99 independent reviews of Son Bou, Spain
Son Bou Location

5/5
Son Bou is rated 5 out of 5 from 99 Reviews

Son Bou Hotels

Son Bou Reviews

4/5


Mr Townsend visited here on June 2007
Resort is clean and friend, lots of bars and chips.

Food is good depending on your taste.
Like everywhere, there are good and not-so-good restaurants but none of them rip you off.
We found the further you went from the hotel, the better the restaurants were, but on the whole you cannot go wrong.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


michelle visited here on May 2007
Plenty of bars and resterants to choose from only one english bar (the Kit Kat bar) owner very nice and pleasant. There is an irish bar too and the food there is really nice.

The beach is the best beach I have been to abroad nice and clean and the water is so clear. Do watch out for the nudist at the east end of the beach there are lots of them. But the whole place is so nice and laid back really great place for a nice relaxing holiday.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


D. Mercer visited here on October 2006
Very clean,the local people obviously take a pride in their little island, we visited in the last week on the season so alot of places were closed or in the process of closing, the local supermarkets offered a small range of goods and you wouldnt starve. We had a hire car so went to the main town to stock up with the locals. The beach was miles of golden sands with a nature reserve between the shoreline and the resort, it was great feeding ducks on a pond in the middle of a beach in menorca. We loved it and intend to go again.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Robbo11 visited here on September 2006
Son Bou is a pleasant resort with a decent beach but you may find yourself going stir-crazy if you like to do more than just sunbathe and swim. There is a small shopping centre behind the Sol Milanos Pinguinos hotel and really not much else. I would definitely recommend hiring a car for at least a few days of your holiday to be able to explore the rest of this lovely island.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Julie Bowyer visited here on September 2006
The resort of Son Bou was about a 10 minute walk away from Torre Soli Nou but we had the hire car so used that most days. There are 2/3 supermarkets close by so you can stock up on essentials. There is also a supermarket in nearby Aloir which is alot cheaper so I would suggest going there to do your main shop and shop in Son Bou for essentials. There are a few nice restaurants, especially Restaurant Boni, exceptional service and they are really good with kids. Not much in the way of shops but a great place to relax and unwind. There is a fair for the younger kids and a bowling alley ...
for the older kids, so keeps them entertained. Beach is glorious but watch out for the jellyfish, they do sting. I think it was the time of year that we went but watch out!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

2/5


grannell visited here on September 2006
The resort is only very small, with a few shops and bars.

I would say if you are looking for a very relaxing holiday with not much to do then it might be worth you taking a look at this resort.

The resort entertainment has the same acts as what you get in the hotels but different nights obviously.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
2 stars

4/5


Craig visited here on September 2006
Son Bou itself is attractive enough, although quiet,but
we wanted peace anyway. Didn\'t go for evening entertainment.

Beyond the hotel itself. Its worth hiring a car for a few days to get around and really see the island, Mahon market,
Ciutudella, and places around the coastline. There are some lovely coves tucked away, and Arenal D\'en Castell we liked,very picturesque.

The local beach at Son Bou is long and sandy and the sea lovely and clear. A large part of the beach is \"clothing optional\", and it was nice to enjoy some nude swimming and sunbathing here.

If you enjoy walking, its a pleasant trek along the beach and over the cliffs to the next resort, Santo Thomas.

We found Son Bou a relaxing ...
resort which is what we wanted, and we\'d come here again.



Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


bentley family visited here on July 2006
There seemed to be a smell like dog or cat dirt when you walked past the bushes that run all along the front of the San jaime complex.
There was no entertainment for my son who is 10 years of age. A small funfair for the little ones.
The beach looked clean and safe, but quite a trek from the complex due to the fact that it can only be reached by road through Son Bou.
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

2/5


Ms Obie visited here on July 2006
The beach was lovely but the only way I can descride Son Bou is a concrete jungle, not at all as I had thought it would be. We visited just once at night and it was just rough. Just glad we had the car.
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Sally Kidd visited here on July 2006
The resort is quite small and the restaurants mainly seem to be pizzaria and not particurlary high standard. The beach on the other hand was fantastic clear warm water. The paths around the resort are uneven and when pushing a pushchair can be quite awkward.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Angela visited here on July 2006
It is a noce resort and I conclude having often visited it when staying elsewhere in Menorca that for me it is best just visited. I would not stay here again particularly not right in the hub of it.
The bach is excellent, clean and expansive. There are a lot of rocks close to the shoreline which can be a bit hazardous.
I don\'t really do entertainment on holiday but apart from the usual disco type places there were some nice bars, particularly Josephs.
I would visit the resort again but as I said I wouldn\'t stay.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

1/5


The Barrow's visited here on July 2006
Very quite not much to do in the evening if your not into drinking, best advice hire a car or take the bus to Mahon the real Menorca!Beach was fab clean great life guards. We had been warned sunbeds very expensive, but the sea was out of this world you can walk out about 70ft and its still only waist deep and sooooo warm. The shops naff.
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

3/5


francis forshaw visited here on June 2006
There is nothing really bad to say about this resort, everything you need is to hand. I would say it is not kept as clean as it could be. Litter is left lying around too long. The gardens in the public areas are a bit tired looking, although I know it must be difficult tending them in dry conditions with people walking on them. The resort mini train is great for kids especially in the evening to get you back up hill to the San Valentin. It costs 3 euros per peron each way. My grandson at almost 4 yrs old was not charged. The driver seems a genuine person. No rip off.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


Dave visited here on June 2006
Be warned the spanish laws for selling cigs and tobaco have changed only tabaconist can sell them now or you can get them out of machines in some bars.

The nearest tabaconist is in alyoir which is about 10-15min bus ride which cost 1euro.there is a nice bar called kit kat bar which is British owned and the owners are very friendly.

The sun beds are quite expensive 17 euros each you would be better off buying a parasol for around 6.50-9.50 euros even if you dont take this home you could have saved a packet if you intend to spend a few days at the beach.

Talking of the beach watch out for the nudist section which is to your right you ...
just come across it without warning.

The chinese near the I rish bar does a buffet meal which was very nice. Only just got home and can\'t wait to go. again

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


joanne pigram visited here on June 2006
Very tidy with live entertainment every night - a variety of shops and regular bus service. However smokers will have to travel to alaior about 10 euros by taxi to the tobacconist - as the bars - supermarkets & shops do not sell them - only restaurants & cafes.

The beach is beautiful and we would certainly consider visiting son bou again.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Gallazzi visited here on June 2006
The resort is based close to the beach, it has three pools the main one being the bigest and where we spent most of our time. The cost of loungers is 4.5 euros per person per day and they don\'t permit you to bring your own food or drink into the pool area prefering you to buy from the bar, if you have loads of money good luck.
The resort was clean and gardens well maintained.
I did see a few people on crutches my first few days and wonderd why, but after walking along the streets and lanes I saw why so beware on your heels.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


george visited here on June 2006
the resort had some lovely restaurents bonnis being a favourite.enough bars to keep us happy and if you wanted a late night cococabanas bar is great. the beach was lovely you could walk out for miles and really safe for small children. son bou is a resort built for tourists but is not overly commercialised and we loved it.not a place for drinking into the early hours but for a relaxing family holiday perfect. also a lot of people told us it was very expensive but found it to be the same as most other holiday destinations.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Roy visited here on June 2006
Son Bou has a huge safe beach and car parking directly behind it which save\'s the sweaty & sandy haul back. Entertainment is ok, I prefer the evenings in other resorts like Cala Galdana and Cala \'n Bosch.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Kerry visited here on May 2006
Son Bou has a beautiful beach - lovely clear blue sea! Really nice to walk along the lengh of the beach but watch out for the naturists!!

There are a few restaurants in the town - we thought the best was Andrea\'s - gorgeous food.
There are a few bars - copacabana is the biggest.

There is a little train (son Bou express) whihc goes round the town and you can get to some of the out of town hotels and villas on it.

we also got the bus to mahon (mao) which has a lovel harbour is a good trip out if you get a bit bored with the beach and shops in son bou!
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Macey visited here on May 2006
The shops, restaurants can be expensive so beware!. The Las Dunas for food, and the Hawaiin Bar for drinks we can recommend. Bus service excellent and cheap so you can see the island that way if you wish. Ideal for a relaxing time!
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars
Quick hotel find:
3/5
Jardin de Menorca Hotel  stars Jardin de Menorca Hotel
The Jardin de Menorca is set in gardens with a stunning views of the surrounding area and long stretch of beach. With a wide range of facilities and activities, this is definitely one to visit.

Latest Review: Aug 2004

Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Son Bou

4/5
Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel  stars Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel
Address: Apartaments de la Platja, 07730 Alaior, Spain

Latest Review: May 2009

Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Son Bou

3/5
San Jaime Complex  stars San Jaime Complex
Especially suited to families who like beach based holidays in peaceful surroundings. This very spacious, well set- out complex with pretty Minorcan-style apartments and set in well-tended grounds is especially suited to families who like beach-based holiday.

Latest Review: Oct 2008

Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Son Bou

4/5
Sol Milanos Pinguinos Hotel  stars Sol Milanos Pinguinos Hotel
Address: Apartaments de la Platja 07730 Alaior, Spain

Latest Review: Sep 2010

Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Son Bou

4/5
Son Bou Gardens Apartments  stars Son Bou Gardens Apartments
The layout of these apartments helps create a friendly village atmosphere, and the extensive range of facilities cater for all. Located in attractive gardens within the San Jaime Complex, these apartments are very popular with families.

Latest Review: Sep 2011

Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Son Bou

4/5
Torre Soli Nou Villas  stars Torre Soli Nou Villas
Address: Son Bou, Carretera Alaior-cala'n Porter, KM 0,700, 07730 Son Bou, Spain

Latest Review: Sep 2006

Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Son Bou

3/5
Valentin Hotel & Apartments  stars Valentin Hotel & Apartments
Great for everyone, but families will particularly enjoy their time here. The large and spacious Valentin Son Bou Hotel and Apartments has fantastic facilities, with plenty of sports, activities and entertainment to suit all.

Latest Review: May 2012

Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Son Bou
Share