Image of Balcon de Europa Hotel

Balcon de Europa Hotel

5 of 15 hotels in Nerja

4 out of 5 from 14 reviews
4 stars
Calle del Almirante Ferrándiz, 113, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Named after the famous promontory, the superb position overlooking the sea inspires guests to return to this popular hotel year after year.

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Tommy
6 years 7 months ago
Having arrived on the Sunday it was straight in for evening meal which is a buffet the soup was cold and not much choice the breakfast next morning was all cold the rest of the week was waiter service so the meals was at least hot but not much choice.There was only one night of entertainment if you need to get the waiters attention dont wave he took offence to this the rooms was okay and having requested a sea view and getting a room looking over a big gas tank on the roof and just a window was a let down.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Gibbins
7 years ago
The Balcon Hotel is just fantastic!! I came here 2 years ago with my Dad as we always come to Nerja together!

We came back to this Hotel and yet again it was just fantastic! The Hotel is so clean, our rooms were cleaned every single day!! The Staff were so friendly and could not do enough for you, they really make you feel so welcome.

The food was fantastic, could not fault it. There is so much choice and every meal that we had was wonderful. I heard someone moaning about the food and how there was not enough choice!! Did make me laugh! The Staff @ meal times were so friendly and remembered us and made us feel great. Anything you wanted, you just had to ask for and they would help out.

The beach is great, the only niggle I felt with this is that you had to pay for sunbeds. Staying in a Hotel of this star rating and the price that you pay to stay, I felt that these should be free but we were on holiday so we just went with the flow!!

There were a few weddings while we were there and they looked just amazing and the staff really went all out for the couples.

We are going back nst year to this Hotel, to be honest I would not stay anywhere else. Great stuff!!!! The best Hotel in Nerja.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
7 years 10 months ago
We arrived at around 2pm and were given room 803. I asked the chap at reception to confirm it was a 'sea-view' as we had paid considerably extra for this and I was told it was facing the balcon promenade however this had a sea-view, he told me there were no rooms available looking directly onto the sea !! Be very careful when booking 'sea-view' rooms as on arrival at the room it took us 2 minutes to return to reception as the view looked directly onto trees about 6 foot from our balcony. The only 'sea-view' we had was if we hung out the balcony and looked right along the gap between the end of trees and hotel. Very misleading. The same chap at reception who had told me there were no rooms available looking directly onto sea 5 minutes previous was now arranging with my wife to move us into room 813 with a direct 'sea-view' ????? I heard an Irish couple complaining later in the week about the same thing.

Contrary to previous reports the sunbeds on the beach and next to the restaurant on level 0 are not free, they cost 3 euros each however by the time we'd left this had risen to 3.50 euros each. The only free sunbeds are at the tiny pool area on level 5 (which doesn't open till 10.30am).

It was the only hotel I've ever stayed in which 'officially' allowed guests to reserve sunbeds (after 9am) although speak nice to the sunbed man and he'll reserve for you before this !! The beach itself is NOT private but owned by the Town Hall and therefore open to anyone off the street. The local schoolies would arrive en-masse about 4pm and generally upset the calm.

Hotel itself is in a very good location and kept very clean, however the decor is a bit outdated. We only had breakfast which was the usual buffet type, altough the views out were great. Entertainment at Hotel was really bad. The wee porter was very pleasant and helpful as were the maids.

In summary the hotel in our opinion is not 4-star but probably nearer 3-star but for the location.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Sue
8 years 5 months ago
Wonderful 5 night break. Perfect location. Watched the sunrise every morning from our balcony, only noise was the sound of the waves on the beach below.

Hotel staff friendly and efficient. Area around hotel flat and only a short stroll to the shops so excellent location for our elderly mother.

Breakfasts superb and evening meal excellent.

Did not see a cloud - went in the sea every day in December!

Would definitely go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lefthander
9 years 8 months ago
My wife and I visited Nerja previously and stayed at different accomodation.

We promised ourselves that if we returned we would stay at this hotel due to its superb location. We were not disappointed other than with the room position though it was our own choice not to book a room with a balcony and sea view. Our room overlooked an internal courtyard, with no balcony and was quite dark.

Whilst it was of no concern to us as we are in our 50's, the hotel appears to make no provision for children in facilities or meals. There were no children there during our stay

We found the hotel of a high standard and enjoyed the meals. The entertainment was minimal but this is of no consequence as we would not have stayed in. The balcon area is bursting with life as soon as you step out of the door. The views from the balcony are superb and the beaches, including the hotel's own, are excellent.

Nerja is a lovely town with different features at day and night. The mini - train is worth a ride. It costs 3.50 Euros and takes you all round the town for about 30 minutes, seeing parts you might not otherwise be aware of.

We will definitely return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Derek Hough
9 years 11 months ago
This was our second visit (last stayed there 9yrs ago) We booked a room with a sea view and were not disappointed (9th floor). The room was spotless and had air-con & a mini bar both of which kept things cold. Room safe was free - Mini bar cost 1.80 euros for the week.

Plenty of sumbeds on the hotel deck as well as on the beach but these were charged at 3 euros a day. We had only one day when we were unable to get sunbeds.

The food was waiter service. There was a good choice (4 Starters/4 Main Courses/ 5 Sweets) and it was always hot. Sundays were buffet style.

There were NO children at the hotel which catered mainly for the 50+ age group. I marked the hotel staff down due solely to the rudeness and couldn't care less attitude of the bar staff who seemed to spend more time arguing amongst themselves than serving customers. Other staff were superb but the bar staff certainly needed sorting out. After two days we simply took our business elsewhere.

There is virtually no entertainment at the hotel but it is not required, you anly have to step out on the the balcon and its adjoining square and there are musicians, artists, dancers, carriage rides etc all af which were very good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gerry & Julie Pike
10 years ago
My wife and I stayed at the Balcon de Europa for 7 days and while much was good there were some rules and regulation that spoilt some of our pleasure.

We were given a taxi transfer by our travel agent and while the journey was good when we arrived we were dropped off in an underground car park with no directions as to where the hotel was.

The hotel itself was very clean and the staff were pleasant, and the food we had was nice and tasty, but, as one who likes a swim before breakfast it was not possible here as you were not allowed through the hotel door to the beach until 9am. The only other way to the beach was a 15/20 mins walk, and as the hotel is right on the beach this seemed somewhat strange, ah, I hear you say, why not have your swim in the pool, well that would have been ok but guests were not allowed in the pool area until 10.30am.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Julie And Ian Pendlebury
10 years ago
This was our first visit to this hotel/resort. We booked a junior suite on the 4th floor via the internet.The room was large and best described as 'tired' but the view was spectacular.

We felt overall it was value for money.We did think the breakfast choice lacked imagination. We only had dinner there once - again the choice was limited and very little atmosphere in the restaurant.

This did not particularly bother us as our intention was to try the many (excellent) restaurants in the town. We were surprised at the lack of usual information about the hotel's facilities e.g.no info folder in our room etc. We have no real issues with our stay but do feel the hotel relies too much on its outstanding location.

There may be an element of complacency beginning to develop but we would still recommend.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 2 months ago
We had seen this Hotel on our last visit to Nerja 5 yrs ago and thought it would be the perfect place to use as a base in the Town.

Room - very clean but very basic - not even a kettle to make a cuppa !

Booked a room with a balcony and sea view - well worth it -very romantic.

Only B&B as we like to eat in different places - breakfast was very good - lots of choice.
Staff very pleasant.

The majority of the guests were of retirement age and I think the entertainment was aimed at this age - this holiday was the first time Mrs Toffeeman & I had been away without our children and as it was only a 4 day break - we were more intent on getting out and about rather than staying in the Hotel.

We had a fantastic 4 days and are looking forward to the next time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
David Steele
10 years 5 months ago
My wife and I stayed for 5 nights over christmas, the only down side is if you self drive the hotel is dificult to find and all signs take you to an undergroung car park, I parked my car and set of on foot to try and find the hotel, as the hotel can only be got to on foot it was pure luck that we parked in the correct car park, I was charged 9 euros plus vat per night to park in the hotel car park, not to bad for a short stay but would mount up for a long stay.

The hotel food was good but had to be ordered from a menu and some times with little choice. The christmas gala dinner was first class with free wine and dancing all evening although no entertainment on the other nights,the hotel staff where very helpfull and frendly.

I would recommend that a sea view room is booked as our room at the side overlooked the air conditioning and we had the humming sound 24 hours a day.

I would stop at this hotel again as it as the best sea front location and you are central to all the shops and eating places.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: