Image of Helios Hotel

Helios Hotel

50 of 131 hotels in Benidorm

4 out of 5 from 37 reviews
3 stars
Avenida de Filipinas, 12, 03503 Benidorm, Spain

37 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    16
  • Good
    13
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Pauline Slater
Excellent hotel! Will return one day!
2 years 11 months ago
My partner, 2 kids aged 5 and 11 stayed half-board at Hotel Helios, last week of June 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very clean and welcoming throughout. The staff on the reception are friendly and helpful. The children’s entertainers were fantastic and worked very hard.
The meals were buffet style, I particularly enjoyed the Chinese themed night. There was varied entertainment every evening, beginning with a mini-disco which my son loved! The hotel was full but we always managed to get a sunbed. Drinks and snacks were available by the pool, reasonably priced.
The hotel is in a very central location, yet we didn't experience any noise at night. The rooms have balconies and some British TV channels. Our bathroom had a Jacuzzi bath and was modern. I would love to return to this hotel in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Kathy Cakebread
Lively holiday town
3 years 9 months ago
The weather was great, people were friendly and the hotel was clean and tidy.

The hotel offered Wi-Fi although you had to pay to use it. There was an outdoor swimming pool and the usual sun loungers that you had to fight to get.

A bar was available to those sitting outside selling drinks and ice creams. We had full catering and there were different food items available every day including a full English breakfast in the morning.

The only downside was that entertainment in the hotel was a little on the dull side.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ash
Friendly hotel, spotless rooms
4 years 4 months ago
What a fantastic week we had at this hotel, very good first impressions on our arrival, reception check in was quick and easy reception staff very helpful and polite. Public areas spotless, room of a good standard very clean and a wonderful maid who always had a smile for you every morning. We asked for extra pillows and they arrived within the hour, the room was spotless and fresh and the beds were comfortable, the only down side that is the lack of British TV channels Sky and BBC news and BBC1 that would freeze at around 20.30 each night.

The food on full board basis had a good choice of menu and lots of it, all I can say on the downside is that it could have been a little warmer, apart from that it was of a pretty good standard. I would have no problem going back to this hotel we had a great time. Many thanks to the hotel staff and management for a very pleasant stay at your hotel...... I will be back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Peter&Pat
Clean hotel but would never go back
4 years 5 months ago
This place is very clean but the breakfasts were not very good at all.

We stayed here only because we had no other place we could get at short notice due to the Rosamar being over booked and sticking us in here. I will tell you what they offered for a hot breakfast (cold beans, cold sausage and cold bacon that was cooked until it was black not over cooked just burnt. For the time I was here I went native and had cakes for my starter meal of the day. One day I was told they offered a bean stew that had baked beans, chicken and burnt bacon bits in it. The Brits naturally would not touch it but some or the many Spanish old folk enjoyed it.

The walls are so thin we could here what the people in the next room were talking about but at 1.45am when they started sex games we had enough and I phoned them and played back what they had said. They went quiet after that.

As I said the place is ultra clean and a nice place. If you go B&B try eating in Monroes on the Europa

Advise is not to book half of full board just B&B.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Mary
Not a good experience
5 years ago
This hotel is very clean and bright. The bar staff were very friendly.

Our complaints are the food is awful and we ate out as I kept getting a upset stomach.

There were also groups of lads jumping in the pool fully clothed pushing each other in even on the loungers and the bad language was disgusting. They were also dropping their shorts in front of everyone including children it spoilt our holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Rooms were a good size
5 years 5 months ago
Check in was swift and we were allocated a room on a low floor facing the pool as I has requested by email, room 223. The first 3 floors have been refurbished and we got one of those.

The room was very nice and a good size with twin beds which had lightweight duvets. There was a wall mounted 22 inch flat screen TV showing Sky News and CNN and a desk with cupboard below. The mirrored wardrobe had plenty hanging space and 3 small drawers. The balcony was a good size with 2 chairs and a small table and faced the pool which was covered in winter.

The bathroom had a large walk in shower only, no bath, sink and toilet. There was no plug in the sink due to the design so shaving had to be done in running water and there was a wall mounted hairdryer. The towels were very thin, but did the job.

The walls were very thin as we could clearly hear next doors Xmas CD and any conversation.

The sheets were changed mid-week and the towels daily.

Went down for Xmas lunch which was served buffet style. There were a lot of fishy starters, but I managed to get cold meats and cheeses. Had chestnut stuffed turkey and entrecote main, but the meringue milk bomb dessert was finished although there were other desserts. There was as much red and white wine, water, soft drinks and cava as you wanted.

There is free wifi in the reception area, but not in the rooms. You can get wifi in the room for Eur 1 for 1 hour, Eur 2 for 2 hours and Eur 5 for 24 hours, payable at reception.

Tried the cooked breakfast, but it was really cold, much colder than the usual Spanish lukewarm offerings so had ham and cheese instead. The freshly cooked bacon and fried eggs from the carvery station were better and there was occasionally omelettes available. The coffee from the machine was very hot though, but there were always long queues with only 2 coffee machines for the whole restaurant.

Lunch and dinner ranged from just OK to quite good. The soup was very good as was the fish, beef fillet and lasagne. There was always salad and ham and cheese available.

Breakfast is served 0800-1000, lunch from 1245-1445 and dinner from 1915-2115. Water is Eur 1.30, Coke Eur 1.60 and a bottle of wine Eur 6.00-9.00.

The location was good, close to the outdoor market which is on a Sunday and Wednesday morning. It was just a short walk to loads of bars and restaurants, the beach and Avenida del Mediterraneo which is the main shopping street that runs the length of the resort.

Can't comment on the entertainment as we didn't stay in the hotel at night. However there were games/competitions until 1pm and dancing in the afternoon, including line dancing which was well supported when we saw it.

The staff were very helpful and friendly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Very good value for money
5 years 7 months ago
This Hotel was very good value for money and in a good location, just a short walk to the beach and all the night life.

I found the food to be very good and I enjoyed every meal I had. Being on my own, my parents were in an apartment close by, I had a single room which was fin, lovely clean bathroom with little toiletries supplied. Could only get one English channel on the TV which was sky news.

There seemed to be some refurbishment work going on on the top floors and the walls were paper thin, but that won't go on forever and I didn't spend too much time in the room anyway.

All in all, a very good hotel for the money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Spotless hitel and friendly staff
5 years 8 months ago
Went to the Helios for a week and had a great stay. The rooms are very big compared to other hotels I've stayed in.

I was full board at this hotel, I'm not a fussy eater neither is my hubby but we did find it very difficult to make a meal of what was on offer. Scrambled egg for tea time and some other dish with fried eggs on top, stew and fish every night. I loved the salad bar so could eat from there.

The hotel was spotless, all staff do a very good job and cant fault it at all. The entertainment was more for the Spanish but I don't go on holiday to sit in my hotel, there is too much to do and see right on your door step .

I would visit again as the hotel is in a good location and staff are very nice. Cant complain as we got a great deal for this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Pauline Pemberton,mark,liam.chloe.
5 years 9 months ago
Just returned from a one weeks stay at the hotel Helios. We could always find something to eat, salads, soups, fish, variety of meats, veg, always chips, selection of desserts and ice cream. You must be too fussy if you couldn't find anything suitable.

The hotel is clean, staff are very friendly, plenty going on during the day, and entertainment every night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
David
6 years 6 months ago
after arriving back yesterday why people moan about this hotel is because they are ungreatful this hotel is very clean the food was good you would never starve there was a slection for everyone the hotel is right in the center for everything but you don,t get any noise late at night . hotel staff were great polite and frendly entertainment was good but there is plenty of other shows you can go and see. i,m going to go and book again for next year after i have wrote this.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: