37 independent reviews of the Helios Hotel
Address: Avenida de Filipinas, 12, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Helios Hotel
Helios Hotel Location
Ranked #43 of 130 hotels in Benidorm


4/5
Helios Hotel Helios Hotel is rated 3.7 out of 5 from 37 Reviews
76% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (37 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 5 stars

Helios Hotel Reviews

5/5
5
"Excellent hotel! Will return one day!"
Pauline Slater stayed at Helios Hotel in June 2013
My partner, 2 kids aged 5 and 11 stayed half-board at Hotel Helios, last week of June 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very clean and welcoming throughout. The staff on the reception are friendly and helpful. The children’s entertainers were fantastic and worked very hard.
The meals were buffet style, I particularly enjoyed the Chinese themed night. There was varied entertainment every evening, beginning with a mini-disco which my son loved! The hotel was full but we always managed to get a sunbed. Drinks and snacks were available by the pool, reasonably priced.
The hotel is in a very central location, yet we didn't experience any noise at night. The rooms have balconies and some British TV channels. Our bathroom had a Jacuzzi bath and was modern. I would love to return to this hotel in the future.


Tour Operator: expressrooms

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4
"Lively holiday town"
Kathy Cakebread had a holiday at Helios Hotel, Benidorm in August 2012
The weather was great, people were friendly and the hotel was clean and tidy.

The hotel offered Wi-Fi although you had to pay to use it. There was an outdoor swimming pool and the usual sun loungers that you had to fight to get.

A bar was available to those sitting outside selling drinks and ice creams. We had full catering and there were different food items available every day including a full English breakfast in the morning.

The only downside was that entertainment in the hotel was a little on the dull side.


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4
"Friendly hotel, spotless rooms"
Ash visited the Helios Hotel in December 2011
What a fantastic week we had at this hotel, very good first impressions on our arrival, reception check in was quick and easy reception staff very helpful and polite. Public areas spotless, room of a good standard very clean and a wonderful maid who always had a smile for you every morning. We asked for extra pillows and they arrived within the hour, the room was spotless and fresh and the beds were comfortable, the only down side that is the lack of British TV channels Sky and BBC news and BBC1 that would freeze at around 20.30 each night.

The food on full board basis had a good choice of menu and lots of it, all I can say on the downside is that it could have been a little warmer, apart from that it was of a pretty ...
good standard. I would have no problem going back to this hotel we had a great time. Many thanks to the hotel staff and management for a very pleasant stay at your hotel...... I will be back.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3
"Clean hotel but would never go back"
Peter&Pat had a holiday at Helios Hotel in November 2011
This place is very clean but the breakfasts were not very good at all.

We stayed here only because we had no other place we could get at short notice due to the Rosamar being over booked and sticking us in here. I will tell you what they offered for a hot breakfast (cold beans, cold sausage and cold bacon that was cooked until it was black not over cooked just burnt. For the time I was here I went native and had cakes for my starter meal of the day. One day I was told they offered a bean stew that had baked beans, chicken and burnt bacon bits in it. The Brits naturally would not touch it but some or the many Spanish old folk enjoyed it.

The walls are so thin we could here ...
what the people in the next room were talking about but at 1.45am when they started sex games we had enough and I phoned them and played back what they had said. They went quiet after that.

As I said the place is ultra clean and a nice place. If you go B&B try eating in Monroes on the Europa

Advise is not to book half of full board just B&B.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2
"Not a good experience"
mary had a holiday at Helios Hotel, Benidorm in May 2011
This hotel is very clean and bright. The bar staff were very friendly.

Our complaints are the food is awful and we ate out as I kept getting a upset stomach.

There were also groups of lads jumping in the pool fully clothed pushing each other in even on the loungers and the bad language was disgusting. They were also dropping their shorts in front of everyone including children it spoilt our holiday.

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4
"Rooms were a good size"
luci visited the Helios Hotel in November 2010
Check in was swift and we were allocated a room on a low floor facing the pool as I has requested by email, room 223. The first 3 floors have been refurbished and we got one of those.

The room was very nice and a good size with twin beds which had lightweight duvets. There was a wall mounted 22 inch¯ flat screen TV showing Sky News and CNN and a desk with cupboard below. The mirrored wardrobe had plenty hanging space and 3 small drawers. The balcony was a good size with 2 chairs and a small table and faced the pool which was covered in winter.

The bathroom had a large walk in shower only, no bath, sink and toilet. There was no plug in the sink due to the design so shaving had ...
to be done in running water and there was a wall mounted hairdryer. The towels were very thin, but did the job.

The walls were very thin as we could clearly hear next doors Xmas CD and any conversation.

The sheets were changed mid-week and the towels daily.

Went down for Xmas lunch which was served buffet style. There were a lot of fishy starters, but I managed to get cold meats and cheeses. Had chestnut stuffed turkey and entrecote main, but the meringue milk bomb dessert was finished although there were other desserts. There was as much red and white wine, water, soft drinks and cava as you wanted.

There is free wifi in the reception area, but not in the rooms. You can get wifi in the room for Eur 1 for 1 hour, Eur 2 for 2 hours and Eur 5 for 24 hours, payable at reception.

Tried the cooked breakfast, but it was really cold, much colder than the usual Spanish lukewarm offerings so had ham and cheese instead. The freshly cooked bacon and fried eggs from the carvery station were better and there was occasionally omelettes available. The coffee from the machine was very hot though, but there were always long queues with only 2 coffee machines for the whole restaurant.

Lunch and dinner ranged from just OK to quite good. The soup was very good as was the fish, beef fillet and lasagne. There was always salad and ham and cheese available.

Breakfast is served 0800-1000, lunch from 1245-1445 and dinner from 1915-2115. Water is Eur 1.30, Coke Eur 1.60 and a bottle of wine Eur 6.00-9.00.

The location was good, close to the outdoor market which is on a Sunday and Wednesday morning. It was just a short walk to loads of bars and restaurants, the beach and Avenida del Mediterraneo which is the main shopping street that runs the length of the resort.

Can't comment on the entertainment as we didn't stay in the hotel at night. However there were games/competitions until 1pm and dancing in the afternoon, including line dancing which was well supported when we saw it.

The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5
"Very good value for money"
Lynne visited the Helios Hotel, Benidorm in October 2010
This Hotel was very good value for money and in a good location, just a short walk to the beach and all the night life.

I found the food to be very good and I enjoyed every meal I had. Being on my own, my parents were in an apartment close by, I had a single room which was fin, lovely clean bathroom with little toiletries supplied. Could only get one English channel on the TV which was sky news.

There seemed to be some refurbishment work going on on the top floors and the walls were paper thin, but that won't go on forever and I didn't spend too much time in the room anyway.

All in all, a very good hotel for the money.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4
"Spotless hitel and friendly staff"
Mazza had a holiday at Helios Hotel in September 2010
Went to the Helios for a week and had a great stay. The rooms are very big compared to other hotels I've stayed in.

I was full board at this hotel, I'm not a fussy eater neither is my hubby but we did find it very difficult to make a meal of what was on offer. Scrambled egg for tea time and some other dish with fried eggs on top, stew and fish every night. I loved the salad bar so could eat from there.

The hotel was spotless, all staff do a very good job and cant fault it at all. The entertainment was more for the Spanish but I don't go on holiday to sit in my hotel, there is too much to do and see right on your door step .

I would visit again as the ...
hotel is in a good location and staff are very nice. Cant complain as we got a great deal for this hotel.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

pauline pemberton,mark,liam.chloe. had a holiday at Helios Hotel, Benidorm in August 2010
Just returned from a one weeks stay at the hotel Helios. We could always find something to eat, salads, soups, fish, variety of meats, veg, always chips, selection of desserts and ice cream. You must be too fussy if you couldn't find anything suitable.

The hotel is clean, staff are very friendly, plenty going on during the day, and entertainment every night.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

david visited the Helios Hotel in October 2009
after arriving back yesterday why people moan about this hotel is because they are ungreatful this hotel is very clean the food was good you would never starve there was a slection for everyone the hotel is right in the center for everything but you don,t get any noise late at night . hotel staff were great polite and frendly entertainment was good but there is plenty of other shows you can go and see. i,m going to go and book again for next year after i have wrote this.

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Jean Carroll visited the Helios Hotel, Benidorm, Spain in September 2009
What a wonderful hotel. we were with friends and were full board and if anyone went hungry it was because they were far too fussy. There was a good choice of food at all meals and it was very well cooked. Compliments to the chef.

The hotel was very clean, towels changed daily and all staff from the reception and waiters to the cleaners were very polite and helpful.

We would definatley ask for this hotel again when we return to Benidorm.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

mike cardwell had a holiday at Helios Hotel in August 2009
well the truth and nothing but the truth about the hotel helios.when i read about hotels on sites like this i would normally say god people are to fussy.well how wrong was i about the helios.lets start from the airport we booked with direct holidays we checked out there website and got a good deal.will use direct holidays next year.we where on a thomas cook flight as is in partnership with direct the flight was great even i am a bad passenger hate flights was well good.no delays nothing even left early and transfers was good.arrived in benidorm sun shinning came to hotel helios.check in was fast and polite even at 8.30pm went to room it was a big room but very basic but was spotlessly clean.bathroom was good size and a fantastic shower very strong and always hot.the room ...
is big even if you get a third bed in it.t.v.cnn,sky news,bbc world news thats it.safe as well we paid 39 euros for two weeks then you get back 10 euros when give your key back.there was no information at all in your room about the hotel.we went down for breakfast next morning ooh god here we go.i am an ex chef so i do know the pressure they can be under but god there was no excuse for what food we where served up.i am not a fussy eater but bloody hell never again will i eat in a place like the helios.breakfast everything stone cold german saugs,watery scrambled eggs,beans,fryed egg,half cooked bacon swimming in oil,tomatoes,sliced mushrooms cooked in hot water then cold when you start to eat.i stayed away from that had toast and cheese and ham for two weeks.lunch god gets better fish,fish,fish,fish.then sometimes beef or slices of half cooked turkey or a chop or burger which is coated in golden breadcrumbs took a wee bit to try it and the bloody thing was of it was pink and of was near sick so left it and walked out.then dinner beef curry with the same meat for lunch.thought it would be a one of so give it another go next day seen home made burgers with large pieces of onions in it.GUESS WHAT they where that raw was afraid to touch incase they walked of the hotplate and attacked me.the food was horrible hate to do it to anyone and spoil there holiday but you certainly dont want to take ill out there.the desserts where a bloody joke to hope you like jelly and melon slices and the odd bun because thats all you will be getting oog sorry there is wee cartons ice cream but you will be eating them on there own.the coffee machine was broke for near three days so rotten black coffee with long life milk.i ended up buying food from supermarket to eat in my room like crispy fresh baps cheese and ham because food was so bad.i had enough first week went to rep she said it was spanish food i said what out of date burgers and breadcrumbed chops and raw burgers.she then said i eat in the restauarant to told her dont give a dam i am the one complaining here not her so filled out a complaint form and will be complaining today in a letter to.her name was christine she was an ok rep but they are all the same money ,money,money.the ppol area is ok to doors for pool open about 8.45am then all hell breaks loose old people who cant walk running to get sunbeds when you do get a bed and umbrella everyone seats on top of each other it is small but pool is clean and refreshing if you do like your own space cross over the road in front and go to the hotel venus which we did pool bigger and better and loads of space to sunbath.the entertainment was shocking they looked after there spanish customers big time.sure you are in benidorm go round to steptoes they are great people in there looked after us and the comics very funny even a tribute to elton john very good ricky was thanks to all there vinny,hosa,johnny,danny,ricky,and all the other staff had some great nights out there.oog forgot to add as well the matra,d in the restaurant was a nasty man as well but just to keep the peace i stayed away form him because i have a short fuse and did not want to go down to his level.we where told 11.00am we had to be out of the rooms and did not get picked up till 5.00pm.never and i mean never again will i be at this hotel was never so glad to be back home and like i said i am not fussy what spoiled it for us was dreaded go down to have there food did not know what illness we would get did not want food poison which i have had before in another hotel it was not nice.on the scores for food there is not a 0 so cant score it that but if you are booked for this hotel everything else is ok and yea you can get extra pillows and door keys just ask they will help you there.THANK GOD TO BE HOME.think maybe thomson gold next year

Read More

Tour Operator: direct holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

chris had a holiday at Helios Hotel, Benidorm, Spain in August 2008
Great hotel with helpful staff! food wasnt the best i dnt think i would have coped with AI and im not a fussy eater, u wait 10mins to get on the toaster in the morning and it comes out toasted on the one side! not enough sun beds round the pool so had to go to the beach unless u got up at 6 along with the germans to put down ur towel! great location for market beach bars etc so overall a great hotel i think its jst the spanish idea of a fry up that always lets us grumpy brits down anyhow! antonio in the restaraunt is a gent!!

Tour Operator: sunsaver

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

liz visited the Helios Hotel, Benidorm in August 2008
hi just just got back from another brill two weeks, this is my just second visit to the hotel, the entertainment is alot better now,food was ok sweets need to be a lot better.....staff very friendly. no problems getting a sunbed just go before breakfast at 8am so no need to get up too early...from ben,martin,dan.liz,tracy.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

liz visited the Helios Hotel in August 2008
hi just come back from another excellent two weeks,2nd time ive stayed in the hotel,entertainment is a lot better than it was,no need too get up too early 4 sunbeds just go before breakfast at 8am,food ok, sweets need to be better. booking again for next year,liz,dan,ben,martin,tracy,feels good!!

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Alison Curtis had a holiday at Helios Hotel, Benidorm, Spain in July 2008
We were allocated this hotel after our original booking at the Ambassador Playa was over booked so was a bit apprehensive at being given the Helios as a replacement. Could not have been more pleased. The Helios is a great Hotel with great food and in a great location. Entertainment was a show every night, maybe a little late at 11pm as could have been geared more for the children. If I have one complaint it would be that there were not enough sunbeds or shade around the pool and like most Hotels if you weren\'t up with the larks or willing to sunbed save then you were out of luck by 9.00am. All in all a great Hotel. As before you aint been to Benidorm if you don\'t see \"The Original Sticky Vicky\"!!!

Tour Operator: Triton Rooms

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Stevie visited the Helios Hotel, Benidorm in July 2008
Not a bad hotel.A struggle with the lifs though as we had 2 wheel chairs .The lifts where quite small and at mealtimes where a nightmare.
There where no sun shades around the pool and on 1 occasion a toddler was told to take his tshirt off in the pool by the lfeguard.He was then told off by an irate mum as to how we can keep the kids safe in the 90+ sun with no shades for the guests.
The food was a bit hit and miss some days the menu was great and some days not so good .on a couple of occasions we ordered a packed lunch which consisted of a ham sandwich a cheese sandwich a hard boiled egg an apple and a bottle of water,This was ordered the day ...
before.The water was free with a packed lunch but if you where to have water with you lunch or evening meal in the dining room you would be charged 1.30 euro per bottle.Drinks at breakfast where free though.
The entertainment was poor and not to my liking .this can be seen by the many empty tables and chairs at night..
The location was brilliant right in the heart of everything.Although it is a bit noisy on Wednesday and Sundays due to the foam party at Jokers next door.
The Market is only 100 yards away so great for shopping.
In closing I would say The Helios Hotel is a decent 3*..
Regards Stevie

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

paul and linda had a holiday at Helios Hotel in June 2007
We stayed on the top floor at this hotel the room was lovely.

The maids clean your room everyday and were very polite.

After reading other reviews about the food we were pleasently suprised we enjoyed our meals.You could have bacon and egg every morning if you wanted to.

The locaation was exellent it was close to all the bars and shops and the beach (Sticky Vicky is a must)>

We would definitley stay here again but watch out for the tiger in reception.

Tour Operator: direct holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

denis bertie visited the Helios Hotel, Benidorm in March 2007
The hotel is very clean but the food leaves a lot to be desired good food wasted. The sweets were very poor the worst hotel we have been to in Benidorm for food. The Venus hotel acros the road is five star compared to this hotel would not book again.

Tour Operator: direct holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Lucy visited the Helios Hotel, Benidorm, Spain in February 2007
I first came to this hotel 4 years ago and I just have to keep coming back!

The staff at reception are lovely and the bar staff are entertaining and lovely too!

The location is brilliant and you can never get bored!

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Other hotels in Benidorm

5 star Hotels
4 star Hotels
3 star Hotels
2 star Hotels
1 star Hotels
Share