Image of Grand Makadi Palace Hotel

Grand Makadi Palace Hotel

6 of 41 hotels in Hurghada

4 out of 5 from 19 reviews
5 stars
The Hotel Grand Makadi Palace is in the middle of the Makadi Bay resort, directly facing the Red Sea. There is a daily shuttle bus free of charge to the Grand Mall in Hurghada, 20km away.

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Stewart Roe
8 years 5 months ago
Well, finally made it back to the palace after last years disappointing cancellation through the mytravel/thomas cook fiasco of a merger. Unfortunately the introdution of a new english based agent for the redsea hotel group didn't materialise in time for this years bookings. After the experience of the Sunrise royal makadi it was a delight to get back to the palace which is several notches up on it. Even the fact that we had to fly up to glasgow in order to book the palace didn't deter us, it was worth the inconvenience.

What can I say that I haven't said before. It was great to be back. Things have changed slightly but everything about the hotel is still superb. Many of the staff remembered us which was really nice and a lot of the staff were really pleased and genuinely excited to see English people back.

I couldn't recommend this hotel more highly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: flyglobespan

Recommended
Hannah Barclay
9 years 7 months ago
this was a beautiful place to stay I would live there if
I could because we all had fun swimming night time entertainment shops and more
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Stewart Roe
10 years 1 month ago
Third time to this hotel and already booked again for next year (8 of us!) I always said I'd go to a place only once but we have fallen in love with here.

Food was good. Plenty of choice at the dome, great steak at the sunset (huge) and the Thai restaurant was lovely.They did struggle to keep pace at times in the dome but it was considerably busier this year. Spotlessly clean and the staff are excellent. The animation team are still naff and the joker bar for entertainment has gone down. It seems the kids ages have dropped much younger this year, lots of 7 and under, and the entertainment reflected this. We spent most of our time in the Stan Getz bar which was really good. The bar staff are quite unique.

No problem at all getting a sunbed despite the fact it was so busy. You still have the problem of people grabbing the sunbeds with towels at the crack of dawn but there is still enough left over.

All in all, standards have slipped a teeny bit but it is still a fabulous hotel and I would recommend it to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
Donna Whitehouse
10 years 2 months ago
The complex is stunning and looks just like a palace, everything else is a let down and we will never return. 13 people out of our party were very ill and we had to see a doctor, on returning to the uk 4 of our party are still poorly and are having tests. We had things stollen out of rooms, duty free aftershave, tweezers, shaving gel, magazines and gold earrings. put everything in your safe. The rep wasnt very helpful! The entertainment is rubbish and if your there for 2 weeks you will see everything twice!! Be very careful what and where you eat, the dome is awful food hygiene not very good. The italian, the tai and Botanical gardens is lovely and well worth a visit. Get your sunbeds early, by 7.30 all the beds are gone!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mytravel

Joanne Richards
10 years 6 months ago
Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Grand Makadi. The food was excellent, we managed to try all the restaurants and even a couple at the Makadi Palace next door. The hotel is spotless, in every area. The staff were very friendly and were always willing to help. Enjoyed ourselves so much were going back next easter.

Only down side to the hotel is that guests at the Makadi Palace next door can use all the facilities at the Grand Makadi so you eed to be up early to get sun beds etc.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidys

Recommended
Stadden/stayt
10 years 7 months ago
we stayed in the grand makadi the all inclusive package was fab.

the hotel was spotless you could eat off the floor. the room was huge with a beach bag and towels there for you. the rooms were attended to 3 times a day which was a little too much.

the food was great something for everyone the fish in the buffet resturant was really tasty.

the staff couldn't do enough although when we went it was very quiet so when the hotel is full that could be a different story.

my daughter loved the kids club the only issue there is is that there is no communication as to what they are doing. they went to a party in the grand resort in hurghada and took our daughter we didn't know where she was so that was very distressing but our fault to. she really enjoyed itand that was the main thing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
Payne
10 years 9 months ago
We stayed at Makardi Palace. It really is a Palace with fantastic Architecture and beautifully designed!!!

The Hotel is spotless, you could eat off the floor.

The food is of a very high standard, we eat at the Thai, Lebanese, Carribean and both Buffet Retaurants. They were all a fantastic experience!!! As we were all inclusive the drinks were free. The red and white wine available free on the All Inclusive are very drinkable

The Hotel is in a quiet location with easy access to the beach where the snorkelling is great.

The Staff were excellent. They always smiled and were pleasant at all times.

We hope to return as soon as possible to this wonderful Hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Oliviaisthecoolest
10 years 11 months ago
We stayed in the Makadi Palace and it was beautiful. It was absolutely amazing and I would definately go again. It was the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The kids facilities were great just everything was.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hurghada

Recommended
10 years 11 months ago
Just had a week at the Grand Makadi, and loved it.

I wasn't expecting too much having been to Egypt before, but was surprised at how much I liked this hotel. It's ideal for a quiet relaxing week.

There are three a la carte restaurants, Carribean, Italian and Lebanese. The Caribbean and Italian are also open for lunch. Be sure to get there sharp at 1230 when they open or you may struggle for a table until about 1.45.

The Lebanese was good enough, just we weren't sure what we were eating, and as out table was outside it was a bit too dark to see. The belly dancer was good though.
In addition to the main buffet( pretty standard usual stuff) there is also a pool restaurant. Very limited menu and not much to the portions.

Outside the kids club there is a restaurant doing burgers, chicken nuggets etc our kids liked to go here by themselves for lunch.

Be sure and book your restaurants as soon as you get there. You have to do it direct with each restaurant. We went at lunch time on our first day and couldn't get in for the next two nights. Also double up on your reservations, we went to the Italian twice. We also went to the Thai in the Makadi Palace, which was wonderful.

At the moment the Palace guests can use our facilities but we can't use theirs unless you upgrade your wristband. This can be done with reception. It cost us
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Stewart Roe
11 years 1 month ago
Came here last year. Lots of the building work from last year has been finished. The new reception is really nice.

The new joker bar is the centre of the nightly entertainment and is an improvement on the previous year.

I cannot recommend this hoyel enough as it is simply one of the best I've ever stayed in.

The only derogatory comment I can make is that they have some excellent tennis courts which in the 2 years I've stayed have never seen anyone play on day or night?
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.