Image of Rio Mar Aparthotel

Rio Mar Aparthotel

43 of 52 hotels in Alcudia

3 out of 5 from 11 reviews
3 stars
07440 Alcudia/Mallorca, Spain

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
A. Reid
9 years 3 months ago
The hotel was clean enough,food just okay.Location just okay, staff seamed friendly But Beware!!!!

We were on second floor and had our camcorder plus charger stolen from room,no forced entry!

The manager told me all exept one maid had worked ther for 20 years and guess what the one that had been there for one year cleaned our floor.

Would not go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Danzel
10 years ago
As soon as me and my boyfriend got there we realised we didn't like it. Hotel was clean but it wasn't for us.

The entertainment was poor and it was the same thing most nights, good to get to the beach but unless you enjoy going the spar there is nothing else you can do :( It wasnt just the hotel is was the whole place we didn't enjoy.

Alcudia is best suited to older couples who want a quiet holiday and to go for meals. I wouldn't even say there was alot for children to do.

The hotel did offer alot of different things but none appealed to us.

The airconditioning however was excellent at times we were even cold it was that powerful.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Dawn
10 years 1 month ago
We had a lovely stay in this hotel. It was clean, the staff were spot on and the entertainment (when we went) was good. our two children loved the pool, they were safe, with a life guard sat nearby.

Playa de Muro was great for us as a family. The bars and restaurants were all very welcoming towards our children. we had some beautiful meal, even the snacks at the hotel were really good.

Although I can appreciate that this resort isn't for everyone it is in a fabulous location, sandwiched between Alcudia and c'an picafort, which both appear to be much livelier.

The beach here is beautiful, with plenty going on. However the beach extends so far in either direction it doesn't seem overcrowded.

The only downside to this excellent place is the mosquito's, I got 23 bites in the first three days, then the receptionist advised me to buy AUTAN (you can buy it in England). After using Autan I didn't get any bites. PLEASE DON'T BE PUT OFF BY THE MOSSI'S, you'll miss out if you let them sway you.

So to conclude, lovely place, very friendly people, there is plenty to do- as just look for it.

The Riomar is a great base to enjoy Playa de Muro- I'd recommend it to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 2 months ago
This is a typical 3* spanish hotel. Nothing really great to say, nothing really bad. I'll try and summarise our thoughts on the Riomar in a few sentences:

The Room - We had a 1 bed apartment. Adequate, although a little small. Not really enough room for a family of 4, particularly on the wardrobe front. The TV shows only a couple of English news channels. Kitchen area is basic but okay for preparing light meals. We had a small infestation of Ants, for which the maid left us some Ant spray to deal with ourselves. Not really as bad as it sounds to be honest.

The Pool area - nice pool, although quite small. Got nice and warm by lunchtime though. Lifeguard on duty all day. Pool area does get a little crowded with an insufficent numbers of sunbeds for size of hotel (get down with your towels early!). The pool area does have a lot of big palm trees around and so does have quite a few shady areas throughout the day, which was quite nice in the middle of July.

Food - we went self catering, although the hotel does do HB and AI. Our German neighbours outnumbered the English guests and they all seemed to be All Inclusive (recognisable by their blue wristbands). We ate at the snack bar for lunch a couple of times and this was okay. Otherwise there are plenty of restaurants within a 10 minute walk for you to choose from. Avoid the George and Dragon (close to the Hotel), but try Pepe's, Martins and Napoles (all next door to each other), just off the main road - about a 10 minute walk away.

Entertainment - kids clubs (day & night) for the young uns daily. We never sampled the evening entertainment, but came back early on a couple of nights - usual hotel-based animation team doing quizzes, fun nights etc.. I think there were a couple of acts on during the week we stayed, from what I heard they weren't particularly good.

Locality - the Riomar is just off the main road so is nice and quiet. About 10 minutes from a good set of restaurants and bars. Bus stop to Alcudia a couple of minutes away (about 20-25 mins by bus into Alcudia). Oh and only 5 mions from the glorious beach!

All in all we had a good time at the Riomar. You get what you pay for, I have stayed in better 3* hotels to be honest, but a lot worse as well!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Joanne
12 years 2 months ago
The hotel was very well maintained and the cleaners came every day to our room. The pool area was also kept very clean although it could not really accomodate all of the children and thier floats!

Staff were always friendly and attentive to all our needs and could do almost anything. The hotel bar stayed open till a resonable time and had a great choice of drinks. The hotel also had a great entertainment team, with activities for all ages going on through out the day, there was also internet access in the lobby.

The location was excellent, a three minute walk from the beach and only ten or fifteen from all the bars and restaurants. If you wanted to go further afield the bus stop is a minute walk from the hotel. All in all very pleased!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Becky Anne
12 years 8 months ago
We visited in Oct 03. The hotel seemed to be very clean. The entertainment was very poor although this could be because of the time of year. Having said that the kids seemed to enjoy themselves. I didn't enjoy the hotel food very much but there were some wonderful restaurants just round the corner. There was one particular chinese not far from the hotel who gave the children little toys and lollypops after our meal which was very pleasant. The beach was nice and sunny, although one of the little ones accidently took in a mouthful of the seawater and got very sick for a few days so be warned! We didn't see any mosquitos and the weather was very pleasent. The ground floor can be very noisy at night so be warned. Also the 3rd floor flooded once whilst we were there and some of my friends staying up there woke up to water seeping under the doors into they're room. I didn't find the staff friendly at all, but it was nearly the end of the season.
Lynne English
13 years 1 month ago
The Riomar, Alcudia, the 1st time stayed at this hotel, and would definitely return.

The location to the surrounding amenities was brilliant, beach just across the road, supermarkets (3) same, and all the bars/shops minutes down the road.

The staff and entertainment 1st class.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Davies4
14 years 1 month ago
Visited this hotel on 30th of July 2002 for two weeks.I went on hols with my husband and two children and our friends and their two children. We all had a great time and thought the hotel was very nice. It was a lot nicer than some people have said on this site.I couldn't find anything wrong with it.The rooms are big enough and are cleaned daily by very pleasant staff.The bar staff are very helpful and were always very good with the children.The animacion staff,Stefan and Elsa were lovely and my children were sad to say goodbye to them.Entertainment was good and kept you laughing most nights.The pool was cold but that was because the sun was hot,it soon warmed up when you were in and you were glad of something to cool you down.We were self catering so did not eat at hotel buffet at night.We some times had dinner at hotel bar which was very nice the food was very good and cheap.We did go out some nights but found this to be quite expensive every night the pubs we did eat at were Swan and Robin Hood both of which were very nice.We did not go on excursions but hired a car ourselves,we visited Marineland which is well worth a visit.my children loved the dolphin show.My children loved this holiday and said it was the best hotel that we had been,they met lots of new friends who they will be writing to.I would definately visit this hotel again.Don't forget your bug balls and insect repellant because we saw a few people with bitten legs although we did not get one bite(and didn't even see any mosquitos.)Dont let anyone put you off this hotel it was WONDERFUL.
Glitterbabe
14 years 1 month ago
I am 15 years old and i went to the riomar apartments in 2000.This was defenetly the BEST holiday EVA!!! the apartments were big and the rooms were nice, i made alot of friends and there was alot to do.The pool is cold at first but you can jion in with games and activitys.Even for adults theres games and entertainment, including poolside games with prizes, our enertainment girl was fab her name was Gemma, so if any one meets her she will make your holiday ALOT better.Pool table and table tennis is cheap also teddy crane.Therew is something for all ages.Very close to beach and shops and resteronts.Best time to go is in augast because theres not many mosquetoes and is just hot enuff to get a good tan! ITS A MUST DO. I ADIVISE YOU TO GO!!!
- Hammo
14 years 3 months ago
Visited early June 2002. Disappointed with the room. We stayed on the third floor. The patio doors would not close properly, the fixtures and fittings were dated and ants were preverlant in the room and balcony. The kitchen area was cramped and the TV in the room received only pointless english speaking channels (like CNN and eurosport) which doesn't offer much attraction to the kids.
The staff and entertainers were good, and always ready to help. Do be aware of the mosquitos and try to locate the main supermarket as soon as possible. The so called "supermarkets" located close to the apartments were convenient, but their prices were grossly over-inflated (ie bottled water 1.2 + euros in local store, 25 cents in main supermarket.
In short it was an OK holiday, but we don't plan to return.

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices