13 independent reviews of the Son Bou Gardens Apartments
Address: Son Bou, Carretera Alaior-cala'n Porter, KM 0,700, 07730 Alaior (Menorca), Spain
Son Bou Gardens Apartments
Son Bou Gardens Apartments Location
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Son Bou


4/5
Son Bou Gardens Apartments Son Bou Gardens Apartments is rated 3.92 out of 5 from 13 Reviews
85% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (13 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Son Bou Gardens Apartments Reviews

4/5
4
"Good complex but in need of a refurb"
Jane visited the Son Bou Gardens Apartments, Son Bou in September 2011
We stayed in Zone 5 which is closest to the beach, over looking the bar and swimming pool area, although there is another 2 bars and swimming pools further down the complex.

This is our second stay in this complex, the first being exactly 10 years ago and we were only a few apartments away from were we stayed the first time.

There is a Thomas Train that runs around Son Bou and takes you close to the beach but would be expensive for a family to use every day, great for a one off around Son Bou though.

The grounds of the complex and bars/pool areas are all very well maintained, (Zone 5 bar was a lot cheaper than Zone 4, not sure why?). The apartments are in blocks, well spaced out and there is plenty of room on the ...
grassed areas for the kids to play.

There is a couple of childrens play areas and a supermarket, bakery, gift shop and scuba hire shop on the complex along with a tennis court and small double water slide which is good value for money and is handy if you prefer to stay in Son Bou and don't want to hire a car.

The shopping centre has plenty of bars, restaurants (some good some bad) and shops. There is also a childrens play area with some rides, trampolines and bouncy castles that you pay to play.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday, weather was great for us, people were friendly, complex and location were great and Son Bou is a nice, clean and pleasant resort.

Bad Points:
Apartments are getting a bit tired, don't think the decor has changed in the 10 years, cooking equipment is basic and you will need matches to light the cooker.

There is no air conditioning but there are ceiling fans in each room and shutters on the windows so you can have the windows open with the shutters closed.

The supermarket on the complex is very very expensive, the rep did say that if you get a bus into town then the supermarket prices are more similar to home.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

sewell had a holiday at Son Bou Gardens Apartments, Son Bou in August 2006
We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at Son Bou gardens and would recommend this resort and the island as we had a great time.

We stayed in zone 4 just passed the water slides which was an ideal spot as it was handy for the pool and nearby facilities such as the supermarket.

We didn\'t watch much of the entertainment at the complex as we tended to walk (with pushchair)up to the centre, where the same acts appear in other bars etc.

It\'s a pleasant 10 minute walk to the centre where there is a selection of bars and restaurants, the menus are much of a muchness but there are some good meals to be had, the grills and fish are both tasty and fresh and we had a nice chinese too.

Our favourite bars were copacabano and mai-tai and for ...
cocktail lovers a visit to the Hawaiian bar is a must.

The beach is brilliant but does get a little crowded, its cheaper to buy beach mats and a parasol than to rent them if you tend to use the beach a lot.

We hired a car through the local car hire firm(near the kitcat bar)much cheaper than hiring via your rep.

Its worth getting a car for 3 days as that's enough time to see the main sites and have a mooch about.

Overall I would say it\'s not the cheapest place to holiday but everywhere seems to have gone this way in the med recently.

We would stay at the Son Bou gardens again, the interior of the apartment was looking a little dated but was functional, clean and served it\'s purpose, 8 out of 10,a great family holiday.

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Macey stayed at Son Bou Gardens Apartments, Son Bou in May 2006
We returned from a family holiday to the Son Bou gardens last month, staying for two weeks self catering.

The hotel was very clean and the apartment very spacious. We stayed in Zone 4 which was a nice walk to the resort (no more than 10 mins) and far enough away from everything not to be noisy.

The entertainment was hit and miss but we had some good nights with tribute bands. Not a great deal to do in the resort or the hotel itself, but the pools were lovely so if you are a sun lover it\'s for you. We had a lovely time and would go back, although ideally a week to 10 days would probably be ideal.

We did not hire a car as too many of us to transport around, ...
but if we went on our own we would definitely do so.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

jilland tony had a holiday at Son Bou Gardens Apartments Hotel in September 2005
We stopped in zone 3 right opposite the pool so had a seaview and was upstairs, brilliant, nice size balcony, stopped there alot and just nipped down for a dip when needed

I read a lot and husband watched what was going on and seaview as well as read and cards and get beers and coffee.

Lovely apartment, had everything ,freezer and fridge,cooker micro,iron/board,we had 2bed rooms possibly ok for 2 kiddies but used it as dressing room,no problems with the place at all no bugs sheets changed twice and towels,very happy. loved it.

A nice restaurant upstairs good food, but not enough veg, husband not stopped going on, meal was nice but he had 5 slices carrot and I had 4 ,few green beans and little mash, but my lamb was really good as was his chicken,just need more veg, downstair restaurant ...
was good as well lots of people went to eat there,we didnt do alot of the entertainment as we went out most evenings,they tried hard with it I think.

No problem with noise just people having fun in daytime, a little sill at night as pool was left open, one person was pushed in,but it did not bother us,we didnt go to find fault we went to enjoy and we did. went to the wooden maze yes just us 2 in our 50s but it was good fun and the girl there was brilliant very friendly and nice we had 3 little lads help us!!!! a laugh.

I would go back if I went back anywhere but we dont as we want to see many places as poss. great fortnight,think you need to get out and see a bit of island, as not big resorts.

We went with First Choice and was pleased with the 2 lovely reps who were helpful and chatty, and they were nice.thanks.

Reps can make or break a holiday, as can staff,but all great.

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Julie Bowyer stayed at Son Bou Gardens Apartments Hotel in September 2005
Stayed at The Girasols Gardens Apartments and were pleasantly surprised how spacious the apartment was and how well presented it was. There were plenty of facilities in the apartment including all necessary kitchen equipment. Although the apartments were situated at the far end of the resort it was a nice walk into the centre, although we did jump on the local train which ran most of the day around the resort.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Gareth stayed at Son Bou Gardens Apartments, Son Bou in September 2005
1 reader found this review helpful

On arrival I was a bit surprised by the style of the hotel set out.

This was not a bad thing just didnt expect them to be set out on rows like terrace houses. we were situated in Zone 3 and our appartment was right next to one of the pools it was ideal for a dip.

Our hotel was right near the centre which was only 3 mins walk away great location , didnt really see much of the staff there, as they seemed to zip in and out of the apartments to clean up and refresh the towels.

Entertainment was a feature for the children and they looked like they were having a great time. Overall excellent hotel, and gardens.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

harrod / Taylor / Sharpe visited the Son Bou Gardens Apartments in July 2005
We had read the reviews on this site before travelling and were a little worried about the standard of accommodation. However when we arrived at Son bou and were taken to our apartments we were pleasantly surprised.

We were in zone 3 right next to the swimming pool which totally delighted our children. The kitchen area could have been cleaned a little more thoroughly, however, 5 minutes and a dish cloth later things were fine.

The sun beds were chained on top of each other until 9.30am which was an excellent idea.

The supermarket was within easy walking distance and stocked everything we needed.

Would we go back ? yes we definitely would. A kids club would have been welcomed though! Other tour companies had one and our children wanted one too!!

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

The Hobdens had a holiday at Son Bou Gardens Apartments in September 2004
Just arrived back from Son Bou (well last night)

We checked out the comments here before we went and all seemed well

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Mr & Mrs Richfield visited the Son Bou Gardens Apartments Hotel, Son Bou, Spain in August 2004
Son Bou Garden Apartments is great accommodation for families. Apartments were spacious and very well kept and clean. We found everything we needed in the apartment for a home from home holiday. The layout of the complex is lovely, and very handy for the beach. We were thoroughly impressed by the accommodation and would recommend it without a doubt.



Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

Paula Diaz stayed at Son Bou Gardens Apartments Hotel in August 2004
I was moved to the Son Bou resort for personal reasons by the tour operator which I was very happy about as the other resort was a bit of a let down.

Well, the hotel is not as a conventional hotel as it is more like a private apartments complex so the face-to-face treatment with the staff was practicly non existent.

However it was clean and the facilities available to us were just ok.

No entertainment was available at the hotel.

Food was very much the same every where we went and very expensive since the Euro came into place in Spain. By the fourth day my budget run out and had to use my Visa card.

The location was just ok too.

I will not go back to that hotel or to Menorca for that matter.

Tour Operator: Firstchoice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Geoff visited the Son Bou Gardens Apartments Hotel in August 2004
Had the best ever sun holiday here in August 04.

The complex is well spread out but not too much as every thing is in easy reach.

Three good sized pools, great restaurants with very good food.

The entertainment was good some nights better than others but in all really good fun.

The staff were very nice especially with my two kids who at the time were 7 and 8 yrs.

There is a small games room, a play area(swings etc)a great maze which all of us had great fun in, three water slides which you had to pay a small price for but was worth it. and lots of grass and open spaces for the kids to play in.

It also has a supermarket, launderette, a cash point and plenty of parking spaces if you hire a car.

This is easy the best holiday we have had.

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

D. ANDERSON visited the Son Bou Gardens Apartments Hotel in July 2004
Instead of booking a Package Holiday to a hotel or apartment in Son Bou, we booked a self catering villa with www.son-bou.com. Jules has an excellent selection of apartments & villas throughout Son Bou & San Jaime, in a vast range of prices & sizes. It was much cheaper than booking a villa in a holiday brochure, as their are no supplements for under occupancy.
We opted for a villa with Private Pool to give us privacy and peace and quiet when we wanted it, but we were only a few minutes walk from the San Jaime Complex if we wanted to go out for a drink, dinner or the children wanted to play or swim in the communal apartment areas.
The villa was very well equipped, and offered us complete freedom and privacy. It was fantastic. Booking over the internet ...
is always a bit daunting, but Jules acts as an agent for a well established Villa Company in Menorca (used by many of the leading Tour Operators in the UK) and books the villas & apartments direct. She was fantastic, very \"hands on\", and took care of every single detail of our holiday. We arrived at the airport, were met personally by a representative of the villa company with our hire car, we had detailed directions and instructions for our arrival, which was invaluable. Everything went like clockwork! Very highly recommended!

Read More

Tour Operator: www.son-bou.com

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Mr & Mrs Hardy visited the Son Bou Gardens Apartments, Son Bou, Spain in June 2004
We stayed at Son Bou Gardens. Excellent holiday had by all. Fantastic location, 5 mins from beach and close to resort centre. Choice of 2 restaurants/bars situated within the complex providing friendly and efficient service. Each restaurant hosts nightly entertainment, one of which caters mainly for children (with children\'s mini disco) and the other mainly for the adults.

Apartments good size and good level of cleanliness, all with sea view. Some apartments are situated close to the resort centre which could prove to be a little noisy at night, however, bedrooms are situated at the back which does help!



Tour Operator: Sky Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars
Share