Image of HSM President Hotel

HSM President Hotel

37 of 52 hotels in Alcudia

4 out of 5 from 28 reviews
3 stars
Camí de l'Alcanada, 65, 07408 Bahía de Alcúdia, Spain

28 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Michelle
9 years 2 months ago
We arrived at the President at 1am. The greeting was very friendly and we were provided with a meal and refreshments. We were a little apprehensive after reading all the negative reviews but could not believe what we got. The rooms are cleaned every day and have flat screen tv (bbc1 and sky news)hairdryer and plenty of towels, there are five pools in total all on different levels with the childrens pool being at the top near the bar and indoor pool. The views from the pools are to die for . The food is very varied and tasty. The entertainment is ok but we only watched once mainly for children. The staff are very friendly and always helpful. Aucanada is very quiet ideal for couples and familys who dont like all the hustle and bustle.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ian Trace And Ben
10 years 2 months ago
We stopped at this hotel in July 2006 after stopping in the same hotel in 2003 we found that the hotel had been completely renovated with air con in the rooms and rooms being totally being refurbished.

The food was nice.

Pool areas were kept clean and tidy and would definitely return to this hotel.

Only thing was the entertainment was poor so we went into Alcudia at night but they did try hard the staff did.

Weather was brill not a cloud all week very hot 34 degrees at 9 o'clock at night
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mr & Mrs Fawcett
11 years 1 month ago
Warning!!! if you like to eat the same food every day and every meal time this hotel is for you.

I can honestly say this is the most terrible a/i hotel we have ever stayed in and would advise you all to stay away unless you are German or Spanish as they seemed to cater more for these than the English. Where food is concerned,the snack bar if you can call it that, was leftovers from the previous meal there was never anything cooked fresh or to order and most of the time it was cold the beer was lousy and you can only order one small plastic cup full at a time.

The entertainment was rubbish,we played cards every night apart from when we made our own way down to the port and being in such a secluded area could have been a lot better. I would advise all that have already booked this hotel to take their driving licence and hire a car as this is a must.

The pools were on four different levels and the kids pool was the top level superb designing (not)as you had to walk down three flights of steps to get to the toilet and bar. The sunbeds were padlocked until 9.00am and you had to queue to get one "oh" and be warned if your at the back of the queue you are taking your life into your own hands as fights broke out on two occasions between two women over the last two sunbeds (and no I am not kidding).

In a nutshell I would never return to this hotel, I would rather stay in a tent although the one good thing I can say is that the hotel is spotless and the staff are very pleasant.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Martin Lee
11 years 1 month ago
Well after reading previous reports on this hotel we were slightly worried, but we all decided to make the best of whatever we found.

Upon arriving we checked in straight away but there was only 1 of our rooms ready but our friends only had to wait about 30 mins before theirs were available.

The rooms themselves are very small and basic and not airconditioned (we hired fans from reception at 3 euros per day, A MUST!) but they were kept tidy everyday by the maids.

After settling in we had a wander around the hotel and found the 3 pools and also a kiddies pool which my 2 year old loved.

The hotel is situated on the side of a hill so there are a lot of steps and stairs to climb which may be something to consider if you or any of your party has walking difficulties.

There is a lovely little beach across the road and the views are stunning.

The food was fine and although this isnt the Ritz there was always something to eat, however the "snacks" need some imagination put into them as they were very repetative.

Oh, just a warning if you do like a sunbed around the pool area, take an alarm clock and set it for 8.30ish which will give you time to be down at the pool for the unchaining ceremony at 9.00am!

Finally, this isnt a bad place to stay, if a little isolated but we did have hire cars. Although I did push my son Adam in his buggy down to the harbour a couple of times that week which only took about 25 mins and wasnt that bad of a walk.

We did hear that the President is going to be refurbished this winter so if you do go ther next year it may have improved even more. But if you do expect 5* treatment when you travel this probably isnt the place for you and you should look elsewhere!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Hughes Family
11 years 1 month ago
Our stay in 2005 was our second at the Hotel President, we all found it clean friendly, and above all really relaxing. Probably because you are far enough away from the main resort of Alcudia to just kick back and chill.

Our two children aged thirteen and eleven at the time enjoyed fishing, snorkeling and swimming for the most part, and my husband and I did much the same.

We didn't take in the entertainment in the evening often, but spent our time playing table games and just being with each other. If we went out in the evening we would just catch the bus to Alcudia and enjoy a bit of night life there, and then get a taxi home. There are numerous pubs and bars in alcudia, something for everyone I would have thought.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gleesons
11 years 2 months ago
The President hotel is not actually in Alcudia, but Alcanada which is approx 2km from the marina in Alcudia.

The hotel is set in a residential area overlooking the sea, it has a small beach at the front of the hotel, which has a beach bar, this is not part of the hotel complex.

The hotel is immaculate, rooms were on the small side, but very clean, the bathrooms were fine with great showers.

We had a lovely balcony overlooking the pools and the sea.

The hotel has a large air con inside bar, and a large entertainment area outside with stage and bar.

The evening entertainment takes place outside. The outside bar was not open during the day until the day before we left, which was a pain. The bar service was always speedy with no queues.

The entertainment was pretty standard as with all AI hotels I have experienced. Kicking of with a kids disco then bingo then a show, their was a 70's Show one night which was very good, and the entertainment team did a music through the ages show which was excellent.

The hotel is built into a hillside, and there are a lot of steps, this could be difficult for anyone with mobility problems or very young children.

The hotel has 4 Pools, a small children's pool which is very shallow, then three big pools, beware the big pools are deep at 2m 2, 1m 10 and 1m 11, they didn't get too crowded and were unheated, which was welcome in the heat.

Sunbeds were plentiful and unlocked at 9am, you did have to be up early if you wanted a shade as these were in short supply.

The food at the hotel was the biggest let down, the restaurant is immaculate and staff are very attentive, however the food leaves a lot to be desired. We are not picky eaters but during our stay, we were served sour sausages at breakfast, when we complained they were not removed, we also had sour beef off the cold buffet. The breakfasts were poor with hot dog sausages, some days bacon some days slices of fried Ham! There was always cereal and fruit so you won't starve. Lunches were generally Ok, though a choice of more than 1 veg would be appreciated. The evening meals were the worst, pig livers and rabbit stew were on twice, along with greasy trout and the veg choice was sprouts! There was a lot of veal with the same veal stew on for 3 meals, we did always find something to eat, but if you are a fussy eater beware!

We ate out in Alcudia on 3 evenings where you can get great meals at excellent prices. The snacks are a joke, left over food served from the restaurant, dried up pizza and cold chips!

The hotel is a 20 minute walk into the marina end Of Alcudia though it is hard going in the heat! The hotel runs a courtesy bus every evening from 7.30pm, the public bus stop is just outside the hotel and costs 1 Euro, A taxi into the marina area costs 5 Euro, and 7 Euro into the main Alcudia strip area, taxis are plentiful.

The hotel rooms do not have air con so either pack a fan, or hire one from Reception at 3 Euro per day.

All in all we had a lovely holiday at the President, if they could sort out the food it would be a great AI hotel, if you want a holiday away from it all this is a great hotel. It is in a lovely location away from the hustle and bustle of the main resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Steven Jones
11 years 2 months ago
Although the staff were very good, we were on the 6th floor and we spent half the time having to use the stairs because the lifts which went up to that floor weren't working all the time.

The balcony door didn't lock even though they knew we had a 2 year old. The door leading to the hall didn't lock either. On every floor they had guards on the balcony except on the 6th floor.

The food was pretty much the same every day. My 5 year old son had pizza and chips for 5 days for lunch and dinner because there wasn't anything else to have.

There was no entertainment in the day for our younger children, aged 2 4 and 5. they spent most of the time by the pool and after a couple of days they were bored. they do have 2 small parks with swings and a slide but because they are not shaded they couldn't play on them because it was too hot.

Overall I would say we were disappointed with the holiday and its rating of a 3 star hotel is a little optomistic.

Maybe a very good holiday for families with older children but we won't be going there again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Pamela
11 years 2 months ago
This was our 1st All-inclusive type holiday and we were quite disappointed with a few aspects of the holiday.

The hotel was very clean and the rooms were cleaned daily, the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room had 4 beds and was just too small considering our children are now 13 and 11. We had to hire a fan as the heat was unbelievable in the room, but we were informed on our departure that they hotel planned to install air conditioning into all its bedrooms later this year, which will be great.

It didn't bother us in the slightest that the hotel was outside the main resort as its nice to get away from the busy hustle and bustle. The beach in front of the hotel was busy but clean and safe.

There was not a chance of a sunbed at the pool due to the queues in the morning and so we missed out totally on the daytime entertainment.

We ended up eating out in Alcudia for 5 nights due to the repetition of the food which seemed less appealing each time, too much pork, veal and fish. Breakfast and lunch were tolerable. Due to eating out in the evening we missed out on the evening entertainment as well and use of the bar, so the full benefit of the all inclusive was definitely not achieved.

We will definitely return to Alcudia but definitely not this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Susanne
11 years 2 months ago
I have just returned from this hotel today and can say it was the most boring holiday Ii have ever had.

The food was boring the same more or less every night my little girl who is 7 seemed to live on chips all the time as the other food she did not like.

The shows at night were really boring as there was no tv in the rooms you had to come down as there was nothing else to do. The room we had stayed in was not swept or mopped even though we complained at the reception.

I can say for sure I would never go back and I feel like I need another holiday to get over this one, if you are thinking of booking or have done change it as I know this will be a waste of your money!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Catherine
12 years ago
We've just returned from a week at the President Hotel, and I can honestly say that we were very sad to leave - my 2 children (ages 7 & 4) cried on the aeroplane back home!

The Hotel itself was lovely - I have to admit to being a bit anxious as I had read some rather dubious reports, but we really needn't have worried.

It is a little bit out of the way, if you want to walk into the centre of Alcudia it would probably take about 20-30 minutes (that's only a guess as we didn't walk into Alcudia). However, buses are regular and cheap (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices