67 independent reviews of the Holiday Village Algarve
Address: Balaia, 8200 Albufeira, Portugal
Holiday Village Algarve
Holiday Village Algarve Location
Ranked #47 of 98 hotels in Albufeira


4/5
Holiday Village Algarve Holiday Village Algarve is rated 3.72 out of 5 from 67 Reviews
85% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (67 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 4 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 3 stars

Holiday Village Algarve Reviews

4/5
4
"Great place, all inclusive"
Claire Heffer stayed at Holiday Village Algarve Hotel, Albufeira in August 2012
If you want a place to go that's easy and completely relaxing then you've find that here - we went all inclusive and the range of food in a buffet style was fantastic! You get to eat in one of the restaurants one time too with a choice of Portuguese or Italian.

If you have a family it's ideal with lots of stuff for kids, if you've got older children though you may have to venture out if you want to do more then sunbathe.


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4
"Perfect for kids"
KittenVision stayed at Holiday Village Algarve in October 2010
I went with my mom and dad for a week. It was a great place with something going on for 90% of the time. If you have a child aged 9-15, I can strongly recommend Wavelength as it has a range of activities like snorkelling, raft building and canoeing. There is also a twinkle stars club for babies under 35 months and a superstars for the older children up to the age of 8.

I can strongly recommend this hotel and it's 6 outdoor and 2 indoor pools.


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Holiday Village, Alto da Colina visited the Holiday Village Algarve Hotel, Albufeira, Portugal in August 2010
Alto da Colina, Holiday Village. Lovely hotel. Compact, easy to get around, wheelchair friendly, but needed help to go to the Italian restaurant in block two, otherwise no problems.

Hotel has various swimming pools that were always kept clean and tidy by the hard working cleaning staff. Did not see a lifeguard on duty in the main pool and it could be a bit too deep for smaller kids at 1.6m in depth at its deepest point. But it does start at 0.5 metres The blue slide pool was ideal for even the older non swimming kids, as it was less than a metre deep at its deepest point. The blue slide is not recommended for adults, as you are turned head over heels on the way down which did lead to injuries. The splash pool was great fun with ...
no depth of water. There's also an indoor pool that I did not use because it was just too nice not to be outside in the Sun.

There's an excellent football academy for kids of all abilities, run by Craig and Natalie. The course is run in the mornings from 10 to 12pm and works out at around 15 euro per day. The course is great fun and the training is varied every day which helps the kids develop skills that they didn't even know that they had.

The high ropes is a must for all ages. It's an obstacle course that's raised about 8th foot off of the ground and is attended by the most professional and patient, hard working club representatives that I've come across. They are so good with everyone and especially those with any fear of heights at all. First choice, First class.

There are stage classes run by Razzamataz for the aspiring actors/singers and great fun was had by all, with a stage presentation on the final night. Excellent value and great for confidence building.

The food in the hotel varied everyday and I must say that it was top class. Freshly baked pizza is a must. There was something for everyone, even the faddy eaters. With all inclusive, you get one visit each week to the Italian and Portugese restaurant on-site. Both of these are just scrumptious.

The staff in the hotel are fantastic and always have a smile for the guests. Service is prompt and nothing is a problem.

Location is ideal for families as the older teenagers of clubbing age tend to want hotels nearer to town. Taxi ride to centre is about five minutes and costs only 4 euro.

I'll be back next year without fail.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4
"I'll be back next year without fail"
Holiday Village, Alto da Colina stayed at Holiday Village Algarve, Albufeira, Portugal in August 2010
Alto da Colina, Holiday Village. Lovely hotel, Compact, easy to get around, wheelchair friendly, but needed help to go to the Italian restaurant in block two, otherwise no problems.

Hotel has various swimming pools that were always kept clean and tidy by the hard working cleaning staff. Did not see a lifeguard on duty in the main pool and it could be a bit too deep for smaller kids at 1.6m in depth at its deepest point. But it does start at 0.5 metres. The blue slide pool was ideal for even the older non swimming kids, as it was less than a metre deep at its deepest point. The blue slide is not recommended for adults, as you are turned head over heels on the way down which did lead to injuries. The splash pool was great fun with ...
no depth of water. There's also an indoor pool that I did not use because it was just too nice, not to be outside in the Sun.

There's an excellent football academy for kids of all abilities, run by Craig and Natalie. The course is run in the mornings from 10 to 12pm and works out at around 15 euro per day. The course is great fun and the training is varied every day which helps the kids developed skills that they didn't even know that they had.

The high ropes is a must for all ages. It's an obstacle course that's raised about 8th foot off of the ground and is attended by the most professional and patient, hardworking club representatives that I've come across. They are so good with everyone and especially those with any fear of heights at all. First choice, First class.

There are stage classes run by Razzamataz for the aspiring actors/singers and great fun was had by all, with a stage presentation on the final night. Excellent value and great for confidence building.

The food in the hotel varied every day and I must say that it was top class. Freshly baked pizza is a must. There was something for everyone, even the faddy eaters. With all inclusive, you get one visit each week to the Italian and Portuguese restaurant on-site. Both of these are just scrumptious.

The staff in the hotel are fantastic and always have a smile for the guests. Service is prompt and nothing is a problem.

Location is ideal for families as the older teenagers of clubbing age tend to want hotels nearer to town. Taxi ride to centre is about five minutes and costs only 4 euro.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

RIMMER had a holiday at Holiday Village Algarve, Albufeira, Portugal in October 2009
Just returned from the HV Algarve. First Choice staff were v-good,as hotel staff. Entertainment tired,end of season? We were sited in Block 2. BEWARE! If you have small children,prams,less able relatives,not the block to stay in.There are many steep steps up to the main level,if your eating 3 times a day,taking your kids to activities you could be up and down 10 times a day.Get fit NOW! There is a quieter pool outside Block 2,(not for kids).The main pool is up the steps,the childrens pool much further. Taxi! Loud road noise night and day. Credit card details to be given for towels,safe,tv remote,and incase you run up a bar bill. Markings Staff4* rooms3* food a poor2* Access to main level 1*. Activities for children4*+. check the brochure well. Offsite Zoomarine 5* a must!

Tour Operator: THOMSON
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

Adam stayed at Holiday Village Algarve Hotel, Albufeira in September 2009
Just returned (29/09/09).

overall thoroughly enjoyed our stay at HV algarve, we were in block 1 which was lucky as the small supermarket which was in block 2 was a nightmare to get to with a pushchair in flip flops down the VERY steep ramps. The route via the road is equally a nightmare with pushchairwith its broken up pavement.

Reps were great and very friendly, dotty spotty socks is absolutely mad but an excellent entertainer for the kids, whatever she is paid its not enough. We didn\'t use the kids club though we could have as we have a 3 year old. Everyone who did said it was great, the kids included.

Nightly entertainment was great for the kids with Ministry of Fun (MOF) but with a 1 & 3 year old we were pushing it staying ...
past 9 anyway so never saw any of the \"adult\" entertainment. Didn;t hear anyone else moan about it though.

We stayed mostly by the water slide pool as older child loved it, the orange slide was a slow one and ok for even youn kids, the blue slide is very quick and someone broke their collar bone whilst we were there. Lots of shocked people flung about. Needs a prominent sign. The pool has a couple of large holes in the base which, in my opinion, will result in a broken ankle at some point, the holes are pudding bowl sized. Base of pool also ripping away in multiple places. pool is not cleaned like others. Lifeguards spend more time texting and chatting to marta at the bar than concentrating on children running backwards up the slide etc. oh well.

food was good although quite repetetive, italian night had meatballs with olives, oriental nigth would have meatballs with onions and sultanas and then mexican night would have meatballs with spicy sauce, you get the gist. the first 3 nights you are surprised, then its same old same old. apple crumble was good though. Older chef was quite grumpy. I found all of the other staff very friendly and happy.

overall was great, we\'d go back, i can\'t wait for more chocco chocco and cartoon heroes ;o)


Read More

Tour Operator: First Choise

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Katherine visited the Holiday Village Algarve in August 2009
We stayed at the Holiday Village Algarve for 11 nights and had a really good time. We have already been to 3 other Holiday Villages, and in my opinion, this is the best one!

We went All Inclusive and you had to wear a wrsitband, and everyone carried a swipe card, which had to be swiped for everything, drinks, snacks, when you went to meals, it was pretty annoying. But the food in the restaurant was great with loads of choice, but enough stuff for picky eaters too!

We were in Block 2, which is more modern and really spacious, and sliding doors to separate the bedrooms. We were AI but had a kitchen with a fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster, cutlery, it was fantastic. There were 2 bank holidays whilst we were there, which meant no rooms being cleaned, but we ...
were informed by notices in the lifts and at reception.

The entertainment for everyone was great, and the In2Action staff were brilliant. We took part in everything, especially the high ropes, we went on 6 times whilst there. The kids went to Wavelength a couple fo times, they were 15 and 13, and seemed to have had a good time there. Our daughter, 15, took part in the Razzamataz stage school, and really enjoyed it. They performed a show before the Ministry of Fun after just 6 hours practise, and she sang solos too. Even though she was the oldest by 2 years in one session, and 3 in the other, she never felt left out or uncomfortable, which was great.

The evening entertainment wasn\'t as great. The venue itself is inside, as it could get quite cold outside, but it was very small compared to the amount of guests with a small bar at the back of the room. The entertainers weren\'t great in their own shows, and we got kicked off the table we were sitting at on the first night being told that \'It\'s our Bingo table\'. The guest interaction shows were good though and got everyone involved.

The pools were great, but freezing! We stayed at the Block 1 pool which was massive and where all the activities took place. The Block 2 pool was always quiet, and the busiesy one has to be the one with the slides and fun water stuff, which we never stayed at, but looked good for smaller children from what we saw. But you never saw staff cleaning around the pool though.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Liz Hickey stayed at Holiday Village Algarve Hotel in August 2009
Had a great time in the holiday village! just returned from a 2 week self catering holiday with our 2 children aged 7 and 5yrs.1bed apt with plenty of room and large balcony,in block 2 which was quieter than block 1!As there are quiet a lot of steps up to block 1 if going all inclusive would recommend block 1 as food served up there.Tried buffet a couple of times and it was fine but ate out most nights in the old town,BRAVO\'S was the best!no problem getting taxis from hotel and they also ran a free 9 seater bus into town from 630pm till 9pm. There are loads of pools and a waterpark with big slides in hotel! The kids were really well entertained day and night! the kids club ran most of day ( four, 1 and half ...
hour sessions)fully supervised and something different on in each session! at night they also ran a 2 hour session so we could enjoy the entertainment in peace!Which brings me to the entertainers Dotty spotty socks,Sean,Jenna,Sarah,Micheal,DJ Smify,and Kayleigh, they deserve a medal for their energy and enthusiasm considering they are there every night from april till end of oct.!they were great!Also the children learnt to swim thanks to Gemma their coach she was the best and she had loads of patience!!thanks! Hope To Go Back Again!!!!!!!!!

Read More

Tour Operator: Falcon

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Ernie had a holiday at Holiday Village Algarve, Albufeira, Portugal in August 2009
Visited in August after previously staying at the holiday village benalmedena in June. Found the hotel very clean, staff very pleasant and holiday overall very good. Maybe we were spoilt a little in Benalmedena as we found that hotel far superior in all aspects to this one. The food was quite repetative really and we ate out in the old town a couple of times at the evening just for a change. We stayed in block 1 which was central to everything, where as block 2 was more isolated and down a steep little hill to get to which wouldnt suit pushchairs or wheelchair users. We stopped around the children\'s splash pool all holiday which was great for the little ones although the one major gripe we did have is that the surface of the pool is very worn in ...
places with a couple of nasty pot holes at the bottom of slides which in my opinion could of caused and might well do a nasty injury or cut to a child or grown ups foot. I was assured by a first choice rep that the pool would be re-matted in the close season. The big blue slide is lethal to adults, please be warned that many people came off with banged heads and arms!! Entertainment was nothing special and was repeated most nights. The entertainment room did not really seem big enough for the amount of people staying at the hotel. The rooms were good, we had a child\'s den which was fab. Reception were very friendly and helpful at all times. We found the reps at Benalmedena were very helpful and always smiling and cater to your needs whereas the Algarve reps especially the ladies were very miserable and didnt seem to make much effort with your queries. Would we return? yes maybe...but we thought that Benalmedena was the better hotel.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Hannah visited the Holiday Village Algarve Hotel in July 2009
This was my first visit to a FC holiday village and it was pretty good. I chose it for the kids as they have a little water park with slides and we spent the entire week at this pool. 30 min transfer from Faro, 10 min walk to beach and 1 mile to the nearest nightlife should you want it. I liked the relatively secluded location though. I requested a quiet romm on a low floor and that\'s exactly what we were given. Room was massive with big kitchen, table and chairs plus the kids den with bunk beds.

There are 2 TVs but we only had 1 aerial cable so could only have one on at a time and the TV remote didn\'t work but both minor things. We were on the ground floor in block 1 at the ...
end furthest from the bar and thank god \'cause it stayed opent until 1am and was very noisy. Luckily we couldn;t hear it at our end but I pity the people staying in the romms next to it.

Kids evening entertainment was absolutley dire yet my 4 years old loved it beyobnd reason and cried when it finished. It\'s pretty hard to sit through it 7 times but it is aimed at the kids and makes them happy (especially the irritating Dotty Spotty Socks). Didn\'t bother seeing the adult entertainment.

Only complaint would be that the FC reps totally fibbed to me about the suitability of taking a 4 year old to the Slide & Splash water park. Minimum age for flumes was 5 plus a height restriction of 120cm for others. Bigger rides had an age limit of 8 so we wasted the money on that trip.

No problems with the food but then we ate early at every sitting so it was hot still. AI ends at 11 on the day you leave but you get a voucher for lunch. Overall I would visit again (first holiday I\'ve ever said that about) as the kids loved it. Don\'t go there if you don\'t have kids though!

Read More

Tour Operator: First choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Nosyrudeman + wife visited the Holiday Village Algarve Hotel in June 2009
Booked within one week of departure. Just got back from a good holiday. Block 1 room very large and very clean. Best fitted kitchen I\'ve ever seen on a holiday, Queen size divans that made for a good nights sleep. Thank goodness for Aircon. Two tv\'s in apartment. Linen and towels changed regularly. Food was quite good but could have been hotter, but I used the microwave a few times to heat up to how I like my food. Always found something to eat. Hotel location was a bit isolated but local bus or taxi sorted that out. Reception were very helpful and always polite Staff from bar were very good and efficiant clearing tables very quickly.The food staff worked so hard to get tables cleared and cleaned ready for the next family. The entertainment was quite good for the ...
kids, but poor for adults. Yes, we would come back here but not in the next few years. Could have done with a lot more poolside umbrellas. Queing for the bar could be horrendous as only one till in operation no matter how many staff were serving. Coffee, tea\'s and Ice creams should have been separate from bar as this caused a lot of frustration to people just wanting to get a drink. Seemed to get normal measures on the spirits not the usual large ones. Also limited choice of spirits.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

howell had a holiday at Holiday Village Algarve Hotel, Albufeira in May 2009
Hotel, room\'s, pool area etc were all spotless! room\'s lovely, spacious with huge balcony area.
Location is quite remote but easy to get to nearby places with such cheap taxi\'s. typicaly 4 euros to the strip, 6 to the old town.
I recomend the old town for restaurants, beaches and beautiful views.
Holel staff were all friendly and willing to help although the kitchen staff could have been more prepared and the food was pretty poor, never hot, very limited choice and very bland, they also ran out of some items quite regulary, although this did start to improve towards the end of our holiday.
We had an excellant holiday, kids club was brilliant as were all the first choice staff!
I would recomend this hotel.

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Ceri stayed at Holiday Village Algarve Hotel, Albufeira, Portugal in May 2009
We booked here after a great holiday at HV Majorca 2 years ago.

As expected, the first choice staff were fabulous from reps to kids club to entertainers. Children (5 & 3) were very well catered for with kids club, activities and entertainers / mini disco etc. Didn\'t see much of the evening entertainment after 9pm but didn\'t hear anything negative from other guests.

Room was clean, spacious and well equipped. Pools were lovely but very cold (to be expected in May I guess)

Hotel was remote but taxis cheap and easy to locate. We preferred the Old Town but could see that the Strip would appeal to others.

As usual, HV was first / last drop off from and to airport so only 30 mins transfer rather than the 60 mins plus per brochure.

Only downside was the food. Poor quality, choice ...
and labelling. Also very rarely warm. All guests were very disappointed, virtually everyone we spoke to had lodged a formal complaint. The complaints had resulted in some improvements towards the end of our ten night stay but still nowhere near 4* rating. The fact that burger and chips were on the buffet for 20 meals running gives you an idea. Felt very sorry for the First Choice staff who had to eat at the restaurant.

Despite all the good points, probably wouldn\'t book for this HV again but would consider another location.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

joanne walker stayed at Holiday Village Algarve, Albufeira, Portugal in October 2008
**Fantastic** we went all inclusive and at this perticular moment in time i think it was a wise choice, there were 4 adults and 3 kids 5yrs and under, so the snack bar down by the water slides got hammered everyday ice cream, pop, chips, hot dogs, hamburgers, pizza slices, cold sandwiches oh and beers for the adults were all free! and you could go back as much as you like. The main dinner room you could get as much as you liked too (but) it did get abit repetative, but wasnt a mojor issue.The accommadation was brill,there was me my partner and 2 kids in a den room which the kids loved the bunk beds,full kitchen and bathroom with a **hairdryer** cleaned dailey apart from sundays, the hotel staff were great and the entertainment was out of this ...
world especially darryl,lyndsy,danni,ruth,billy and phil were brill the kids loved going down on a night and dancing and singing, these guys worked hard (Big Thumbs Up To Them)i would definatley go back, we went for a week but next time will do 10 days

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

holiday village algarve had a holiday at Holiday Village Algarve, Albufeira in October 2008
what can i say on returned from the holiday village algarve to re-book again for next year.it was amazing in all ways from the entertainers ruthie, billy,phil,lynsey,danni and not forgetting darryl.they made our holiday purfect from sing ,dancing ,head to head and all the little things that was over and above there job. that was never a problem to make it the best holiday to date.what a well designed and equiped hotel catering for all ages from ,food , rooms ,tennis courts ,football pitch etc nothing bad to say all pluses for us from the beging to the end of our holiday .big big thankyou to all staff who made this a most memorable holiday.

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Smith stayed at Holiday Village Algarve, Albufeira in October 2008
We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at this hotel. The hotel has a main block where the restaurant, main reception, entertainment and main bar are found. We were put in block 2 which has been newly built. This block also houses the mini market, Italian and Portuguese Restaurants and a bar. It also has its own pool. Block 2 and the splash zone/waterslides and kids club buildings are later additions to this hotel and are situated either side of it down steps/slopes. Because of these slopes anyone who has mobility problems or are wheelchair users should ask to be accommodated in the main block. Staying in block 2 you do not get bothered by the usual hotel noises but it is situated beside a very busy main road and the ...
noise of cars passing is constant. If you are a light sleeper (like me) you will need ear plugs at night, also the hotel is on the flight path which is not a problem during the day but, again, ear plugs came in handy at night after being woken up 3 times the first night by planes passing overhead.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, the apartments are lovely and have a huge balcony that runs the length of the apartment with double patio doors. The sitting room area and the bedroom have separate air conditioning units that work independently of each other. They also work when the patio doors were open. Bed linen was changed 3 times during our stay and towels changed daily although you are told they are changed every second day we found that if you put your towels in the bath they were changed for you. Check in at the hotel was quick and as we arrived at about 10pm we were given sandwiches, water, fruit and yoghurts to take to our room. We were only given one door key card which was abit of an inconvenience at times. We had a late checkout room but the cleaners came in on mass at 4pm on our departure day so we ended up leaving the room early but our All Inc carried on until 5pm.

The hotel is about 30 minute walk from the Strip but the taxis are cheap (less than 4 euros). There is a small beach about 20 minutes walk from the hotel. If you turn left coming out of block 2 and keep walking for about 10 minutes you come to Ohouso d\'Agua (not sure of the spelling). This was a lovely little place that had cafes, bars and shops there is also a large supermarket here. The hotel itself is in a residential area with hotels round about and more are getting built just across the road. There are no cafes, shops or bars in the close vacinity.

The food during the first week of our stay was ok. Having stayed at the Holiday Village in Majorca we knew what to expect but we were surprised that the choice of food was very very limited compared to the HV Majorca. During the second week of our stay, which was going into the final week of the hotel\'s season the food was awful and you really struggled to find something appetising to eat. Alot of people were complaining about it. We didn\'t eat there at lunchtime and chose to eat at the poolside bars instead just to get a bit of a change. At least the food at the bars was fresh cooked and hot which it was not in the restaurant and you could get some nice sandwiches freshly made. We tried the Portuguese restaurant which was ok. The Italian was awful unless you took pizza. The pasta was overcooked and bland and my husband\'s spag bol was sitting in about an inch of water, it hadn\'t been drained properly. You can only book these restaurants at the main reception in Block 1 from 2.30pm to 4pm daily.

The entertainment on a nightime was awful. The entertainment team worked really hard but it was dismal. I think part of the reason for this is that the hall where the entertainment was held was just that - a hall. It was like walking into your local village hall. There was no atmosphere at all, the bar looked as if it was makeshift and was stuck in the corner, the toilets are up the stairs and the music was far to loud to be able to hold a conversation with anyone. We gave up on the entertainment after a couple of nights, we did try it periodically throughout the holiday but it never improved.

My daughter used the wave length clubs extensively but this usually ended up costing us money. Every other night they would hold themed nights for example pizza night 5 euros, chocolate party 7 euros, Halloween party 5 euros, Indiana Adventure 17 euros, Highropes 10 euros. All the First Choice employees and the Hotel\'s own staff were lovely. They worked hard and always had a smile on their faces.

The pools are lovely but very cold and there are no lifeguards even at the waterslides. There were plenty of sunbeds and the daytime activities round the main pool were very entertaining and very amusing at times.

Summing up this is a great hotel but it could be better and was abit of the beaten track. The food was very hit or miss and the entertainment could have been alot better than it was. I sound as if I am moaning but we had a brilliant holiday, the weather was fantastic, but we probably would not return to this hotel. Portugal is a beautiful country and we would return to the Algarve sometime in the future.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
2 stars

3/5
3

andrew starkey had a holiday at Holiday Village Algarve, Albufeira in October 2008
just returned this weekend.
positive points:
great pools for adults + children
great entertainment at night (if you have kids)
rooms large,clean and quiet (if in block 1)
must book in block 1 (block 2 near to busy road)
very good activities during the day (kids club,football,tennis,games etc)
negative points:
cold,bland + tasteless food (personal choice)
inexperienced restaurant staff
located a bit too far from the strip (new part),but only 4 euro in taxi and also the old town 6 euro in taxi.
Don\'t let this put you off booking as overall, if you have a children, you should have a good time here.


Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

Natalie Goodwin stayed at Holiday Village Algarve, Albufeira in September 2008
This holiday was excellent from start to finish. The airport at Faro is the most efficient I have ever been to, we collected luggage within 10 mins and were at the hotel within 45mins. Brilliant start. On arrival the hotel was on a steep bank, as there are 3 levels as such to the complex. Ok there are steps and slopes, but they are not too bad. The main block, Block 1 is in the middle, with block 2 being lower and nearer the road. The third level consisted of a pool, splash pools for the kiddies and the water park area. Both block of accomodation had a reception and bars, plus swimming pools.

We stayed in Block 1, the pool was fantastic, loads of sunbeds and parasols (but we did go when ...
schools had returned in Sept), the hotel was clean and the staff very polite. The First choice reps were excellent, always on hand and the Entertainment Team need a massive pat on the back - they were fantastic whatever time of day you saw them they were great. (Ruth, Lyndsey, Billy, Phil, Danni, Olly - sorry I can\'t remember anymore names), but they were great, the kids bonded with them and they never stopped entertaining! Made the holiday.

The food isn\'t fantastic, but you must remember you are going to a hotel that is catering for hundreds of people and it is buffet style (you have one night a week at the Portugese and Italian - we only used the Italian - this was lovely, although the service a little slow). There were different dishes on the buffet each day, and they were forever re-freshing the displays. Always hot and plenty to choose from so not has bad as the other reports are saying.

The location isn\'t the best in the world, but often due to the size of the complex they are often on the outskirts! We only went for 1 week, and didn\'t feel the need to leave the complex, so much to do all day. There are lots of trips laid on, and other guests were impressed with those. There is a good taxi service into the town for about 4

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

KAP1234 had a holiday at Holiday Village Algarve in September 2008
Just returned yesterday, overall had an excellent holiday.

Room spacious and clean, stayed in a kids den and as we were all inclusive and not cooking kitchen cuoboards provided additional storage. Maid came every day except sunday, clean towels everday and linen every other day. As we had kids den able to hire PS2 which kept kids boredom at bay for an hour in the evening when getting ready.

Food was OK, always fouind something to eat, went to italian twice which was nice and also into town to eat a couple of times.

Pools great, didnt use pool at block 2 mainly used splash park and pool at block 1 but be warned they are freezing and must be the coldest pools I\'ve ever been in.

Hotel staff, waiters and bar staff all very friendly and polite - earlier reports I ...
had read suggested otherwise but we had no problems at all.

Kids clud and kids rep all fantastic, youngest aged 6 not really bothered about going but my older boy had a ball and went to everything on offer. He did aqua olympics, sea scooters, PSP tournament, archery and the high ropes twice, both boys did soccer school and loved it.

Evening entertainment was enjoyable and entertainment team really good, my youngest was always a bit star struck whenever any of them were in the vicinity.

Only negative was being woken early every morning (around 7) by kids running and screaming along the corrider, our room was quite near the lift. This was really frustrating as I always made sure my 2 boys were quiet to make sure that we did not disturb other guests, just wish other parents thought the way we did.

All in all did have a great time and would visit this holiday village again.

Read More

Tour Operator: FC

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

emma had a holiday at Holiday Village Algarve Hotel, Albufeira, Portugal in September 2008
excellent all round, the food was fab with a good variety for kids and adults, the entertainment staff were outstanding and i would definetly be returning to a holiday village, and would definetly go back to the algarve

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars
Other hotels in Albufeira

5 star Hotels
4 star Hotels
3 star Hotels
2 star Hotels
Share