Image of Astoria Playa Hotel

Astoria Playa Hotel

15 of 52 hotels in Alcudia

4 out of 5 from 23 reviews
3 stars
Avinguda de Mèxic, 1, 07400 Alcudia (Mallorca), Spain

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Good 3 star hotel
4 years 1 month ago
Our forth visit to this hotel and had another great stay. Rooms were very good on the garden side, no sun but that was a bonus for us, you need the pool side if you are a sun lover. Cleaned very well. Great views from the 4th floor.

The food was fine, the meats were good and a fair choice for 3 star. Nice pool and no trouble with getting loungers. It was minutes from the town and the superb beach beside a busy road but use a crossing as they do stop.

Nice walk to port and a slightly longer walk or bus ride to old town.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Campbell Family
A nice little hotel for older couples
5 years 5 months ago
This is a nice small hotel which is ideally situated for easy access to the beach and town. The rooms are a decent size and the maid came into clean every day and fresh towels provided if needed.

The pool area as said in other reviews is small with limited sunbeds but there always seemed to be sunbeds available throughout the day, something I have never experienced at any other hotel.

There is a small garden area as you walk through, the bar which is provided with sun loungers and this is a nice peaceful spot to catch a few rays.

Our room was on the front of the hotel overlooking the crazy golf which was pleasant. If you want a balcony with sunshine during the day you need to be on the opposite side, overlooking the pool. We found that the majority of guests staying in this hotel were couples or older families. I don't think this hotel particularly caters for younger children though there were a few families with young children.

All the hotel staff were very friendly and the dining room is run very efficiently. My only gripe with the breakfast in a morning is that you couldn't get an English cup of tea, sad I know but I don't think it would be a problem if you wanted to take your own tea bags with you. The food was good and varied, again my only gripe was that I would have liked it to have been a little hotter at times but it wasn't a problem really. We ate well every morning and night.

There was entertainment laid on each evening which was OK, we had Chinese acrobats one evening and they were quite impressive. The bar staff are really nice and they worked hard to get you served quickly and the hotel bar prices weren't too bad at all.

All in all a nice little hotel which is nice and peaceful at night as everything shuts down and 12 so you can get a good nights sleep.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 2 months ago
We have stayed twice before and were just as pleased this time ,after an initial room change due to being put in the wrong type of room, everything was great.We were in third floor garden view and it was superb, as we were close to the road it could be heard if the patio door was open.Food was very good,other than one gentleman on reception the staff were good.great position for us as short walk to town or beach and has it's own car park.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Pauline
7 years 2 months ago
just got back from this hotel. had a great time, weather not too bad for october. just 1 thunderstorm. food was very good. hotel was very clean, maid came every day, clean towels every day. staff was helpful and pleasant. the hotel was also always doing specials at the bar, so had a few beers for 2 euros a pint. my daughter loved the pool. it may be a bit small for main holiday season but she loved it, no rush for sunbeds as the hotel was only half full. there was a lot of german people staying at this time of year, but they all seamed to go out after breakfast for the day. great holiday, would go back with no problem.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
P.brown
7 years 4 months ago
very clean inside and out,rooms very spacious on suite,would have prefered double bed instead of two singles pushed together.fantastic views.good pool and facilities.food caters for all nationalities and is out of this world.hotel location close to everything,only five minutes walk to beach.staff were most helpful and polite.entertainment was average.but overall fantastic value for money.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Chris
8 years 6 months ago
Just got back from Astoria Playa,the food was good allways cooked well ,a little repetative but we was there for 2weeks.

Yes you do have to share a table,but caused us no problems,allways had nice people sat with us.

The hotel is very clean as are the rooms.the rooms are of a good size and carpeted resonable amount of storage space,flat screen tv.

Good size bathroom,fair size balcony although the sizes alternate from small to large ,we were lucky we got a large one! one slight problem only one socket in the room and one in the bathroom so take a double adaptor with you if you have lots to plug in !.

WARNING!! never shut the balcony door fully if you are on it and there is no one inside ,,

Reason !! because you cannot open them from the outside! trust me, we know lol!!!

Excellent location 2 mins to fantastic beach.bars shops etc all nearby. Hotel staff...never have I come across such freindly people from cleaners to reception.

Bar staff even join in the entertainment.speaking of which was about average.would we go again .. ..allready booked it !!

If you do go try the Stagger Inn just up the road and say hello to the all staff for me tell em Ben Elton sent ya. and watch out for them mozzies cos the buggers will get ya. enjoy!!!..
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 2 months ago
From the moment we arrived at the Astoria we were impressed. The staff are the friendliest I havent encountered in hotels before and english is widely spoken.
The location of the hotel is superb either left or right out of the hotel entrance and you are only a couple of minutes walk from the main road. 2 minute walk from the beach across the main road but there are pedestrian crossings so never had any problems. Close enough yet far enough not to encounter any noise.
Can really comment on entertainment in hotel as we went out to the surrounding bars at night however we did come back a little ealry one night and there was a drag show on which I found amusing (my hubby did not!!)
The hotel is spotlessly clean our room was cleaned every day. Pool area and bar were lovely no complaints.
The food - well one of my little complaints, we were half board but ate out every night after the first night as we didnt think there was not much choice, also have to share your table with other couples.
All in all this was an excellent hotel and we will definitely stay there again, just not in October as the weather a bit dodgy!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Fred Willetts
9 years 3 months ago
Returned after 12 years and was not dissapointed,this hotel is a very good 3 star. The position is great as it is not far from the beach not far from the town but is far enough away that it is not too noisy, also music has to stop at 12pm in Alcudia.

We found it clean in the general hotel as well as the room. This was allways cleaned well and towels changed as much as you put them in the bath.

The pool side has the sun allday the tennis court side hardly gets any. Staff in general were friendly and spoke good English, the dinning room staff were helpful and the food was great, good choice, breakfast was much the same each day but was the nearest I have come to haveing an English tasting breakfast also plenty of fruit, rolls etc.dinner had differant meats and fish that was hot also the plates were hot.

If hiring a car the car park is easy to find and off the road.we din't try the bar or entertainment in the hotel but found plenty in Alcudia. The ratings I have given the hotel are as 3 star +.

We will go back.

If I wanted to fault it it is in the seating in the dinning room if you are a couple you may sit with somebody else it didn't cause us any problem.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Mark & Ashleigh
9 years 6 months ago
We have recently stayed at the Astoria Playa in Alcudia. The hotel reception staff were always happy to help, and were very approachable no matter the enquiry.

We stayed on a Half Board basis. Breakfast was pretty much the same each morning in the way of cooked food which does get a bit boring after a few days.

Dinner was different every evening with at least 3 types of meat to chose from, as well as different pasta, pizza, veg, and always 2 types of potato food, 1 always being chips.

The actual restaurant is quite small, and being a couple we had to table share with others which is fine when both parties spoke the same language.

Our dinner and breakfast times were limited to an hour for both, 9-10am for breakfast and 8-9pm for dinner, this as we found out was due to the table having 4 seats, but needed to be shared by 3 couples which after the first few days began to work out well.

The entertainment in the hotel would be for you if you are willing to go and play tennis or basketball in the boiling heat during the afternoon.

The activities are always repeated, no new events are put on during the day. Night time entertainment leaves a bit to be desired. We sat for 2 performances, 1 being a Midnight Fantasy Show, and a Flamenco Show, of which we left half way through - not very interesting or entertaining at all.

The main entertainer tried his hardest to keep people amused all day long, but lacked the boost people needed to get off their sun beds and take part.

Thomson excursions were expensive, during the week stay we only went on the Lazy Dayz Cruise which was well worth the money we paid.

The guide and crew did everything to make you feel welcome which made for an enjoyable day. There is not much to do around the hotel, if you want to go on the cheap, but if you are willing to pay for things, then I am sure you will find alot here.

Don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Lauren Davies
9 years 7 months ago
Had a fantastic time! mostly due to the wonderful staff who made us welcome and kept us entertained with their comedy dancing! Big thanks to Valentine, Toni, Oscar and Isabelle.

Food was always good, nice selection and well cooked.

Cleaners did a brilliant job too.

I'll definitely be going again!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices