55 independent reviews of Nerja, Spain
Nerja Location

4/5
Nerja is rated 4 out of 5 from 55 Reviews

Nerja Hotels

Nerja Reviews

5/5


Jay visited here on September 2005
One of the best things about this area is you have a choice on where you spend your time. There are area\'s where its young and lively and there are the area\'s for families. If you really want the quite life then go at end of Sept or Oct. The sun is still hot enough to sunbath and there is plenty of space to do it in.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


dozybint visited here on September 2005
Loved Nerja - there is such a laid back friendly atmosphere to the place and you get to see the real Spain as opposed to the more commercialised resorts. This place is perfect for a quiet relaxing holiday - I will definitely be back and I absolutely loved walking around the shops and square in the evenings, went on a couple of trips (you should go to the caves if you can) and even managed to take the local bus to Malaga for a day trip (adventurous for me!!!). This resort is perfect if you want a quiet holiday to relax and enjoy the spanish way of life - i wouldnt hesitate in recommending you go and i ...
will be back soon when i need to chill out and recharge my batteries.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Watson visited here on August 2005
Views from the Balcon de Europe good during the day and a lively place to visit during the evening. In previous years, the little train would stop at all the hotels, like the Villa Flamenca, but it no longer does that now, which is a shame.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


Mayo visited here on June 2005
Liked the resort very much. There are plenty of lovely restaurants and bars. The town itself has lots of interesting shops and little streets to explore. There are excellent bus and taxi services which are both reasonably priced. All in all highly recommended - you get the best of both worlds here.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Eddie & Frances (48, 48) visited here on June 2005
Nerja, Costa del Sol. Beautiful small town, no sky high hotels blocking the views. Almost all amenities within walking distance,[Quite/very hilly in parts,Burriana beach to Villa Flamenca esp!

Take the circular town bus till you get your bearings-90cents each. Favourite beaches were Torrecilla & Burriana, both very clean.

Plenty shops to browse, good market on Tuesday morning & lots of cafes/bars to relax in with a cooling drink & people watch.

Also enjoyed a visit to the caves, Frigliana, Granada & Gibraltar. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Tony M visited here on June 2005
You have to keep an eye out for dog mess in some areas but that tends to be less of a problem in the \'resort\' area than the commercial part so not really a problem. Apart from that the place is as clean as any other spanish town.

Night life focuses around the Balcon and (often pedestrianised or closed off) roads leading to it. With all the street entertainers on the Balcon you can easily spend hours just sitting at an outside bar and watching the world go by. But that ignores the aray of restaurants catering for all tastes and ages and of course bars, all of which stay open late.

There are a few clubs ...
but I think they are away from the main area.

There are several small beaches divided by natural rock formations just to the left of the Balcon (with the resort behind you) which means you can get away from the crowds a bit. The beach-front restaurant is great and has live entertainment a couple of nights a week. There is a larger beach the other side of the Balcon but for the best take a stroll further afield where there is a mile long stretch backing on to shops and restaurants (sorry, can\'t remember the name of it).

I met a couple there who had been visiting Nerja for many years and I can see why. It manages to be most things for most people - very Spanish, minimal high rise, good entertainment for all ages and excellent beaches. It is also a good centre for driving to other places. But unless you go to the beaches outside town there are a lot of steps down to the beach which would be an issue for people with walking difficulties. I will be going back again.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


Marion & Jim McFadyen visited here on April 2005
The hotel is away from the main area but we never found this a negative, being in the quieter area meant a more relaxing holiday, just a 5 minute stroll (well the 1:10 hill, but we enjoyed the exercise!), a leisurely 20 minutes, through the picturesque streets takes you to the main Balcon area, where you will find bars and resturants to suit all tastes.

My only grumble would be the dog dirt, but if you watch where you\'re going you\'ll be ok.

All in all, I had one of the best holidays I\'ve had in a long time, long warm days and tall cool drinks, what more could you ask for.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Ray Dawson visited here on March 2005
Excellent resort, an interesting town with plenty of shops along its maze of streets. Not a building site, mostly an excellent standard of building.

Plenty of places to eat and bars, staffed often by english people, but whatever the nationality always friendly. Beach Barracuda is light shingle but very clean.

Bed chairs have thick mattresses, and are arranged in small fenced off areas each with its own attendant. Seven euros for the day when we were there. Plenty of toilets and they were clean.

Town is a little hilly and would not suit the less able but little traffic.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Brian Wallace visited here on August 2004
Nerja is a lovely, large town with an abundance of places to eat, drink and be merry. The holiday brochures give the impression that Nerja is a quiet, unspoilt Spanish town but we did not find this to be the case. Having said that, we were not at all disappointed with our stay.

Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


Imma & Tony visited here on August 2004
The resort was absolutely beutiful, wasnt commercialised like most spanish resorts, it was a very spanish old traditional place. Loads of entertainment on in the square for all ages. You have pleant of bars & resteraunts to eat at, all very nice. The Burriana beach which is the main beach is very clean, toilets which are cleaned every day and shoewers which come in handy. Loads of resteraunts and cafes on the beach front for snacks or meals. I definitley recomend that if you go to Nerja you definitely spend a day down the beach, we spent a whole week down the beach.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


doris visited here on August 2004
Nerja is a small quiet and pleasant resort but there is very little to do. I saw nothing for children at all.It gets very noisy in the evening when the local youths start racing around on motorbikes and scooters.
The beaches are quite nice but as with the pavements you have to watch out as there is a lot of dog dirt around.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Hope Springs visited here on July 2004
Although Nerja is not as commercialised as other costa del sol resorts it\'s not a sleepy old resort either.There is dog dirt and graffitee but its hardly noticeable.The Balcon de Europe is the heart of the resort and comes alive at night with artists,toy sellers,human statues etc.The roads/alleys leading off the Balcon are filled with the usual tat shops,beer offs and perfume parlours.You\'d never starve in Nerja as there is an myriad of restaurants and bars throughout the resort.The beaches vary from sand to shingle but shelve quite steeply,Playa Torrecilla was our favorite.You can catch local buses from the bus station on the edge of town to Malaga,the caves which are well worth a visit and to Frigilliana which isn\'t.There\'s ...
also a mini train [the wally trolley] which pretty much goes around everywhere which if anything lets you see that away from the centre Nerja is pretty scruffy.I think Nerja would suit couples but if you\'ve got kids better head for Torremalinos.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Andrew Malloy visited here on June 2004
The Balcon de Europa is lovely to see.

Nerja is a nice town maintaining it\'s original Spanish character. We saw a lovely wedding in the town church, just near the Balcon. There are plenty of bars and places to eat. There is a weekly market, but be warned, it can be hot.

There is a bus station for easy commuting to other locations, such as Frigilana, the caves, Malaga etc.

There is even an old dissused sugar factory and aquaduct which have to be seen.

There is regular entertainment at the Balcom, including mime artists, painting, portraits, and while we were there a small music festival.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Jeremy & Heather Firth visited here on April 2004
Nerja is a wqonderful, typically Spanish town with loads of charm. It\'s also very clean and there is plenty of pubs, restaurants and cafes to while away the time. The beach itself is very nice, clean too.

Overall I would recommend a trip to Nerja to couples and families alike, it has plenty to offer and you\'ll want to return yourself one day!
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Colin & Patricia Cowling visited here on January 2004
Resort is smallish with lots of narrow streets with whitewashed houses and apartments, hotels tend to be small (some exceptions) and relativly low rise. Streets seem to be cleaned every morning. Centre of the resort is the square at the Balcon de Europe with street artists performing most days. Lots of cafe\'s and shops. Several beaches, all clean and the views are magnificent all along the coast. Good views of the moutains and lots of excursions available. A very relaxing resort, will certainly return.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


J Kerr visited here on August 2003
We came to Nerja for the first time Sept 2003 and are planning a trip christmas 2004. Loved the resort, very clean and tidy . Plenty of shops although it took a bit of getting used to the siesta but its great being able to shop into the night, entertainment there if you want it. Lots of nice walks and places to visit, (try to learn a little holiday Spanish its not like going to Ibiza !!!)Many beaches to choose from. The Balcon De Europa is busy at night with many things going on (and by day) The bus station (so they call it) is readily accessable to most towns nearby for day trips (recommended).
Many many places ...
to eat and even more bars etc. We had a great time.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


McFadyen visited here on April 2003
We totally enjoyed our holiday, we never found it a disatvantage being in the quieter area, we could have a more relaxing evening just 10 minutes stroll (well the 1:10 hill but I enjoyed the exercise!) away or take the leisurely 20 winding walk through the lovely streets to the Balcon. With the exception of the dog dirt and the young guys on the motorcycles, I had one of the best holidays in a long time.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Andy visited here on March 2003
Nerja is one of the main tourist towns east of Malaga but manages to retain its Spanish atmosphere more than the other major resorts on the Costa del Sol.
This makes it suitable for couples and mature singles but not really for families with teenage children.

The resort is kept clean and is well maintained.
There are many shops to browse around many with an upmarket feel.
Entertainment is centred around the many bars and restaurants within the compact town centre.
An evening stroll around the narrow winding street towards the Balcon de Europa is very popular where you can then look out to sea or towards the mountain ranges for spectacular views.

Many of the beaches are shingle although some are a little sandy too.
If ...
you explore outwith Nerja and go along the coast you could find a secluded beach to yourself.
You will find many places that you can walk along the coast towards the small village of Maro near to the famous Caves de Nerja.
Go inland and you are in some beautiful countryside and a visit to the village of Frigiliana approx 6 kms from Nerja
makes a good day out.
A hire car would be a good idea for a few days if you want to visit the neighbouring towns and villages.
If not then there is a good bus service to Malaga which is just over an hour away and well worth a visit.

Overall I would say that Nerja is a good destination if you wish a reasonably quiet and relaxing holiday in a Spanish town.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

1/5


Alice Witts visited here on July 2002
didn\'t like nerja beaches at all all pebbles.

the town was very nice , lots of intereting shops and street entertainers.

train rides into the town regularly which was great.


Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


John Barlow visited here on April 2002
Nerja is what I would call a smallish family resort with not too much attraction for teanagers but very good for couples or families. Very atmospheric with loads of nice shops and restaurants. English very widely spoken. Lovely and clean.

Spectacular coast line with great beaches and views. Apparently the caves are fantastic but I have not been.

As far as I can see most entertainment is restaurant based. If you want loads of clubs and disco\'s etc. go to Marbella.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars
Quick hotel find:
Al Andalus Hotel  stars Al Andalus Hotel
Featuring a beautiful location and offering comfortable accommodation, the Al-Andalus Hotel is an ideal place for you to reside in Nerja.


4/5
Balcon de Europa Hotel  stars Balcon de Europa Hotel
Named after the famous promontory, the superb position overlooking the sea inspires guests to return to this popular hotel year after year.

Latest Review: Sep 2009

Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Nerja

Bronce Hostal  stars Bronce Hostal
Located in the old section of Nerja, the Hostal is a newly-constructed building (May 2004), yet maintains the traditional Andalusian manor style and is exquisitely decorated throughout. The Hostal comprises 7 well-appointed rooms, TV, ensuite bathrooms.


4/5
Capistrano Village Apartments  stars Capistrano Village Apartments
Address: Urb. El Capistrano Village, Centro comercial, local 5, 29780 Nerja, Spain

Latest Review: May 2012

Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Nerja

5/5
Dianes Hostal  stars Dianes Hostal
Address: Calle de la Pintada, 67, 29780 Nerja, Spain

Latest Review: Mar 2007

Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Nerja

3/5
Jimesol Hotel  stars Jimesol Hotel
If it's a small, elegant holiday base with tasteful decor and comfortable furnishings you are looking for you will find it here at the Hotel Jimesol. 500 metres from the shingle Playa de Torrecilla beach and approx. 50 metres from the restaurants and bars.

Latest Review: Nov 2011

Ranked #12 of 13 hotels in Nerja

Las Rosas De Nerja Apartments  stars Las Rosas De Nerja Apartments
The Las Rosas de Nerja is ideal for independent travellers who want to sample the real delights of this wonderful region. Due to its location, car hire is recommended to explore the surrounding area.

Ranked #13 of 13 hotels in Nerja

4/5
Marina Turquesa Apartments  stars Marina Turquesa Apartments
Address: C/cartama Nº 2, 28018, Spain

Latest Review: Sep 2006

Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Nerja

4/5
Marinas de Nerja Hotel  stars Marinas de Nerja Hotel
We invite you to enjoy an unforgettable stay at Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel Beach and Spa, situated in a privileged location on the beachfront and just 2 km from the historical town of Nerja renowned for its famous “Balcony of Europe”.

Latest Review: Sep 2010

Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Nerja

4/5
Mediterraneo Apartments  stars Mediterraneo Apartments
For those seeking simple relaxation this friendly, modern, well-maintained self catering base is an ideal choice. The beach is just moments away and for further diversion the resort centre is within easy access.

Latest Review: Feb 2009

Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Nerja

4/5
Monaca Riu Hotel  stars Monaca Riu Hotel
Overlooking the sea and Playa de la Torrecilla beach, the Riu Monica is an attractive and traditionally Spanish style hotel surrounded by attractive gardens. The hotel is ideally located for a relaxing break in this beautiful resort.

Latest Review: Mar 2008

Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Nerja

3/5
Nerja Club Hotel  stars Nerja Club Hotel
A modern hotel on the outskirts of the resort, the Nerja Club may be quiet by day, but in the evening most guests gather together in the warm and sociable atmosphere of the bar, where the live music, which takes place outside in high season.

Latest Review: Mar 2011

Ranked #11 of 13 hotels in Nerja

4/5
Perla Marina Hotel  stars Perla Marina Hotel
Suited to couples who enjoy a genuine Spanish atmosphere, comfortable accommodation and low key amenities, the Perla Marina is set right on the beach in a quiet location and offers great views. This is an ideal choice for those who want to unwind on holiday.

Latest Review: Sep 2007

Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Nerja

5/5
Plaza Cavana Hotel  stars Plaza Cavana Hotel
The Plaza Cavana is a family-run hotel with a very friendly atmosphere. Smell the blossom from nearby trees and that appetising aroma of fresh coffee. The pavement terrace of this central hotel is the ideal place to sit out and plan your day.

Latest Review: Feb 2008

Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Nerja

4/5
Villa Flamenca Hotel  stars Villa Flamenca Hotel
Built in Andalucian style, around a flower-filled patio with water fountain and tiled walls, the Villa Flamenca offers a warm welcome.

Latest Review: Nov 2011

Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Nerja
Share