Image of Fort Arabesque Hotel

Fort Arabesque Hotel

8 of 41 hotels in Hurghada

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
4 stars

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
8 years 1 month ago
This was our third visit to Egypt but our first to the fort arabesque and we wasnt dissapointed. We had read lots of reviews on this hotel and they were spot on. The hotel is set in wonderful grounds which are kept imaculate. Our room was huge, we had two seperate bedrooms each with a double bed and a single bed, plus mini bar and telly in each room so it was nice not having to share with the children for two weeks. The food was of a high standard it changed every day but did repeat itself every week but we found there was plenty of choice and it was all cooked well. The barbeque on Sundays which is by the pool is especially good. We also paid extra to eat at the beach bar on the fish night, this was table service and the portion was huge, you had a choice of chips or rice, then you had 3 pieces of fish, shrimps and kalamari. plus a salad and dips to start and chocolate cake for desert.
The fort arabesque has one of the best beaches ive seen, lovely sand goes on forever there are plenty of coral reefs just off the beach some which are only knee deep, they were spectacular and are being well looked after we saw many species of fish and some people even got to see the turtle.
The entertainment team are italian but are very friendly they would stop to say hello and chat with the children. They loved the mini disco and the staff made them feel welcome they also talk in many different languages during their shows so we normally managed to understand everything what was happening. The childrens favourite was Gi Gi but all the animation team were excellent. Would we go again most definately. Great hotel, amazing beach, wonderful friendly staff who you could really have a laugh with and no real stomach problems would go back tomorrow if i could.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Recommended
D. Felton
8 years 4 months ago
This was our first visit to Egypt and must say we thoroughly enjoyed our four week experience and would certainly consider returning again in the future. The Fort Arabesque Red Sea Resort is somewhat isolated and surrounded by numerous other hotels located in the concrete jungle of Makadi Bay. The resort is Italian owned and caters for Italians, British and German guests. During our visit it would appear that at least one third of guests were British. The hotel also offers a bus service into Hurghada twice daily for about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Saga

Recommended
8 years 7 months ago
We stayed here 2 years ago and loved it, but this time we found a big difference.There wasn't much choice of food and very much the same every day. The staff did'nt seem to have much time for us so it was hard to get drinks in the restaurant at mealtimes and in the evening at the bar.There wasn't alot of choice with the drinks,You had to pay for cocktails and fruit juice.The entertainment was much the same its all geared up for the Italians and other nationalities I got the impression they couldn't be bothered with the English and the Italians had pink bands,when we asked why they wouldn't answer,which was annoying.The room we had was massive and clean and with a little garden which was nice. The bedding was old,stained and not that clean. Unfortunately we all had tummy problems.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Poole
9 years 3 months ago
Stayed at the Fort Arabesque in Egypt. This is a 1st class hotel with such friendly staff, nothing is too much trouble for them and always have smiling faces. We have been several times to this hotel and every time gets better
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Saga

Recommended
J.watt
9 years 7 months ago
This hotel is very welcoming, friendly and pristinely clean with large well kept rooms. The staff go out of their way to make your stay a happy one. The food is of good quality with plenty of variety and lots of vegetables. The grounds and gardens were of a high standard. The location was on the best site for access to the coral reef. Also the hotel has a better setting than the others in Makadi Bay. Entertainment very varied; not always to our taste but something for everyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: saga

Recommended
9 years 8 months ago
Check-in chaotic. At hotel entrance was told one check in card per room but at desk was told by the desk clerk that must be one card per person. Reception staff surly.

Hotel reception area undergoing cosmetic refurb - very strong smell of varnish which was used on floor tiles lasted duration of 7 day stay - not pleasant as this is where the bar it located. However this was masked at night by the very smoky atmosphere.

High percentage of Italian, German and Russian guests. Majority of UK guests appear to be with Saga on long stay.

Bar staff very efficient and attentive, a please and Thank you is gratefully received as some behaviour from certain nationalities is downright ignorant and rude.

Hotel is clean but some areas are in need of attention. Our rooms were 350 & 351. Located on third floor opposite the "Quiet beach". Bathroom sinks cracked, tiles in shower missing and broken, shower doors that had a mind of their own. One shower tray leaked water that ran out into the main bedroom area on each use. Bedrooms are very large. One king size bed and one double in each of our rooms (one was reserved for a single person).

Food in the restaurant was Ok. Dishes were not kept hot, which was disappointing as some dishes would have been good. Vegetarian selection poor, even many of the salad dishes contained meat or seafood. Only main meals were "labelled". Appeared to be some "recycling" of some meals from lunch to dinner. No dodgy stomachs though.

Beakfast is 7-10, Lunch 12.30 -14.30, Evening meal starts at 19.00 - 22.00, with snacks available in between. Alot of people being turned away at 19.15 as restaurant full & asked to return later in the evening. We ate at 21.30 on evening of arrival and food selction was dire - little choice left and wasnt being replenished. Service a little slow at beginning of week but gets better when they get to know you.

The beach is very clean, active areas & a quiet zone. Massive amount of sun loungers on beach. Witnessed little regard by some for the coral reefs just off shore but a surprising amount of marine life seen snorkelling only a stones throw from the beach.

Gardens are well maintained and large open areas as the hotel site is very spread out as the hotel is split into 2 "wings" - the "old" (where we were) & the "new" (where saga guests stay).

To sum it up - it was a week away for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Mrs S Kendel
9 years 8 months ago
A Jewel in Makadi Bay a now well established resort, good food well presented plenty of choice only danger is having to buy new clothes!! because when you leave you will have put on several pounds, the cleanliness at this hotel was excellent not one complaint and the friendliness of the staff second to none, the hotel has a wonderful position in the bay with snorkelling just a few metres off shore lazy days in the warm sun and not one bad stomach just what the doctor ordered, just one point the evening entertainment was not that good but to us a quiet drink in the bar ususally surficed after the strains of all that walking snorkelling sun bathing. We would without a doubt visit this hotel again. Thanks Fort Arabeque for a great break.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Smartie
10 years 8 months ago
We were staying here all inclusive and by reading reports on other all inclusives I think the hotel offers a fantastic deal.

There may be a lack of snacks between meals and fast food choices, but I personnally see this as a positive. Meals were good hot and varied with something for everyone.

Soft drinks were from cans so no warm flat coke, stayed for two weeks and not one bad stomach so could be confident in eating salads.

Staff were very very helpful and friendly and they definitly enjoyed being thanked and appreciated as a lot of the other guests tended not to even acknowledge their excistence let alone all the hard work they were doing to make your stay the best they could.

Although the hotel is a little secluded it was perfect for chilling out. When walking along the bay area this hotel definitely had the better location than all the othe larger hotels.

Rooms were well cleaned and with free mini bar in room that was refilled daily. It is the custom to tip but the hotel makes this easier as you tip at the end of your stay and can chose who and what you tip at the end takes the fear of offending away.

There was no entertainment as far as I was concerned but it was the quiter season. The hotel offers a twice daily shuttle bus into hurgada for ten egyptian pounds each return (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Rebecca
12 years 11 months ago
Fabulous hotel, the staff were absolutly wonderfull. The standard of this hotel was excellent, i will hopefully be returning very soon. The buffet style food was very fresh, with a good variety of hot and cold food, the whole hotel was very spacious, airy and immaculatly clean both inside and out. The pool areas were of a very high standard, will a beautiful strech of beach, we hired snorkels and used the canoes which added to our enjoyment. A fabulous hotel, offering a luxurious escape from britsh stresses! Cant wait to re vist, truly wonderful memories.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland direct

Recommended
Ray James
14 years 2 months ago
Like the previous report from Joanne we went for just the two days as an excursion.The hotel grounds are beautiful with a number of pools , water falls ,gardens andpaths leading straight down to the beach .The lobby and bars are comfortable but the resteraunt areas were very noisy and crowded with mainly Italian guests. The food however was to die for with a huge selection of hot and cold dishes fresh breads and all kinds of deserts (this is most likely down to the Italian guests). What a wonderful place to relax when you've visted every tomb , temple and bazzar in Egypt. I look forward to perhaps another longer stay in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.