106 independent reviews of Pernera, Cyprus
Pernera Location

4/5
Pernera is rated 4 out of 5 from 106 Reviews

Pernera Hotels

Pernera Reviews

4/5


sheila graham visited here on October 2007
Pernera is an excellent resort for families and couples. Protaras is more appealing for the younger person.

The food in both resorts is fabulous, wide range of restaurants. The Jolly Waiter opposite Maricosta do lovely food and the staff are very friendly, very reasonable. Knight's Bar have great food and lively night life, everyone makes sure you have a good time. Too man other great spots to mention.

Take it from me, Cyprus rocks, so much that my husband and I hope to move over there permanently.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Lynn and Peter Gibb visited here on September 2007
the beaches of pernera are some of the best you will find anywhere. they are very clean and the local council make sure they stay that way. resort entertainment is all you will ever need or want when on holiday. whether you want a quiet ar noisy holiday you can have it all here. the food in the restaraunts is excellent and at decent prices, i haven\'t had a bad meal there yet, and entertainment is there in abundance for those who like to stay up late. the people are so friendly they make you feel as if you have known them forever. this place is our heaven on earth and our home from home
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


burnham visited here on September 2007
pernera is a small resort about 30mins stroll from protaras.has the usual touristy shops. plenty of nice places to eat try bennigans nautilius and the windmills. more choice in protaras especially the italians opposite mcdonalds. beaches in pernera are lovely but do get crowded early in the day.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Peter and Jenny Ross visited here on September 2007
Apart from the everpresant dust the resort is clean enough.The main street has a number of pubs etc with all the kylies and such you could ask and for the sake of a fifteen minute walk you can be in Protaras for dancing fountains and a myriad other entertainments.The beach is shingly and pebbly but wichever way you walk the bays get sandier and smoother all are fine and safe for swimming with full watersports facilities and boat trips in abundance.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


Paul& Lorna Daniel visited here on September 2007
Penera is very close to the Plato Mare and is a lovely little village with plenty of entertainment and bars and restaurants.

There is also a good bus service to Paralimni and Protaras, so even if you don\'t have a car it is really easy to get around. Some of the best beaches on the Island are here. The walk to Fig Tree Bay is well worth it.
Penera beach is fantastic to swim and snorkel in.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Richie visited here on September 2007
The main problem for me was the lack of anything \"Cypriot\" about Pernera now. Practically all the restaurant and bar staff are east european, so all the efkharistos and parakalos you may have learnt will count for nothing.

Unfortunately, Pernera seems to be gaining a reputation for ripping off its visitors. It happened to me (gave them a 20 - they disappeared and came back saying I\'d only given them a 10), and have heard many stories since. All I will say is watch your notes and if possible, jot down the id numbers of the notes - its a great shame that Cyprus, with a reputation for honesty is falling foul of these dishonest individuals.

But to the positives. Still some ...
great tavernas around (try Ifalos, Kartanis and Blue Bay), and can honestly say we didn\'t have a bad meal (we\'ve only had 2 or 3 in the dozen or so times we\'ve been).

Some nice bays around the hotel area, and Protaras can be walked to along a coastal path

Protaras, Ayia Napa and Paralimni are all reachable by bus (80c each way), and Protaras now has a bakery on the main strip which is well worth a visit.

If you need to do a big shop get the bus to Paralimni and ask to be dropped at the supermarket (Orphanides) and stock up on local produce - you\'ll be surprised how cheap it is.

Still love Cyprus, but thinking about going back to agrotourism next time (holidays in the villages), as for the most part Pernera could be anywhere in the world and is losing its Cypriot identity. Unfortunately this seems to be the case in most of Cyprus\' resorts now, and you need to get into the inland villages to experience the real Cyprus.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


rachel visited here on September 2007
The beach and all the surrounding areas were all kept very clean. There were plenty of places to eat and to be entertained. The locals were all very friendly. Liked it that much we went twice last year.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


godfrey visited here on August 2007
the beaches in the area are reasonably small but all picturesque you can also swim dive or fish from the rocks along the coast also there are several jettys to swim from the sea is clear and was usually calm when we where there there where also lifeguards on duty at lookoutposts,perenera is a nice enough small village with a few shops selling the usual tourist goods along with plenty of different types of bars and resteraunts that cater mainly for the family market.a few bars have pools which are free to use for customers and the locals are so friendly it was a really refreshing change and one of the reasons we cant wait to go back
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


Slater visited here on August 2007
Good Points :- The number of restaurants and the general quality of them is excellent. \"Anatolia\" \"I\'l Cavaliere\" \"Bambos\" and \"Knights Pub\" all are very good places with varying prices and menus. The Mussell\'s in garlic in \"Knights Pub\" are quite simply to die for, The best dish I have had in many a year.

There are plenty of places to find any kind of entertainment you could want from live bands to hypnotists (try to catch \"C-Jay\" his show is brilliant), from bingo to karaoke.
The beaches are clean and safe with a variety of water sports on offer. (Raptor high speed boat ride is worth every penny)

Bad Points :- We feel that the area is now being let down ...
badly by general cleanliness - rubbish strewn about on road sides etc, and also by the number of villa developments that are going on - the place is quite simply not what it once was.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

1/5


Nic & Ian Hammy visited here on June 2007
If you visit these apartments try the Cypriot Taverna just on the corner near the Paschalia Hotel - it serves up the most beautiful Cyprus dishes. The wine is home-made and Bambos the owner will make you feel very welcome. We\'re addicted to Cyprus and are looking to go back again in September!
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


Jeni & Ben Naylor visited here on May 2007
Pernera is nice and quite in the day time and not loud and busy on a night just pleasent. However the pavements which were being built when we were last there in 2005 still had not been finished and I tripped up a few times! (not drunk as i dont drink). Also a lot of building work is going on all around the area, but this is due to its popularity of course! It has been a well keptsecret for a long time now! We are thinking about moving to pernera in a couple of years time after I am fully qualified at work
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


Kath Desborough visited here on May 2007
The Pernera region is about a 10 minute walk out of Protaras on the way to Paralimni and a 5 minute drive. Good area for couples and families alike.

Teenagers may find it too quiet for their liking although it is very easy to get a regular bus into Protaras or Ayia Napa if you like clubbing.

The beaches in the area are very good, very safe with crystal clear water which is delightful to swim in. Plenty of water sports if you want them and boat trips.

So many resturants to choose from - La Cultural De Gusto is an absolute must (Italian & meditteranean) opposite the Seagull apartments - absolutely stunning food but ...
make sure to book as we have noticed over the last couple of years it gets busy later in the evening.

Knights Bar (predominently British - don\'t let this put you off) does consistently good food, the Jolly Waiter does excellent local Cypriot food cooked by \"mamma\", the Evandrea has excellent sea views as does the Polyexenia Isaac which is directly on the sea front, The Blue Bay which again sits directly over the beach and which, certainly last year, did a Cypriot evening to remember.

It only re-opened in May this year after a refit insisted upon by the Euro buerocrats who couldn\'t leave a typical Cypriot restaurant alone which had functioned for many years without hindrance.

The Blue Spice restaurant which has long been considered \"the\" restaurant has I\'m afraid declined greatly - poor service now. All in all a wonderful area if you want a relaxing holiday - if you hire a car there are lots of little bays to discover.

If you like scuba diving there are numerous schools to choose from, the best being Triton Dive - situated near the Toxotis apartments. There is a lovely little beach and harbour near The Golden Coast Hotel and a delightful newly opened little snack bar to spend an hour or so with a cold beer and baguette.

Paralimni is 5 miles away and well worth a visit if only to sit in the square people watching - lots of little boutiques and quality leather & jewellery shops. The Famagusta view point is also well worth a visit and is only about 20 minutes by car.

All in all Pernera is as quiet as you want it to be, there is entertainment if you want (Elvis, Kylie, Tom Jones etc!!) it is close enough to the motorway system which will take you easily to Nicosia, Larnaca, Troodos mountains and if you feel adventurous to the other side of the island, Pathos, Laatchi, Peyia, Coral Bay which is about a two and a half hour drive away although not to be recommend in peak season when the heat is really full on.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Teresa Moore visited here on October 2006
For a first visit to Cyprus this was ideal, it was a small resort just a 15 minute walk from Protaras. We were not going for clubs and jam packed entertainment so what entertainment we found.. (Elvis and Blues brothers), was fine and good fun...Those wanting more would have to venture to Aiga Nappa, but you could stay in this resort for the day and get a taxi there cheap enough.


There are plenty of places to eat Katarna\'s is traditional and lovely, the cultural del gusto is good value Italian an med food... portions are big.. so if you don\'t eat big.. don\'t have a starter...food good value for money.

Do venture out and see the real Cyprus as ...
this resort is a pretty purpose built resort.. go to the mountains and the ghost town/famagusta and see the countryside.

The only reason I would not go there again is I have been now, and had a taster and perhaps would use Protaras itself as a base where there is more or find more \'cypriot\', resort.




Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Sam Caldwell visited here on September 2006
Protoras is pack full of bars, restaurants and things to do for all the family. A lot of the bars offer Happy Hours, and when you only pay 1.00 for a cocktail, things cannot be bad! Wide range of restaurants, I highly recommend the Greek Tavern in Eden Square, very good quality food and drink, with entertainment thrown in.
Definitely caters for the British tourist, but with a Cypriot feel to it.
Highly recommended
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Lorraine visited here on September 2006
I usually holiday in the Balearics so didn\'t know what to expect from my first trip to Cyprus. We stayed in Pernera, which was perfect for my friend and I as we just wanted somewhere with nice beaches and restaurants where we could relax. We weren\'t disappointed.

Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


JohnstonC&P visited here on September 2006
First visit to Pernera and to the Toxotis apartments, very friendly and efficient staff
Rooms cleaned frequently,
towels changed every other day
Food in Bar area/Restaurant very nice
Would definitely go back to Toxotis apartment/hotel

Very well situated near all the pubs and restaurants
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


J Durston visited here on September 2006
Protaras was a 10 minute walk away along the coast or about 15 minutes by the main road. We found some lovely places to eat and would really recommend Oscars the food was the best I have ever tasted. The beach here was clean and very nice it had plenty of places to eat and drink and a lovely childrens park with rides crazy golf etc which our little one loved. Penerna is a 5 minute walk in the other direction we would recommend Blue Spice and Knights as places to have a wonderful meal smaller than Protaras but still plenty to do.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Kevin visited here on September 2006
Frankly, if you are expecting welcoming Tavernas and the sound of Bazouki music the this area is not for you. if however an English breakfast (real British sausages) is more you cup of tea, you may well have hit on a great spot. All of the local bars compete with offerings such as tributes to....Elvis, Freddie Mercury, Robbie Williams et al, oh, and there is a Pizza Hut. Not my cup of tea, but...
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Jackie, Steve & Nikki visited here on September 2006
Great restaurants - Knights Pub, Blue Spice and Cordon Blue (Pernera), Olympic in Protaras, (too many to mention them all).

Boat trip - Shirley Valentine, very sociable day out, kebab - excellent. Captain Kiri, Jean and Keo make you feel very welcome.

They really need to make a footpath to access Protaras from Pernera in the dark!
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Rick Bywater visited here on September 2006
The resort was in a perfect location, having very local nightlife (Pernera), along with a larger choice within a 10 minute walk away (Protaras), and even better still (for the more energetic of us) Ayia Napa within a 15 minute drive away. Overall a perfect position for all. The beaches were very good, surrounded by bars and restaurants, with the entertainment being first rate.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
4 stars
Quick hotel find:
4/5
Anais Bay Hotel  stars Anais Bay Hotel
Address: P.O.Box 33213, 5312, Cyprus

Latest Review: Sep 2010

Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Pernera

3/5
Ausonia Hotel Apartments  stars Ausonia Hotel Apartments
Address: Archiepiskopou Makariou III 45, Larnaca 5311, Cyprus

Latest Review: Sep 2007

Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Pernera

3/5
Golden Coast Hotel  stars Golden Coast Hotel
Secluded tranquil setting, overlooking beach and small harbour.Modern sophisticated hotel with sauna and gym, cafe/bar, restaurant, swimming pool, terrace areas and entertainment programme. Magnificent, picturesque beachfront gardens.

Latest Review: Oct 2007

Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Pernera

3/5
Kama Hotel Apartments  stars Kama Hotel Apartments
Address: Leoforos Protara-Kavo Gkreko, Paralimni, Cyprus

Latest Review: Aug 2004

Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Pernera

4/5
Livas Hotel Apartments  stars Livas Hotel Apartments
Address: Paralimni, 5296, Cyprus

Latest Review: Oct 2012

Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Pernera

4/5
Maricosta Apartments  stars Maricosta Apartments
Comprising five apartment blocks, the Mariecosta offers basic accommodation and an ideal base for couples and families looking to explore the local area. With secluded coves nearby, the apartments are situated on the outskirts of Protaras in the Pernera area.

Latest Review: Oct 2007

Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Pernera

4/5
Platomare Hotel Apartments  stars Platomare Hotel Apartments
The family run Platomare Hotel Apartments are located in the quiet area of Pernera in Protaras.

Latest Review: Oct 2011

Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Pernera

4/5
Toxotis Apartments  stars Toxotis Apartments
Address: Protaras Avenue, Λεωφόρος Πρωταρά, 5297, Cyprus

Latest Review: May 2008

Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Pernera

4/5
Tsokkos Garden Apartments & Hotel  stars Tsokkos Garden Apartments & Hotel
Address: Pernera, Protaras, Cyprus

Latest Review: Aug 2011

Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Pernera

3/5
Windmills Hotel & Apartments  stars Windmills Hotel & Apartments
Address: Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus

Latest Review: Jun 2013

Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Pernera
Share