23 independent reviews of the Astoria Playa Hotel
Address: Avinguda de Mèxic, 1, 07400 Alcudia (Mallorca), Spain
Astoria Playa Hotel
Astoria Playa Hotel Location
Ranked #11 of 52 hotels in Alcudia


4/5
Astoria Playa Hotel Astoria Playa Hotel is rated 4.35 out of 5 from 23 Reviews
91% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (23 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 5 stars
Location 5 stars

Astoria Playa Hotel Reviews

4/5
4
"Good 3 star hotel"
Fred Willetts stayed at Astoria Playa Hotel in November 2012
Our forth visit to this hotel and had another great stay. Rooms were very good on the garden side, no sun but that was a bonus for us, you need the pool side if you are a sun lover. Cleaned very well. Great views from the 4th floor.

The food was fine, the meats were good and a fair choice for 3 star. Nice pool and no trouble with getting loungers. It was minutes from the town and the superb beach beside a busy road but use a crossing as they do stop.

Nice walk to port and a slightly longer walk or bus ride to old town.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4
"A nice little hotel for older couples"
Campbell family stayed at Astoria Playa Hotel, Alcudia, Spain in August 2011
This is a nice small hotel which is ideally situated for easy access to the beach and town. The rooms are a decent size and the maid came into clean every day and fresh towels provided if needed.

The pool area as said in other reviews is small with limited sunbeds but there always seemed to be sunbeds available throughout the day, something I have never experienced at any other hotel.

There is a small garden area as you walk through, the bar which is provided with sun loungers and this is a nice peaceful spot to catch a few rays.

Our room was on the front of the hotel overlooking the crazy golf which was pleasant. If you want a balcony with sunshine during the day you need to be on the opposite side, ...
overlooking the pool. We found that the majority of guests staying in this hotel were couples or older families. I don't think this hotel particularly caters for younger children though there were a few families with young children.

All the hotel staff were very friendly and the dining room is run very efficiently. My only gripe with the breakfast in a morning is that you couldn't get an English cup of tea, sad I know but I don't think it would be a problem if you wanted to take your own tea bags with you. The food was good and varied, again my only gripe was that I would have liked it to have been a little hotter at times but it wasn't a problem really. We ate well every morning and night.

There was entertainment laid on each evening which was OK, we had Chinese acrobats one evening and they were quite impressive. The bar staff are really nice and they worked hard to get you served quickly and the hotel bar prices weren't too bad at all.

All in all a nice little hotel which is nice and peaceful at night as everything shuts down and 12 so you can get a good nights sleep.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Fred Willetts had a holiday at Astoria Playa Hotel, Alcudia in October 2009
We have stayed twice before and were just as pleased this time ,after an initial room change due to being put in the wrong type of room, everything was great.We were in third floor garden view and it was superb, as we were close to the road it could be heard if the patio door was open.Food was very good,other than one gentleman on reception the staff were good.great position for us as short walk to town or beach and has it\'s own car park.

Tour Operator: diy

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

pauline visited the Astoria Playa Hotel, Alcudia, Spain in October 2009
just got back from this hotel. had a great time, weather not too bad for october. just 1 thunderstorm. food was very good. hotel was very clean, maid came every day, clean towels every day. staff was helpful and pleasant. the hotel was also always doing specials at the bar, so had a few beers for 2 euros a pint. my daughter loved the pool. it may be a bit small for main holiday season but she loved it, no rush for sunbeds as the hotel was only half full. there was a lot of german people staying at this time of year, but they all seamed to go out after breakfast for the day. great holiday, would go back with no problem.

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

p.brown had a holiday at Astoria Playa Hotel in August 2009
very clean inside and out,rooms very spacious on suite,would have prefered double bed instead of two singles pushed together.fantastic views.good pool and facilities.food caters for all nationalities and is out of this world.hotel location close to everything,only five minutes walk to beach.staff were most helpful and polite.entertainment was average.but overall fantastic value for money.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

chris visited the Astoria Playa Hotel, Alcudia in June 2008
Just got back from Astoria Playa,the food was good allways cooked well ,a little repetative but we was there for 2weeks.

Yes you do have to share a table,but caused us no problems,allways had nice people sat with us.

The hotel is very clean as are the rooms.the rooms are of a good size and carpeted resonable amount of storage space,flat screen tv.

Good size bathroom,fair size balcony although the sizes alternate from small to large ,we were lucky we got a large one! one slight problem only one socket in the room and one in the bathroom so take a double adaptor with you if you have lots to plug in !.

WARNING!! never shut the balcony door fully if you are on it and there is no one inside ,,

Reason !! because you cannot open them from the outside! trust me, ...
we know lol!!!

Excellent location 2 mins to fantastic beach.bars shops etc all nearby. Hotel staff...never have I come across such freindly people from cleaners to reception.

Bar staff even join in the entertainment.speaking of which was about average.would we go again .. ..allready booked it !!

If you do go try the Stagger Inn just up the road and say hello to the all staff for me tell em Ben Elton sent ya. and watch out for them mozzies cos the buggers will get ya. enjoy!!!..

Read More

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Fowlers visited the Astoria Playa Hotel in October 2007
From the moment we arrived at the Astoria we were impressed. The staff are the friendliest I havent encountered in hotels before and english is widely spoken.
The location of the hotel is superb either left or right out of the hotel entrance and you are only a couple of minutes walk from the main road. 2 minute walk from the beach across the main road but there are pedestrian crossings so never had any problems. Close enough yet far enough not to encounter any noise.
Can really comment on entertainment in hotel as we went out to the surrounding bars at night however we did come back a little ealry one night and there was a drag show on which I found amusing (my hubby did not!!)
The hotel is spotlessly clean our room was cleaned every day. Pool area and bar ...
were lovely no complaints.
The food - well one of my little complaints, we were half board but ate out every night after the first night as we didnt think there was not much choice, also have to share your table with other couples.
All in all this was an excellent hotel and we will definitely stay there again, just not in October as the weather a bit dodgy!!!

Read More

Tour Operator: DIY

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

fred willetts visited the Astoria Playa Hotel, Alcudia, Spain in September 2007
Returned after 12 years and was not dissapointed,this hotel is a very good 3 star. The position is great as it is not far from the beach not far from the town but is far enough away that it is not too noisy, also music has to stop at 12pm in Alcudia.

We found it clean in the general hotel as well as the room. This was allways cleaned well and towels changed as much as you put them in the bath.

The pool side has the sun allday the tennis court side hardly gets any. Staff in general were friendly and spoke good English, the dinning room staff were helpful and the food was great, good choice, breakfast was much the same each day but was the nearest I have come to haveing an English tasting breakfast also ...
plenty of fruit, rolls etc.dinner had differant meats and fish that was hot also the plates were hot.

If hiring a car the car park is easy to find and off the road.we din\'t try the bar or entertainment in the hotel but found plenty in Alcudia. The ratings I have given the hotel are as 3 star +.

We will go back.

If I wanted to fault it it is in the seating in the dinning room if you are a couple you may sit with somebody else it didn't cause us any problem.

Read More

Tour Operator: diy

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Mark & Ashleigh visited the Astoria Playa Hotel, Alcudia, Spain in June 2007
We have recently stayed at the Astoria Playa in Alcudia. The hotel reception staff were always happy to help, and were very approachable no matter the enquiry.

We stayed on a Half Board basis. Breakfast was pretty much the same each morning in the way of cooked food which does get a bit boring after a few days.

Dinner was different every evening with at least 3 types of meat to chose from, as well as different pasta, pizza, veg, and always 2 types of potato food, 1 always being chips.

The actual restaurant is quite small, and being a couple we had to table share with others which is fine when both parties spoke the same language.

Our dinner and breakfast times were limited to an hour for both, 9-10am for breakfast and 8-9pm for dinner, this as we ...
found out was due to the table having 4 seats, but needed to be shared by 3 couples which after the first few days began to work out well.

The entertainment in the hotel would be for you if you are willing to go and play tennis or basketball in the boiling heat during the afternoon.

The activities are always repeated, no new events are put on during the day. Night time entertainment leaves a bit to be desired. We sat for 2 performances, 1 being a Midnight Fantasy Show, and a Flamenco Show, of which we left half way through - not very interesting or entertaining at all.

The main entertainer tried his hardest to keep people amused all day long, but lacked the boost people needed to get off their sun beds and take part.

Thomson excursions were expensive, during the week stay we only went on the Lazy Dayz Cruise which was well worth the money we paid.

The guide and crew did everything to make you feel welcome which made for an enjoyable day. There is not much to do around the hotel, if you want to go on the cheap, but if you are willing to pay for things, then I am sure you will find alot here.

Don

Read More

Tour Operator: SkyTours (Thomson)
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

lauren Davies visited the Astoria Playa Hotel, Alcudia, Spain in May 2007
Had a fantastic time! mostly due to the wonderful staff who made us welcome and kept us entertained with their comedy dancing! Big thanks to Valentine, Toni, Oscar and Isabelle.

Food was always good, nice selection and well cooked.

Cleaners did a brilliant job too.

I'll definitely be going again!

Tour Operator: Thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

joy dalton stayed at Astoria Playa Hotel, Alcudia, Spain in May 2007
The hotel was only a 3 star but deserves more, it had a freindly atmosphere, mainly due to the bar staff.

Excellent location only across the main road from the beach, loads of shops bars and restaurants and hire car companies around the hotel.

The cleaners done a fantastic job making the hotel a pleasant clean enviroment.

The food catered for everyone, a large buffet, hot and cold meals.

The entertainment was good but could of held more shows, Andres tried hard to get people motivated, It must be a hard job, when all you want to do is relax, But the children need motivating to stop them getting bored.

We definately want to go back next year.

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Andy Bruce stayed at Astoria Playa Hotel, Alcudia in May 2007
This is probably the best hotel we have stayed at whilst on holiday, it is advertised as a 3 star hotel but it should definately be at least a 4.
The location of this hotel is perfect for the beach 100 yards away and all shops just around the corner.

The hotel is spotless this is due to the excellent cleaning staff who dont miss a thing. Everyday your room is cleaned and the towels changed they even pick up any clothes you leave lying around and put these on the chair, even the patio windows are cleaned daily. Our cleaner was called Cassi and she was brilliant.

The hotel food was very good I never ate the same thing twice apart from when I went for seconds which happened every night. The only drawback was you could not get coffee with your ...
evening meal. The sweets were a little repetitive but apart from that no problems.

The hotel staff are excellent especially the bar staff Valentine,Oscar,Toni and Isabelle. They are brilliant.

The pool is just about the right size and there were plenty of sunbeds and there was also no problems of people booking these before breakfast and if anyone did the staff removed the towels. Another Plus

The only drawback with this hotel is the entertainment. Andres tries his best but he should listen to what the Guests want as nobody wants to play tennis between 3 and 5 pm as it is far to hot also a little more music in the evenings would not go a miss.

Finally we enjoyed our stay here so much that within 3 days of returning to Scotland we are booked already for next year


Read More

Tour Operator: Thompsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Amanda Breen stayed at Astoria Playa Hotel, Alcudia, Spain in May 2007
We stayed at the Astoira Playa hotel in Alcudia for two weeks in May and although we were happy with the hotel we were very, very dissatisfied with the treatment we received in the hotel restaurant. The rest of my family flew out at the beginning of the second week to stay with my partner and I for the week which we were all looking forward to. But, when it came to having dinner things went down hill. We were all split up and not one evening out of the seven were we allowed to sit together.

It was an ongoing battle every night with the waiters and something that really cast a shadow over what should have been a lovely family holiday. We think it is ridiculous that a large hotel restaurant should find it impossible to seat together a ...
family of just seven people. We wouldn\'t have minded if there wasn\'t the room but we could clearly see other families of seven or eight sat together. Plus it wasn\'t as if the tables were too small because my partner and I were put sitting with other couples that we didn\'t know, at the same table

On top of this our rep was utterly useless. She had no knowledge of the local area and no knowledge of the hotel as far as we could see. This is not something you\'d expect from a Thomson holiday - it was very poor customer service indeed and we were very disappointed.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Richard stayed at Astoria Playa Hotel, Alcudia in May 2006
Large family group celebrating a 60th birthday. This is not the sort of holiday I would go for normally, but it wasn\'t my 60th so I didn\'t get to choose!

I have to say that this is a brilliant hotel in terms of value for money. The place is immaculate, the pool area is quite small but really nice (there is a kids pool as well), staff are very friendly and courteous, entertainment is infectious and bar prices incredibly good value. Guests are a mix of British, Scandanavian and German and are either of retirement age or younger couples with/without children.

A couple of downsides (probably a bit harsh) - the food is no more than adequate, but if you get a half board deal with the likes of Thomson it\'s not that much extra and means that you ...
can afford to eat out a few nights (I recommend the Chinese restuarants nearby - very good!).

The other downside being our room - it was too small for a family of 3, but we didn\'t bother to complain as afterall you go on holiday to sunbathe, etc. and not be in your room so much.

In summary - fabulous, no complaints at all - would recommend this hotel to anyone - even those who \"don\'t normally go for this sort of holiday\"!

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Katy stayed at Astoria Playa Hotel, Alcudia, Spain in July 2005
The hotel Astoria Playa is a brilliant hotel for couples, families and single people. Everyone in the hotel is extremely friendly and can't do enough for you.

The hotel rooms are nice but could probably do with a TV or a CD player, however we took our own which was used quite a lot.

The restaurant is clean and tidy and food is nice but not that big a variety, no children's section and not a very wide range of deserts but you can always manage to find something you like. Maybe next time we would go bed and breakfast instead.

Staff are brill Toni, Alberto and all the bar staff are wicked. Hello Wendy and Kenneth hope you are all ok.

Tour Operator: Just

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Debbie Hallworth had a holiday at Astoria Playa Hotel in July 2005
The hotel was very clean and the staff were excellent especially Toni in the bar.

The food was good but no childrens section and the sweets were limited not much choice. The pool area was nice but not enough sun beds the hotel holds 400 guests with only 70 beds so you had to get up early to queue to put your towels on.

The day time entertainment was brilliant the kids loved it and Wendy and Kenneth were great,it could have been better in the evening.

The location was good apart from the busy main road which was dangerous to cross to get to the beach.We would visit this hotel again as it was really good for the kids.

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Ryan Meechan had a holiday at Astoria Playa Hotel, Alcudia, Spain in July 2005
I funnly enough was staying at the hotel at the same time as Debbie Halworth and her family who are below. And we made friends with them there and what they say is true everything in this hotel is great except for the food but the hotel rooms and the staff werejust brilliant.


Toni, Alberto and oscar were the hotel barman they were extremely nice and funny.


This hotel was one of the best ive stayed in, it is up there in the top 5 favorites!

Along with at number 1: the Paschalia Hotel in cyprus! With Lisa the gorgeuos Entertainer.

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

N.A. had a holiday at Astoria Playa Hotel in May 2005
This was one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The staff were so friendly, the rooms were spotless and the food was really nice too.

For a 3 star hotel, this was much better than I expected it to be. It\'s a 2 minute walk to the beach and the shops and bars are even closer.

There are lots of places to visit too, including Palma (1 hour away), Alcudia Village (15 minutes)and Formentor (40 minutes).

I would definitely come here again!

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Stacy Harrison visited the Astoria Playa Hotel in May 2005
The hotel was extremely clean and tidy.

Very quiet which was ideal for recovering from hangovers. The staff were a bit miserable and didn\'t speak much English. Food was ok, but the entertainment let the hotel down.

Tour Operator: First Choise

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

David Castle visited the Astoria Playa Hotel in October 2004
Having worked on the island of Mallorca, in the Alcudia area I was already familiar with the excellent location of this hotel.

We arrived quite late, but were all very impressed with the hotel's exterior, with excellent blue lighting and bright entrance! After checking in, (which was a strange experience, i.e. they did not have a twin 3 room ready for us as booked in the UK.) The hotel manager offered me a single room for the week, if I paid for the privilege. The female hotel receptionist seemed very keen for me to take this room....?! It later became clear why this was the case!! Enough said.

They had prepared a cold buffet dinner for us consisting of cold meats and salads which we devoured! Very nice.

I can't get over how clean and modern this hotel was for a ...
3 star. The cleaners do the best job there! I urge you to tip them! Bar staff cool, esp. Toni, (aka coco the clown).

Half board excellent option, never saw breakfast myself, apparently, didn't miss much. Evening meal excellent, great choice and very good standard.

Superb location, 2 minutes from beach, and 2 minutes from bars. What more do you want?! Have a great time.

Read More

Tour Operator: Portland (through Thomas Cook)

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share