Image of Marina Royal Palace Hotel

Marina Royal Palace Hotel

2 of 3 hotels in Duni

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
5 stars
Duni Royal Resort, 8133 Burgas (Bourgas), Bulgaria, Bulgaria

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mandy
9 years 4 months ago
I have just returned from this hotel and we all had a wonderful time. Rooms spotless and pool area was always being cleaned. If you stay in Royal hotel you can use any of the other hotels and we found this very good because you could choose where to eat. I will list stuff in the hope of helping someone
1. Entertainment - in ampi theatre and was about 1 hour per night and I found it very good, especially catering for all languages
2. Rooms - very clean but the only fault was there was only 2 english channels.
3. Pool areas - very clean and the water was freezing, but a nice relief after being so hot. My only problem was that they were a bit too deep for me, but that is a personal issue and nothing to do with the hotel
4. Food - very good and especially the tea and cakes at 4.00pm. There was also sandwiches available from 11.30 till 6.00 and these were made fresh for you whilst you waited
5. I only tried the Italian Restaurant but we were that impressed that we went back twice - the tiramasu was out of this world
I would recommend this hotel to any family
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Reeve
10 years 7 months ago
Spotlessly clean.
Food much the same everyday but plentiful and edible.
Location is fine for weeks rest and chill, but maybe bit too remote for two weeks.
Staff on whole were great. The receptionists lack of languages other than German & Bulgarian, did hamper communications.
Entertainment, just the show at the amphitheatre, for a hour per night..bit hit & miss some nights, but worth a look.
Yes I would definately go again, for a weeks rest, loads of food & lovely Bulgarian Champers.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Elizabeth Hodgson
11 years 3 months ago
I cant really complain about this hotel, its really nice, The staff are all friendly, its clean and tidy, nothings to much trouble for them
Maybe im a little to fussy on the food side, i didnt like it at all. Probably because i couldnt tell what was in it, some of the things had a label, most didnt.
We didnt venture along to the ampitheatre for the evenings entertainment, it was a fair walk with badly lit paths, and uneven surfaces, but the lobby bar was a lovely place to spend time. so i dont feel that we missed out on much
All inclusive to me means all inclusive, but you had to pay for the gym, which was in the hotel.
You could also tell when it was our cleaners day off, she used to leave the room perfect and each day we went back to the room and the sheets were folded in differant ways, made us feel really special, but on her day off, they were just folded
I wouldnt recommend night flights, going home we were kept waiting for the coach to take us to the airport and the rep that was at the hotel had no details at all about the newcastle flight, or even pick up times, which we found quite worrying, but eventually a bus did turn up nearly an hour after the appointed pick up time.

If the Hotel was closer to a resort then we would have no problems visiting it again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Sharon Wells
11 years 5 months ago
it was a really lovely hotel really nice and clean,However the food was another story we had the same every day for lunch and evening meal in all of the restaurants, so you didnt have much choice they catered for the germans. The hotel was full of germans it was like playing spot the english man, I dont have a problem but we did feel a bit out of it, I was ill half way through my holiday with a tummy upset after returning home i was still ill so went to the doctors and it turnt out i had salmenella poisoning it has only just resolved now after getting medication from my gp. The entertainment was non existant in the hotel you had to walk to it, with 2 children they dont want to do that.It was like being on a dessert island where you couldnt get any decent food the banana boat man was arrogant he could have been more polite! the travel company could have let us know that it was a hotel for the germans! however there was still lots of sunbeds!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

SUZIE MOSSON
11 years 6 months ago
2nd visit to Bulgaria and Duni is a place i will return to.

Complex is wonderful. Beautiful beach, pools and every whim catered for. I loved especially the baguette stand for when you didn't want a meal. Loads of beds, including mats on the beach.

the food was good and something for everyone, including a diet bar. i got a bit bored but I'm a funny eater. I certainly didn't go short cos i would fill up on salad and chips.

Very out of the way but that's why we booked it. I would perhaps venture out on the boat next time. I was too hot to be bothered this time.

My parents had a real fuss made of them by the room staff. Fancy shapes and flowers on their beds. We didn't but the room was cleaned superbly. Some of the bar & restaurant staff not so friendly but others super.

The entertainment was out of the way so we didn't bother. Others we spoke to loved it. We were happy to blether and have a drink before bed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Haslams
12 years 3 months ago
This hotel is very beautiful to look at and the overall look is stunning.

The bedrooms are lovely and we where lucky to have a nice view except the dust bin house was under our window and the bin men came at 7.30 most mornings. The hotel is very clean and tidy.

The food in the hotel was very much the same every day and not really up to the 4/5* it is given .The food is also very cool Luckily enough we had the choice of eating in the holiday village 15 mins away which we did most nights.

As this was a mainly German holiday village the notices where all in German even though any one from the multi national resort could eat there! The on site Italian was nice and we also ate at the Bulgarian on site which was nice but not to our taste. They actually moved the Italian restaurant with out telling us and only for speaking to another guest did we go to the correct place.

The location of this hotel is beautiful and if all you want to do all day is lay on a sun bed this is the place to be but not our cup of tea especially as some of the facilities around where closing down day by day.

The entertainment staff where very hard working and never stopped ,I don't know where they got there energy, BUT the hotel it self had no entertainment at all and because it was situated 15 min walk away from the amphitheatre and we had a lot of rain this wasn't always possible. The fact that the only bar inside the hotel allows smoking really annoyed me and the whole resort had no-no smoking areas at all. We also found a lot of the staff to be very surly and rude.

We would not return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

S Wallis
12 years 5 months ago
Sharon 40, Steve 39, Jamie 14, & Robyn 11. This is a lovely Hotel, set on top of the hill so overlooking the bay with stunning views.

The Pool areas, beach and restaurant were kept very clean at all times as was our room, which was surprisingly carpeted in the living areas, we had a suite which had a large round Bedroom (carpeted) T.V & bedside cupboards, Living area with double pull down sofa bed for the kids, Dressing table, T.V, Mini Bar and entrance to a very large balcony which covered two sides of the apartment, we also had a small balcony in our bedroom that we never used. The bathroom had a lovely strong shower.

The staff worked very hard But as this is a mostly German resort, English was their third language but we never had a problem asking for anything and the Reception Staff spoke perfect English, more than can be said for most of us Brits.

The food was lovely and very well presented, with the most gorgeous omelette's and pancakes for breakfast, also available the usual full English, Fruit & cereal.

Lunch was either soup, large selection of salad and selection of hot food i.e meatballs, Lasagna, Fish, & Loads of veg, with chips and barbecued pork or fish being served on terrace every day.

Evening meals were very much the same, so although the food was great it did get a bit too much of the same thing after a while.

There is also other restaurants in the resort which we also tried but these are much the same too, recommend going into Sozopol one night for a change, cab will drop you at the door and collect, we were taken to a lovely place overlooking the sea with Bulgarian dancers and great food also extremely cheap.

The location of the hotel is a bit remote but it is a large resort with four hotels that you can explore, there is always something going on, although we had to keep my 14 year old son occupied with water sports etc, as he had trouble finding any English boys to talk to, When he did find some (on the last two days typical!) we never saw him.

The hotel pools are very quite and relaxing, most of the activity is in the large pool right next to this hotel.

Great laugh watching the Germans doing some funny Jambo, Jambo thing, although we did join in eventually even though we had no idea what they were saying.

Do be careful around this Pool as the surface is very slippery !!

The evening Entertainment is over in the Amphitheatre, the staff that entertain you in the day are the same Team at night, they all work very had with loads of energy.

This is also very German with only a few words in English but you can get the jist of what's going on, some of the shows were great, some just a bit odd.

Take some mozzie spray with you as there are out in force over there and it can also get a bit chilly in the evening.

All in all this is a lovely well run Hotel which over shadows the other hotels in the resort, you can either lay around the two tranquil pools or join in the fun and activities at the livler pool close at hand or on the Beach, The beach is clean and safe, Although the sea dose have some small Jelly Fish they are not a problem as they have on tenticals so therefore do not sting, I can highly recommend the full body massage on the beach !!!

Also in the terrace restarent and next to the pool bar they are two large fridge's where you can help yourself to bottled water, Coke, Red & White wine by the bottle and also Champagne, The lata i recommend.

Although we were lucky enough to meet some lovely poeple to share our holiday with, I do feel it would be nice if the German/English mix was a little more even -OR would a load of loud bad mannered brits with unruly kids spoil a near perfect resort.

I would like to Thank Bex, Ang & little Ellie for making our holiday an enjoyable one and wish you all Happy Holidays in the future. X
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Kieran Ruttledge
13 years 4 months ago
This is a super hotel and by far the best in the Duni resort. Duni consists of several hotels and is located about 5-6 miles from Sozopol(worth a visit by ttaxi ride) Marina palace is 5 stars but probably only 4 star by UK standards.

Food is excellent and lots of activities to kjeep all ages entertained.

My kids aged 6 & 8 really enjoyed the kids club, which offered lots of varied activities including free banana boat ride each day. My wife did aerobics daily and enjoyed the on beach massage (payable about 10 euro for 30 mins)I played beach soccer, volleyball and tennis.

We only stayed for 1 week but enjoyed it so much we are going back for two weeks this year. Only down side is pool area has really slippy tiles around it which are very dangerous and need treatment, I mentioned this to the mgt last year and hope that they have improved the situation before we re-visit.

Beach is clean and offers water sports foc. Restuarants food is excellent and varied. It was greatr to be able to eat at any of the 8 different restuarants on the facility. Rooms are execellent with great balconies.

Most staff speak good english although the hotel is predominantly used by Germans - dont worry about towels on beds - loads.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Falcon

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum