Image of Nerja Club Hotel

Nerja Club Hotel

11 of 15 hotels in Nerja

3 out of 5 from 10 reviews
3 stars
Calle de Pescia, 29780 Nerja, Spain
A modern hotel on the outskirts of the resort, the Nerja Club may be quiet by day, but in the evening most guests gather together in the warm and sociable atmosphere of the bar, where the live music, which takes place outside in high season.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mrs P Just
1 year 2 months ago
Was not happy with this hotel especially the food which was never hot and lived on salads for the whole time. Also should not really have recommended this hotel for people over 60 as the walk bad enough down to the beach and centre but a killer to walk back. Part of a holiday is a nice walk to a bar in the evening but there was nothing close so either had to get bus there a cd taxi back s buses do not run in the evening after 8pm. The entertainment average only one would call good and drinks all very expensive for example small bottle of water was Euro 1.40 and could buy3 bottles for that in supermarket. Would not return to this hotel as worked out very expensive with a single supplement costing nearly the same as for a couple.

Travel operator: Thompson

Swindells
Wonderful!
6 years 5 months ago
This beautiful old hotel has during the winter months undergone a make-over. It now boasts an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and gym. The rooms have been re-decorated to a high standard and new bathroom suites added. Each room has a flat TV on which you can receive many channels.

The Hotel Nerja Club is kept spotlessly clean by hard working staff, all staff at the hotel are eager to please. Make use of the very friendly waiters serving drinks and light lunches around the poolside. This also has been upgraded and now has a contemporary look about it. Wonderful.

All meals are buffet style and the breakfast in particular is terrific. In the evening there is plenty of choice, there is always fish, meat (chicken, beef, lamb) pasta and a variety of vegetables. This of course after your starter of soup or various salads.

The location of the hotel makes it ideal for taking lazy quiet walks, perhaps to the next village MARO about a couple of miles away. A walk to the beach takes about10/15 minutes downhill.

Evening entertainment at the hotel is middle of the road stuff that most people talk over until a few drinks have been taken.

My preference is to find somewhere near the pool and just breath in the jasmine scented air and enjoy a pleasant conversation and a few drinks with new found friends.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 1 month ago
Meals were buffet style however regrettably the food was sadly pretty much the same each day, a choice of chicken, pork or fish. Very disappointing. We went to a local Italian one night and the food and service was fantastic !

Hotel staff friendly and approachable.

One evening (Monday) I tried to watch something on the TV in the lounge area (room TV pretty poor) it was showing a nothing Spanish soccer game and the TV remote was missing.

Reception told me that the TV channel cannot be changed because they have advertised it as being on, when I said nobody was watching it they insisted it must stay on. Having given up and returned to the poolside- Around the pool area is a large raised sunbathing terrace with sunbeds, tables, chairs etc. This area also doubles up as the evening entertainment area- I then noticed that the only people who went to watch the entertainment was the receptionist and the bar staff.

Hotel internally was clean but the quality of the rooms and fittings were lower in standard to what I would have expected of a 3 star rated hotel.

I found several small pieces of broken glass on the sunbathing terrace, presumably from drinks glasses dropped during the evening sessions (no plastic glasses for poolside). This area, as you would expect, had people walking around without shoes / sandals etc on their way to / from the pool. I managed to walk on one piece of glass. I mentioned this to one of the waiters expecting someone to come and brush it up but it never happened, I also found broken glass on a sunbed.

Happy hour in the bar from 1800. Drinks were expensive. Location is out of town a bit - we walked into town and got a taxi back - cost 6 euros.

Evening entertainment was dire! Of the 4 nights we stayed 2 nights had British 'entertainers' - this attracted the local Brits that lived in the area in. The other 2 nights are best not talked about !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
William
9 years 7 months ago
food was at best bland poor choice some of the better food is what you had to pay for lunch,
it was a good 15-20 mins walk in to town which was ok,
staff were good, clean, helpful.
enterainment in the day was nothing,
after your meal was poor and very low for a thompson hotel.
there were no reps in the hotel at all if you wanted 1 you had to phone 1 of 3 hotels to speak to 1.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Michael Shelton
10 years ago
We stayed half board at the Nerja Club and the food was better than average. menus were changed daily and when seafood was available it was quite good.

The cleanliness was only average and the bathroom fell well below an acceptable standard. The fittings in the bathroom were falling apart.

The sink cabinet had at some time been very wet and the chipboard was breaking up. Screws that used to hold door handles stuck out the front of cabinet doors ready to scratch the unwary.

The towel rail over the bath was hanging off the wall. Other rooms in the hotel have small balconies and looked very good but certain rooms have barred windows that look onto a road and they are prison like.

Other clients in one of the barred rooms were moved when they complained but we were told no rooms were available.

There were rooms empty but first choice would not move us as we were a late booking so beware who you travel with.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Nellie Pledge
10 years 4 months ago
We arrived after travelling with Thomson on a plane that I think was about 25 years old and made noises like it was going to break up in mid air from metal fatigue.

We arrived at the hotel at 11pm so missed dinner that night, although I was surprised that they had put in the room some fruit and a sandwich which was a nice touch.

The hotel was very clean they were painting the week when we were there.

The Bar prices were very expensive 2 halves of lager at the Bar was over 5 Euros. Across the road in the Tennis club 2 bottles of San Miguel is 3 Euros so worth a trip across the road from the hotel 1 minute away.

The food out of the seven days we were there was almost edible. Only one good day. The chef seems to think he has to add butter to absolutely everything he cooks whether it be baked beans out of a tin he puts butter in them. Which is absolutely disgusting considering the butter has gone off. It really did turn my stomach. If you have breakfast have died toast don't try the butter it is the most horrible thing I have ever tasted.

The television in the rooms was a great treat as it rained for 6 days out of the 7 . It has all the sky channels, BBC1, BBC2 ITV1, ITV 3 sky movies and news etc. Which came in handy as the weather was bad.

If you have mobility problems the Hotel is not for you given it's position in Nerja.

Overall the holiday was a nice treat and I would goto this hotel again as the plus points out way the negative.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Hugh
11 years 10 months ago
This was our fiftrh visit to Nerja and our fourth stay at the Nerja Club. We actually enjoy the walk to and from the hotel and the centre of Nerja. The hotel is clean and the facilities are fine. Not the place to go if you are looking for a lively clubing holiday, but there is always other places to go to.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
12 years 1 month ago
We stayed in a room at the front of the hotel and were worried about the noise from the main road but this did not bother either of us. The room was small and clean with much needed air conditioning. It was very basic. There was also a tv with all the main English channels.

In the main the hotel was very clean and as it is quite small it tended to be very friendly. The dining room was pleasant and relaxed. The food was hot and there was always a good choice on offer.

The Thomson rep was excellent and she was available every day and happy to answer any questions etc.

The entertainment was very good on the two evenings when they brought in different acts. The guy who sang and entertained most evenings sounded just like the pub singer! Once you'd seen the act once though it was enough (although this did not bother us and didn't put us off using the bar).

Overall the Nerja Club was a pleasant experience.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
John Stanners
12 years 4 months ago
Liked the location. Handy for walking along the coast or into the Parc Natural, bus station 10mins and so on
Supermarket across the road was useful.

I found the food pretty good if not a bit repetitive. Loads of fish & seafood

Good clean rooms

No complaints really
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first Choice

Recommended
Simon W
13 years 1 month ago
Small, extremely clean and very friendly staff.

The building, however, is starting to look its age.

Entertainment was totally naff and the food, although not giving cause for complaint, was a little bland and unadventurous.

I would re visit (at he right price) were it not for the location. It is a long walk 2 km+ to either town or beach and other than a cash & carry there are few ameneties nearby.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.