Image of Lagos de Cesar Hotel

Lagos de Cesar Hotel

4 of 5 hotels in Los Gigantes

3 out of 5 from 6 reviews
4 stars
Calle de José González González, 0, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Spai

6 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 9 months ago
My wife and I stayed for 7 nights from 12/01/2008.

I had read the reviews on this site and others. Whilst none of the reviews we read were really enthusiastic we, nevertheless, thought that it would be alright for a winter break.

We arrived at 9.00pm on the Saturday evening after a long 1hr 30m taxi ride from the airport.

A quick check in and then straight into the restaurant which closes at 9.30. Not a particularly impressive restaurant. People in T-shirts, shorts and caps for dinner was not what we expected. Everything was self-service and as the week went on the food became very similar at each meal.

Most of the guests were German with a sprinkling of British and other nationalities. The all inclusive option seemed very popular judging by the number of people wearing the tell-tale blue wristbands. We stayed half board thankfully!

Our room was a quiet one on the first floor. As we found out the following morning it faced a bank of occupied apartments at the rear of the hotel and it got no sunshine at all. We asked for a room with a view and/or some sun but to no avail - the hotel was fully booked (or so we were told?).

There was only one evening bar and the prices were prohibitive. We used it only once. The pool bar was adequate but closed at 6.00pm.

There was a roof terrace above the 4th floor with a smattering of sunbeds. No facilities up there though: no WCs, no bar, no pool. Bit of a disappointment but at least it was quiet and sunny.

I can't really comment fairly on the entertainment as after the first night, we were elsewhere each evening.

The hotel was a disappointment on the whole and we shall not be returning again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independently

10 years 6 months ago
Family 2 adults 2 teenagers.

Food same as every hotel we have stayed in on all inclusive, always something for everyone our son doesn't eat much choice but even he managed to find something to eat. The only thing is the snack bar, by the pool snacks are swiss roll cake small ham&cheese triangle sandwiches with crust cut off which we found very poor we have always be used to having burgers, chips, etc. You can also get ice cream small cones if you want from the menu you will have to pay. The snack bar also served coffee pop & beer.

We found the hotel to be clean the staff all work really hard. Towels in our room changed everyday bins empty sheets changed once, we were only there for a week so we weren't that bothered if they were changed.

The hotel was in a good place 5min to the beach up a slight incline to playa Blanca beach, Puerto de Santiago is all up hill really, local bus stop just round the corner from the hotel.

All the staff were lovely and we found them helpful nothing was to much trouble always had a smile for us and always said Ola or hello.

The entertainment is always the same in the evening they had bingo one night, flamingo show, man playing the piano, mini disco the man was called Ben who did the entertainment and also the daytime. During the day they had raffle shooting, darts, pool, etc that took place on the roof top. The roof top was for adults only but if you wanted a drink you had to go down stairs to the bar it would of been better with a bar and also a pool up on the roof.

The pool was very cold like ice even when the weather was really hot it should of been heated a little, didn't matter what time of day you could always get a sunbed, you could get towels from reception to use by the pool if you returned them then there wasn't a charge if you didn't return them then you would have to pay they always took you room number.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel republic

Recommended
James Neacy
10 years 7 months ago
We arrived at the hotel late due to aircraft delay. Our carrier faxed hotel to say we had landed and were on our way.

When we did arrive at approx 8, minutes after restaurant closed they would not give us anything to eat or drink. We then had to just go and get a carry out meal as two of our party were elderly and disabled.

The all inclusive was a joke yes you can have the normal local drinks as stated but you could only have something to eat between 3pm and 5.30pm at the pool bar and this consisted of a tray of triangular sandwiches and local cakes . Anyone with children could only have ice cream at the same times unless they paid for it. You could have coffee but not cappuccino, as this was not included in the AI but if you checked the price list the difference was 15 cents.

We spent a lot of time in taxis going out to get entertainment when in theory in an all inclusive environment we should just stay put. We would have probably spent a lot of money in the hotel to their advantage as the men preferred to drink scotch whisky anyway but it was their loss as we just spent it in bars outside.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: alpha rooms

Marion
11 years 1 month ago
Large, clean rooms. Empty fridge - fill from bars or supermarkets or pay for minibar. Room safe available for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Planet Travel Direct

Recommended
Miller
11 years 4 months ago
The Lagos De Cesar is classed as 4 star which I think is overstated compared to other 4 star hotels I have stayed in. The rooms are excellent being divided into two parts - one part bedroom and the other part sitting room with a balcony the full length. The room was kept very clean and towels changed daily. I would say the maids are the friendliest staff in the hotel as the waiters were not very attentive or welcoming.

What can I say about the food? - not much. It was cold and mostly dry and unappetising. Not the best buffet I have experienced.

Did not stay in the hotel in the evenings as the entertainment was geared towards the Germans.

Sunbathing at the pool is quite cramped so we were happy to find the roof garden where we sat most of the time. Only complaint was they only had beds and not any parasols so had to shelter inside the hotel when sun was at its hottest. Usually quiet as the children stayed at the pool.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked via Teletext

Grezaberdeen
13 years 4 months ago
Hotel very good but not up to 4 star standard for food the choice of food was very poor, the food was often only warm and milk for cereal was sour on 5 occasions out of 14.

Entertainment average ,there are only 63 sunbeds by the pool for 112 rooms but plenty of sunbeds on sun roofs.

Hotel mainly used by germans and at the weekend Spaniards who have very noisy children. Take plenty of reading withyou as books are in short supply and expensive to buy locally. overall a good holiday let down by poor food.

I visited this hotel June 2007 ps. a lot of building work going on around the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holiday city

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Popular hotels in Los Gigantes

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.