Image of Royal Park Albatros Hotel

Royal Park Albatros Hotel

4 of 9 hotels in Golf Del Sur

3 out of 5 from 12 reviews
3 stars
Lugar Golf del Sur, 0, 38620 San Miguel de Abona, Spain

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Debbie
Nice & quiet
4 years 5 months ago
I travelled to Tenerife on my own, booked into the Royal Park Albatros Hotel via Asda Travel. I had a one bedroom self-catering apartment. No complaints with the room, wasn't what you would call modern but had an oven and hob, microwave, toaster and kettle. Tea towels, kitchen roll and washing up liquid all supplied for you which was great.

Plenty of sun beds around the pool, even at 10am. I didn't eat at the onsite restaurant but did however find a great little Tapas and Chill place to eat with a Cabaret bar right next door called Volare. I enjoyed the food and cabaret so much that I went there 5 out of the 7 nights I was there! The food and staff were amazing. The Cabaret had nightly tribute acts on Robbie Williams, Michael Buble, Gloria Gaynor, The Temptations to name but a few. Volare is easy to find - Go out the back gate of the Hotel (behind building 5) turn left walk up to the Wild Geese pub and right opposite you will see a path way going down a slight incline Volare is there on the right – enjoy.

Overall I had a great week, no complaints, great weather, great food & will defiantly go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Asda Travel

Good clean accommodation
6 years 7 months ago
We travelled independently, and booked our flight with Easyjet, and this hotel,through Booking.com

We arrived on New Years Eve and found some confusion about our booking and for a short time had no room! But the kind receptionist sorted it out and gave us our room at the price we had originally been quoted.

When we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised at what a good standard it was. It was very roomy, hall way with doors to main bedroom which had a brand new double bed in it, then door to the bathrooom which was modern and clean, the usual shower over bath, loo, bidet, large mirror and complimentary toiletries, and a hairdryer.

The rest of the apartment was open plan, had a kitchen with everything you could need, including a brand new oven, which clearly had not ever been used. Full sized hob, fridge, toaster, kettle, a good microwave, coffee maker, and even a tray of goodies to start us off, with tea/coffee bread biscuits and even a bottle of wine. In the fridge was butter, cheese, bacon, water, fruit juice, milk and even jam! I was doubtful all this was complimentary, so a quick call to reception told us that it was 18 euros to buy, and was left for another booking by mistake, but we bought the products anyway, as it was easier than shopping straight away.

The living room had a brand new double sofa bed, and matching arm chair, a table and chairs, and a flat screen tv with plenty of channels on it, including bbc1 & 2 itv1 ch4 and lots of others, incuding sky sports 1

There was a full sized stereo which was a nice surprise, and also a dvd player.

On the balcony were two sun loungers and a table and chairs, which made it quite a squash, but was nice to have the option of sunbathing on the balcony.

The whole apartment was cosy, clean, with mainly new furniture and you could tell an effort had been made to upgrade it and modernise it. There were plenty of mirrors, lamps and plug sockets, that made it very easy to live in for the week. We were very happy there.

The only downside to this hotel were the amount of steps from reception to the rest of the place, the bar, restaurant and swimming pool area are down 53 steps, and was hard work sometimes.

There was free wifi in the reception area but this wasn't always working and we had to ask for the server to be reset on a few occassions.

The staff were all lovely and very helpful. The bar staff were very polite and worked hard to make the place run smoothly.

The food in the restaurant was gorgeous, a good menu which was very well priced, in fact there were evenings we didn't go out looking for our meal, and just stayed in the hotel for our food as it was that good.

Overall, we would go back to this hotel, as it was a really good standard, clean and modern, with a lovely pool, and good prices for rental.

If you are looking for a beach holiday this isn't for you, as the beaches are quite a distance away.

The hotel itself is quite isolated, and it took a fair amount of walking to go and find bars and other places to eat.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 3 months ago
Very clean. Superb food and lots of it. Extremely quiet location, it was what we wanted. Fantastic bus service to livelier areas, and our teenagers were able to be independent and when they wanted to be later than the last bus they got a taxi. We loved it so much we are going again, but the pool seating area is limited and we found the selfish attitude of some guests reserving beds all day and not using them till mid-afternoon very annoying. Relatives went in August and were put off due to lack of space at poolside.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
John And Joyce
8 years 5 months ago
staff welcoming apartment clean and inviting .needs some up dating.pool clean no rush for sun loungers.the resteraunt staff polite and remembered what drinks we ordered.very big compliments to the chefs, food was surperb.only downside no beach very little entertainment would go again if only for the food . rating for food and service 15/10 keep it up
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: easy jet

Recommended
Carol Druce
9 years 7 months ago
Parque Albatros was taken over last year by the Petchey group and they are pulling out all the stops to make this resort top grade. Our apartment was extremely well maintained, the mainly English staff more than helpful and happy to deal with anything. The atmosphere in the gardens around the pool is very calming, even though there are a few steps between the swimming pool and most of the apartments! The advertised on-site supermarket didn't exist anymore but there were 4 or 5 all within a very short walking distance. Coastal walks interesting too. Airplane noise could be distracting, but we found it interesting trying to make out the various logos to find out where they had come from!! Definitely a place to return to, as we are next January (good weather too at this time of year)
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Club Infiniti

Recommended
Mr Coakerdevon
10 years 2 months ago
If you want a beach holiday this is not the place to come. There are a few beaches of black sand and rocks not suitable for children. Lots of areas especially around hotels etc are made up of rubbish and rubble. Nothing is landscaped or finished off properly.

Our apartment was clean and well equipped slight smell of sewage on balcony. Lots of low flying aircraft but not noisy and I enjoyed watching them.

Staff helpful polite and friendly; food was pretty good especially the buffets although the singer and dancing were very old fashioned.

If you do decide to go you must must must hire a car. If you stayed in golf del suryou would die of boredom.

The mountains are amazing drive up and down the other side scenery is beautiful.

Los gigantes is a lovely town to visit I'd say just explore and it is a lovely island however would I go back...no not my cup of tea.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: rci

Mrs C Speakman
11 years ago
The family are R.C.I Gold Crown members. We were booked into an apartment in dire need of refurbishment.

The location was dreadful, situated next to a 'tunnel' which housed a football table and a table tennis table. It was noisy during the day, and even more so during the evening.

The room smelt of sewers.,we had block up the plugholes in the bath,sink and bidet due to the smell coming through as the plumbing was poor. The toilet flush was broken. The shower wouldnt move. Generally a very basic standard. One of the twin beds had a broken leg, therefore one bed was higher than the other. The state of the pillows was a disgrace. They were very old, dirty,& full of holes. When we complained, they replaced them, but we then noticed the same pillows or similar being used elsewhere. The sliding mirror wardrobes were old, and were almost impossible to open and close.,in fact the children were unable to do so.The kitchen was very small,basic and hardly any utensils supplied. The sink didnt even have a plug, and no bowl supplied so hard to wash up!!!The kettle leaked. The balcony furniture was broken, and the table had graffiti carved into it. A VERY RUN-DOWN APARTMENT WITH POOR SERVICE FROM R.C.I.

Poor entertainment for children..one man teaching children target practise with an air rifle which he displayed around the pool to my children's and our horror!!

No entertainment in the day,or evening for adults.

We left the hotel after 4 days.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: R.C.I

Montana
11 years 4 months ago
This hotel was basic, having no thrills.

Staff was helpful/maids nice.

Its location was good -- within walking distance of the marina and shops/restaurants.

Entertainment was zero, we had to get a taxi (5 euros) to San Blazt for evening entertainment outside the main restaurants. Next door to our hotel, we found the second week, a nice hotel which did children disco at 9pm followed by adult themed shows -- it made holiday better.

Pool was very clean but the children's playground could use more sand. No sandy beach near by, must go to Los Cristianos for that.

This resort is quiet and if you have young children, it's not ideal...more for older people. The hotel was fine, basic, and clean -- enjoy.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: RCI

Richardson
11 years 8 months ago
We booked an apartment direct with the owner (via internet site) and organised our own flights so can't comment on hotel accommodation (although our 1 bed apartment was fine). All the timeshare apartments we saw looked fine though. (It is a mixture of private and timeshare accommodation.)

All accommodation appeared to be built around the pool area, which is a good size and very clean with plenty of sunbeds - and despite being there for New Year, it was never terribly crowded (although the beds are quite close together!)Grounds and balcony/patios are nicely maintained and everywhere was very clean.

Only drawback I would say is if you have either pushchairs or wheelchairs as there are loads of steps throughout the site - with accommodation built over about five different levelled floors and we didn't see any signs for lifts to get down to the pool area.

We had a few lunchtime snacks / drinks in the restaurant and all were good standard. Staff pleasant enough but didn't speak a great deal of English - it seemed to be a real mixture of nationalities amongst the guests though.

No evening entertainment that we saw although there were a couple of animators organising kids activities during the day - ours didn't join in so I can't comment although the same activities were touted each day!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent Booking

Recommended
E.Houghton
11 years 11 months ago
Classed as 5 star, possibly 3 star. No aircon.

Need to be a mountain goat.

No British TV.

No entertainment.

Some staff nice and helpful, others bordering on rude. Not impressed.

Will not go again to this resort.

Hotel food inedible.

Watch out for RCI reps, they want a day to try to sell you points.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Bonus week breaks

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.