

There were two air-conditioning units. The old one in the bedroom can be used freely if you take a fuse with you - save you
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Laura And Kenny
10 years 8 months ago
This was our third stay at the Windmills and one of the best!

The apartments are dated but are clean and have what you need in them.

The pool is also clean and very nice but gets busy in high season. There are loads of beaches though if youre stuck! There is one acout 5 mins walk away and the famous Fig Tree Bay is
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gillian And Paul
11 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Windmills Apartments on our week long trip to Protaras. On arrival at the apartments, we were very pleased at the size of our apartment. Large bedroom with ample storage space, dressing table and sockets, the lounge was large with two sofas and 3 bar stools.

Fridge freezer, gas cooking rings and plenty of utensils, plates, glasses and cups. You pay for the air conditioning upon arrival and there are two units in the apartment. We only required one unit. The brochure clearly states that the air conditioning is payable locally.

Our apartment was on the 3rd floor with our balcony overlooking the reception exit and the bar with excellent views over the main area of Protaras.

We found the apartments very clean absolutely no bugs at all which in 90 degree heat is very impressive staff very friendly and helpful and the apartments were located in a central area of Protaras within easy walking distance of numerous beautiful restaurants and friendly pubs.

Our stay within Windmills was excellent and would recommend this to anyone. We had an amazing holiday and would definitely return. So much so we re-booked the day after returning home!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: