Image of Grupotel Amapola Hotel

Grupotel Amapola Hotel

45 of 52 hotels in Alcudia

3 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars
Urb. Las Gaviotas s/n, 07458 Puerto de Alcudia. Mallorca, Spain

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
J Craig
11 years 5 months ago
Clean, well furnished hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
J. Craig
11 years 5 months ago
This hotel is well maintained with spectactular views if your room overlooks the lake.

We had no problem with mosquitoes (never saw one).

The food was good and well presented with plenty of choice.

Sun loungers, tennis courts, and the use of a pedal boat were all free.

Entertainment programme catered for all ages from minclub to watergames and activities.

Although situated a few miles ouside the centre of Alcudia the taxi's were cheap and we used them as our form of transport rather than the overpacked buses.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
B Raven
11 years 5 months ago
Stayed All inclusive for 1 week--5 of us in party.

Mainly German based , but did not stop us having a very good holiday. One of the best 3 star hotels we have stayed in.

Hotel very clean and tidy, all rooms cleaned daily and towels changed daily(if you wanted them changing).

Maids were very good, always friendly and smiling and saying Ola every day.

Food was very good, lots to choose from, and in different languages so you knew what you getting, (they do a lot of pork and veal, but it is really good).

Located just off the main road (very busy if you know that road) there is not much traffic going by, with several shops nearby, or more along the main road.

Try one of the buses only costs 1 euro to go into Alcudia, you will be amazed how many people can get onto a bus !!

The staff we found very friendly, helpful, and always smiling, did not have to queue for drinks at anytime, and in the afternoons they always cut several cakes, and everyone helped themselves.

Entertainment is the usual, kids early with disco, then the entertainment team try their best, but it is unfortunatly mained geared to the german guests, so it is a bit of struggle to understand what is going on all the time, but they are gradually finding more British families are going there, and starting to speak English a little bit more.

All in all, would recommend this hotel to anyone, just enough of everything to keep everyone happy, and if you want to venture out, 10 mins away is the main road with plenty of bars and restaurants .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Barry 52, Sharon 47, Jo 23. Kirsty 19. Carl 19
11 years 5 months ago
Not many reviews about this hotel so did not know what to expect.

We had a cheap late deal,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Smith
11 years 5 months ago
The All Inclusive deal was good value for money we ate at the hotel the majority of the trip but towards the end of the holiday the food became a little repetitive.

Entertainment at the hotel was quite bad and the advertised mini disco was a 15 minute CD for the children to dance to.

The staff were all really nice apart from the male receptionist who worked evenings that had no customer care skills at all and was rude to us during our whole stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Denning
12 years 4 months ago
The hotel is very clean. We never actually saw anyone cleaning the foyer or reception area but nevertheless these areas were always spotless. The bar and pool area was always well maintained. The maids changed your hand and bath towels daily if you requested this but are far as we could tell, the bedding was only changed once during our two week stay. However as we were showering twice a day we did not find this to be a problem.

The food was ok and there was always plenty to choose from. However as most of the guests were German, the food was mainly geared towards the more continental taste. Sardines and Gherkins were not our taste for breakfast but there were alternatives such as toast and cerial. However we did find that the cerial was a bit soggy as it was left in open containers. Our four year old ended up having beans on toast every day. The variety did give us the opportunity to try food that we would not ordinarily attempt such as Quaile and the local variety of fish (although I have no idea what it was). Most of the food was labelled so you knew what it was but there was the odd occasion when the only way to find out what it was, was to try it (well that was an experience in itself). The deserts were mouthwatering, from fresh fruit to gateaux and ice cream. All in all the food was always plentiful, fresh, always replenished and hot but we did notice on the odd occasion that there appeared to blood coming out of a Chicken portion that had supposidly been cooked so we steered well clear of that.

The location of the hotel was really good. We have visited Alcudia twice before so we knew where the hotel was before we booked it. It takes about 5-10 minutes to walk from the hotel to the beach (depending on how fast you walk), which is not too bad but I think it's a little further than the 500 metres stated in the brochure. In the afternoon when you are coming back the distance feels twice as much though because if like us you had blazing hot sunshine everyday (no complaints there) it can be a bit tiring walking back with two airbeds, a bucket and spade, three towels, sunlotion and all the other stuff you have to take when you have kids. There is a public park (kids playgound) right next door to the hotel which was great. Also just across from the park was the "Cheers" bar. This discribes it'self as a family fun pub and it was just that. We ended up in there most nights and both our four year old and us had a great time. Next door to the Cheers bar there is a Spar shop which is reasonably priced. Just across the road there is "Pony Land". For 4 Euros your child can pick one of 7 horses and have a bit of a ride around an enclosed track area. This was always busy and very popular with our son. There is a bus stop just down the road which is really cheap giving access to Puerto Alcudia and C'an Picafort or even Palma if you fancy a 2 hour bus journey. Ideally I would have liked a hotel nearer to the beach but on balance the distance wasn't really a problem and you did get used to the walk.

The hotel staff on balance were good. The restaurant staff were brilliant and worked so hard. During breakfast and the evening meal they never stopped clearing tables, replenshing food and bringing drinks on request. In particular the restaurant manager could not do enough for you. We did find the reception staff a little standoffish. They were very efficient but seemed to have no time for the English speaking guests. On the couple of occasions we changed a travellers cheques at reception we fond the money more or less thrown across the desk at us. There was never any eye contact and they appeared to want to get rid of you as soon as they could. The staff were fluent in German and although could speak better English than we could speak Spanish, didn't really appear to give any time to anyone other than the German guests for whom they seemed to go the extra mile. The same could be said of the bar staff. All of the German guests were all inclusive but we were half board. This meant that in the evening we had to pay for our drinks. This seemed to be a real strain for them to have to take money and give you change. It didn't really bother us though cause we went out every night.

The entertainment in our opionion was not really very good. There was only professional entertainment twice a week in the evening and again was really geared toward the German clientele. There was a kids disco (if you could call it that) at about 8.30pm. This really only consisted of a woman (who seemed to have endless energy) jumping up a down at the edge of the swimming pool infront of a row of rather bemused kids to "Bob the Builder". Even our four year old said it was rubbish. During the morning there was aqua aerobics (not our cup of tea 10 minutes after breakfast). One day we went out for the day rather than going to the beach, when we returned to the hotel at about 3.30 in the afternoon our son asked us to take him into the pool for a swim. However when we got to the pool there was a rather energetic game of water polo (which apparently occurred every day) taking place right in the shallow end where he wanted to swim. The splash pool was not deep enough to swim as he kept banging his knees on the bottom so the only althernative was to go in the 2 metre depth of water. We wern't very happy as our son can't swim and when he did attempt to with his arm bands a dirty great big ball came whizzing past his head. In the end we gave up and promised him a trip to the beach the next day. That was the one and only visit to the pool during our stay. Although some of our comments sound negative we believe a holiday is what you make of it and the most important things to us are cleanliness, peace and quiet when you want to sleep and a decent base, all of which is provided by the Amapola. For the right price we would return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
M Guy
13 years 3 months ago
My daughter Grandson and I stayed at the Amapola last September, It is a very nice hotel well appointed and clean, the food was quite good but a bit samey they had a tendency to put pork on everyday ,The entertainment crew were very good, only thing about the area is there are midgies about probably owing to a nearby swamp but we were warned abour this and took a plug in midge killer with us so we wern't bothered by them,
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Thomas
13 years 4 months ago
It's me. The fussy eater again. The restaurant was not necessarily my "cup of tea" but it was nice and clean with a wide selection of food.

The Hotel area was generally pretty well kept and the cleanliness of the rooms was fairly good. Towels and bedding were changed regularly but the floors in the rooms were not cleaned (mopped) thoroughly enough for my liking though.

As other reviewers have stated, the location is not the best. I am disabled and the walk to the beach in that heat was almost impossible. TAXI !! The was a decent supermarket close by, a couple of "okay" eating places and Cheers bar, which was very good. Everything else, was quite a walk away, over the bridge ...

Access (please all state your opinions of this) around the hotel was very good for disabled people. The only problem was entering the hotel in the first place ... there were about five/six steps with no handrail and a wheelchair slope that must have been 1:6 gradient. A complete joke. Once inside though, EVERYTHING else was fine.

The pool area was small but it is quite a small hotel, so never too crowded and we went peak season. It was always clean during my stay.

We had no problems with the staff, other than the fact that not all the staff were fluent in English. This hotel was mixed in the nationality of it's clientele but a damn sight better that the nearby Lagotel, which is BRITS only. Generally, the Lagotel Reception Staff were fine and the Bar Staff even better.

The Entertainment Staff were DION and DIANA (from Holland), who did their very best at all times. Some shows were better than others but that is to be expected. They play water polo each day (as stated elsewhere) but that only lasts a short time, so to me, it was no problem. They did bring in professional acts a couple of times, one was good, one wasn't.

I WOULD recommend this hotel bearing in mind all of the above. Particularly good for people who like to remain within the confines of the hotel for a nice lazy week. The only real problem for me was the lack of bars, restaurants & shops in the immediate area and the distance to the beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mr & Mrs S
13 years 6 months ago
Awful location - miles from the centre of Alcudia. Broken glass, patio chairs, fence to the lake and dirty/broken playground equipment.

In brochure advertised childrens menu - however found bones in fish fingers and chicken nuggets, hardly suitable for children!! We spent money eating elsewhere.

Adults food and TV channels aimed at German visitors.

Midges would bite as soon as you walk out of the doors, due to the lake/swamp being so close to the hotel. My husband and son we bitten so bad it caused swellings.

Entertainment - Men dressed as women and miming to tracks. A juggler who could not juggle.

We wrote to complain to the travel agent and was awarded only
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices