Image of Ventura

Ventura

7 of 9 P & O ships

At 115,000 tons and some 290 meters long, Ventura is the largest superliner ever built for the British market. Her vast scale and acres of deck space have allowed her designers a remarkable opportunity in which to introduce new features, new additions and new experiences, which will appeal to all the family.

Book a cruise now! 0843 208 0674

GetCruising Logo

192 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    71
  • Very Good
    64
  • Good
    37
  • Average
    14
  • Poor
    6

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
Needs a make over and unreliable
1 month ago
Left Southampton with engine fault which developed to ago slow missed a port and the ship is tired and dated and unreliable very poor and very expensive
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Tim Worrall
Needs a make over and unreliable
1 month ago
This ship is looking tired now especially my cabin on deck A it needs a tidy up also we had an engine /drive fault which I understand they new about before leaving Southampton which we sailed away with 1engine so missed out on going to Oporto and stayed in lisbon for repairs over night 4 days at sea and 3ports on a 7 day cruise don't expect this unreliability from p&0 very poor c ruise 2 dissapointed customers booked on the Britania in August but won't be going with p&0 . again these cruises as not cheap so I expect reliability and cabin as nice as my front room.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Rose Mclauchlan
A bit disappointed
2 months ago
This was our first time on Ventura although we have cruised twice before with P&O and twice with different companies.

As usual embarkation was efficient and trouble free.

We found some areas of the ship looked a little tired and badly in need of some TCL.
our cabin was clean and looked after by our steward who was cheerful and as always extremely helpful.

The Saffron dining room staff were wonderful and the food was really great but not as exceptional as previous experiences.

We didn't get to the theatre too often as the timings clashed with meal times. The shows we did see were good and the Headliners always give their best.
We had the most wonderful experience in Sinduh where the attention to detail and food quality was outstanding.

Sadly didn't find the entertainment staff overly helpful and lacked information.
We will cruise again but unlikely to chose Ventura.

MR Mcl
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
KTB
Fantastic first cruise
1 year 9 months ago
A wonderful holiday. Gave our luggage to our coach driver and next time we saw it was in our cabin. Inside cabin adequate for our needs to sleep n shower. Clean well replenished with tea coffee biscuits, clean towels, spent most of time on deck. Sunloungers were a bit close together, I like a bit if space when I'm about to unvale my pale flesh!

All crew work tirelessly to look after you, are polite not over familiar. We weren't hassled at all to buy drinks or use the specialist restaurants . No pressure to go on excursions. The ship was clean tidy with a great emphasis on hygiene, gel dispensers outside restaurants and on returning on board in ports.

Food was excellent, you could eat morning noon afternoon evening and think there was late buffet if you were greedy enough. Apparently you gain average of 7-10lb, well if you eat at every opportunity its possible. We were sensible ate when hungry only gained couple of lbs. Spa on board, bit pricey but if you are into all that, and its something to do maybe first and last day at sea when the sun doesn't shine.

Entertainment overall very good, different acts singers, groups comedian's, good range to suit different tastes. Cash free environment. You have a card to purchase everything on board and can keep a check on interactive TV on how much your accumulative bill is.

Loved the atmosphere of the sail away as we left each port, and were fortunate enough to see Brittania leaving Lisbon on her way home as we left for the canaries'.

Will definitely cruise again. You can do as much or as little as you want!

Lessons learnt...warmer clothes for first and last days at sea.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Co-op

Recommended
2 years 1 month ago
Food was good, drinks service was bad and we waited 15 minutes for a drink most of the time. The entertainment very poor but, Jimmy James was the only good entertainment. Also, our cabin toilet got blocked!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Dave E
FIrst and Last!
2 years 5 months ago
First time with p&o and the last.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
David Bird
Poor entertainment
3 years 6 months ago
We have been on many cruises with a number of companies, this was our first, and last with P&O.

We have found cruise entertainment to be generally of high quality but this is clearly where P&O cut costs. Very little entertainment during the day and the quality and choice in the evening was not much better. On one evening the entertainment was a film, yes that's correct, a film. On another day it was a Dusty Springfield tribute who later in the week returned as a Lulu tribute. She bore no comparison to either. To set a comparison the entertainment was at a level that would expect from a local town talent show.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Patricia Graham
Wonderful
3 years 6 months ago
My friend and I both agree that this was a wonderful holiday. It was our first time cruising. The ship was first class as was the service, food and entertainment. The Carribean was lovely with so much to see and do. It was fantastic that suitcases were taken from the airport and we did not see them until they arrived on the ship - outside our cabin door and the same on the journey back home.

I have been raving about the holiday since getting back home and have told friends and family and whoever else would listen that cruising is the life. Thank you P&O.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Stephen Cassidy
Standards Have Plumetted
3 years 6 months ago
There is absolutely nothing special about a P&O Cruise anymore. The standards have plummeted to a low that it is unacceptable in view of the claims made in P&O Cruise Brochures. For a company that sells its cruises on The Fine Dining experience. Silver Service has gone, but they won't tell you. Wine waiters have an impossible work load, not leaving their previous duty until they are already required for Dinner Service and then too many tables. It's blatantly obvious then that most tables are not even going to get their wine order taken until after they have started eating and most will not get their wine until they have started main course. This is far from Fine Dining and nothing like the claims made in the brochure about attention to detail to the whole food and beverage experience.

Dress Codes are now ignored with people without shirts regularly ignored by Crew in Self Service Restaurants. Has anybody considered that a dress code requiring a shirt in a restaurant might actually have something to do with hygiene? I don't suppose for a minute that chefs are excused whites in the kitchens and are therefore allowed to drip sweat over food. Why then should a customer be allowed to visit the buffets without a shirt?

Claims in the brochure about Ventura having places where you can find peace and relaxation are simply untrue unless you retreat to your cabin. Firstly Agadoo type music is played all day on the top decks at such a high volume that it is difficult to talk and impossible to ignore. Secondly, you are hounded by up selling as soon as you sit down. Previously, the restaurants that require a supplement to be paid, were only sold by crew outside of these restaurants, now crew are patrolling the decks all day approaching customers that are attempting to relax quietly. On top of this drinks stewards are noticeably more pro-active sometimes approaching you before your empty glass even touches the table, and photographers approaching you three times as you leave the ship in port, within hearing of when you politely refused their colleague. Yes, you could simply say no but we go on holiday to relax and the brochure does claim that this is possible.

This is just a small part of a lengthy complaint that has been sent to P&O.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Keith Bunn
Don't believe the moaners
4 years 6 months ago
We have just returned from our 1st cruise and I must admit when I read some of the reviews I wondered what we were letting ourselves in for. Well, as it turns out, we had a wonderful time and met people from all walks of life young, middle aged and old, no snobs ( perhaps those that complain of them bear their own complexes).

We booked quite late and could only get an inside cabin which was very nice, plenty of room, clean and comfortable and this is what we would chose next time as it was only a base for sleeping and showering.

The food was good and plentiful and always a good variety, catering for most dietary needs.

The entertainers work tirelessly as do all the staff and we can only commend the politeness of all the P&O staff we met. They are a credit to the Captain and his Senior Crew.

The transfers, embarkation and disembarkation were smooth. We flew on time in a good aircraft all making a perfect holiday experience.

So the moaners who say there is not enough food. How much can you eat?. Those that say the staff are miserable - treat them like equal human beings - it pays dividends.

Finally those that say it is like Butlins but on sea have never been to Butlins and anyway millions of people for many years have enjoyed that type of holiday so don't knock what you have no knowledge of.

In closing I would say that my wife tried for years to get me to try a cruise and based on this experience we have missed out, but not any more as this is the first of many. So our thanks go to the Crew and Staff of the Ventura for a really memorable time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Ship image