Image of Son Bou Gardens Apartments

Son Bou Gardens Apartments

3 of 7 hotels in Son Bou

4 out of 5 from 14 reviews
2 stars
Son Bou, Carretera Alaior-cala'n Porter, KM 0,700, 07730 Alaior (Menorca), Spain
The layout of these apartments helps create a friendly village atmosphere, and the extensive range of facilities cater for all. Located in attractive gardens within the San Jaime Complex, these apartments are very popular with families.

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Daria
Nice and quiet, great family destination
2 years 1 month ago
We have had a fantastic, problem free holidays and definitely going back next year! The apartments were really nice, well equipped and spacious. The only downfall was it is quite a long walk to the beach, about 15-20 minutes but we really enjoyed it. Fantastic views and lovely sandy beach.

A great place to go with your family for a good relaxing holiday. The resort had 4 big swimming pools and we could use any of them.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jane
Good complex but in need of a refurb
4 years 9 months ago
We stayed in Zone 5 which is closest to the beach, over looking the bar and swimming pool area, although there is another 2 bars and swimming pools further down the complex.

This is our second stay in this complex, the first being exactly 10 years ago and we were only a few apartments away from were we stayed the first time.

There is a Thomas Train that runs around Son Bou and takes you close to the beach but would be expensive for a family to use every day, great for a one off around Son Bou though.

The grounds of the complex and bars/pool areas are all very well maintained, (Zone 5 bar was a lot cheaper than Zone 4, not sure why?). The apartments are in blocks, well spaced out and there is plenty of room on the grassed areas for the kids to play.

There is a couple of childrens play areas and a supermarket, bakery, gift shop and scuba hire shop on the complex along with a tennis court and small double water slide which is good value for money and is handy if you prefer to stay in Son Bou and don't want to hire a car.

The shopping centre has plenty of bars, restaurants (some good some bad) and shops. There is also a childrens play area with some rides, trampolines and bouncy castles that you pay to play.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday, weather was great for us, people were friendly, complex and location were great and Son Bou is a nice, clean and pleasant resort.

Bad Points:
Apartments are getting a bit tired, don't think the decor has changed in the 10 years, cooking equipment is basic and you will need matches to light the cooker.

There is no air conditioning but there are ceiling fans in each room and shutters on the windows so you can have the windows open with the shutters closed.

The supermarket on the complex is very very expensive, the rep did say that if you get a bus into town then the supermarket prices are more similar to home.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sewell
9 years 9 months ago
We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at Son Bou gardens and would recommend this resort and the island as we had a great time.

We stayed in zone 4 just passed the water slides which was an ideal spot as it was handy for the pool and nearby facilities such as the supermarket.

We didn't watch much of the entertainment at the complex as we tended to walk (with pushchair)up to the centre, where the same acts appear in other bars etc.

It's a pleasant 10 minute walk to the centre where there is a selection of bars and restaurants, the menus are much of a muchness but there are some good meals to be had, the grills and fish are both tasty and fresh and we had a nice chinese too.

Our favourite bars were copacabano and mai-tai and for cocktail lovers a visit to the Hawaiian bar is a must.

The beach is brilliant but does get a little crowded, its cheaper to buy beach mats and a parasol than to rent them if you tend to use the beach a lot.

We hired a car through the local car hire firm(near the kitcat bar)much cheaper than hiring via your rep.

Its worth getting a car for 3 days as that's enough time to see the main sites and have a mooch about.

Overall I would say it's not the cheapest place to holiday but everywhere seems to have gone this way in the med recently.

We would stay at the Son Bou gardens again, the interior of the apartment was looking a little dated but was functional, clean and served it's purpose, 8 out of 10,a great family holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Macey
10 years ago
We returned from a family holiday to the Son Bou gardens last month, staying for two weeks self catering.

The hotel was very clean and the apartment very spacious. We stayed in Zone 4 which was a nice walk to the resort (no more than 10 mins) and far enough away from everything not to be noisy.

The entertainment was hit and miss but we had some good nights with tribute bands. Not a great deal to do in the resort or the hotel itself, but the pools were lovely so if you are a sun lover it's for you. We had a lovely time and would go back, although ideally a week to 10 days would probably be ideal.

We did not hire a car as too many of us to transport around, but if we went on our own we would definitely do so.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jilland Tony
10 years 8 months ago
We stopped in zone 3 right opposite the pool so had a seaview and was upstairs, brilliant, nice size balcony, stopped there alot and just nipped down for a dip when needed

I read a lot and husband watched what was going on and seaview as well as read and cards and get beers and coffee.

Lovely apartment, had everything ,freezer and fridge,cooker micro,iron/board,we had 2bed rooms possibly ok for 2 kiddies but used it as dressing room,no problems with the place at all no bugs sheets changed twice and towels,very happy. loved it.

A nice restaurant upstairs good food, but not enough veg, husband not stopped going on, meal was nice but he had 5 slices carrot and I had 4 ,few green beans and little mash, but my lamb was really good as was his chicken,just need more veg, downstair restaurant was good as well lots of people went to eat there,we didnt do alot of the entertainment as we went out most evenings,they tried hard with it I think.

No problem with noise just people having fun in daytime, a little sill at night as pool was left open, one person was pushed in,but it did not bother us,we didnt go to find fault we went to enjoy and we did. went to the wooden maze yes just us 2 in our 50s but it was good fun and the girl there was brilliant very friendly and nice we had 3 little lads help us!!!! a laugh.

I would go back if I went back anywhere but we dont as we want to see many places as poss. great fortnight,think you need to get out and see a bit of island, as not big resorts.

We went with First Choice and was pleased with the 2 lovely reps who were helpful and chatty, and they were nice.thanks.

Reps can make or break a holiday, as can staff,but all great.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Julie Bowyer
10 years 8 months ago
Stayed at The Girasols Gardens Apartments and were pleasantly surprised how spacious the apartment was and how well presented it was. There were plenty of facilities in the apartment including all necessary kitchen equipment. Although the apartments were situated at the far end of the resort it was a nice walk into the centre, although we did jump on the local train which ran most of the day around the resort.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gareth
10 years 8 months ago
On arrival I was a bit surprised by the style of the hotel set out.

This was not a bad thing just didnt expect them to be set out on rows like terrace houses. we were situated in Zone 3 and our appartment was right next to one of the pools it was ideal for a dip.

Our hotel was right near the centre which was only 3 mins walk away great location , didnt really see much of the staff there, as they seemed to zip in and out of the apartments to clean up and refresh the towels.

Entertainment was a feature for the children and they looked like they were having a great time. Overall excellent hotel, and gardens.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Harrod / Taylor / Sharpe
10 years 10 months ago
We had read the reviews on this site before travelling and were a little worried about the standard of accommodation. However when we arrived at Son bou and were taken to our apartments we were pleasantly surprised.

We were in zone 3 right next to the swimming pool which totally delighted our children. The kitchen area could have been cleaned a little more thoroughly, however, 5 minutes and a dish cloth later things were fine.

The sun beds were chained on top of each other until 9.30am which was an excellent idea.

The supermarket was within easy walking distance and stocked everything we needed.

Would we go back ? yes we definitely would. A kids club would have been welcomed though! Other tour companies had one and our children wanted one too!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
The Hobdens
11 years 8 months ago
Just arrived back from Son Bou (well last night)

We checked out the comments here before we went and all seemed well
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mr & Mrs Richfield
11 years 9 months ago
Son Bou Garden Apartments is great accommodation for families. Apartments were spacious and very well kept and clean. We found everything we needed in the apartment for a home from home holiday. The layout of the complex is lovely, and very handy for the beach. We were thoroughly impressed by the accommodation and would recommend it without a doubt.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: