Image of Paraiso De Albufeira Hotel

Paraiso De Albufeira Hotel

41 of 105 hotels in Albufeira

4 out of 5 from 85 reviews
4 stars
Rua do Municipio Lote 31 Loja1, Albufeira, Portugal

85 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    22
  • Very Good
    35
  • Good
    18
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Magills73
Excellent
3 months ago
Stayed here for 3 nights with a group of friends. This hotel has everything for all types of guest. Family, couples or groups. Check in was very quick, straightforward and pleasant. The rooms were cleaned and towels changed on each of the 3 days we stayed. The self catering rooms are massive and have everything you'd have at home. All of the staff were pleasant and courteous. I would highly recommend the Hotel Paraiso as a place to stay.

Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sue
Great location
6 years 11 months ago
Room overlooked a car park. Asked to be moved but there were no other rooms available.

Food was OK. Only beer, wine and Sangria on the all-inclusive option. Have to pay for spirits (even local). There were queues at bar of an evening to get a drink.

Not enough sunbeds considering amount of people there even though there was extensive grounds and room for many more. The entertainment was OK.

Location OK in-between the old town and the Strip. around 10-15 minutes to the strip and 20-25 minutes to the old town.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
John
6 years 11 months ago
Upon arrival, our room over looked the car park. Hearing traffic day and night.

The beds were like sleeping on boards and the pillows too thin.

The pool area was fine, and the Thomas Cook staff were very friendly and great entertainers. The pool side bar provided decent food, not great. The pool was NEVER cleaned or filtered, grit all around the pool and under your feet.

The breakfast in the restaurant was a joke. Lunch time was diabolical, and the evening meal was no better and was 25ft underground and VERY hot.

Would not recommend this hotel to ANYBODY!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Fiona Lockhart
6 years 11 months ago
First impressions of the hotel were good but this was short-lived.

Our apartment had one bedroom and was a fantastic size. It over looked the pool which we were really please with. Did notice that the corridors etc could have been doing with a deep clean and they did seem a bit on the grubby side for a 4* hotel. Maids were lovely and always acknowledged you even thought their English was poor and went out their way to help whenever they could.

The food was lovely the first week. There was a carvery on most of the week and always something on the menu we could eat. The second week was a different story. We are not fussy eaters and would try anything, but one night the kiddies corner consisted of broad beans in water or pizza and the adults menu was fish pie or chicken ribs in gravy which was floating in fat (never seen so much take-aways coming into a hotel as that night). Thank goodness for the local chinese. The restuarant was very hot - they only had one night in the fortnight when they used the air con.

On arrival you will be issued with your all inclusive band (we were blue which ment there was 2 adults in the party). There was always ques at the bars, especially in the evening when you could wait 15-20 mins and they will only give you 2 drinks, even though you have kids - want more - rejoin the que we would get told. The all inclusive bar closes at 11pm, and even if you have been in the que for 15 mins and 11pm comes you will be charged - so beware. The bar is also very hot and the air con was not used in there either.

Entertainment was diabolical. In the 2 weeks we were there we had the same 3 acts on repeat (singer on a keyboard) and by the end of the first week could tell which song was coming next. We used to sit in the reception area to be able to hear ourself speak.

There was also problems within the hotel of alcohol being given to kids - so was not relaxed like you should be on holiday, always looking out for my 15yr old.

If you still fancy going to this hotel - then remember take your alarm clock and set your alarm for 5.30am to get a sun lounger or you will not get one. Although my advice would be to hire a caravan in the UK and save thousands of pounds.

Will I return to this hotel - Defenately not. Will be contacting Direct Holidays with a letter of complaint, as this is not a 4* hotel - I would not even rate it a 3*. We met a family who had been at this hotel twice previously and said themselves they would not be returning as over the last 2 years has drastically went downhill,

Albufeira itself is lovely and clean with a beautiful beach - especially in the Old Town.I would perhaps return to Albufeira but definately not to this run down hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Pat Devine
7 years 2 months ago
This is not a 4star hotel..self catering facilities were poor..no electric kettrle..asked for one but would not provide us with an electric kettle..power points were quite inaccessible and a power point beside the kitchen sink and the cooking ring of the cooker was extremely dangerous. The hotel increased its prices during the volcanic dust flight ban..80 euros for a room ..staff most unhelpful ..and many customers were overcharged at the bar..cost of internet was excessive..1 euro for 10 minutes..yet about 150 metres from hotel there is an internet cafe charging 1 euro for 1 hour
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: booked through hotel4u.com

Palmer
7 years 9 months ago
We stayed for 14 days, 17th Sept to 1st Oct. We had an early flight into Faro and arrived at the hotel by 10am but had to wait until 2pm to be able to check in, but fortunately a room is provided for people to leave all their luggage. The room was quite big with plenty of space for your clothes, kitchen area was adequate with plenty of equipment. The only thing that let it down were the beds. they were really hard and extremely uncomfortable. In the living area were 2 more of these beds doubling as sofas to use during the day which were equally hard hence there was no comfortable place to sit and relax at all.
The Location of this hotel is very good being just slightly nearer to the Strip than the Old Town. It is very close to a couple of large supermarkets, and the regular mini train service and taxis rank are a few mins walk away. We didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food, and only had a couple of nights in to watch the entertainment but it seemed ok. Staff that we had contact with all seemed very helpful. Would stay here again but probobly wouldn't be our 1st choice based purely on the comfort.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Jessica
7 years 10 months ago
we went with a group of 17 all friends and family for 14 days.

I was not impressed by the hotel food,
breakfast-was ok not much to choose from.
lunch-well i it was not nice at all in the lunch area so we oftenwent to the pool side bar for dinner.
dinner-not alot of to choose from, often was the same every night, wasn't very nice but you have the one off day where you would get something a bit different and sometimes u'd acually enjoy it.

the entertainment.
the entertainment was ok, the best i saw was the michael jackson act, it was brillent and impressed everbody, it was packed! everynight the thomas cook entertaintment was down the basement in club glam, although you wouldn't no it was there as it was right at the bottom and only one lift goes to it! i was impressed by club glam as it was very modern and quite impressive but it was hot down there and to loud not very good if you want a good old chat! everynight once the entertainment had finished there was a disco which i found exelent for those teenagers with you! up stairs was entertainment run by another company which was ok. they sometimes played bingo and stuff, was nice though because they had a balcony which you could go have a smoke and a drink and chat.

pool-the pool was not very big to be fair, the pool side got very slippy to during the day. it you pt your towels out early on the sunbeds they would be drenched by the time you got down the pool as they watered the grass! sun bed resurving was aloud which was good if your willing to get up early. the pool side entertainment was good! you have the quiz , fun fitness in the pool ( was very popular!) crazy golf, football , and alot more. The pool side bar and snack bar was very good! bottled water was free, snack bar was the best food going at that hotel! the bridge was dangerous over the pool as kids were jumping constantly off of it all day long (unless the lifegard came along!)

staff.
Maids- wasn't very nice at all. very moody!
entertainers- exellent!! really good !
reps- was very helpfull nice people!
receptionists- frindly and helpfull.
shop staff- nice but sometimes they take there time!
pool snack bar staff- Grumpy!
up stairs bar staff- friendly!
club glam bar staff- very nice and smiley! :)


shop.
the shop was good! they had one shop devided into two. selling everything!

extra's.
the hairdressers- didnt go in there but looked alright to me rather posh! they also did beuti treatment to.
offlicence- sold fags and booze.
photographer- she walked around the pool taking pictures then put them up in reseption which you could buy if you wanted!
trips- there was a place where you could book trips such as the water park, swimming with the dolphins, ect.
computers- good! and they had wi-fi.

hotel in genral very big! clean! i'd go back one day maybe.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Thomson
7 years 11 months ago
Just back from a fortnight in algarve. On arrival was very impressed with hotel reception area, had to wait until 2pm for our room but had been warned about this by rep on bus. We were given a ground floor room. Found accomodation area a real let down from the standards of the reception area. Corridors quite dark and ours had a musty smell. Our room was a one bedroom apartment and was very big and big plus was our balcony opened straight on to the grass area, we could set our sunbeds out and kids could go up and down to pool as they pleased. But be warned if you dont put your towel on your sunbed even on your balcony others will walk right up onto your balcony and take your sunbed!! It meant we didnt have to get up at 5 am like other guests who were like ants setting up their beds and parasols and then leaving them unattended most of the day!! The pool is quite small for the size of the hotel and the amount of beds crammed around the pool was crazy. There is a large grass area which was used by most people we actually thought this area was big enough for a second pool.
Snack bar very dear 9 euros for hotdog and fries and the staff here very unfriendly compared to rest of hotel.
Daytime entertainment great with the usual quiz and team activities.
Night time entertainment we found after 3 nights of searching, was in Club Glam which is in the basement found this quite odd, the room has no air con so got very hot, never been to a hotel where entertainment was in side. All night time shows where our reps.
The reps work their socks off.
Hotel quite dear for drinks 3 euros for large beer but 5 euros for wkd.
Hotel is in very centre between old and new towns about 20 mins each way. Found walk to old town easier. We preferred old town at night as there where street entertainers and great atmosphere also found eateries in old town square quite dear so would head off to side street cafes which where really good.
Our 16 year old loved the new town with its disco bars etc. Farnel's steak house brilliant, take a left by Costa Rica restaurant, very good food.
We'd definately go back to the Algarve but dont think we'd go back to Albuferia.
Hotel is about 5 mins to Modela supermarket which is very reasonable, hotel supermarket charged 1.20 euros for 5 litres water and it was 60 cents in Modela. Hotel supermarket very dear but couldn't fault the staff for their helpfulness.
Reception staff great and very helpful, we asked for extra pillows and by the time we had got back to our room in the lift the pillows had arrived.
All in all hotel in good location between old and new town, reception areas lovely, but accomodation needs a bit of modernisation and a touch of paint.




Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Wilsons
8 years ago
hi just returned from hols fantastic would recommend to all especially with kids ours 14 but entertained two weeks by great reps.we were in a studio still big enough and cleaned daily. right in centre 10 mins from famous strip but 20 mins stroll from lovely old town. did few trips fieas and fishing both worth while.also bargains at gypsy market handbags galore .will recommend to our friends and will return some day .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Paul
8 years ago
best holiday by far for the second year coming.staff,location,food and cleanliness was execellent.the entertainment was so good there was a few tears when we all said our goodbyes.the nicest thing about the holiday was most off the staff and rep remembered us,which made you feel at home straight away. we would recommend this hotel to everyone especially with young children of all ages, also the adults can act like kids aswell because nobody cares.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.