Image of Holiday Village Algarve

Holiday Village Algarve

50 of 105 hotels in Albufeira

4 out of 5 from 67 reviews
4 stars
Balaia, 8200 Albufeira, Portugal

67 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    38
  • Good
    19
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Great place, all inclusive
3 years 10 months ago
If you want a place to go that's easy and completely relaxing then you've find that here - we went all inclusive and the range of food in a buffet style was fantastic! You get to eat in one of the restaurants one time too with a choice of Portuguese or Italian.

If you have a family it's ideal with lots of stuff for kids, if you've got older children though you may have to venture out if you want to do more then sunbathe.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
KittenVision
Perfect for kids
5 years 8 months ago
I went with my mom and dad for a week. It was a great place with something going on for 90% of the time. If you have a child aged 9-15, I can strongly recommend Wavelength as it has a range of activities like snorkelling, raft building and canoeing. There is also a twinkle stars club for babies under 35 months and a superstars for the older children up to the age of 8.

I can strongly recommend this hotel and it's 6 outdoor and 2 indoor pools.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Holiday Village, Alto Da Colina
5 years 10 months ago
Alto da Colina, Holiday Village. Lovely hotel. Compact, easy to get around, wheelchair friendly, but needed help to go to the Italian restaurant in block two, otherwise no problems.

Hotel has various swimming pools that were always kept clean and tidy by the hard working cleaning staff. Did not see a lifeguard on duty in the main pool and it could be a bit too deep for smaller kids at 1.6m in depth at its deepest point. But it does start at 0.5 metres The blue slide pool was ideal for even the older non swimming kids, as it was less than a metre deep at its deepest point. The blue slide is not recommended for adults, as you are turned head over heels on the way down which did lead to injuries. The splash pool was great fun with no depth of water. There's also an indoor pool that I did not use because it was just too nice not to be outside in the Sun.

There's an excellent football academy for kids of all abilities, run by Craig and Natalie. The course is run in the mornings from 10 to 12pm and works out at around 15 euro per day. The course is great fun and the training is varied every day which helps the kids develop skills that they didn't even know that they had.

The high ropes is a must for all ages. It's an obstacle course that's raised about 8th foot off of the ground and is attended by the most professional and patient, hard working club representatives that I've come across. They are so good with everyone and especially those with any fear of heights at all. First choice, First class.

There are stage classes run by Razzamataz for the aspiring actors/singers and great fun was had by all, with a stage presentation on the final night. Excellent value and great for confidence building.

The food in the hotel varied everyday and I must say that it was top class. Freshly baked pizza is a must. There was something for everyone, even the faddy eaters. With all inclusive, you get one visit each week to the Italian and Portugese restaurant on-site. Both of these are just scrumptious.

The staff in the hotel are fantastic and always have a smile for the guests. Service is prompt and nothing is a problem.

Location is ideal for families as the older teenagers of clubbing age tend to want hotels nearer to town. Taxi ride to centre is about five minutes and costs only 4 euro.

I'll be back next year without fail.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Holiday Village, Alto Da Colina
I'll be back next year without fail
5 years 10 months ago
Alto da Colina, Holiday Village. Lovely hotel, Compact, easy to get around, wheelchair friendly, but needed help to go to the Italian restaurant in block two, otherwise no problems.

Hotel has various swimming pools that were always kept clean and tidy by the hard working cleaning staff. Did not see a lifeguard on duty in the main pool and it could be a bit too deep for smaller kids at 1.6m in depth at its deepest point. But it does start at 0.5 metres. The blue slide pool was ideal for even the older non swimming kids, as it was less than a metre deep at its deepest point. The blue slide is not recommended for adults, as you are turned head over heels on the way down which did lead to injuries. The splash pool was great fun with no depth of water. There's also an indoor pool that I did not use because it was just too nice, not to be outside in the Sun.

There's an excellent football academy for kids of all abilities, run by Craig and Natalie. The course is run in the mornings from 10 to 12pm and works out at around 15 euro per day. The course is great fun and the training is varied every day which helps the kids developed skills that they didn't even know that they had.

The high ropes is a must for all ages. It's an obstacle course that's raised about 8th foot off of the ground and is attended by the most professional and patient, hardworking club representatives that I've come across. They are so good with everyone and especially those with any fear of heights at all. First choice, First class.

There are stage classes run by Razzamataz for the aspiring actors/singers and great fun was had by all, with a stage presentation on the final night. Excellent value and great for confidence building.

The food in the hotel varied every day and I must say that it was top class. Freshly baked pizza is a must. There was something for everyone, even the faddy eaters. With all inclusive, you get one visit each week to the Italian and Portuguese restaurant on-site. Both of these are just scrumptious.

The staff in the hotel are fantastic and always have a smile for the guests. Service is prompt and nothing is a problem.

Location is ideal for families as the older teenagers of clubbing age tend to want hotels nearer to town. Taxi ride to centre is about five minutes and costs only 4 euro.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
RIMMER
6 years 7 months ago
Just returned from the HV Algarve. First Choice staff were v-good,as hotel staff. Entertainment tired,end of season? We were sited in Block 2. BEWARE! If you have small children,prams,less able relatives,not the block to stay in.There are many steep steps up to the main level,if your eating 3 times a day,taking your kids to activities you could be up and down 10 times a day.Get fit NOW! There is a quieter pool outside Block 2,(not for kids).The main pool is up the steps,the childrens pool much further. Taxi! Loud road noise night and day. Credit card details to be given for towels,safe,tv remote,and incase you run up a bar bill. Markings Staff4* rooms3* food a poor2* Access to main level 1*. Activities for children4*+. check the brochure well. Offsite Zoomarine 5* a must!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Adam
6 years 8 months ago
Just returned (29/09/09).

overall thoroughly enjoyed our stay at HV algarve, we were in block 1 which was lucky as the small supermarket which was in block 2 was a nightmare to get to with a pushchair in flip flops down the VERY steep ramps. The route via the road is equally a nightmare with pushchairwith its broken up pavement.

Reps were great and very friendly, dotty spotty socks is absolutely mad but an excellent entertainer for the kids, whatever she is paid its not enough. We didn't use the kids club though we could have as we have a 3 year old. Everyone who did said it was great, the kids included.

Nightly entertainment was great for the kids with Ministry of Fun (MOF) but with a 1 & 3 year old we were pushing it staying past 9 anyway so never saw any of the "adult" entertainment. Didn;t hear anyone else moan about it though.

We stayed mostly by the water slide pool as older child loved it, the orange slide was a slow one and ok for even youn kids, the blue slide is very quick and someone broke their collar bone whilst we were there. Lots of shocked people flung about. Needs a prominent sign. The pool has a couple of large holes in the base which, in my opinion, will result in a broken ankle at some point, the holes are pudding bowl sized. Base of pool also ripping away in multiple places. pool is not cleaned like others. Lifeguards spend more time texting and chatting to marta at the bar than concentrating on children running backwards up the slide etc. oh well.

food was good although quite repetetive, italian night had meatballs with olives, oriental nigth would have meatballs with onions and sultanas and then mexican night would have meatballs with spicy sauce, you get the gist. the first 3 nights you are surprised, then its same old same old. apple crumble was good though. Older chef was quite grumpy. I found all of the other staff very friendly and happy.

overall was great, we'd go back, i can't wait for more chocco chocco and cartoon heroes ;o)

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
6 years 9 months ago
We stayed at the Holiday Village Algarve for 11 nights and had a really good time. We have already been to 3 other Holiday Villages, and in my opinion, this is the best one!

We went All Inclusive and you had to wear a wrsitband, and everyone carried a swipe card, which had to be swiped for everything, drinks, snacks, when you went to meals, it was pretty annoying. But the food in the restaurant was great with loads of choice, but enough stuff for picky eaters too!

We were in Block 2, which is more modern and really spacious, and sliding doors to separate the bedrooms. We were AI but had a kitchen with a fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster, cutlery, it was fantastic. There were 2 bank holidays whilst we were there, which meant no rooms being cleaned, but we were informed by notices in the lifts and at reception.

The entertainment for everyone was great, and the In2Action staff were brilliant. We took part in everything, especially the high ropes, we went on 6 times whilst there. The kids went to Wavelength a couple fo times, they were 15 and 13, and seemed to have had a good time there. Our daughter, 15, took part in the Razzamataz stage school, and really enjoyed it. They performed a show before the Ministry of Fun after just 6 hours practise, and she sang solos too. Even though she was the oldest by 2 years in one session, and 3 in the other, she never felt left out or uncomfortable, which was great.

The evening entertainment wasn't as great. The venue itself is inside, as it could get quite cold outside, but it was very small compared to the amount of guests with a small bar at the back of the room. The entertainers weren't great in their own shows, and we got kicked off the table we were sitting at on the first night being told that 'It's our Bingo table'. The guest interaction shows were good though and got everyone involved.

The pools were great, but freezing! We stayed at the Block 1 pool which was massive and where all the activities took place. The Block 2 pool was always quiet, and the busiesy one has to be the one with the slides and fun water stuff, which we never stayed at, but looked good for smaller children from what we saw. But you never saw staff cleaning around the pool though.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Liz Hickey
6 years 9 months ago
Had a great time in the holiday village! just returned from a 2 week self catering holiday with our 2 children aged 7 and 5yrs.1bed apt with plenty of room and large balcony,in block 2 which was quieter than block 1!As there are quiet a lot of steps up to block 1 if going all inclusive would recommend block 1 as food served up there.Tried buffet a couple of times and it was fine but ate out most nights in the old town,BRAVO'S was the best!no problem getting taxis from hotel and they also ran a free 9 seater bus into town from 630pm till 9pm. There are loads of pools and a waterpark with big slides in hotel! The kids were really well entertained day and night! the kids club ran most of day ( four, 1 and half hour sessions)fully supervised and something different on in each session! at night they also ran a 2 hour session so we could enjoy the entertainment in peace!Which brings me to the entertainers Dotty spotty socks,Sean,Jenna,Sarah,Micheal,DJ Smify,and Kayleigh, they deserve a medal for their energy and enthusiasm considering they are there every night from april till end of oct.!they were great!Also the children learnt to swim thanks to Gemma their coach she was the best and she had loads of patience!!thanks! Hope To Go Back Again!!!!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
6 years 9 months ago
Visited in August after previously staying at the holiday village benalmedena in June. Found the hotel very clean, staff very pleasant and holiday overall very good. Maybe we were spoilt a little in Benalmedena as we found that hotel far superior in all aspects to this one. The food was quite repetative really and we ate out in the old town a couple of times at the evening just for a change. We stayed in block 1 which was central to everything, where as block 2 was more isolated and down a steep little hill to get to which wouldnt suit pushchairs or wheelchair users. We stopped around the children's splash pool all holiday which was great for the little ones although the one major gripe we did have is that the surface of the pool is very worn in places with a couple of nasty pot holes at the bottom of slides which in my opinion could of caused and might well do a nasty injury or cut to a child or grown ups foot. I was assured by a first choice rep that the pool would be re-matted in the close season. The big blue slide is lethal to adults, please be warned that many people came off with banged heads and arms!! Entertainment was nothing special and was repeated most nights. The entertainment room did not really seem big enough for the amount of people staying at the hotel. The rooms were good, we had a child's den which was fab. Reception were very friendly and helpful at all times. We found the reps at Benalmedena were very helpful and always smiling and cater to your needs whereas the Algarve reps especially the ladies were very miserable and didnt seem to make much effort with your queries. Would we return? yes maybe...but we thought that Benalmedena was the better hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
dru
6 years 10 months ago
This was my first visit to a FC holiday village and it was pretty good. I chose it for the kids as they have a little water park with slides and we spent the entire week at this pool. 30 min transfer from Faro, 10 min walk to beach and 1 mile to the nearest nightlife should you want it. I liked the relatively secluded location though. I requested a quiet romm on a low floor and that's exactly what we were given. Room was massive with big kitchen, table and chairs plus the kids den with bunk beds.

There are 2 TVs but we only had 1 aerial cable so could only have one on at a time and the TV remote didn't work but both minor things. We were on the ground floor in block 1 at the end furthest from the bar and thank god 'cause it stayed opent until 1am and was very noisy. Luckily we couldn;t hear it at our end but I pity the people staying in the romms next to it.

Kids evening entertainment was absolutley dire yet my 4 years old loved it beyobnd reason and cried when it finished. It's pretty hard to sit through it 7 times but it is aimed at the kids and makes them happy (especially the irritating Dotty Spotty Socks). Didn't bother seeing the adult entertainment.

Only complaint would be that the FC reps totally fibbed to me about the suitability of taking a 4 year old to the Slide & Splash water park. Minimum age for flumes was 5 plus a height restriction of 120cm for others. Bigger rides had an age limit of 8 so we wasted the money on that trip.

No problems with the food but then we ate early at every sitting so it was hot still. AI ends at 11 on the day you leave but you get a voucher for lunch. Overall I would visit again (first holiday I've ever said that about) as the kids loved it. Don't go there if you don't have kids though!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: