Image of Marina Palace Hotel

Marina Palace Hotel

4 of 9 hotels in Nesebar

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Marina Palace, Ivan Vazov Str. 7, 8230 Nesebar, Bulgaria
Marina Palace is situated on a small hillside with wonderful scenery overlooking the bay and Nessebur harbour. The sandy beach is just a short stroll away and there's an unusual rooftop swimming pool with a spectacular view.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Andy
9 years 6 months ago



This hotel is pretty modern by Bulgarian standards; good first impressions were marred slightly by the arrogant reception staff and once we’d disposed of the dead bird on our tiny balcony I was relatively happy with our standard twin bedded room.

The bathroom and shower were clean and the room was tidy and nicely decorated in a sort of minimalistic fashion. There were a couple of problems with general up-keep though, the fridge didn’t work and there was a dangerous looking plug-socket that wasn’t fitted correctly.

Unlike most hotels the twin beds are fixed and can’t be pushed together, which was a shame. All rooms have a side sea view but our 1st floor view was nothing to write home about.

After unpacking we decided to go for a quick drink at one of the hotels 3 bars but were disappointed to find that not a single one was open. In fact the only bar which did eventually open was the “Skybar” (presumably named because during the day you have more chance of a drink dropping from the sky than getting one from the bar itself) which only opened 20:30 – 24:00. On the plus side this meant that we could take our own drinks up to the roof-top pool area which probably saved us some money. The pool area is nice though, and the Jacuzzi is fun (providing you can find somebody to switch it on for you).

The Spar centre was also closed during our apparently off-peak stay too (June?!!) and there is no entertainment program at this hotel.

We only tried breakfast the once and it was pretty nasty, cold cooked foods sitting in open trays for hours on end, the Mrs risked it and was fine but I was steering well clear! Not worth getting up early for.

The location of the hotel was great, just 10 minutes walk to Old Nessubar and 15 minutes walk the beach. The general cleanliness of the hotel was good and the maids were excellent. If you want to use your safe it’ll cost you 30 Lev per week (about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Andy& Karen
12 years 4 months ago
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, Hotel was very clean and modern. Sheets and towels changed daily. The rooms were modern and contemporary with plenty of room to move around in, all rooms have a minibar fridge in which is handy to store additional items in.

The bathroom is very nice with a large double shower, hairdryer and all usual mod-cons.

The food was not bad with plenty of variation although I do believe that it is more of a German Menu.
You will not find a better location for a hotel.

Staff are very friendly and they will go the extra distance to ensure your stay is a pleasant and enjoyable experience.

They had limited entertainment in the Irish bar which consisted of 2 male singers with extremely dodgy haircuts.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medhotels.com

Recommended
Andy& Karen
12 years 4 months ago
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, Hotel was very clean and modern. Sheets and towels changed daily. The rooms were modern and contempory with plenty of room to move around in, all rooms have a minibar fridge in which is handy to store additional items in.

The bathroom is very nice with a large double shower, hairdryer and all usual mod-cons.

The food was not bad with plenty of variation although I do believe that it is more of a German Menu.

You will not find a better location for a hotel.

Staff are very friendly and wthey will go the extra distance to ensure your stay is a pleasant and enjoyable experience.

They had limited entertainment in the irish bar which consisted of 2 male singers with extremely dodgy haircuts.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medhotels.com

Recommended
Ann
12 years 6 months ago
We have no complaints about our stay in this hotel. Our room was comfortable and clean with a sea view and sun in the morning on our side of the hotel (odd numbered room). It was not at all noisy at night. Our room was at the end of the hotel, away from the Reception and bars.

We arrived at this hotel after the evening meal had finished but had a 4 course meal provded (waiter served). Other meals were buffet service. We always went into the dining room early and there was plenty of food and choice and plenty of space. The staff were very quick to serve drinks and clear away plates.

All the staff were friendly and helpful.
There are several bars in the hotel. None of them were busy when we were in them.

In the Irish Bar there was the same entertainer each evening. He sang and played various instruments - keyboard, trombone, accordian etc. He was very good but basically played the same songs each evening.

The rooftop swimming pool is small but was never crowded and there were always plenty of sunbeds available. The views from the roof and wonderful.
I had a haircut in the Spa Centre and was very satisfied with the service provided.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet relaxing holiday away from the crowds and noise of Sunny Beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
13 years 3 months ago
This is a modern hotel which has been open for just over a year, it is modern and fresh although it is beginning to show some wear and tear but it was the end of the season to be fair. The rooms were kept clean and to a very high standard.

The rooms are bright airy and perfect for your holiday needs. A plus is the minibar/ fridge. The Spa Centre is good and price for services is excellent.

The hotel Restaurant lets it down not enough staff to serve drinks or clear up and the food well not the best but not the worst, you can always find something to eat.

The Hotel has stunning views from the H floor the top floor wow stunning views of the old town. I would say the best placed hotel in resort for access to old and new town.

Some staff have limited English but are all very helpful and concerns or requests are dealt with very quick. I reported a problem with my balcony door and they were with me in 10 mins.

The Spa Centre is good and price for services is excellent, other entertainment is limited but good for a hotel of 122 rooms 3 bars.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: MEDHOTELS.COM

Recommended
Helen
13 years 3 months ago
Hotel was very clean and ultra modern.the maids did an excellent job of rooms, some days putting towels in various shapes on the beds.

Food was good with plenty of choice but not much in quantity had to wait on quite a few occasions for dishes to be re-filled. Even numbered rooms seem the best choice at moment as we were in an odd number room and unfortunately there is building work going on right next door on that side of hotel.

Staff extremely friendly ,Cosmos rep excellent,book your excursions with Monty, at reception a lot cheaper than tour operator and he knows his stuff.

Will definitely be returning to this hotel next year,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Recommended
13 years 4 months ago
We are just back from our first visit to Bulgaria and I
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Rogerson
14 years 3 months ago
The food was never hot! Breakfast choice was very limited indeed. Eating out of the Hotel was very reasonable indeed, so this shortcoming did not bother us too much.

We had a suite which was very spacious indeed. Down side was that these are at the front of the hotel which never gets the sun. Our maid could not have done better and all other staff were excellent. There was NO entertainment, which suited us.

Hotel was very noisy with the atrium carrying the sound both up and down. I would recommend ear plugs if you want to sleep deeply.

Roof-top swimming pool stunning, but very small.

I would not take children to this hotel as I do not feel the barriers surrounding the pool/verandas, etc are adequate.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Med.hotels

Recommended
Roger Palmer
14 years 5 months ago
The best hotel I've ever stayed in.The staff were helpful, the hotel spotless, but the hotel was not finished, lifts did not work and the food was rank,
Would I come again ? without a doubt yes, but on B&B
the top floor facilities are second to non, great pool,great sauna and steam room, great massage facilities.

In all brilliant, but get a new catering manager and some entertainment
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
14 years 6 months ago
Just back from this stunning brand new hotel in a stunning location overlooking Nessebar old town.It is built like a ship and is funished in an ultra modern style.

Lovely bedrooms with Fridge, safe, satalite Tv with 71 channels.(we even saw Wimbledon)The rooms have laminate wooden floors and have duvels on the beds which are wider than normal and have very thick mattresses. Even numbered rooms have the sun on an afternoons which is good if you want to sit on the balcony.

The food was fine for me but they allowed smoking in the dining room and the Germans tended to linger after eating having drinks and cigar like cigarettes. Some were only 3 foot from the food. There was a smaller no smoking room but it only had 5 tables and overlooked a concrete staircase whereas the main room overlooked the sea.This may be changed as the hotel is full because guests will have to queue while smokers occupy tables instead of going to the lounge areas.

The reception staff were lovely and very helpfull.

The swimming pool on the roof was surrounded by decking and there was 2 sunterraces with plenty of sunbeds.The view from here was amazing overlooking the old city,This was a stunning hotel in a stunning location ,7 minutes from the old city,and I would not hesitate in returning.

It is only in the Balkan brochure but we booked with Kwik Travel who use Med.hotels.com and book the flight with which ever company you want. It only cost us
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kwik travel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum