Image of Delfin Azul Hotel

Delfin Azul Hotel

22 of 52 hotels in Alcudia

4 out of 5 from 74 reviews
3 stars
Carrer de la Fotja, 1, 07400 Platja D'Alcudia, Spain

74 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    27
  • Very Good
    27
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Charlton
Very expensive
6 years 4 months ago
Hotel was very clean, food was acceptable, desserts were lovely but same old chicken and pork, could do with varying the menu more.

Location ok as crossing road to beach just be careful as main road very busy.

Staff very helpful, entertainment was brilliant but full of chavs beer swilling all night.

Hotel very noisy with screaming kids and you can actually hear people snoring through the walls at night and someone singing in their rooms at 1-30am using the bedside cabinet as drums.

Wouldn't go back here as too noisy and Alcudia is getting very pricey.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Barber / Osborn
6 years 5 months ago
We stayed for a week on a family holiday. The hotel was clean at all times, both inside and around the pool area. The food was poor,the only way to explain it would be budget food very plain and repetitive not much to choose from.
The location was quite good not in the busy part, but only about 10 mins walk away. There are lots of shops and restaurants. the only thing i will say is they hassel you into the bars and restaurants - nighmare!!!

Very expensive - Euro has killed it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gemma Dudley
7 years 2 months ago
Fanatstic hotel, great location, thomson reps fantastic, hotel entertainment was great. Would definatly visit this hotel again.

The only thing i will say, like others have written, is the food, although the food is lovely, it is very repetative. There is theme nights once a week, it was chinese night during our stay.

Pool snack bar is quite over priced, there are a few local supermarkets to buy your own drinks, but the hotel staff can get really funny about you drinking and eating things not purchased in the hotel around the pool.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Allan And Caryl
7 years 4 months ago
Only been back a few hours. Hotel was excellent for a family holiday and my daughter loved the place. After reading many reviews bits of all reports were spot on. The hotel was spotless all the time even the poolside toilets. Pooolside and Garden area were really clean. The food could do with being a bit more varied pork and fish were top of the menu all nights. Chips for breakfast is a new one on me. Breakfast plenty of choice. The location is in an ideal spot for all the shops and 5 mins from a 1st class beach. The hotel staff were vary hard working and very polite even if you dont send your kids to the kids club the entertainment staff were ace with the kids and kept them entertained for hours. The entertainment were tribute bands, bingo,kids disco. I would definetly go back. The rooms were clean and the bunkbed doubled up as dads den when I wanted to hide during siesta time. Bar prices were slightly steep and the kids corner was a black hole for euros. My partner and daughter are fussy eaters but found plenty to eat. The strawberry milkshake was a lifesaver.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Julie
7 years 4 months ago
When booking this hotel one day before departure we werent sure about what we would get. Most things pleasantly surprised us.

The rooms were very basic and the furniture seemed to have been there since the 1990's, but very very clean. Entry to the room was via a good old fashioned key. I havent used a key in a room since 1998!

There was so much wardrobe space I could even put the dirty clothes away when we had worn them! There is a safe in the wardrobe, which is available for 21Euros, with 3Euros being returned to you when returning the key.
The bathroom was clean and there was a powershower. The loo roll was soft and there was showergel / handwash provided for use. Towels were changed daily, you just left them on the floor and the maid would oblige.
Air conditioning worked very well, and was needed; it would go off if you left the balcony door open, thus heating the room up!
The balconies either face the pool or face the road, there was a table and 2 chairs on each balcony.

Reception was a little dated in the decoration, but was airey. The reception staff really couldnt be bothered with you. They just wanted to get rid of you as soon as possible. Even when checking in, and getting a safe key etc, it see,ed like they wanted to get rid of you asap. The Thomson reps were on hand daily and were helpful and cheerful.

There are 3 lifts just off the main reception and these are very slow. They seem to take forever especially at breakfast time and in the late afternoon when you just want to go back up to the room.

Breakfast is served from 8AM, there is a large variety of food, continental or full english style, whichever takes your fancy.

There is sausage, bacon (streaky), beans, potatoes, eggs, (some days fried or scrambled) some days just scrambled, and always hard boiled available. Plenty of choice of bread and pastries. Churros one day. Little muffins, sponge fingers, all kinds. Toast (with the bread that looks like its english but is a little sweeter) but there was more often than not a queue to use the machine. There was at least 4 varieties of cereals to choose from. Fresh apples seemed to be the only whole fruit at breakfast, but there was sliced tomatoes, tinned mandarins, tinned fruit and also sliced oranges, there was dates and raisins. Lots to choose from.
Drinks, there was plenty to choose from, water, orange from a machine that tasted more like Kia Ora than fresh juice and a variety of juice that was described as "Tropical" but was very sweet indeed. There was tomato juice available daily. Milk skimmed and full fat and the children could have milk shakes. Tea in many varieties, herbal, fruit, regular and Earl Grey. Coffee a plenty, and quite good tasting. There was yoghurt being put out very often as this was popular.
Then you get down to the kids food at breakfast. Every meal at Delfin Azul had chips on the menu for the kids! Odd. The children would have a mini variety of the hot selection, so there was sausage, chips, beans, scrambled eggs and sometimes other things.
There is a microwave available but I found the food always hot. This is one thing that the hotel have to perfection.

The head waiter is called Pep and is fabulous, directing the dining room, remembering which tables have been allocated. Its a large dining room and he seats you for breakfast and evening meal.
The staff at breakfast work hard (as they all do at dinner too) but they have a lot to do. They are constantly clearing up. They change the table cloth after every group has left the table. They clear the little tubs that are left to put your scraps and teabags in. Overall great.
The evening meals always had a good variety of food. There is a wine list and there is a wine waiter called Antonio who takes your order, but the wine / water etc is served by the regular waiters. You pay your bill at the entrance/ exit of the restaurant at the end of your meal. Service was good.
There is a large variety of food. Always hot. Always topped up quickly, lots of salad, lots of potatoes, even if on salads. Chips for the kids again in the childrens section. Kids have a different choice on their part of the menu, and this too was always topped up. Always hot, things never looked like they have been sat there under the hot lamps. There was service chefs, very smartly dressed coming out and dressing the food, replenishing, stirring etc all throughout the service.
The food is something that I was thrilled with. on our last night of the holiday, (13/08/09) there was a theme evening, which was Chinese. This again offered a large choice. There was soup, prawn crackers, lots of salad, Beef in mushroom sauce, with lots of mushrooms. Chicken in Lemon sauce with peas. Noodles in hoi sin sauce, Rice with prawns and ham. Lots and lots.

The pool was open from 9AM to 8PM, but you couldnt go in the pool until 9AM, not 8.59AM even as they were still cleaning it. There was a man cleaning the pool area and swilling the concrete areas until dead on 9AM.

The bit that people worry about, getting to the pool to reserve yourself a sunbed doesnt happen here. You can bagsy your spot, but you cant get a sunbed until he has finished swilling the area and comes along to unchain the sunbeds. They are locked up. The beds were white plastic and some were reclining style, people would sift through to get the reclining type and leave the others in a stack. There was pre-drilled holes in the floor which was painted a lovely army green for the umbrellas to be inserted into, so this would limit you as to where you put your beds and where you put your umbrella up. But you couldnt get a brolly until the man had finished un chaining the sunbeds and strolled to the other side of the pool to unlock the cage where they are kept. So all in all about 9.10AM you could come to the pool and settle.

The pool was really not big enough and in the afternoon you would be swamped with lilos, rings, balls and water guns etc in the pool. It was fun though! The afternoon session of adult water polo did take over the deep end of the pool whilst it was on.

The bar had a good selection of everything and it was reasonably priced. About the same as what you would pay at a bar here.

The snackbar had the normal choice of sandwiches, baguettes, chips etc. It was all made fresh and served to you in the snackbar. You are then free to take it to the side of the pool to eat etc.

The kids zone seemed to have lots of things going on but my son didnt attend, so I couldnt comment.

The evening entertainment was great, there was the standard kids disco, then cash bingo (if you like it, just stay outside until its over) then go in for the main show which starts at 10PM.
There was Westlife, Take That, Rod Stewart, Britney Spears, Girls Aloud, Abba, The Drifters, lots and lots. Good quality and a good variety of songs etc.

The hotel overall was budget, but has some very good points and I would go again. Tomorrow if you are offering!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Hayley Martin
7 years 4 months ago
This was the first time we have been abroad in the busy season so wasnt sure what to expect. Sure enough it was busy, if you like it that way this hotel is great. The only bug bear for us was the size of the room there were five of us in a double sized room apparently this is what you get for half board anywhere but it was small.
Other than that food great, only beans at breakfast
cold but theres a microwave. Entrtainment fantastic, kids club run by thompsons great, was a bit of a pain registering day before for next day but necessary as there were limited places so if you wasnt in the queue early your kids could miss out.
Hotel very clean daily maid service. Rooms overlooking road do get some noise but it wasnt horrendous. You could always get a sunbed but you need to be out at 9am to get a poolside spot. Yes the pool is on the small side for the size of hotel but kids enjoyed it. All in all a great hotel but we wouldnt go ther again just because of room size.
One thing to add theres a really cheap supermarket over the roundabout near burger king past the banks called eroski will save you pounds on drinks etc.
Also you can hire fridges for 3euros a day this is not advertised anywhere but is well worth it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 5 months ago
Nice hotel with friendly hard working staff who will help to resovle any problems you have.
Rooms are fine good wardrobe space however balcony is a little small, towels changed every day if you leave dirty ones on the floor.
Good choice of food and lovely cakes.

Lots of things for children to do at the poolside if they wish to join in also a kids club ran by Thomson staff. 3 Euro's charged for children using the trampolines, small bouncy castle and the larger bouncy castle so if you don't want to be caught out don't let them on.

Evening entertainment starts around 7pm and goes on until midnight.

Only complaint I had was the pool is too small especially when the water polo is being played everyone and their lilo's are squashed in the shallow end.

Plenty of sunbeds and if you can't get a space at the pool you can use the grassed area, sun parasol's are kept in the cage behind the trampolines, make sure you get one before you get your beds lol.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Julie Olsen
7 years 7 months ago
Wasn't sure what to expect after booking this hotel and reading the reviews but i must say it's a great hotel. Can't fault this hotel at all everybody who worked there was very pleasant, rooms cleaned everyday with towels changed if you left them on the floor and the rest of the hotel kept spotless. Entertainment good although with 2 children didn't get to sit down for long to watch it even when the parrot show was on!

Food was always hot and plenty of choice although the kids buffet always had chips for breakfast which i thought a bit strange. Themed night (chinese) was very enjoyable and the staff dressed in chinese attire and decorated the dining room which i thought was great.

I would definately visit this hotel again as we had a very enjoyable 7days there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
The Duffy Family
8 years 4 months ago
Really good hotel, very clean rooms and reception area etc. This hotel is in a great location for main bars etc and also the port area, only a 10 minute walk either way.

There was the crazy sun bed dash when they were unlocked at 9 but we would have a laugh at people (mainly british) waiting as early as 8.15 just so they could get their favoured spot at the pool. We managed to get a sunbed regardless of what time we went down and also preferred to laze on the grass area as it was quieter.

Staff nice enough and always cleaning all day long.

Food okay, I am a fussy eater but managed to find something I liked most nights, ate out a few times as got a bit bored with pork, pork, and more pork. Would recommend The White Rose pub for great grub, it is along the main area up a wee side street along from Linekers Bar.


5 minute walk to beautiful beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Miss J
8 years 5 months ago
From day one i was impressed with how clean the hotel was kept. Our room was always cleaned well and towels were fresh each day. The pool area was also cleaned every day as was the swimming pool.

The food........ Well what can i say. It was OK. Im not a fussy eater and always found somthing to eat but during my second week there i wondered how many more days i could cope with eating the delights that the hotel offered. There was always plenty of salad and fruit but the hot section lacked choice if you dont like pork you are going to have a problem.

I though the location of the hotel was perfect. Just over the main road ( which was easy to cross as not that busy) sat one of the nicest beaches i have been to. It took 5 mins to walk into the main centre but we mainly walked the 10 mins the other way to the marina. There was a little market which ran alongside the side of the marina with a couple of rides for the kids to go on which they loved. There were a couple of bars along that way that sat on the beach so we were able to sit and have a drink while the kids played on the sand which saved all the moaning about them being bored.

I found the staff at the reception very nice, my daughter was ill while i was there and they were very helpful, the thompson reps were also there most of the day.

The day time entertainment was OK the kids enjoyed the games that were played but the girls who ran the games were often looking very bored. Dont know about the evening stuff it was all inside in the bar so wasnt keen on that and there is too much else to see in the resort to watch tribute bands.
Thompson kids club was great my two loved it. I would imagine it being a bit of a nightmare getting the kids in during peak season as they only take 20 kids for each session.

This is the first holiday i have had in years that you do not have to get up for sunbeds, there were loads of beds and loads of space, you could appear round the pool at 11 am and still find space and free beds.

I wouldnt want to go to this hotel again couldnt cope with the food.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices