Flight Only / Airline and Airports

Discussions relating to flight only, airlines and airports.
We travelled with Singapore airlines at Christmas this year and because we had booked the flight via a travel agent we could not book our seats on-line or do the on-line check in.

On calling our travel agent she explained that only seats booked directly with Singapore Airlines allowed you to do this. It may well have changed by now though - your travel agent will be able to answer your questions.
Thanks for your replies.

Wilsonjenny - how did your journey go! Any hints or tips gratefully received. Did you have to wait long at Singapore airport and if you got an interconnecting flight there did you have to re-claim baggage etc.

Can you tell I've never done this type of thing before and I'm beginning to PANIC already !!!

Ali x
Don't panic - everything went smoothly and we were really impressed. We had a stopovers in Singapore on the way to Bali and on the way back via Perth. On the way out we stayed at The Orchard and on the way back Copethorne Waterfront (preferred for location). Both hotels were good and booked with Singapore airlines as part of their stopover package.

We went Manchester - Singapore - Bali - Perth - Singapore - Manchester.

All check ins were via e-ticket and went smoothly with no problems. In-flight entertainment very good and as comfortable as economy would allow. Food - okay but nothing to rave about. Singapore airport is the best airport I have ever been to. It's a real shopping experiencel - expensive though. If you have a long time to wait before going on to Sydney they have various programmes you can do - i.e. Singapore tour and other options depending on how long you have between flights- can't remember but they were very good. There is also free internet stations. I doubt whether you will be disappointed as they are very efficient.