Image of Pelican Hotel

Pelican Hotel

1 of 3 hotels in Duni

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Duni Royal Resort, 8130 Djuni, Bulgaria

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Paul
10 years 4 months ago
The main reason we booked this hotel was because of its alleged suitability for families, however on arrival they had us booked into seperate hotel blocks!, even after much complaining, and being seperated for a night the best they could come up with was two rooms in the same block, but still on seperate floors - not good enough when you have children to look after!.
The lift to our rooms worked very infrequently, and on one occasion we were all trapped for over half an hour before a guest allerted staff and we were released - the emergency/alarm buttons did not work, and we did not even receive an apology from the hotel staff for our troubles.
The food was probably as good as could be expected given the large scale it is prepared for, rather like a big works canteen quality.
The staff all seemed to be a bit apathetic, and there was very little signs of anyone being enthusiastic in their work.
The location was very good, in fact - nice place, shame about the people who work there!.
We would definitely return to Bulgaria, but certainly not too the Pelican Hotel, the management needs replacing, and the staff needs a lesson on how to treat guests properly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan holidays

John McDonald
10 years 5 months ago
Pelican Hotel was a perfect,relaxing,clean and friendly establishment with close proximity to the beautiful beach and its numerous activities--found this a perfgect holiday to "re-charge the batteries".
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Sophie
11 years 4 months ago
We came here in a large group of friends and family, and they were flexible in terms of rooms and the number of people in each room. We stayed in each others rooms etc.
I will admit a lot of stuff went wrong, for example the curtains fell down in our room or the bathroom door somehow managed to lock us out. However these things are what added more fun to the holiday, for the children at least.
The location and food was brilliant, with the beach being ever so close and the food varying.
The entertainment wasn't really needed for us as we travelled in a group, and sat by the pool talking and such.
The hotel was very nicely presented and had a fresh and open air about it.
I would definitely visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
11 years 6 months ago
The pelican hotel was delightful, smaller than the other hotels on the complex but we really enjoyed our stay there.

Not very good for people with small babies or disabled as there are a quite a few steps to deal with, the hotel was spotless and the toilets were immaculate!!

The food did get a bit boring at the end of the fortnight but we noticed people coming over from the 5 star royal Marina Hotel as the Pelican had much better choice, oh and the cakes were excellent.

There is no entertainment at the Pelican but you only have to walk down to the amphitheatre 10 Min's away were after the show there are discos and we even had a beach party one night.

All in all a really excellent holiday and wouldn't hesitate to go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
12 years 5 months ago
Just arrived back from the Pelican hotel and I must say it was much better than we could imagine.

It was in a isolated location 200 metres from a beautiful beach, taxi's were available from reception so you weren't trapped and the nearest town Sozopol was only 8km away and cost 20lev return which is cheap there were also plenty of other trips you could take by taxi or through the rep I would recommend Nessebur it was about 1hour away by taxi.

There was plenty of activities going on around the complex but nothing at the pelican you had to go down on the beach by the activity pool to join in and the evening entertainment was at the amphitheatre which is about 10 minute walk away.

Food was good and there was a vast selection to choose from though a couple from the party did have upset stomachs. The restaurant was nice though the air conditioning was poor though there were tables outside if you could get one.

The rooms were spacious and very clean with sheets changed twice a week. The bathrooms were of a good size and modern with clean towels daily. There was also no need for beach towels as clean towels were provided at the towel booths.
The hotel public areas were well kept though unfortunately the area around the back was very scruffy and needs major work.

This was our first holiday to Bulgaria and I would recommend this hotel and Bulgaria we would certainly go again as is it so cheap
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Jonathan
13 years 3 months ago
The Pelican hotel is of a very good standard while we were there.

The room was cleaned every day and it was very comfortable.

Around the pool and bar area was always kept clean and tidy and I've never seen a place before where the bar staff and cleaning staff work so hard, no sooner had you finished your drink the bar staff were refilling it for you, no questions asked !

Hotel food was also excellent, they had lots of various foods for all tastes and being as the actual All inclusive resort is shared with other hotels in the Duni resort you can always go and have meals at the other hotels too.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Glynn
13 years 3 months ago
Hotel very clean rooms cleaned daily. Food good but did repeat & selection did decrease in the second week possibly as it was the end of the season.

The location was ideal if you like a quite relaxing holiday trips to various places are available & are good value.

The staff are in most cases pleasant once they get to know your face. my party found the entertainment quite good as entertainment on other a.i. holidays tends to be yourselves if I did go back I think it would be earlier in the season as when we left the pelican there was approx 24 people left & it felt like a ghost town.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: going places

Recommended
Sandra Handley
13 years 7 months ago
The Royal Palace Marina is a beautiful brand new hotel. All the public areas are spotless and you will be amazed at the amount of dedicated cleaning staff 24/7.

Our room was reasonably spacious, great aircon and modern powerful shower. The downside of the our room was that it was overlooked onto the main road at the back of the hotel and whilst it did not disturb us when the patio doors were shut, boy was it noisy if you like to sit on your balcony.

I would recommend splashing out on on the seaview/garden rooms !!The lobby bar is open til 2am and the staff are helpful and friendly and cocktails and all the usual drinks are available on all inclusive. The restaurant can be a little chaotic at peak hours but this is usual of all large hotels, the food is very well presented, plentiful however I must admit it got a little samey for us after two weeks.

They also had barbecued food throughout the evening and we were treated to a Chinese chef one night who was amazing (yum). The pool was beautiful and because it is located ontop of a hill you can see for miles, it is very well positioned.

The hotel itself does not have any entertainment on however throughout the complex at the other hotels there is tons to do.

This hotel and the Duni Resort is very well run and I would recommend it to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Ian Clennell
14 years 5 months ago
Food was plentiful and often. Varied meat dishes and something for everyone. desserts were very )someteimes too) sweet, so stuck with fruit and natural yoghurt.

Cleanliness was outstanding. No litter anywhere and even the sand was swept!!

Staff were incredibly friendly and most had some English, which was better than my Bulgarian. Tip is to talk to the staff, not at them. They are unimpressed by the german attitude of "you are here to serve me". they love having conversations and will recommend where to go, what to see and what to do.

Some of the entertainment was outstanding. I tried shuffleboard, parascending and archery for the first time and the people running these events were superb.

Will definitely go back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Steve
14 years 6 months ago
We arrived at the Pelican with a little trepidation...our original hotel(Royal Park in Elenite)wasn't finished so we were transferred to the Pelican with the option of going to the Royal Park for the 2nd week of our holiday.

To be absolutely honest,it was the best holiday we have ever had.On arrival our cases were taken to our room whilst we ate and had a drink...the bar was extended due to our late arrival.

The following morning we explored what must be the cleanest hotel in eastern Europe,cleaners were everywhere!Even the pool toilets were attended by a cleaner all day.

Throughout our stay(we opted to stay for the full 2 weeks)the staff were brilliant,ever so courteous and friendly.

As for the facilities,the complex is quite isolated in comparison to Albena or Sunny Beach but the complex has entertainment every evening for the young and not so young and the beach is only a 5 minute or so walk from the hotels and the village complex.

There are 2 main hotel blocks within the site,plus apartments that are situated near the main hotel blocks.Our group were situated in the Pelican itself and the adjoining apartments and no complaints could be made about the rooms whatsoever.Linen and towels were changed daily and any clothes left scattered on the floor were always folded neatly when we returned to our room!

I wouldn't recommend the complex if you are taking children, as there is little to do for the kids apart from the pools and the beach during the day.Taxis are readily available however if you want to venture out,the fares being negotiable but always very cheap compared to UK taxi fares.As we fell into the older category we were quite content to stay by the pool all day imbibing the excellent local spirits and beer!

The majority of guests within the complex were of Teutonic origin(German!!!)but we had no problems with them whatsoever....there are more than enough sunbeds to go round so we didn't even get to see the morning scrum with the towels!

To sum up....it was as near perfect as we could have wished for,here's hoping for another visit to the Pelican in the not too distant future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum