Image of Poblado Marinero Apartments

Poblado Marinero Apartments

3 of 5 hotels in Los Gigantes

3 out of 5 from 21 reviews
2 stars
Poblado Marinero, S/N, 38683 Puerto Santiago, Spain

21 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Helen D
7 years 3 months ago
Just returned from a week in Los Gigantes with Thomson. 14th to 21st May.
Bus from airport only took 45 mins. It dropped us outside Little Italy and the bus driver explained where we should go. Down the hill and follow signs for Poblado Marinero Apartments. We took a right turn into the apartment complex and then couldn't find Reception. It was 9 o'clock at night and dark and we were tired after our flight. There was no Thomson Rep on the bus to give us any guidance. We were given a pack at the airport but no directions on what to do when we got off the bus. For first time visitors to Poblado Marinero I think Thomson should do a little bit more.
I got a little bit cross not being able to find Reception straight away but we walked to about the middle of the courtyard opposite a big concrete flower bed and there it was on the right. I found a security guard behind the desk who explained that Reception closed at 7pm and he dealt with us perfectly. He took our passports and asked us to come back in the morning. Our apartment was number 253. The view from the balcony was all you could hope for. Lovely view of the cliffs and boats in the marina. We were very happy. We were hungry so we walked up the hill as far as Paraiso Del Sol on the right just past the digital clock. We met Karen outside who invited us in. They're open until 10.30pm every night so this was a good choice for our first meal. We would thoroughly recommend it and ate here a lot during our stay including breakfast served from 10.00am.
Another place we would recommend is La Boudiquita. This is a restaurant just above Paraiso Del Sol on the right set back along an alleyway. Two course meal for
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
8 years 2 months ago
These apartments have terrrific views out to sea and of the cliffs. Spacious and ours had internet, sat TV, huge DVD collection, it really was a home from home. Our apt was privately owned and had everything to make your stay enjoyable. Disadvantage; you had to walk uphill to the town centre on a evening. Advantage; you walked DOWNHILL at the end of the evening!! Great time was had by the whole family.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Privately booked

Recommended
Cath
10 years 5 months ago
Location was very picturesque right at the bottom of the dramatic cliffs and virtually on the harbour but everything is uphill from the apartments apart from the beach and supermarket along the back of the apartments, the lido opposite or the harbour in front.

The apartments are very spacious but very basic think Youth Hostel or Pension in Greece and your about right. There is no TV, toaster or microwave which i thought even basic accommodation should provide, they can all be hired at a cost of 4 euros upwards per day.

The apartments are very clean bed linen wasn't changed in a week but towels were 4 times and rooms were swept out by maids 4 times also.

The apartments really need updating that's all, the locks on the doors are hit & miss tiles are cracked in places and the decor is tired and the cookers are ancient it didn't spoil our holiday as we dont spend a lot of time in or cooking anyway but if you want to cook it will be hard !

We on saying that thoroughly enjoyed it the apartments are massive loads of storage and very comfy beds big fridge freezer but no tea towels dishcloths or washing up liquid so take your own/buy if you intend to eat in.

Massive balconies with plenty of room for kids to play. Reception staff very helpful, snack bar serving breakfasts if you want it and all the areas kept clean.

Money exchange and papers available at reception with small TV and snooker room.

The rep is pretty useless unless you are buying trips she cant speak Spanish so doesn't communicate with the reception there at all and doesn't make an effort with the guests but we didn't need her anyway thank goodness.

We had 2 x two bed apartments we requested Sea view/Harbour view when we booked 16 months ago but we didn't get it as there are NO two beds on the front of the hotel the only 2 beds are at the back we had 119 and 120 which faced on to the centre courtyard and were fine if you request 3rd floor though you will get a view of the harbour we were on the ground never mind !!!

A lot of people have complained about the noise at the back from the bin men they collect at 11- 12 midnight every night however I only heard them once it was very quiet and we had no noise problems in the evening however be aware they are doing renovation works to the sewerage system so there was a lot of roadworks on the hill to the harbour and drilling noise in the day but it looked like it was nearly finished when we left.

Lido fab but not heated so ice cold the sea water pool is great for snorkelling but be careful as my son had mild stings from the jelly fish. Great lifeguard very good with the kids, fab food from the snack bar and the whole lido was spotless it was great !! No inflatables though except arm bands and swimming aids which was a shame.

Great places to eat are Steve's Diner at the back of apartments on the way to beach it does good packed lunches for the beach/plane and good English home cooked food if that's what you like.

Jessie's on the Beach is in a great position & good food, The Peking chinese at top of town Excellent with free house wine, walk up past Little Italy and keep going straight up on the left hand side past the right turn to Highland Paddy's and its at the top of the hill on the right - great food and great staff & prices.

The friendly Dolphin on the harbour excellent breakfasts its next to Churchill's, Churchill's OK for happy hour lager but that's it food very average friendly staff but not the best in town.

The square with the church is good to eat if you have kids as they play in the church square the restaurants are not fab but OK simple grub & drinks.

Weather was cloudy at times but it was April resort is very clean but I imagine in July/August it will be overflowing.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Parkin
10 years 6 months ago
Basic but very clean apartments (largest one bedroomed apartment we have ever stayed in).

Location was excellent but if you wanted to get into the town it's a bit of a hike, I have walking difficulties & use a stick but I still managed it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Familia
11 years 4 months ago
The Appts are clean and well furnished, although could do with a toaster it does have a grill and oven. Trouble is toast takes forever to cook.
The complex is looking a little tired, could do with refurbishment but still acceptable. Didn't see one cockroach or ant the whole time we were there.

Our first appt (269) was above reception and faced away from the marina at the back overlooking the alley to the beach. We could see some cliffs up hig and the one opposite, not a great view. Worst was to come that night, the bin-men come and empty the bins there *every* night between midnight and 2am - lots of noise. Then the shops start opening about 8 so there's lots of clanking and beeping of horns and slamming of doors as they setup.

We managed to get moved to an appt facing the marina on the 3rd floor (310) - great view of the cliffs and sea....but the layout was different and our bedroom was still at the back even closer to the bins - funny really O_o. At least the girls got a quieter night and we got a great view so we lived wit it.

Maid service was fine, towels were changed twice in the week we were there and you could leave a sign outside your door if you wanted the appt cleaned.

The pool (El laguillo) across the way was superb, one of the best we've had (apart from being salt-water, but only a minor thing, not worth worrying about). It sits right on the sea front so you can hear the waves and see the spray as they crash onto the rocks. Be careful, put your beds too close to the edge and you could get wet, we saw a few people get a drenching. Even quite a few yards away you could occaisonally feel the spray, very refreshing.

The best bit was the tidal pool, down the steps at the end. Take (or buy) a snorkel, lovely safe, shallow pool fed by the tide, great for snorkelling beginners. It has some quite big fish, hermit crabs, sea anemones and is amazingly clear, don't miss it.

I'm glad we were at the bottom of the resort, I wouldn't fancy a climb up the hills.
We would return to both the resort and the appts.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland direct (thomson)

Recommended
Kirsty Quintin
11 years 8 months ago
We were self catering in a 1 bed apartment. These were a good size and reasonably clean however did not get clean sheets the entire week we were there.

Fantastic setting.

Not at all suitable for people with children as there is absolutely nothing to do at all not even a decent beach the one there is tiny and very rocky.

It is all on a hillside aswell so nightmare with buggys.

Didn't visit pool at all as its not heated and was freezing cold so the kids wouldn't get in it anyway.

We hired a car and spent our days driving to and fvrom other resorts for daytime entertainment.

Local pubs and restaurants nice though in the evenings.
Recommended for older generations but still very hilly for them.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland direct

Ma, Pa And The Twa Bairns
11 years 8 months ago
Booked flight only and booked hotel direct. Breakfast was available at the hotel and was excellent - everything from full English to loads of fresh fruit. This was included in our price but i understand it costs 6 euro which is excellent value.

Our rooms were cleaned very well, including Christmas day and New Years day (much to our surprise). The room was very spacious. The woodwork could have done with a fresh coat of paint and a screwdriver would have been handy to fix a few of the kitchen drawers. We didnt eat in often but when we did the cooking facilities were adequate. There was a very welcome huge fridge freezer. Air conditioning was not an issue as we were there Dec/Jan.

The location of these appartements were the main reason we choose them, right on the marina and 100 yards from the beach. We also got free entrance to the lido but only went once as our children just love the beach. The beach is small but perfect. The life guard was alway vigilant and a flag tells you if it is safe to swim or not. A mask and snorkell is a must as the marine life is spectacular! Just like swimming in an aquarium.

There is no entertainment in this hotel hence the low rating.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent

Recommended
Chris
11 years 9 months ago
Stayed in private apartments. We just booked our flights via Thomas Cook.

They do a brilliant all inclusive buffet breakfast for 6 euro which includes full english.

There is nothing much for the kids to do here apart from the internet which is 1 euro for 15 mins and a pool table.

There is no pool but theres a fantastic pool complex up the hill called the Oasis which was 4 euros each day each there is also a pool across the road from the apartments but we prefered the Oasis.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Carol
11 years 11 months ago
Hotel was very clean maid every other day couldnt fault it.

Hotel was said to be very good but never tried it ourselves the hotel location was excellent with the best view you could ever ask for.

The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Entertainment well there wasnt any at the apartments but Highland Paddy 3 was fantastic went every night and had a great night would definately go again next year its was excellent !!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Vickie
12 years 2 months ago
After hiring a car from the airport, and driving to this hotel I was VERY disappointed with the resort.

The room that we were given overlooked the main road, balcony had weak wooden support struts and most worrying was that the bedroom windows came very low (about thigh high) and had no protection to stop me panicking everytime my 18m and 3 and a half year old went near them. No air con in the rooms either.

The rooms showed a general need of a face lift and tidy up. After reporting my concerns to the rep she offered an upgrade (total
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: THOMSON

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Popular hotels in Los Gigantes

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.