Image of Club Tonga Hotel

Club Tonga Hotel

11 of 20 hotels in Can Picafort

4 out of 5 from 71 reviews
3 stars
Crta Alcudia Arta sn, Can Picafort, 07458 Can Picafort Mallorca, Spain

71 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    22
  • Very Good
    23
  • Good
    13
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Shiv
Great hotel, but not location
5 years 3 months ago
We have just got back from Club Tonga and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food was excellent. A huge variety and all delicious. There were people moaning about there being chips every day, but there were also different varieties of potatoes served too. The chips are for those who probably don't eat anything else. My family really enjoyed the fish - I don't like it, but they all said it tasted lovely. I honestly cannot fault the food at all.

The cleanliness of the hotel was OK. Our bath wasn't particularly clean but we only had showers so it didn't matter really. The rest of the hotel was OK.

The staff in the dining room were very friendly and helpful. The bar staff weren't bad, but they didn't seem to want to be there. They didn't really smile very much and everything seemed an effort. It was the last week of the season so maybe they'd had enough. No excuse though.

The entertainment was great; there was something to do every hour, including pistol shooting, archery and other games. We didn't join in with these but this was personal choice. We just prefer to sit by the pool and chat. There was a mini disco for the children in the evening and entertainment later on. There was also bingo every night for a charge.

I have said that we wouldn't visit this hotel again, but not because of the hotel itself. We weren't really keen on Can Picafort so it's for this reason we wouldn't visit again. If the hotel was somewhere else then I would definitely recommend it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
John Hughes
nice and friendly
5 years 4 months ago
Don't know what's wrong with people making such a big deal with this hotel! The wife and I stayed here and we had a great time, I agree some of the staff can be a bit rude at time's but besides that every think was OK, food was good always found a table, lift's were a pain to small, entertainment was good they worked hard to keep you happy,and have a laugh.

Overall we are going again, taking my daughter and grandkids in 2014.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
T. Murphy
Very noisy
6 years 4 months ago
Hotel typical of all inclusive hotels, very busy very noisy. Room was cleaned daily. Hotel food average for all inclusive. Restaurant staff always under pressure.

Bar staff didn't seem as if they wanted to be there, serving customers is not what they do well. Long walk to the beach but hotel can't be moved.

Entertainment average for all inclusive. This was our second visit don't think we will be going back. You get what you pay for.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Lorraine McCord
6 years 5 months ago
Hotel well positioned lovely garden setting Food ok variety of meats could have been better Staff in restaurant really rude pushed past you all the time would knock you down if in their way Lifts a total nightmare we were on 13th floor so had to use them Rooms cleaned daily and towels changed all in all good value for money
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
A.canterbury
6 years 5 months ago
never been all inclusive before and had a realistic expectation of what quality and standard we would receve but was absolutly horrifed at the standard we did endure!! whilst staff were mostly very rude and un-helpfull we didnt hold them responsible as they were clearly over worked and understaffed, we were on a 10 day holiday and by day 5 , we had all but given up any attempt to eat at tonga, the dinning room , was a daily mission we just couldnt take , dreadfull food, day in day out( soup was nice and everyday, and ice cream ..just about ok, as was the salad, forget the rest!! bacon was spanish streaky, and most days looked raw,and well thats if you managed to find a table, and if you did , the heat of the dinnig room was unbareable....do not ever consider going to club tonga ....ever, go some where else , the spirits were local, which is fine , but they were low alcohol, 29% vodka, ( in the local shop for 3.50 euro per ltr)thhis hotel was a complete ripe off, the resort was betutiful with plenty to do especially the beach, (which is a good walk from tonga) Iv been on plenty of low bbudget holiday but this was the worst value for money iv ever had, we ened up paying much more as we had to eat out most of the time, I beleive the management are fully aware of the standfard they offer but once they have your cash they simply dont care how you feel or what they deliver, the lifts are a joke , i always did the stairs, i just gave up!! but that didnt help with the babys pram or my mother who simly couldnt do the 14 flights of stairs, if its value for money you want do not go to tonga!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Lee Warwick
6 years 5 months ago
The hotel was clean and tidy,never used the lifts because we were lucky to be on the 3rd floor,but there was all ways big ques for them.The food was ok but nothing to shout about,i had to clear a table in the dinning area everytime we ate and yes the dinning staff are very rude.The entertainment was absoultley shocking,stick in the hole was about as exciting as it got.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Willis Family
6 years 6 months ago
We booked through thomas cook and were a little unsure how things were going to be after reading a few reviews on these web sites.
However he had a great time the Kids club was realy good our little girl loved joining in, and realy enjoyed the mini disco every evening.
You are restricted to two drinks per person at the bar but this did not cause to much bother at the time we traveled.
Our main problem's were the Lifts there is 4 for use by the guests and you can wait quite some time for a lift to arrive, but on a few occasions people were pushing in the get into the lift before you.
This was mainly the German Guests I Guess, However this happend one night as the lift arrived two Germans jumped in before the four of us could get in even though the lift could easly hold 6 people. They were on floor 14 we were on floor 7 so we decided to press buttons 8,9,10,11,12,13 while we were traveling to our floor, and as they were in so much of a hurry to get into the lift they were stood at the back and could not see the pannel so when we got out they will have had a nice little supprise..... Nice One.

The only other Problem was in the dinning room the staff had many of the tables closed off so it was sometimes difficult to get a table straight away more so for a group of 6.

But overall this was a good holiday good hotel good location and a great time had by all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Donna
6 years 7 months ago
Hotel areas all keep spotlessly clean. Pool area fairly small so have to be quick if you want a sunbed. Gardens kept lovely. Pools clean and warm. Bedrooms basic but clean. Towels changed daily, bed linen weekly. Food always fresh and hot, but limited choice and only one meat laid on per day. Breakfasts lovely. Bar staff were rude on occassions, but they are so pushed who can blame them. 2 drinks per person, served in tiny plastic cups until 8pm which is madness. Queues to the bar were long and we had to wait upto 10 mins on some evenings. More staff needed! Kids entertainment seemed ok, but evening entertainment was awful. Do yourself a favour and give it a miss. Go to the bars along the front and watch the street entertainers-much better. Can picafort lovely town with plenty to do. Would go back to the town, but definately not this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Chris
7 years 2 months ago
Clean Hotel with relaxed atmosphere. Standing in line for 10/15 minutes at the bar isn't great, but it wasn't every night and if you keep your eyes open and make a mad dash at the right time then the queue was ok.
Food is not 5 star, but I didn't pay for 5 star. We all found something at each meal, truth is we found plenty and ate far too much! Good breakfast (with toasters that worked) lunch and evening meal as you would expect from a 3 star all inc. If you wont try anything new then it will be a bit repetative, but salads galore, chicken, lamb and pork and of course fish, you will find something to eat. The bread is lovely, as is the butter.
Entertainment staff are wonderful and work their socks off. The bar staff arn't the jolliest but saying that they work very hard, non stop and it must be trying sometimes. I would visit here again as it was ideal for my family.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lilian Thompson
7 years 2 months ago
This was my first experience of all inclusive and I would be apprehensive about doing it again. When checking in no information about safes etc is given you have to ask about everything. All things have to be hired and this even means the remote for the TV.
My room was never cleaned in the seven days i stayed there but the towels were changed everyday even though it wasn't necessary. My bed was never changed. Public areas could have been better. I will say that the pools were very clean but the water temperature made it impossible for anyone to go in them. The area surrounding the pools is very nice with some grassed areas and trees. Outside plastic furniture was very dirty and my balcony table and chairs were black with dirt, i had to clean the chair myself before I could sit down.
Food was very poor and it was a case of chips with everthing, the meat was poor quality and only twice in the week it was edible. Breakfast was the same everyday only the cold meat changed now and again. I have stayed in 3 star hotels before and the food has been excellent so I wasn't worried before I went that this would be a problem. Snacks were served in the middle of the day but this was from a booth where the staff could not understand the basic orders so the likes of a toasted ham sandwich would alwys come with cheese in it. The portions were miniscule and only the pizza had a decent taste, there were lumps in the burger, ugh.
The hotel is situated in not too bad a place but anyone on their own may find it a bit daunting as the path up to it was poorly lit and quite secluded. Maybe it was the time of year when most places are closing down so there wasn't the people around as maybe in busier times.
The only staff you see with a mile on their faces are the reception staff. Bar staff are quite surly but they are overworked so that's maybe why. There was a greeting from the maid in the morning but her cleaning methods leave alot to be desired.
Entertainment, mm what entertainment? We had 2 days of torrential rain but there was nothing at all for the children to do. At one of the games through the day on one of the rainy days we asked if my grand daughter could take part but we were told in no uncertain terms that this was for adults only, a ball had to be thrown at a target and the nearset one won? A lot of the activities for the children cost money which can work out expensive if they want to do things every day.Nights were painful to listen to and we went into town for a few of the nights.
I wouldn't go to this hotel again and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: