Image of Son Bou

Son Bou Holidays

4 out of 5 from 99 reviews

Hotels in Son Bou, Spain

Image of Jardin de Menorca Hotel
7 of 7 hotels in Son Bou
1 Review
Image of Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel
6 of 7 hotels in Son Bou
9 Reviews
Image of San Jaime Complex
2 of 7 hotels in Son Bou
35 Reviews
Image of Sol Milanos Pinguinos Hotel
1 of 7 hotels in Son Bou
23 Reviews
Image of Son Bou Gardens Apartments
3 of 7 hotels in Son Bou
14 Reviews
Image of Torre Soli Nou Villas
4 of 7 hotels in Son Bou
1 Review
Image of Valentin Hotel & Apartments
5 of 7 hotels in Son Bou
47 Reviews

99 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    23
  • Very Good
    60
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Mel Reeve
4 years 2 months ago
Nothing much in resort, a few shops and eateries, very quiet. Plenty of walkers in our hotel so assume there must be lots of walking routes around there.

On our own yes, with kids no, too hot.

Beach great but sunbeds too expensive,9 euros each
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Phillphill
5 years 2 months ago
Beach was fab, ever so clean
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Four Freinds
5 years 10 months ago
The resort was very clean, entertainment ok ,the in house entertainment team did their best and a couple of the tribute bands were excellent.

The pool area was very clean and the beach very clean with life guards but beware of the rocks as you wade out in the sea very sharp under foot (which was the only thing to spoil the lovely beach).

Further along the beach you will come across nudists! sunbathing in amongst normal bathers! apparently they seem to be 'wrinkly crinklys' and mainly elderly gentlemen!? weird!!( this was reported back to my friend and I after the men had been for their morning walks)

Nice enough resort but not somewhere we will be returning as there is nothing much in Son Bou and too far too walk to any other village.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Kate
6 years 2 months ago
Son Bou itself is quite quiet, there are lots of little shops as well as pubs/restaurants, a bowling alley, couple of supermarkets etc. Hotel transfer takes about 30 minutes depending what hotel you are staying at, there are 3 on the Son Bou route. Getting into Mahon is easy from the hotel, the bus stop is outside the hotel to the left. Don't panic thinking what if i get lost, as it is soooo easy. The route goes from Son Bou, to Allaior, then to Mahon. Make sure you get to the bus stop 10 minutes before the bus is scheduled to leave on a Tuesday and Saturday as this is when the market is in Mahon and it is very busy! We wandered down about 2 minutes before, and were secind from last in the queue. They seem to have no worries about health and safety, all the seats were taken, so people were crammed into the aisle, as well as on the steps into the bus (when i say bus, it is like an English coach)! You are dropped off at like a bus station, they are all lined up in a line and have a board at the front telling you where the bus will take you. You have to travel into Mahon to get the bus to anywhere else on the island.

The beach is lovely, just keep an eye on the sea and the lifeguard flags as it can get a bit rough, but there are lifeguards situated all along the beach (which is the longest on the island). You can walk to St Thomas, which is the next reort along the coast, really pretty. You do have to walk swiftly past the nudist section though!

Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
June Harrison & Keith McGibbon
6 years 10 months ago
The resort is very small compared to others on the island. We went for three weeks which is too long if you are not going for a chillout holiday, as we did. If you want lots of things to do of a night, don't go here. There is only 1 cabaret club, a bowling alley, and bars/restaurants. You can walk around the resort in 10mins. The resort area was spotless. The Copacabana had entertainment on most nights, loolalike groups - Supremes, Temptations, Elvis, Robbie Williams, Take That, most of them were very good, especially the Temptations and the Supremes. Josephs Bar did a lovely breakfast (english bacon & sausage) all their food was great in fact, and very friendly people.
We had a few rainy days on our stay and though we would go to the bowling ally, but it was always closed during the day, which was a shame as I think quite a few people would have been glad of somewhere local to go when it was raining.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Mr And Mrs M
7 years 2 months ago
Son Bou isn't very big and you can quite easily walk around the whole resort, which we did.

The resort has the longest and I would say the best beach on the island, it is clean and during the week finding a quite spot should be easy, oh, it is also manned with lifeguards almost everyday.

The area around the hotel is mainly full of restaurants and pubs, all within a 5 - 10 minute walk.

The place was a bit quite really for us - However if you going for a week then it would be great! We went for two which was too much really.

When we hired the car we got it for five days which gave us time to explore the whole island... I would recommend that you pay a visit to the following places:-

Mahon (Mao) - the harbour and the glass bottom boat are great!

Fornells - is a nice little fishing village with a small harbor and some highly priced restaurants (you have been warned).

Cala en Porter - not very far from the Son Bou resort and the beach is WELL worth a visit... remember to take your camera it is really nice.

Cala en Bosh - very nice place with plenty of restaurants and bars and also a nice harbour. Worth a visit.

To some up and finish off - the Menorca holiday was good but in my opinion going for two weeks is too long. A week in Son Bou is just enough.
Also, make sure you take plenty of money with you; as the euro is quite low 1.08 when we went the prices of things are very dear.

I hope this has helped.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Royal Son Bou Family Club
7 years 2 months ago
Son Bou is a small, quiet relatively remote resort, but the local bus is excellent (and very cheap). We had a great day out in Mahon without any problem using this service.

The beach is stunning, white sand and very clean. There is a reef roughly 5 metres from shore so smaller children need to ba a little careful, however for paddling/splashing about it is superb!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Me & Her Indoors
7 years 10 months ago
resort we found very clean even early morning, entertainment was ok in the smaller bars, some good more pro acts on in the large bar think it was the showboat ??.Football takes over almost everywhere and when its on its very hard to find a bar that does not have it on.
What a fantastic beach, yabba dabba doo.sand so soft its dreamy just walking on it, sea so clear and warm , its hard to decide where you want to be.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Clive
7 years 10 months ago
Very nice beach, be aware of the naturist bit though! The resort is excellent and we recommend the Irish Tavern as a drinking base!

The trips offered by the local booking office are excellent value for money at 24 euros, cheaper and better than those offered by the holiday firms.

The trip on the little train is good value also. As it was nearing the end of the season things were quiet, but the people working in the shops and bars are very friendly.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Emily
7 years 11 months ago
We stayed in Son Jaime in august so the busiest time of the year. Most people there were english and there was a friendly atmosphere. The resort is literally a five minute walk away from the beach and also the town centtre. The town centre is small and all of the restaraunts produce the same sort of food e.g lasagne, steak , omlette chips chips and more chips. The drinks i found were quite cheap just over two euros for a glass of wine.
The evening entertainment i found quite good. The fake that were very amusing and the spicegirls were great, didn't really think much of the disney show though.
The pools were okay but the largest pool next to the slides had lots of flakes in it from where the bottom of the pool had flaked off, so we stayed in the kids pool most of the time.
The holday was good and i would deffinately go there again.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of Son Bou Gardens Apartments
Son Bou Gardens Apartments
Son Bou, Spain
Nice and quiet, great family destination
Image of Valentin Hotel & Apartments
Valentin Hotel & Apartments
Son Bou, Spain
Ideal for families. Entertainers in the night f…
Image of Sol Milanos Pinguinos Hotel
Sol Milanos Pinguinos Hotel
Son Bou, Spain
Hotel was clean enough, the chamber maids were ver…
Image of Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel
Royal Son Bou family Club Hotel
Son Bou, Spain
A great place for a family holiday. The rooms and …
Image of San Jaime Complex
San Jaime Complex
Son Bou, Spain
We stayed for one week in October. Our villa was…
Other popular destinations
Image of Benidorm
Benidorm
Costa Blanca
Image of Salou
Salou
Costa Dorada
Image of Alcudia
Alcudia
Mallorca
Image of Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico
Gran Canaria
Image of Puerto Del Carmen
Puerto Del Carmen
Lanzarote
Image of Corralejo
Corralejo
Fuerteventura
Image of Palma Nova
Palma Nova
Mallorca
Image of Caleta De Fuste
Caleta De Fuste
Fuerteventura
Image of Fuengirola
Fuengirola
Costa Del Sol